Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
B&M
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2008, 12:52 AM   #1
tsg1391
 
Drives: 79 formula 'bird, 5th gen soon
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 247
can we turn afm on/off? or delete it??

like the title says, i want the ss with auto, but i dont want afm...

everyone on the g8 forums say it sounds funny when the cylinders de-activate when you have a loud exhaust. and if i am buying a v8 camaro, i want a loud exhaust!! gah, i wish i could get an auto with ls3

does anyone know if the afm only kicks in past a certain speed? or after a certain time of going the same speed?
tsg1391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 12:58 AM   #2
The_Blur
Jayhawk USN
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: 6.2L of AWESOME! 2011 L99 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NAS Whiting Field
Posts: 14,276
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
It only kicks in when you hit the gas. You won't notice any lag. It's a very impressive feature.
The_Blur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 01:08 AM   #3
tsg1391
 
Drives: 79 formula 'bird, 5th gen soon
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 247
i am talking about afm, active fuel management. im not trying to sound rude, but i dont see the point of it cutting cylinders when you accellerate?
tsg1391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 01:20 AM   #4
Mr. Wyndham
I used to be Dragoneye...
 
Mr. Wyndham's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 Camaro 1LE
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 25,788
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Wyndham
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsg1391 View Post
i am talking about afm, active fuel management. im not trying to sound rude, but i dont see the point of it cutting cylinders when you accellerate?
That's good, because niether does the system.

That's not how it works...when you're cruising at highway speeds or decelerating, the engine will shut half of itself down; saving fuel. When you idle or when you accelerate; AFM is inactive, and you can barely feel it switching on/off.
__________________
"Keep the faith." - - Read Before You Post.
SIGN UP for 2014 Camaro5 HPDE @ Gingerman Raceway!
Mr. Wyndham is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 01:21 AM   #5
pinkcamaro10
2G1FC1EV1A9110079
 
pinkcamaro10's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT/RS, 2013 2SS/RS 1LE
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Arizona
Posts: 4,815
Send a message via MSN to pinkcamaro10
hmm maybe you are confused or i am.

it doesnt cut cylinders when you accelerate.

when you are just doing normal daily driving it just uses 4 instead of 8, and then when you accelerate it will use all 8..



arghhh dragon you beat me.
__________________
pinkcamaro10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 01:22 AM   #6
The_Blur
Jayhawk USN
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: 6.2L of AWESOME! 2011 L99 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NAS Whiting Field
Posts: 14,276
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoneye View Post
That's good, because niether does the system.

That's not how it works...when you're cruising at highway speeds or decelerating, the engine will shut half of itself down; saving fuel. When you idle or when you accelerate; AFM is inactive, and you can barely feel it switching on/off.
If you really wanted a 4-banger, you'd be looking at a Cobalt. AFM does just what Dragoneye said. It activates when you're on the gas. If you hit cruise or idle at a speed, it will maintain speed with less cylinders active. This saves a considerable amount of fuel.
The_Blur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 03:28 AM   #7
tsg1391
 
Drives: 79 formula 'bird, 5th gen soon
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 247
dragon, i meant to quote the blur when he said it only kicks in when i hit the gas... i know what afm does/is, i am just concerned about exhaust note. maybe im just freaking out
tsg1391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 03:37 AM   #8
Mindz
E.B.A.H.
 
Mindz's Avatar
 
Drives: you wild...
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: In the happy padded room wearing a jacket that makes me hug myself...
Posts: 18,235
Go test drive a G8. I believe they have AFM on one or more of the models
__________________
Blue Rush, 2010 SS [Car of the Week 3/22/2010] Traded in on...ZLZBUBB, 2013 ZL1
Mindz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 05:10 AM   #9
TAG UR IT
www.Camaro5store.com
 
TAG UR IT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1 #705
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SA, Texas
Posts: 26,387
and don't let afm make up your mind about buying a car. AFM is an excellent thing that YOU will get on your auto. I can't get it since I'm getting the LS3 M6. If it really does sound that bad after you test drive it, then just change out the exhaust later on.
TAG UR IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 08:59 AM   #10
Jak
 
