Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack

Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack Discuss issues related to wheels and tires

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-16-2009, 08:44 PM   #1
DkknightX
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt SS/SC Stage 2
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Emerson, NJ
Posts: 1,394
Bad Tire Pressure Monitor System

I was informed by On-Star to fill my tires with air because they were too low. I finally did get around to it tonight and carefully tried to fill them. I was filling them up and removing air as necessary very carefully. My car started beeping after I serviced each tire. Then I started my car up and gave me these messages. I took pictures of the DAC with my cell phone but ultimately I cannot get PSI readings on any tire anymore. I purchased a digital monitor as well tonight to make sure that dispite the system malfunctioning, I could ensure I have the right tire pressure. On-Star was useless, but I'm wondering instead of bringing my car in for service, is there any way of resetting the tire monitoring system back to default again? I saw something on the DAC about relearning but it didn't do anything. Any thoughts? Thanks in advance!
Attached Images
   
DkknightX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 11:47 PM   #2
navmaxlp
 
navmaxlp's Avatar
 
Drives: Not a Camaro :(
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Frederick, maryland
Posts: 337
Might want to pick up an OBD II scanner or borrow one and take a look at it, You may be able to reset the sensor. I highly doubt all the sensors went bad at the same time. The reset may clear things up. If it's more than that, it may be covered under waranty.
navmaxlp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 11:54 PM   #3
chevyss
SS/RS
 
chevyss's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS IOM w/blk stripes A6
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 816
DIC has a program to re-learn for the sensors?? I thought I read something about it.
chevyss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 11:56 PM   #4
HashimAzzouz
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS IOM ~ 2009 Traverse LT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Posts: 514
I think you have to take it to the dealer and let them solve it themselves! I did not order my Camaro yet! but I have a Chevrolet Traverse LT and everytime I check the tire pressure monitor it reads different all the time!! I think there is something wrong with their monitors/sensors in these new cars, not just the Camaro!!
HashimAzzouz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2009, 11:57 PM   #5
latinoslife
 
Drives: silver ice 2010 camaro 2lt RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: dyer, indiana
Posts: 136
mines did that i took it to dealer they said i needed some sort of update that was a week ago no problems but lets c how it goes when i get my tires replaced
__________________

[IMG][CENTER][/IMG]
latinoslife is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 12:24 AM   #6
shockandawe

 
Drives: 2006 LeMans Blue C6 Vette
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 1,300
Quote:
Originally Posted by latinoslife View Post
mines did that i took it to dealer they said i needed some sort of update that was a week ago no problems but lets c how it goes when i get my tires replaced
No,no if the sensors are bad, you need to replace them, not the tires!
shockandawe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 01:32 AM   #7
brAnd7onX
Team L99
 
brAnd7onX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS IOM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,535
In most cars with the tire pressure monitoring system the reset button is in the glove box. Is there one??
brAnd7onX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 02:06 AM   #8
DkknightX
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt SS/SC Stage 2
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Emerson, NJ
Posts: 1,394
Good thinking! I'll have to check. Let you guys know. It was weird, as I was filling each tire, the horn would sound I guess to let me know whether the tires had too much or too little air. If I can't find it, I'll have to call my dealer. Going to suck wasting time resetting these tire pressure sensors. The wheels themselves are at the correct pressure. That handheld electronic tire pressure reader is awesome. No guessing. Reads in increments of .5 PSI Pretty accurate if you ask me.
DkknightX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 03:06 AM   #9
Mzodarg
Remembering those in Blue
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS Blk w/IOM Int
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 479
I had issues with mine until I

Just saying,
Mike
__________________
Mzodarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 03:18 AM   #10
DkknightX
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt SS/SC Stage 2
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Emerson, NJ
Posts: 1,394
But did you actually get that message about "Service Tire Pressure Monitor System?"
DkknightX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 03:20 AM   #11
Mzodarg
Remembering those in Blue
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS Blk w/IOM Int
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 479
If I recall correctly, I did get that message (my memory ain't for sh!t these days). Then I read the book and all was well.

