Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
RDP Motorsport
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-30-2014, 12:33 PM   #1
436SS
 
436SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: INDY
Posts: 254
Amp/Sub Wiring Question

Ok, here is my set-up. I have the JL 12W6V3-D4 and Alpine PDX-V9. The sub out is 500 RMS @ 4 ohms. How do I jump the W6 so its 4 ohms at the amp? Thanks in advance.
436SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 12:45 PM   #2
BlairW07
 
BlairW07's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Ray Blue 2SS/RS
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Kansas City, Mo
Posts: 26
I always use this tool on the rockford fosgate web site. It should be able to help you out.

http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/rftec...er_wizard.asp#
__________________

"Be so good they can't ignore you"
BlairW07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 01:33 PM   #3
lfree11012
 
lfree11012's Avatar
 
Drives: Ashen gray 1ss/rs npp
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: delaware
Posts: 330
You can not make a d4 run 4 ohm. It going to be 8 ohm or 2 ohm
lfree11012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 01:44 PM   #4
436SS
 
436SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: INDY
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by lfree11012 View Post
You can not make a d4 run 4 ohm. It going to be 8 ohm or 2 ohm
So is it not possible to connect the two without causing damage to either?
436SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 01:46 PM   #5
436SS
 
436SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: INDY
Posts: 254
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlairW07 View Post
I always use this tool on the rockford fosgate web site. It should be able to help you out.

http://www.rockfordfosgate.com/rftec...er_wizard.asp#

Thanks!
436SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 11:01 PM   #6
lfree11012
 
lfree11012's Avatar
 
Drives: Ashen gray 1ss/rs npp
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: delaware
Posts: 330
You can run the two coils if you wire it io so two ohm you amp will have put out more power. I think that amp is 2 ohm stable
lfree11012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 11:03 PM   #7
lfree11012
 
lfree11012's Avatar
 
Drives: Ashen gray 1ss/rs npp
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: delaware
Posts: 330
Also on the jl sub there are jump wires on the back it would be ++ - - vc1 vc2 for. 2 ohm load
lfree11012 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:45 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.