Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Apex Paul
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-03-2009, 02:24 PM   #51
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sgt1411 View Post
Hey guys I bought that 2010 Camaro Bluetooth OnStar VCIM part #20842731 with Bluetooth antenna off Ebay for my wife's Yukon.

Unfortunately it cant be programmed for a 2007 GMT900 truck its only good for a few 2010 GM products like the Camaro so its no good to me.

It came out of a 2010 Camaro being stripped for racing so its has never been activated and its in perfect shape.

Im selling it for what I paid $290 with antenna included.

email me if your interested
Alright...who's gonna do it
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 12:33 PM   #52
Saving41
 
Drives: IBM 1SS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 218
I'll bite, PM sent
Saving41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 04:50 PM   #53
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saving41 View Post
I'll bite, PM sent
And we have a winner!!!

Let us know what happens!
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2009, 07:19 PM   #54
Saving41
 
Drives: IBM 1SS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 218
will do! Just waiting for transaction instructions.
Saving41 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 02:48 PM   #55
technoside2
 
technoside2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dallas
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to technoside2
Another one for sale on Ebay
http://tinyurl.com/yatznwh
technoside2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 09:34 PM   #56
aldaran
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro & 2005 Silverado
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Saving41 View Post
will do! Just waiting for transaction instructions.
Subscribing to this thread. Very interesting.
aldaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 12:50 PM   #57
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,731
There's got to be a better solution than eBay...
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 10:56 AM   #58
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,731
Just to keep the ball rolling here, if a module has already been activated for OnStar, then it will not be useable in another vehicle for another year?

Answers, speculations, guesses anyone???

__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 12:42 PM   #59
VT2CA
 
Drives: 2010 1LT CYBER GREY
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwantone2 View Post
Just to keep the ball rolling here, if a module has already been activated for OnStar, then it will not be useable in another vehicle for another year?

Answers, speculations, guesses anyone???

Im guessing it doesnt matter if it was activated. Most of the info I got on the subject before attempting on my own came from the G8 and Chevy trucks forum and those guys were mostly picking them up at junkyards and I never heard any mention of someone not getting it to activate. again guessing why wouldnt onstar let you reactivate a used module, unless it were stolen or something...??
VT2CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 01:42 PM   #60
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,731
Thanks VT2CA!!! hopefully more people can get in on this discussion! only a select few of us are brave enough to fiddle with such things!
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 01:50 PM   #61
VT2CA
 
Drives: 2010 1LT CYBER GREY
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 124
I dug a little deeper

OK I'm sorry if I shared any misinformation. All this talk of how the onstar is setup got me thinking, I havnt even looked at my account since I put in the new box.

So I pulled up my account and noticed that I now have two Camaros registered to my onstar account, and the new car was setup the day I called in to onstar to setup this box. While I thought they were merging this box with my car, actually what they did was add this box to my account as if I owned another car. each box is tied to a specific vin.

So I called up onstar and spoke with tech support and he told me he's not sure how to change the VIN # that is tied to the box, and this may affect my vehicle diagnostic report...we'll see about that as I now have signed up for diagnostics on this new box, but if it thinks my car is a SS it might give messed up reports as I am in a 1LT. (will report on that later)

From what I can determine, the box I purchased was never setup and since I was the first to set it up they were able to easily add this car to my account. This definitely lends to the idea that if a car were already setup and active that it would be hard if not impossible to cancel the original sub and you would have to wait for it to expire before you could setup the box in your name, even then it would still not be setup to your vin # rather it would be as if you purchased the whole car rather than just a new box.

For me I am fine with all this, onstar still works for what I would need it for (emergency sevices). Vehicle diagnostics are cool I guess but Ive never had nor felt I needed the car to tell me when to do regular maintenance. Turn by Turn again could be nice, but havnt used it, never use mapquest, already have iphone maps and compass...Having bluetooth connection to my phone trumps anything onstar are offering me and at the end of the year I will not be paying for onstar service anyway. That being said it is kinda nice that my free year with onstar actually started over the day I setup this new box.

Ill be interested to see what experience you guys who buy other used boxes have. It seem more apparant now that you could be running into an issue if the box is currently active on someone else's account, at least with getting specific vehicle information. But all other functions still work perfectly and more importantly the bluetooth functionality is there regardless of the onstar support.

Last edited by VT2CA; 12-09-2009 at 02:02 PM.
VT2CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 02:01 PM   #62
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,731
Okay, I think I've been convinced about this whole thing. I'm going to throw in the towel on this one

VT2CA, your help and work is greatly appreciated!!! Thanks for taking the time out of your day to get some answers. I'm definately NOT going to purchase the one that is available right now...oops!

