Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Circle-D
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-09-2009, 05:49 PM   #69
VT2CA
 
Drives: 2010 1LT CYBER GREY
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwantone2 View Post
and...

i guess some of the Parrot devices also get hard-wired into the stereo system.

man...the things we go through to get what we want
I'm tellin ya bro, the easiest thing is to just replace the box like I did, in most cases it's cheapest too....pricing an installed parrot system I was getting quotes anywhere from $200 - $500.

I don't see how doing this upgrade could possibly mess things up in your car, yeah the box can control some functions of your car (unlock doors, shutdown engine) but all it really does is allow your cars' computer/gps to communicate with GM, and for you to make phone calls.... it's not like installing it involves splicing into your cars stereo harness or anything of the like to get it to work like the parrot devices and others do, likely more of a chance of messing somehing up with an aftermarket solution...
VT2CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 06:34 PM   #70
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by VT2CA View Post
I'm tellin ya bro, the easiest thing is to just replace the box like I did, in most cases it's cheapest too....pricing an installed parrot system I was getting quotes anywhere from $200 - $500.

I don't see how doing this upgrade could possibly mess things up in your car, yeah the box can control some functions of your car (unlock doors, shutdown engine) but all it really does is allow your cars' computer/gps to communicate with GM, and for you to make phone calls.... it's not like installing it involves splicing into your cars stereo harness or anything of the like to get it to work like the parrot devices and others do, likely more of a chance of messing somehing up with an aftermarket solution...
oh yea, i totally agree with you that it would be the easiest thing to do. but the onstar module having information from another car kind of bugs me a bit. and like was previously stated, we dont know what will happen if the "used" onstar module was activated. i would probably have a paper-weight for a year in that case
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-09-2009, 06:48 PM   #71
VT2CA
 
Drives: 2010 1LT CYBER GREY
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: SOCAL
Posts: 124
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iwantone2 View Post
oh yea, i totally agree with you that it would be the easiest thing to do. but the onstar module having information from another car kind of bugs me a bit. and like was previously stated, we dont know what will happen if the "used" onstar module was activated. i would probably have a paper-weight for a year in that case
I feel you for sure, just buy from a reputable dealer...like the one that's on Ebay now is coming from Cleveland pick a part, they run serious ebay game so I'm sure if it didnt work out they would refund you and if not and you paid with paypal file a chargeback and paypal will always side with the buyer just say the item was not as described, so really there is very little risk. just sayin.
VT2CA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 08:13 AM   #72
Nexus6
More human than human
 
Nexus6's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2008
Location: The mouth of hell
Posts: 1,890
Those threads are filled with pure win .
__________________

1100 - 10/22/2008
3000 - 05/27/2009
3300 - 06/06/2009
3800 - 06/29/2009
4B00 - 06/29/2009

Warehouse 13 survivor

Blood stains,speed kills,fast cars,cheap thrills,rich women,fine wine,i lost my sense i lost control i lost my
mind.
Nexus6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 10:32 AM   #73
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by VT2CA View Post
I feel you for sure, just buy from a reputable dealer...like the one that's on Ebay now is coming from Cleveland pick a part, they run serious ebay game so I'm sure if it didnt work out they would refund you and if not and you paid with paypal file a chargeback and paypal will always side with the buyer just say the item was not as described, so really there is very little risk. just sayin.
No paypal, cc only. and the dude told me that they charge a 25% restocking fee. but, i'll let someone else jump on the opportunity. if it works then we can start putting more pieces together from this puzzle. if it doesnt work, then it wasnt meant to be :(
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 10:38 AM   #74
technoside2
 
technoside2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Dallas
Posts: 170
Send a message via AIM to technoside2
sucks the bidding ended for that one ebay. I wish my dealer would just sell it to me. I need to start looking at Junkyards for the module.
technoside2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 10:57 AM   #75
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by technoside2 View Post
sucks the bidding ended for that one ebay. I wish my dealer would just sell it to me. I need to start looking at Junkyards for the module.
PM sent
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 11:34 AM   #76
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,620
i've been reading other gm forums about swapping the module and one of those tales stood out to me. the guy has a gmc sierra and got a module off of a wrecked enclave. onstar sees the "new" module, but see his gmc sierra as "someone elses 2009 enclave".
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 11:38 AM   #77
TriGun
 
TriGun's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro 2SS/RS Ice Silver
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 206
Non-US Camaro

As explained on this thread http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44126

the 2SS camaro (Non-US) does not come with the Onstar module (Service exists only in US) so the bluetooth for Hands-Free phone is disabled.

