Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ModBargains
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions All DIY projects & discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-31-2009, 06:26 PM   #51
mydreamcar
My Dream Car
 
mydreamcar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 SIM LS3 1SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: staten island
Posts: 1,288
awesome idea
mydreamcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 03:30 PM   #52
SSTony

 
Drives: SS Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Piscataway NJ
Posts: 1,107
Send a message via AIM to SSTony
can you hook these up to do both? as in come on and off when the dome light is on and a switch to turn it on whenever you want?
__________________
SSTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 03:43 PM   #53
FwyFlyer
 
FwyFlyer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 284
Taps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael_Js View Post
Easy job! I found out that dome light connector already have a couple of wire taps on it from my alarm installer! Lots of wire taps on that baby! A very easy install! We'll see how they look tonight! Thanks for the DIY!!

Wait! does it have taps on it from GM? or you alarm installer put some on it as well as yourself? Another question: with the doors closed, when you switch the dome on manually, do the foot wells come on too?
Thanks
FwyFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:15 PM   #54
TonyNo

 
TonyNo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT, IBM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 980
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSTony View Post
can you hook these up to do both? as in come on and off when the dome light is on and a switch to turn it on whenever you want?
You would just need a SPDT switch to select between the dome circuit and constant power. See diagram attached.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FwyFlyer
Another question: with the doors closed, when you switch the dome on manually, do the foot wells come on too?
Yup.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by TonyNo; 01-08-2010 at 04:25 PM. Reason: Correction; added diagram
TonyNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:44 PM   #55
Michael_Js
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
Michael_Js's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS - Black w/IOM; 6M
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 5,317
Send a message via AIM to Michael_Js Send a message via MSN to Michael_Js
Quote:
Originally Posted by FwyFlyer View Post
Wait! does it have taps on it from GM? or you alarm installer put some on it as well as yourself? Another question: with the doors closed, when you switch the dome on manually, do the foot wells come on too?
Thanks

yes, he already answered. Mine had taps on it from the alarm installer - NOT from GM. he used the lights coming on to set the alarm off - someone opening the doors.

And as already answered, the foot wells do come on when you turn on the dome light

Works great! Such as easy mod too! No drilling to hang the light bars. i just zip tied them.

Michael J.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2010 Black 2SS/RS; 6M; IOM, GFX, sunroof; ADM Race CAI; Zoomers CB; Viper Alarm; Pdaft F&R sways, Adj Endlinks, Rtrailing arms, Camber kit, strut brace, Front Trailing Arm Bushing; SLP Skip-Shift Elim; Tinted lights/windows; Hurst Short-throw; LoJack; Door & Dash ABL Mods; Subthump; JBA Shorty headers; AACStyle LEDs; Stillen DS rotors, Hawk Ceramic pads; Havoc Blk Chrome wheels: 20x9s; Lingenfelter Blk Al Pedals; RevXtreme Catch Can; Goodridge SS lines; Ported TB; RK Sport hood; Hotchkis chassis brace; KW V3 coilovers;
Michael_Js is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 03:09 PM   #56
bologdl
 
bologdl's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT AS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 61
Found this site and it offers a remote swirch option for operating your LEDS.
12V LED Dimmer and Strobe Remote Switch - Plug & Play!
http://www.oznium.com/12v-remote-dimmer-strobe-switch
bologdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 03:17 PM   #57
SummoneR
Paul
 
SummoneR's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS M6 "Marauder"
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 6,489
Send a message via Yahoo to SummoneR
Quote:
Originally Posted by bologdl View Post
Found this site and it offers a remote swirch option for operating your LEDS.
12V LED Dimmer and Strobe Remote Switch - Plug & Play!
http://www.oznium.com/12v-remote-dimmer-strobe-switch
OZNIUM is awesome! I buy all my LED's from them. (Other than the Dome light I got from AAC. If I do my own custome work i get them from OZNIUM.

These are from OZNIUM

__________________
SummoneR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 01:01 PM   #58
Garret_Buie
 
Drives: 2010 Imperial Blue LS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 4
Instead of TTAP connecter, why not just use a wire tap... alot less work and no need for a fuse
Garret_Buie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 01:14 PM   #59
TonyNo

 
TonyNo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT, IBM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 980
T-tap is so that you can pull/change it, and the fuse is just to be safe.
__________________
TonyNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 02:48 PM   #60
Garret_Buie
 
Drives: 2010 Imperial Blue LS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 4
I'm using a simple wire tap on my dodge dakota, works just fine that way
Garret_Buie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-06-2010, 11:39 PM   #61
Toasty
Custom User Title :D
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 2,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWCompetition View Post
Not sure if this is pertinent but found it on the CTS-V forums.

http://www.cadillacforums.com/forums...footwells.html

kit uses p/n 19170639. google search results make them look exactly like the ones that were supposed to be made for the camaro, but not sure on wire length or color of LED.
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 12:36 AM   #62
franknbeans
Whipped
 
franknbeans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh-ish - PA
Posts: 4,097
I just used the stock connectors.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63527
__________________
The "ManCard"

franknbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 01:04 PM   #63
SNV

 
SNV's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 BRM 1LS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,283
Anybody using Cold Cathode Light kits?
__________________
2010 IBM 1LT out. 2013 BRM 1LS in. It's like having a blank canvas once again. Modding has started! Now on to a 2014......
SNV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 08:48 PM   #64
SNV

 
SNV's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 BRM 1LS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,283
Ordered a set of 10" Piranha Bars from oznium.com. Should be here sometime next week . Will post up some pics when I install.