Mike
__________________
Mzodarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 03:23 AM   #12
BruceJames
 
Drives: 2010 SS2 RS Inferno Orange
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Clifton NJ
Posts: 43
READ the MANUAL! It tells you how to reset the stuff.. The beeping is indicating a reset..
You have to go to the DIC.. set it to reprogram the Pressure Monitor..then add or subtract air in EACH tire starting with the front drivers side..and then front passenger.. rear passenger then rear driver side tires till the horn beeps for EACH tire.. READ UP ...It's in there
BruceJames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 03:37 AM   #13
Lumina SS
Corvette Z51
 
Lumina SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Corvette Z51 476rwhp & camaro
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: kuwait
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by HashimAzzouz View Post
I think you have to take it to the dealer and let them solve it themselves! I did not order my Camaro yet! but I have a Chevrolet Traverse LT and everytime I check the tire pressure monitor it reads different all the time!! I think there is something wrong with their monitors/sensors in these new cars, not just the Camaro!!
the monitor change every time because when the tire is cold the pressure became low but when you drive the car and the tire move the tire become hot and the pressure become high that why it's keep changing every time.
__________________
Lumina SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 03:42 AM   #14
Lumina SS
Corvette Z51
 
Lumina SS's Avatar
 
Drives: Corvette Z51 476rwhp & camaro
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: kuwait
Posts: 174
i did get it in my corvette because one of my rim is not good because i hit something in the road sometimes it read the tire is flat but sometimes it's read it fine
__________________
Lumina SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 04:06 AM   #15
DkknightX
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt SS/SC Stage 2
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Emerson, NJ
Posts: 1,394
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceJames View Post
READ the MANUAL! It tells you how to reset the stuff.. The beeping is indicating a reset..
You have to go to the DIC.. set it to reprogram the Pressure Monitor..then add or subtract air in EACH tire starting with the front drivers side..and then front passenger.. rear passenger then rear driver side tires till the horn beeps for EACH tire.. READ UP ...It's in there
You were absolutely right. Even at 5AM EST, I went to the gas station, read the manual and was able to reset the TPM and then fill all the tires back to 37 and now are reading properly in the DIC. Wish there was a way to do that and keep the horn silent, perhaps having the headlights or hazards flash. Thanks again all! Was afraid I would have had to bring my car in for servicing. Man, the layman who doesn't know anything about cars would never know how to do this themselves. Thank God for C5 and literacy!
DkknightX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 05:00 AM   #16
brAnd7onX
Team L99
 
brAnd7onX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro SS IOM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,535
Quote:
Originally Posted by DkknightX View Post
You were absolutely right. Even at 5AM EST, I went to the gas station, read the manual and was able to reset the TPM and then fill all the tires back to 37 and now are reading properly in the DIC. Wish there was a way to do that and keep the horn silent, perhaps having the headlights or hazards flash. Thanks again all! Was afraid I would have had to bring my car in for servicing. Man, the layman who doesn't know anything about cars would never know how to do this themselves. Thank God for C5 and literacy!
I'm glad to see you got it resolved and you dont have to take it in, enjoy your SS!
brAnd7onX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 05:13 AM   #17
DkknightX
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Chevrolet Cobalt SS/SC Stage 2
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Emerson, NJ
Posts: 1,394
Thanks man! All help and information is appreciated!
DkknightX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 06:07 AM   #18
Mzodarg
Remembering those in Blue
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS Blk w/IOM Int
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 479
Think I said it all in post number 9, Read the book.

Just saying- Glad you figured it out.

Mike
__________________
Mzodarg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 06:28 AM   #19
cschmidt1956
 
cschmidt1956's Avatar
 
Drives: Too Little time to drive....
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Nowhere
Posts: 268
Yep it is a PITA to get these set right. I went through the reset process and had to do it twice. I still have one tire off. Seems like it take a little time for it to settle out.
cschmidt1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2009, 08:57 AM   #20
topgun1

 
topgun1's Avatar
 
Drives: 10 SIM 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Winston-Salem, NC
Posts: 1,944
Quote:
Originally Posted by BruceJames View Post
READ the MANUAL! It tells you how to reset the stuff.. The beeping is indicating a reset..
You have to go to the DIC.. set it to reprogram the Pressure Monitor..then add or subtract air in EACH tire starting with the front drivers side..and then front passenger.. rear passenger then rear driver side tires till the horn beeps for EACH tire.. READ UP ...It's in there
yes, it's in the manual. i had to do this the other day after i got an email about low tire pressure. I proceeded to add air to the tire and had turned the car off during the tire pressure sequence and I got the blank dashes for each tire pressure on the screen. I then followed the instructions and went around to each tire adjusting the pressure, got all 4 to beep then had the system relearn and it worked fine afterward. good luck.