Jak's Avatar
 
Drives: 03 Dodge Dakota
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 627
I test drove a G8 GT and with the AFM you don't even feel or hear any difference. Then like Dragon says soon as you hit the gas it deactivates and your running on all 8 cylinders, let off the gas and coast or idle it activates an your on four. Personally I'm a little disappointed at the gap in horses but it's not anything that'll change my mind.
Jak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 10:17 AM   #11
SilverTurtle
Reality Check Specialist
 
SilverTurtle's Avatar
 
Drives: '02 Z28, 2012 45th SS
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: ATX
Posts: 1,724
Send a message via AIM to SilverTurtle Send a message via Yahoo to SilverTurtle
I have been assured that you can delete the AFM from the program and change the exhaust to make it as loud or quiet as you'd like... so fear not, auto lovers of the world, your car can still be setup like you want it... its just going to have to be done in the aftermarket
__________________
got tequila?
SilverTurtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 10:38 AM   #12
EllwynX


 
EllwynX's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Southern NJ
Posts: 2,260
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jak View Post
I test drove a G8 GT and with the AFM you don't even feel or hear any difference. Then like Dragon says soon as you hit the gas it deactivates and your running on all 8 cylinders, let off the gas and coast or idle it activates an your on four. Personally I'm a little disappointed at the gap in horses but it's not anything that'll change my mind.
I wasn't aware that AFM deactivated the cylinders when you idle'd or let off the gas.

I thought it just activated when you were at highway speeds.

If it also works as you've described, that makes me want it even more.
EllwynX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 11:36 AM   #13
the_saint
Member
 
the_saint's Avatar
 
Drives: rusty
Join Date: May 2008
Location: bucket
Posts: 74
with a hand held programmer you should be able to deactivate it just as they do on the hemi's.
__________________
the_saint is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 12:01 PM   #14
Jak
 
Jak's Avatar
 
Drives: 03 Dodge Dakota
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 627
It just kicks in when the cars on a light load, crusing speeds like on the highway or crusing up and down main street, anywhere that your not pushing down on the gas. Soon as you step on the gas then all eight kick in. 'least that's my understanding on how it works after speaking with mechanics and reading up on it.




Quote:
Originally Posted by EllwynX View Post
I wasn't aware that AFM deactivated the cylinders when you idle'd or let off the gas.

I thought it just activated when you were at highway speeds.

If it also works as you've described, that makes me want it even more.
Jak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 12:57 PM   #15
jdpickering
 
Drives: 99 Monte Carlo Z34
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 67
Quote:
garfin: Why no AFM on the maual transmission V8?

DougHoulihan: the AFM is done elecronically as we move from 8 cylinder to 4 cylinder mode or 4 cylinder to 8 cylinder mode. The manual transmission is mechanically in specific gears and does not allow us to electronically change from 4 cylinder to 8 cylinder mode.
Wonder what this will do to the EPA Fuel Milage for the Manuals. If you don't want AFM get a Manual
jdpickering is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2008, 08:57 PM   #16
greysteel_M6
 
Drives: 00' SS
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Abilene, TX
Posts: 29
You'll have to tune it out, Idk if it will be available on hand helds though.
greysteel_M6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 12:06 AM   #17
DGthe3
Moderator.ca
 
DGthe3's Avatar
 
Drives: 05 Grand Am GT
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Niagara, Canada
Posts: 22,172
Send a message via MSN to DGthe3
There is an easy way to bypass AFM: stay on the gas. It will never deactivate the other 4 cylinders.
__________________
Note, if I've gotten any facts wrong in the above, just ignore any points I made with them
__________________
don't believe a thing you read about the next gen Camaro -- as history has proven time and time again:

WE DO NOT TALK ABOUT FUTURE PRODUCT PLANS PERIOD FbodFather
__________________

Camaro5 Fest sub-forum
DGthe3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 01:06 AM   #18
Kyle2k
LVL 50 Troll Stomper
 
Kyle2k's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Grand Forks, ND
Posts: 3,241
All that aside how easy/hard will it be to get rid of it? Just a cam/lifters upgrade or what?
__________________
Kyle2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 09:29 AM   #19
Grape Ape
 
Drives: 96 Bronco w/ a 5 speed
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: PNW
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kyle2k View Post
All that aside how easy/hard will it be to get rid of it? Just a cam/lifters upgrade or what?
All you really need will be a tune, but you have to have a tune unless you like staring at a check engine light (and maybe some stumbling and stalling at cruise).