Maybe GM/Chevrolet/OnStar will hear our plea someday and offer integrated Bluetooth for us non C&C package owners...(sigh)
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 02:24 PM   #63
aldaran
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro & 2005 Silverado
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 199
Would you get charged for 2 Subs when they expire?
aldaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 03:11 PM   #64
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,731


I think i'll just try to look for a receiver/mic bluetooth adapter and plug it into the aux port
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 03:51 PM   #65
VT2CA
 
Drives: 2010 1LT CYBER GREY
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by aldaran View Post
Would you get charged for 2 Subs when they expire?
No, I cancelled the old account once I realized there were two, onstar were super cool and transferred the remaining onstar phone minutes I had left on my original box to the new one.
VT2CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 04:05 PM   #66
VT2CA
 
Drives: 2010 1LT CYBER GREY
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 124
I just recieved the vehicle diagnostics report I requested this morning from the new box. It seems to be fully functional and tied to my car correctly. Came up with the correct total miles, oil life, tire pressure, everything was as normal with the diagnostic report and the box is fully functioning with my car. The only thing is onstar have it listed as a SS with a different VIN, but I can't see why that would matter. Im happy, in the end that is the only oddity is that it lists a different car in my account, but in reality it is all tied to my ride. Here are the things I have tested as far as the total functionality:
Green light on rearview mirror - check
Emergency Services - check (even tied to personal identity)
Vehicle Diagnostics - check (lists diff vin and model on onstar page)
Directions and Connections - work well check.
Onstar Phone - check
bluetooth phone - check (works independant of onstar service)

Everything checks out on my box, now the question still remains will a box that is linked to another onstar account be able to be activated by another user, my guess is yes but logistically it may be complicated. They must reprogram boxes all the time tho as people buy and sell used cars with these systems often.
VT2CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 04:10 PM   #67
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,731
i see...i still dont want to risk "ruining" anything or making a huge mess out of things.

i think something like this:
http://www.alpine-usa.com/US-en/prod...iew=Bluetooth#

might be a better solution until we can have an official bluetooth accessory

__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 04:34 PM   #68
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,731
and...

i guess some of the Parrot devices also get hard-wired into the stereo system.

man...the things we go through to get what we want
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 04:49 PM   #69
VT2CA
 
Drives: 2010 1LT CYBER GREY
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwantone2 View Post
and...

i guess some of the Parrot devices also get hard-wired into the stereo system.

man...the things we go through to get what we want
I'm tellin ya bro, the easiest thing is to just replace the box like I did, in most cases it's cheapest too....pricing an installed parrot system I was getting quotes anywhere from $200 - $500.

I don't see how doing this upgrade could possibly mess things up in your car, yeah the box can control some functions of your car (unlock doors, shutdown engine) but all it really does is allow your cars' computer/gps to communicate with GM, and for you to make phone calls.... it's not like installing it involves splicing into your cars stereo harness or anything of the like to get it to work like the parrot devices and others do, likely more of a chance of messing somehing up with an aftermarket solution...
VT2CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 05:34 PM   #70
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by VT2CA View Post
I'm tellin ya bro, the easiest thing is to just replace the box like I did, in most cases it's cheapest too....pricing an installed parrot system I was getting quotes anywhere from $200 - $500.

I don't see how doing this upgrade could possibly mess things up in your car, yeah the box can control some functions of your car (unlock doors, shutdown engine) but all it really does is allow your cars' computer/gps to communicate with GM, and for you to make phone calls.... it's not like installing it involves splicing into your cars stereo harness or anything of the like to get it to work like the parrot devices and others do, likely more of a chance of messing somehing up with an aftermarket solution...
oh yea, i totally agree with you that it would be the easiest thing to do. but the onstar module having information from another car kind of bugs me a bit. and like was previously stated, we dont know what will happen if the "used" onstar module was activated. i would probably have a paper-weight for a year in that case
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 05:48 PM   #71
VT2CA
 
Drives: 2010 1LT CYBER GREY
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwantone2 View Post
oh yea, i totally agree with you that it would be the easiest thing to do. but the onstar module having information from another car kind of bugs me a bit. and like was previously stated, we dont know what will happen if the "used" onstar module was activated. i would probably have a paper-weight for a year in that case
I feel you for sure, just buy from a reputable dealer...like the one that's on Ebay now is coming from Cleveland pick a part, they run serious ebay game so I'm sure if it didnt work out they would refund you and if not and you paid with paypal file a chargeback and paypal will always side with the buyer just say the item was not as described, so really there is very little risk. just sayin.
VT2CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 07:13 AM   #72
Nexus6
More human than human
 
Nexus6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The mouth of hell
Posts: 1,901
Those threads are filled with pure win .
__________________

1100 - 10/22/2008
3000 - 05/27/2009
3300 - 06/06/2009
3800 - 06/29/2009
4B00 - 06/29/2009

Warehouse 13 survivor

Blood stains,speed kills,fast cars,cheap thrills,rich women,fine wine,i lost my sense i lost control i lost my
mind.
Nexus6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 09:32 AM   #73
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by VT2CA View Post
I feel you for sure, just buy from a reputable dealer...like the one that's on Ebay now is coming from Cleveland pick a part, they run serious ebay game so I'm sure if it didnt work out they would refund you and if not and you paid with paypal file a chargeback and paypal will always side with the buyer just say the item was not as described, so really there is very little risk. just sayin.
No paypal, cc only. and the dude told me that they charge a 25% restocking fee. but, i'll let someone else jump on the opportunity. if it works then we can start putting more pieces together from this puzzle. if it doesnt work, then it wasnt meant to be :(
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 09:38 AM   #74
technoside2
 
technoside2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dallas
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to technoside2
sucks the bidding ended for that one ebay. I wish my dealer would just sell it to me. I need to start looking at Junkyards for the module.
technoside2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 09:57 AM   #75
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,731
Quote:
Originally Posted by technoside2 View Post
sucks the bidding ended for that one ebay. I wish my dealer would just sell it to me. I need to start looking at Junkyards for the module.
PM sent
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.