the tire pressure varies usually 5 psi or more from cold to warm during a single day.
__________________
5th Gen Camaros of the Carolinas SIM, 2SS/RS LS3 5/7/11 453.9 RWHP 427.5 RWTQ
VMS Stage 2.5 Comp Cams kit, Cold Air Inductions intake, ADM race scoop, DT 1 3/4" headers, Solo cats, 3" Magnaflow catback, Pypes cutouts, HP tune, H&R SuperSport springs, Eibach sways/spacers, TexasSpeed UD pulley, LSR tensioner pulley, Barton shifter, skip shift eliminator, powder-coated calipers, R1 concept rotors, StopTech pads, Granatelli wires, Lloyds mats, tint, AAC afterburner taillamps, AAC scanner/sidemarkers, SRP pedals, custom engine cover, black bowties, Ridergraphix hood spears....
topgun1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:48 PM   #21
567234ta
 
567234ta's Avatar
 
Drives: 1996 gmc ecsb 408 ci SC 4l80e
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: sallisaw ok
Posts: 84
darn it, i was just playing around and pushed the reset, horn honked 2 times, and i got the error. i cant find my owners manual yet because i recently moved. any place online i can find the procedure?
__________________
567234ta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 10:00 PM   #22
SlingShot


 
SlingShot's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1 - #670
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seminole, Fl.
Posts: 6,960
Quote:
Originally Posted by 567234ta View Post
darn it, i was just playing around and pushed the reset, horn honked 2 times, and i got the error. i cant find my owners manual yet because i recently moved. any place online i can find the procedure?

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...ers+manual+pdf
__________________
SlingShot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 10:36 PM   #23
Captain Awesome
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 3,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by HashimAzzouz View Post
I think you have to take it to the dealer and let them solve it themselves! I did not order my Camaro yet! but I have a Chevrolet Traverse LT and everytime I check the tire pressure monitor it reads different all the time!! I think there is something wrong with their monitors/sensors in these new cars, not just the Camaro!!
This is normal. The air pressure in your tires goes up and down with changes in the weather (temperature, barometer) as well as driving conditions (driving raises the temperature of the tires and the air inside expands and raises the pressure... spirited driving heats the tires and raises the pressure inside even more)

Plus, the monitor devices are probably only accurate to 1PSI, so if you have 32.5PSI in the tire the reading may jump around between 32 and 33 (called "dithering")

Hope this answers your issue.
Captain Awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 10:44 PM   #24
robsls3
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Oaklawn, IL
Posts: 866
Yep just got mine last week and am having a similar issue. One minute it says 36 all around then 1 min later its 31 37 32 34 then minute later its 40 all around then yet again all low numbers.
robsls3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2010, 12:19 AM   #25
567234ta
 
567234ta's Avatar
 
Drives: 1996 gmc ecsb 408 ci SC 4l80e
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: sallisaw ok
Posts: 84
Quote:
Originally Posted by SlingShot View Post
man i been going thru boxes for hours with no luck, thank you so much.
__________________
567234ta is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tire Sealant Kit - Warranty Issues jbreed Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack 38 09-14-2011 02:18 PM
Oil pressure drops bad wetodd 4th Generation Camaros 26 11-25-2009 07:38 AM
Another Issue. Tire Monitor System!!! JewelZ Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls 4 11-11-2009 09:07 AM
500.00 per perelli tire not a myth! AVman Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack 51 10-20-2009 03:45 PM
Tire Pressure Monitoring Dentyneice Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack 8 08-14-2009 06:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.