Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HURST
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


View Poll Results: Which one would you prefer as of right now knowing the downfall fall of each system?
Scosche 40 61.54%
Metra 25 38.46%
Voters: 65. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-31-2015, 09:59 PM   #1
jesse454545
 
Drives: 2011 CAMARO 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SAN DIEGO & TEXAS
Posts: 341
scosche or Metra ??

As of right now most of you have had time to get the pros and cons of both systems. I am looking to upgrade and would like to know which one is better and what would be the downfall of the other? Please vote on the toll, thanks
jesse454545 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 12:26 AM   #2
GetSmart
 
GetSmart's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Black SS
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 121
Read too many problems with Scosche, so I got a Metra. No problems so far, I've had it for over a year.
__________________
Rotofab CAI, VMAX PTB, Borla S axle-back, Dynatech SuperMaxx 1 7/8" headers/HF cats, No weeds exhaust diverters, Apex air scoop & catch can, Rohana wheels, MPD1 Z-Force Hood, GPI SS1 Cam Motion, EFILive tune by Rhino, Vitesse Throttle Controller, etc...
GetSmart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 12:21 PM   #3
darkrider01
Aural Assault Vehicle
 
darkrider01's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM 2SS/RS, 2015 Kia Forte5 SX
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Garner, NC
Posts: 774
I chose (and voted) the Scosche because I felt like the Metra just looked too cheap and that a modern muscle car should have modern touch-screen controls. That said - my Scosche kit has the remote range and TPMS interference issues, but they don't equal enough aggravation to forego the simplicity and ascetics that the Scosche brings to the table.
__________________
My amplifier pop/click/thump solution thread
Power Mods * K&N Typhoon CAI, Flowmaster American Thunder cat-back exhaust, Hurst Short Throw Shifter Visual Mods * Black Phantom Grille * 22" T.I.S. 537MS wheels w/ Nitto INVO rubber Suspension Mods * BC Racing Coilovers * Lakewood Strut Tower Brace Audio Mods * Stinger SPP 2250 Battery * Pioneer DEX-P99RS * Pioneer AVH-X7500BT * Scosche Dash Kit * 2 - Mosconi AS200.4 * 2 - JL Audio 13W6v2 * Focal 165KRX2 Power (active) * Mosconi Gladen One 240.2 * Rockford Fosgate Power T1692
darkrider01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 01:07 PM   #4
mydreamcar
My Dream Car
 
mydreamcar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM LS3 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: staten island
Posts: 1,404
Have the scoshe kit, zero issues excepts for a range issue at times. that being said I would suggest a pro install. lots of people are very handy but from what I have read, some issues could have been avoided by a pro install.
__________________
CAI intake/ADM Scoop/Stainless Power Headers/Doug Thorley Catback Exhaust/Vitesse Throttle Control/ Ported Throttle Body/QTP Electric Cutouts/ Tuned by ECS. 428hp/426tq
mydreamcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2015, 08:56 PM   #5
370zyzfr1
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro Zl1 Tripple Black!
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 318
I went metra. Researched way too many issues with scosche. I really like it and NO issues.
370zyzfr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 12:30 AM   #6
jesse454545
 
Drives: 2011 CAMARO 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: SAN DIEGO & TEXAS
Posts: 341
I heard you loose some features with the car if you go with either kits. One I heard about is your back up sensors? Not sure if they where legit but it's something I was reading on this forum.
jesse454545 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 01:21 AM   #7
Xanytos
ATL HT5
 
Xanytos's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1 BRM
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 734
Quote:
Originally Posted by jesse454545 View Post
I heard you loose some features with the car if you go with either kits. One I heard about is your back up sensors? Not sure if they where legit but it's something I was reading on this forum.