An LS3 cam would probably bring the power up to LS3 levels, but if you are swapping the cam you might as well go a little hotter. that would probably sound better to.
Grape Ape is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 05:25 PM   #20
AnEvilPenguin
 
AnEvilPenguin's Avatar
 
Drives: 05 Impala SS 86 Trans Am
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Columbus NJ
Posts: 54
I've built up ALOT of Gen 3 and 4 engines, AFM has a LOMA that cuts back on oil going to two cylinders on each bank, so the 4 cylinders that the lifters are not being pumped up let the valves stay closed so that they are not taking in any air or fuel mixture. also the PCM/VCM cuts off spark and the injectors to those cylinders. this only happens on cruising, decel, AND long idling, but on acceleration all 8 cylinders are firing. As for the sound, YES there is a really annoying sound when the afm is cutting off the 4 cylinders WHILE you have a loud exhaust, the exhaust sounds like a big 4 banger with a bad wrist pin. that is the best way for me to describe it. FYI almost all of the gen 4 engines have the afm bossed engines even if the car/truck does not have the afm feature, they just do not have the 1/8" holes drilled into them and instead of having a LOMA they just have the standard flat valley cover from Gen 3 engines. and YES afm can be permanently disabled, through computer mods, or block off the LOMA oil feed holes, I recommend that you just do it through the computer, because when you block off the holes, you will still have to reflash the PCM/VCM for new spark and fuel maps
AnEvilPenguin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 10:43 PM   #21
TheMadHatter99
Kept the Faith
 
TheMadHatter99's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 Camaro 2SS/RS CGM
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 722
SS w/ AFM Question

I'm not sure if this has been answered before (I usually skip most of the engine threads) but this has been bugging me since the info was revealed.

Is there a reason we can't get the SS manual tranny with AFM? Is it because AFM isn't compatible with a stick or is it because the LS3 can't take that technology for some reason?

I'm curious because I was really hoping to get a V8 stick that got at least 25mpg's, if not more. I know the final numbers aren't out yet and I plan on waiting a year or so anyways so I'll be able to see what everyone is getting in the real world, but I was just curious why the AFM tech wasn't making it onto the V8 sticks.
__________________
TheMadHatter99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 10:44 PM   #22
boxmonkeyracing
juggernaut
 
boxmonkeyracing's Avatar
 
Drives: VRSCF, 2011 SS vert
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: kenly, nc
Posts: 3,345
Send a message via AIM to boxmonkeyracing Send a message via Yahoo to boxmonkeyracing
AFM does not work with a manual due to computer not knowing what gear you're going to go in etc. . .
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by fbodfather View Post
We do not want to use the Z28 moniker on a car that does not deserve this hallowed name.
boxmonkeyracing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2008, 10:47 PM   #23
jmliptak
 
Drives: D
Join Date: May 2008
Location: D
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by boxmonkeyracing View Post
AFM does not work with a manual due to computer not knowing what gear you're going to go in etc. . .


There is a whole thread out there on this. The L99 is an LS3 with the AFM essentially, if Whiterag is around (he posted earlier in the engine forum) he can likely provide additional details.
jmliptak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 05:40 AM   #24
tsg1391
 
Drives: 79 formula 'bird, 5th gen soon
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: oklahoma
Posts: 247
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnEvilPenguin View Post
YES there is a really annoying sound when the afm is cutting off the 4 cylinders WHILE you have a loud exhaust, the exhaust sounds like a big 4 banger with a bad wrist pin
that is what i thought, but thanks for clearing up that we can tune it out... i guess i will take mine to a tuner to get it taken out after i get an exhaust put on
tsg1391 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2008, 06:52 AM   #25
Rob@WretchedMS
 
Rob@WretchedMS's Avatar
 
Drives: His Wife Crazy Phone:860-880-0486
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Silas Deane Auto,CT Name: Rob Anderson
Posts: 1,651
You can tune it out, but seriously, all your going to gain is lost fuel mileage. It turns off in milliseconds, and you won't have any idea when it's actually working other than the MPG goes up.

I can understand the 'old school' thought process that would want it turned off, but i can also give you the opinion of driving a G8, and you can't tell it's on, it's really a good thing.
Rob@WretchedMS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AFM v8 Engine The80sman Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 23 06-13-2008 11:19 AM
Camaro ls3 news...true or false? Dark Knight Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 74 06-05-2008 06:29 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.