Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
BeckyD@RodgersChevrolet
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2011, 04:38 AM   #393
bee sting

 
bee sting's Avatar
 
Drives: 1997 30th Ann. Z28 & 2010 2LT RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Suffolk Virginia
Posts: 1,931
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasty View Post
Thanks to Ofer (2SSRS) I have my footwell lighting installed, WITH A PLUG AND PLAY SOLUTION, no T-Taps needed!!! (yes it's a bit more expensive this way, but I like it better)

the harness plugs inline with the roof harness - behind the right kick panel. I can post up pics if there is some interest
I'd be interested in see this done . Thanks
__________________
bee sting is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 06:28 AM   #394
skysharker1
Airborne Paratroopers!!!
 
skysharker1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro SS Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mid-NJ.....13 Year Army Paratrooper. Death from Above!!!
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to skysharker1 Send a message via Yahoo to skysharker1
I just tapped my rear light power and ground to the front light wiring. Goes on and off with the front footwells. Removed the rear seat and glued the light strips to the front underneath edge of the seat, and used a little stiching to keep on there a little bit more secure. See pics.







skysharker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 11:39 AM   #395
ihaveacamaro
I like teeth.
 
ihaveacamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: #198
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 4,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by skysharker1 View Post
I just tapped my rear light power and ground to the front light wiring. Goes on and off with the front footwells. Removed the rear seat and glued the light strips to the front underneath edge of the seat, and used a little stiching to keep on there a little bit more secure. See pics.







How did u wire the rear lights to the front lights?
ihaveacamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2011, 11:52 AM   #396
skysharker1
Airborne Paratroopers!!!
 
skysharker1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro SS Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mid-NJ.....13 Year Army Paratrooper. Death from Above!!!
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to skysharker1 Send a message via Yahoo to skysharker1
As you can see in the pic, I ran the wiring unerneath the rug, underneath the middle console, and spliced into my front footwell wires which are connected to a toggle switch just in front of the stickshift. See pic.


skysharker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 02:16 AM   #397
ihaveacamaro
I like teeth.
 
ihaveacamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: #198
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Posts: 4,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by skysharker1 View Post
As you can see in the pic, I ran the wiring unerneath the rug, underneath the middle console, and spliced into my front footwell wires which are connected to a toggle switch just in front of the stickshift. See pic.


do you have any suggestions on how I should do it?

I don't have nor want to make a toggle switch for the footwells. But I already have the AAC front footwells in place in the front spliced to the dome light wire.

any ideas? I would want the rears to come on with the front...

Thanks,
Roshan
ihaveacamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 02:55 AM   #398
SummoneR
Paul
 
SummoneR's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS M6 "Marauder"
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 6,281
Send a message via Yahoo to SummoneR
Quote:
Originally Posted by ihaveacamaro View Post
do you have any suggestions on how I should do it?

I don't have nor want to make a toggle switch for the footwells. But I already have the AAC front footwells in place in the front spliced to the dome light wire.

any ideas? I would want the rears to come on with the front...

Thanks,
Roshan
Just connect the positive wire from each of the rear lights, then run a wire to the front and connect it to the same positive the fronts are connected to. Do the same with the ground. Run the wires under the carpet into the center console area up to where you connect it to the front lights.

Like shown in this picture.
__________________
SummoneR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2011, 06:07 AM   #399
skysharker1
Airborne Paratroopers!!!
 
skysharker1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro SS Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mid-NJ.....13 Year Army Paratrooper. Death from Above!!!
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to skysharker1 Send a message via Yahoo to skysharker1
Exactamundo!!
skysharker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:49 AM   #400
Funkymaddox
 
Funkymaddox's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2LT/RS
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 67
i got my AAC package today and i have some questions for installing them on the dome light and with an extra switch to turn them on manually!

1. do I t-tap both, driver and passenger side, lights onto the grey cable or do i connect both lights and only one t-tap to the grey cable? in sequence would be easier i think, or?

2. do i get a good cable at the same spot where the grey cable is for a constant power source for the switch to turn the light on while i'm driving? which one would be a good cable for that?
Funkymaddox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:57 AM   #401
skysharker1
Airborne Paratroopers!!!
 
skysharker1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro SS Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mid-NJ.....13 Year Army Paratrooper. Death from Above!!!
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to skysharker1 Send a message via Yahoo to skysharker1
Connect both light wires together...red to red and black to black...that way you have only the two wires to connect instead of four. I connected my fronts to a single pole-double throw (SPDT) switch which allows me to switch from dome light power to constant power (lights always on). My constant power is coming from the lighter in the center console above the stickshift; of course the power will cut off as soon as you open the driver door.

I installed the switch as seen below. It's a mini toggle switch.
skysharker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 11:59 AM   #402
SummoneR
Paul
 
SummoneR's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS M6 "Marauder"
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 6,281
Send a message via Yahoo to SummoneR
Quote:
Originally Posted by skysharker1 View Post
Connect both light wires together...red to red and black to black...that way you have only the two wires to connect instead of four. I connected my fronts to a single pole-double throw (SPDT) switch which allows me to switch from dome light power to constant power (lights always on). My constant power is coming from the lighter in the center console above the stickshift; of course the power will cut off as soon as you open the driver door.

I installed the switch as seen below. It's a mini toggle switch.
I have a question for you. Did you install Diodes to keep the power from the constant back feeding the dome circuit, and vice versa?

Edit: Nevermind, I see you used a SPDT... duh. ah ahaha
__________________
SummoneR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:03 PM   #403
skysharker1
Airborne Paratroopers!!!
 
skysharker1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro SS Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mid-NJ.....13 Year Army Paratrooper. Death from Above!!!
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to skysharker1 Send a message via Yahoo to skysharker1
No diodes. When the switch is set to one source, it cuts off power from the other source, so there's no backfeed.
skysharker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:11 PM   #404
SummoneR
Paul
 
SummoneR's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS M6 "Marauder"
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 6,281
Send a message via Yahoo to SummoneR
Quote:
Originally Posted by skysharker1 View Post
No diodes. When the switch is set to one source, it cuts off power from the other source, so there's no backfeed.
Yeah I caught that with the SPDT, I did not see that the first time I read your response sorry LOL
__________________
SummoneR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:26 PM   #405
skysharker1
Airborne Paratroopers!!!
 
skysharker1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2016 Camaro SS Convertible
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Mid-NJ.....13 Year Army Paratrooper. Death from Above!!!
Posts: 191
Send a message via AIM to skysharker1 Send a message via Yahoo to skysharker1
NP
skysharker1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2011, 12:39 PM   #406
Funkymaddox
 
Funkymaddox's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Camaro 2LT/RS
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 67
ok thanks a lot. do i need extra wires or is the lenght enough on the AAC light?

and i am right to buy the red t-taps right?

i got this switch with my order from AAC, can you explain how to connect the wires on that?
Attached Images
  
Funkymaddox is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to wire in ambient footwell lighting? cybercoaster Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 32 01-11-2016 11:08 AM
Ambient Footwell Lighting: ORACLE CCFL Tubes ($35/Pair) AACstyle Interior Parts & Accessories 276 12-28-2012 03:39 PM
Anyone have the Footwell Lighting Kit Installed? wildthing001967 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 12 07-03-2011 05:00 PM
AACStyle footwell lighting problem TRSS2 Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 8 01-23-2010 06:41 PM
footwell neon lighting. How to wire to have it come on the other ambient lighting? Jakefeb3 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 6 11-22-2009 09:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.