Not legit. I have a metra kit... back up sensors work just fine
Xanytos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 12:11 PM   #8
Knockoutpie

 
Knockoutpie's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS RS Coupe
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Phoenix
Posts: 1,456
The only feature you will lose is music information going to heads up display. That's it, HUD will still work, just won't show music information.
__________________
Knockoutpie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2015, 12:38 PM   #9
opossum
 
opossum's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Germany Blankenhagen
Posts: 56
Hallo,

i have tested both, metra and scosche. The metra works fine, no problems, but if you want to change carspezific options you have to go via xia-lcd connected to metra. With scosche this options are available but my TPMS failed. I own a camaro 2013, european version. Any weeks ago has mike wrote, that he got a firmwareupdate for scosche unit, that will fix this bug. I will test it at my camaro, but at this time my camaro "sleeps" in my garage. At the first of march i can drive it , then i hope, the winter has gone and the sun will shining more times.

EDIT 2015/05/15: Now i have installed my scosche with new uac and now all works fine. No issues, my tpms works fine.

best regards
opossum
__________________
Chevrolet Camaro - V8 - MT - 2013 - European Version - Inferno Orange/ Inferno orange - ACC Sidemarker ghosted - Scosche Dash Kit GM 5201AB with DNX9210BT - Amp KAC-8406 - Sub Pioneer TS-WX110A - Rear- and Front-Camera - ACC Mail Slot Scanner RGB - Peders Sportsryder - painted parts in engine compartment - black powder coated original rims - H & R wheel plates 20mm front and rear axle - 1 LE steering wheel - hot rod shift knob - aluminum door Pins - ACS T4 Splitter - us-mirrors

Last edited by opossum; 05-15-2015 at 01:47 AM.
opossum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 02:10 AM   #10
370zyzfr1
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro Zl1 Tripple Black!
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Iowa
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xanytos View Post
Not legit. I have a metra kit... back up sensors work just fine


Second that!
370zyzfr1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2015, 03:55 AM   #11
SeaCompiler
...not a marine biologist
 
SeaCompiler's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro RY SS LS3
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Clarkesville, GA
Posts: 665
My metra kit works fine with 0 issues and I have had it over a year. I chose Metra because it does not extend down as far and hey... who doesn't like the mudflap girl easter egg they have in it by holding down the snowflake for several seconds.
__________________
Turbocharged with Huron Speed & Cammed 2XX/2XX/115/.624/.613 Cam Motion from Spartan LSX Performance, 25% PowerBond UDP, Ported TB, shaved heads, LS9 gaskets, chromoly pushrods, BT trunnions & dual valve springs, ZL1 spoiler, Strut Brace, ARP bolts, Skip shift elim, A-Pillar Gauges, FR Style 41 20X10 offsets Gloss Black, CAI, Cherry Bomb Extremes, blackouts, Lowered, Custom LS3 badges, C5 handle vinyl, VDI lambo doors, Hines hood vents,RPI fender vents, BlackVue DR500-GW 1080P Dashcam, Technostalgia Tail Lights, BB Stripes, KW 500W mono on 12", Metra Kit, Pioneer AVH 4600BT, LED scanner
SeaCompiler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 12:31 PM   #12
baranowski
 
baranowski's Avatar
 
Drives: 1968 Bronco,2001 Fatboy,2010 SS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Southeast
Posts: 696
I have the metra... no issues what so ever.
baranowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 04:53 PM   #13
OHIOSS
Russ
 
Drives: Yukon Denali, Charger, CamaroSS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Ohio
Posts: 2,603
Send a message via AIM to OHIOSS
I talked to a local car stereo company and they will NOT install Scosche any longer because of continual problems. They have been installing the Metra dash kit and have only had one that was a problem. I like the Scosche better but I think I'm going to go with the Metra kit in my 2010 SS.
OHIOSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2015, 01:02 PM   #14
Yippee38
 
Yippee38's Avatar
 
Drives: '11 SGM 1LT/RS, '02 SOM Firehawk
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: near Chicago
Posts: 261
I don't like the looks of either kit, but IMO the Metra looks less wrong. I can't be specific as to why I feel that way though. I went with Metra. I haven't installed yet.
__________________
Yippee38
Yippee38 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
metra, radio, scosche, stereo.

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.