Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HRE Wheels
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-30-2009, 12:22 AM   #29
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,602
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakefeb3 View Post
No 1ss doesnt have abl in the doors. Thats whats causing me grief. i opened up the driver side fuse bezel and was looking for the power connection that was used here:
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...&highlight=abl
But aparently 1ss doesnt even have that cable. If someone who has a 2ss could figure out where this cable connects to, that would be totally killer info to have. If I could figure out where this cable connects to, maybe I could just wire my own
It comes from the dimmer Switch.
__________________
<img src=images/smilies/thumbdown.gif border=0 alt= title=Thumbdown class=inlineimg />
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 12:24 AM   #30
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316
the dimmer switch info was my first thought when I was thinking about how to do this. But I think all those connections are just sending data to the bcm(or something)
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 12:25 AM   #31
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2SSRS View Post
It comes from the dimmer Switch.
So which pins are they?
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 12:27 AM   #32
2SSRS@Gen5diy

 
2SSRS@Gen5diy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM ,2014 Z/28, 66 Nova
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: By the lake in AZ
Posts: 13,602
Headlamp and Panel Dimmer Switch info




__________________
<img src=images/smilies/thumbdown.gif border=0 alt= title=Thumbdown class=inlineimg />
2SSRS@Gen5diy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 12:30 AM   #33
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316

In this photo, it looks like a purple wire and another(?) wire
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 12:32 AM   #34
Jakefeb3
 
Drives: 2010 camaro 1ss
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: MOntana
Posts: 316
The only thing I see thats purple in the diagram is the foglights, but I dont think that is right. I dont see anything related to the ambient lighting or anything like that. Any thoughts?
Jakefeb3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-30-2009, 07:16 AM   #35
TonyNo

 
TonyNo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT, IBM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by daphatgrant View Post
What size fuse did you use?
3A (smallest I could find). My strips draw 0.07A each.
TonyNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 08:55 PM   #36
cybercoaster

 
cybercoaster's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 ZL1 AGM
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 1,557
Thanks TonyNo. I hope to wire in my CCFL soon
__________________
APEX catch can, ROTOFAB, noweeds. Kooks 2" LT headers. BMR 1" drop to be installed
cybercoaster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 02:50 PM   #37
CRZ
 
Drives: 2010 1LT/RS RJT Camaro
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 21
For me it's looking like the best option is to tap off the forward outlet/cigarette power, install a switch that I'll mount to the right of the steering column, and manually turn on the footwell and accent lighting.

The dome switch obviously needs to fade out, and I'd like to be able to have some leds working when the car is rolling. Plus, if you switch out the dome lighting to a highpower color LED, the interior of the car will already show up lit up in your chosen color from the dome light regardless of what your footwells are doing.

I thought about connecting to the headlights, to engage the LEDs whenever the headlights were on, but having the control to turn them on whenever is probably going to work out better for me.

I'll probably get the lights and install them in January, I'll be sure to post up pics when I'm done.
CRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 03:14 PM   #38
TonyNo

 
TonyNo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT, IBM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by CRZ View Post
if you switch out the dome lighting to a highpower color LED, the interior of the car will already show up lit up in your chosen color from the dome light regardless of what your footwells are doing
Not quite. Anything in the front 3/4 of the footwell is still dark.
TonyNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 03:32 PM   #39
CRZ
 
Drives: 2010 1LT/RS RJT Camaro
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Harrisburg, PA
Posts: 21
I'll certainly grant you that, Tony!

I guess I'm just talking about seeing the car from the exterior, when I engage the dome from the remote.

It's all in what you're looking for. If you need/want your footwell lights for further illumination in the interior to find things dropped or better light the car for entry purposes, the dome light's the way to go.

For me, I always have a flashlight on my person and one in the glovebox, so the dome and footwells are more a cosmetic thing than a utility.
CRZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 09:31 PM   #40
TonyNo

 
TonyNo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT, IBM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 979
Yup. All about what you want.
TonyNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 12:45 AM   #41
SummoneR
Paul
 
SummoneR's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS M6 "Marauder"
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 6,280
Send a message via Yahoo to SummoneR
Tony, thanks for the write up, I had not thought about hooking it up to the dome light, that works perfectly for what I want to do.

I want the foot well and under the seats in the rear to only come on when I need to find something, therefore attaching it to the dome light works perfectly. My sister has footwell lighting in her Scion, and it's way too much to have on while driving. I plan to do small accents here and there in other area that I plan to connect with a switch, I was hoping to eliminate the number of switches and this works great.

Thanks again!!

__________________
SummoneR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2009, 10:42 PM   #42
CarNutzCustomz
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Bellevue, WA
Posts: 103
Looks like GM will be offering a plug and play solution for footwell lighting.

http://www.gmpartsdirect.com/results...umber=92213222


Quote:
Originally Posted by Jakefeb3 View Post

In this photo, it looks like a purple wire and another(?) wire
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Cyber Gray Metallic/Black
CarNutzCustomz is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to wire in ambient footwell lighting? cybercoaster Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 32 01-11-2016 11:08 AM
Ambient Footwell Lighting: ORACLE CCFL Tubes ($35/Pair) AACstyle Interior Parts & Accessories 276 12-28-2012 03:39 PM
Anyone have the Footwell Lighting Kit Installed? wildthing001967 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 12 07-03-2011 05:00 PM
AACStyle footwell lighting problem TRSS2 Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 8 01-23-2010 06:41 PM
footwell neon lighting. How to wire to have it come on the other ambient lighting? Jakefeb3 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 6 11-22-2009 09:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.