I wonder if I installed the Onstar module, would the Hands-Free Phone work or not ?
TriGun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 12:06 PM   #78
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,620


brings up a very interesting question though...
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 12:12 PM   #79
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,620
IF you have no need for the onstar function, it may be possible to get an onstar/bluetooth module installed in your car only for the bluetooth option. im just guessing though
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 10:59 AM   #80
TriGun
 
TriGun's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro 2SS/RS Ice Silver
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 206
Also I wonder where is the the mic?! do I need to install the mic or it is already installed ?

onstar functions are cool, but again we don't have the onstar service in Kuwait.
TriGun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 11:03 AM   #81
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by TriGun View Post
Also I wonder where is the the mic?! do I need to install the mic or it is already installed ?

onstar functions are cool, but again we don't have the onstar service in Kuwait.
Hmmm...for us, the mic is on the small plastic piece by where the dome light is (close to the rearview mirror). you should see some small openings there.

anybody got any pics of what it looks like?
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 11:24 AM   #82
Yellow1lt
 
Drives: Yellow 1LT
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Melbourne, Fl
Posts: 310
i was thinking the same thing... i dont think the onstar box needs to be active for the bluetooth to work... im thinking it shoudl be fine
Yellow1lt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 11:39 AM   #83
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yellow1lt View Post
i was thinking the same thing... i dont think the onstar box needs to be active for the bluetooth to work... im thinking it shoudl be fine
Probably, just need to find a box that isn't active...
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 01:44 PM   #84
tradosaurus
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 F150 Lariat, Candy Red
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,279
Quote:
Originally Posted by VT2CA View Post
I figured it out people and I'm going to share the knowledge here for all who want to add bluetooth hands-free phone support to their existing stereo with oem onstar box. Forgive the poor quality of my pics..

There are two separate onstar modules for use in the 2010 Camaro. They are made by Continental (who bought motorola's car division)
The basic box is part #20842730, it has only two fakra antenna connectors and no bluetooth emblem on this box

The other module is part # 20842731, has three fakra antennas one of which has a small bluetooth antenna attached. The box has a bluetooth emblem on it, some will find the antenna is not included as it is a seperate part: #15938939?
here is another view of the connectors on the bluetooth box w/antenna

The procedure for replacing the box is very easy:
First pull the onstar fuse in the interior fuse box (refer to owners manual)
Next remove the glovebox and the protective plastic moulding behind the glove box up high by the dash
This protective piece is held in by 5 torx screws
Once this piece is removed you can plainly see the precious silver onstar box hanging upside down on the left

The box unclips and slides right out of a plastic bezel (easy easy)
Unclip the two fakra wires and the two white small harnesses and switch the boxes
here is the new box connected slide it back into the bezel and reistall the protective piece and glovebox.

Reinstall the Fuse and You're Done! Turn on your car and pair your Bluetooth Phone (My iPhone worked flawlessly, instantly)

Next press the blue onstar button on your rear view mirror and inform them that you have changed your hardware, they can migrate your current account in about 15 minutes.

The only real hurdle you will have is locating a bluetooth onstar box for sale as I do not believe that you can order the part from the dealer. It is my understanding that they will only replace the box in case of theft, fire, or accidental damage... I bought mine from an aftermarket builder who stripped down the car for racing.
OK, I think that's it.

Let me know if I missed anything or if you have any questions, but go easy on me this is my first tutorial post
I guess I missed an earlier discussion somewhere. So why would I want to do this? I don't get it. Please inform me.
tradosaurus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2009, 01:53 PM   #85
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,620
tradosaurus,

you would want to do this if your model Camaro did not come with factory Bluetooth.

__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.