SummoneR - Thanks for the repies to my pm's.
__________________
2010 IBM 1LT out. 2013 BRM 1LS in. It's like having a blank canvas once again. Modding has started! Now on to a 2014......
SNV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 01:01 PM   #65
SummoneR
Paul
 
SummoneR's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS M6 "Marauder"
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 6,489
Send a message via Yahoo to SummoneR
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNV View Post
Ordered a set of 10" Piranha Bars from oznium.com. Should be here sometime next week . Will post up some pics when I install.

SummoneR - Thanks for the repies to my pm's.
Looking forward to the pictures SNV. No Problem! Glad I could help.
__________________
SummoneR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 09:08 PM   #66
pkauf
 
pkauf's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Crystal Red Convertible RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fairview, Texas
Posts: 276
How cool - got mine done tonight!!!

Thanks to TonyNo - Just got mine installed tonight - what great instructions!!!!! I could have never found the right wires without his help.

A great upgrade to the dark footwells!!! Also added the LED Bulbz (blue) for the dome light, trunk and license plate!!!
__________________
pkauf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 09:28 PM   #67
Sgt. Fury
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 17
Hey, Just wanted to give a shout out to you Tonyno, Just finished up this install and could not have been easier. Thanks for the info! Cheers!
Sgt. Fury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 09:44 PM   #68
TonyNo

 
TonyNo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT, IBM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 980
No problem! Helping out where I can!
__________________
TonyNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 08:11 PM   #69
Bone
2SS RJT OWNER/OPERATOR
 
Bone's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS LS3 RJT
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Currently on the 3rd Rock. Temporarily
Posts: 555
I finally finished my footwell lighting install. Only took me a couple of months. No clear instructions. Other than how to shrink wrap the connections with a hair dryer. Doh! Anyway, after scoping out the situation. and all the back breaking position under the dash. I figured out a nice place to mount the tube lights and the inverters. After all, I done want them to be in a position to get kicked and break, I had to makeup a couple of brackets at work. But that was no problem either. I proceeded to install my footwell light kit. After all the back breaking position under the dash. Did I mention it was a real pain in the back. (at 52, I don't bend easily). Well, I got it done. Wired it off the dome light. I really just wanted the footwell lights to illuminate the footwell when entering the vehicle at night. (GM should have supplied!)

Thanks to all, with your insight. It Help me alot. So here are a couple of pics of my footwell lighting install.





The really cool thing is. Running it off the dome light wire. The footwell lighting also mimicks the theater lighting effect. That is, it comes on softly until bright, Then it slowly fades with the dome light when the lights go off. Its frik'in awesome. Exactly what I wanted...
__________________
Fly low and Avoid the radar!
Bone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 09:06 PM   #70
HeavyD

 
HeavyD's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SSRS RY L99
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,330
Real nice man, nice!
HeavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 01:02 AM   #71
SNV

 
SNV's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 BRM 1LS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,283
Still waiting on my 10" Piranha Bars from oznium.com. When I ordered them on the 12th they said will ship in 2-3 days. Here we are 12 days later and they still did not ship. Just keep getting a run around from them. They said they would have them this past Monday. Today they said they didn't come in Monday. I know where I will never order from again. Guess I should have stuck with the Cold Cathodes :(.
__________________
2010 IBM 1LT out. 2013 BRM 1LS in. It's like having a blank canvas once again. Modding has started! Now on to a 2014......
SNV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 01:04 AM   #72
SummoneR
Paul
 
SummoneR's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS M6 "Marauder"
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 6,489
Send a message via Yahoo to SummoneR
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNV View Post
Still waiting on my 10" Piranha Bars from oznium.com. When I ordered them on the 12th they said will ship in 2-3 days. Here we are 12 days later and they still did not ship. Just keep getting a run around from them. They said they would have them this past Monday. Today they said they didn't come in Monday. I know where I will never order from again. Guess I should have stuck with the Cold Cathodes :(.
Dang man, sorry to hear :( last I used them they were on the ball.
Hope you receive them soon.
__________________
SummoneR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 01:15 AM   #73
SNV

 
SNV's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 BRM 1LS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,283
Yeah I am really shocked that it is taking this long. To be out of stock is one thing. To say it would ship in 2-3 days is just wrong. Here is the last email I got.
Quote:
As Phil mentioned, we expected them on Monday, however they didn't show. We hope they arrive today, but there is no guarantee on delivery date in freight delivery's. I'm very sorry for the delay. We will fulfill your order as soon as we get in the products. -Justin Oznium Support Team
__________________
2010 IBM 1LT out. 2013 BRM 1LS in. It's like having a blank canvas once again. Modding has started! Now on to a 2014......
SNV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2010, 10:16 AM   #74
CAMARO_MOW
 
CAMARO_MOW's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 White 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 350
Just ordered my footwell lighting and dome/trunk led bulbs from AAC. Thanks TonyNo for the instructions, looks like a piece of cake to to this mod.
__________________
2SS/RS Summit White with IOM Stripes and IOM Interior, Hurst Shifter....
CAMARO_MOW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 05:13 PM   #75
kkonopasek
1st Time Camaro
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Jacksonville, Fl
Posts: 9
Thanks for the great instructions TonyNo! Other than physically getting to everything this was a breeze!
kkonopasek is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ambient Footwell Lighting: ORACLE CCFL Tubes ($35/Pair) AACstyle Interior Parts & Accessories 276 12-28-2012 03:39 PM
Anyone have the Footwell Lighting Kit Installed? wildthing001967 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 12 07-03-2011 05:00 PM
AACStyle footwell lighting problem TRSS2 Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 8 01-23-2010 06:41 PM
Where to wire in ambient footwell lighting? cybercoaster Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 29 11-28-2009 07:30 PM
footwell neon lighting. How to wire to have it come on the other ambient lighting? Jakefeb3 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 6 11-22-2009 09:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.