Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Grabiak Performance Center
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-29-2009, 11:02 PM   #18
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316
Then which wire controls accent lighting of the gauges? I for sure have that
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 11:03 PM   #19
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316
I guess maybe it's data, not power. That sucks
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2009, 11:03 PM   #20
thiggin2
 
thiggin2's Avatar
 
Drives: 05/07 Chevy's
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakefeb3 View Post
Then which wire controls accent lighting of the gauges? I for sure have that
I don't think there is a wire for that. It looks like it's controlled through a "logic or Data" line.
thiggin2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 12:18 AM   #21
daphatgrant
June '10
 
daphatgrant's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS RJT
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Upstate NY (FingerLakes)
Posts: 2,397
What size fuse did you use?
daphatgrant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:03 AM   #22
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316
im still a little confused why you guys are hooking it up to the dome lamp. Just to look cool when you open the door?
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:03 AM   #23
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316
I am more interested in keeping them on while other lights are on, but I dont want to manually switch them on/off everytime with a new switch. Any ideas?
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:09 AM   #24
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,044
Remind me dos the 1ss have ABL in the door's
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:16 AM   #25
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316
No 1ss doesnt have abl in the doors. Thats whats causing me grief. i opened up the driver side fuse bezel and was looking for the power connection that was used here:
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...&highlight=abl
But aparently 1ss doesnt even have that cable. If someone who has a 2ss could figure out where this cable connects to, that would be totally killer info to have. If I could figure out where this cable connects to, maybe I could just wire my own
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:18 AM   #26
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316
If I go to the fuse box and tap into it, then my understanding is I will have to use a manual switch to turn it off and on at will. Any great ideas?
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:21 AM   #27
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,044
This may help as its to the dimmer Switch info.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...72&postcount=5
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:21 AM   #28
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316
I figure my options are:
A) tap into the fuse box, use a manual switch
B) use one of those many wires coming out of the bcm(k9) to get it to turn off and on automatically
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:22 AM   #29
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakefeb3 View Post
No 1ss doesnt have abl in the doors. Thats whats causing me grief. i opened up the driver side fuse bezel and was looking for the power connection that was used here:
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...&highlight=abl
But aparently 1ss doesnt even have that cable. If someone who has a 2ss could figure out where this cable connects to, that would be totally killer info to have. If I could figure out where this cable connects to, maybe I could just wire my own
It comes from the dimmer Switch.
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:24 AM   #30
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316
the dimmer switch info was my first thought when I was thinking about how to do this. But I think all those connections are just sending data to the bcm(or something)
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:25 AM   #31
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSRS View Post
It comes from the dimmer Switch.
So which pins are they?
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:27 AM   #32
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,044
Headlamp and Panel Dimmer Switch info




2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:30 AM   #33
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316

In this photo, it looks like a purple wire and another(?) wire
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 01:32 AM   #34
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316
The only thing I see thats purple in the diagram is the foglights, but I dont think that is right. I dont see anything related to the ambient lighting or anything like that. Any thoughts?
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to wire in ambient footwell lighting? cybercoaster Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 32 01-11-2016 12:08 PM
Ambient Footwell Lighting: ORACLE CCFL Tubes ($35/Pair) AACstyle Interior Parts & Accessories 276 12-28-2012 04:39 PM
Anyone have the Footwell Lighting Kit Installed? wildthing001967 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 12 07-03-2011 06:00 PM
AACStyle footwell lighting problem TRSS2 Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 8 01-23-2010 07:41 PM
footwell neon lighting. How to wire to have it come on the other ambient lighting? Jakefeb3 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 6 11-22-2009 10:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.