Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-08-2010, 04:30 PM   #52
SSTony

 
Drives: SS Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Piscataway NJ
Posts: 1,111
Send a message via AIM to SSTony
can you hook these up to do both? as in come on and off when the dome light is on and a switch to turn it on whenever you want?
__________________
SSTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 04:43 PM   #53
FwyFlyer
 
FwyFlyer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 288
Taps?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael_Js View Post
Easy job! I found out that dome light connector already have a couple of wire taps on it from my alarm installer! Lots of wire taps on that baby! A very easy install! We'll see how they look tonight! Thanks for the DIY!!

Wait! does it have taps on it from GM? or you alarm installer put some on it as well as yourself? Another question: with the doors closed, when you switch the dome on manually, do the foot wells come on too?
Thanks
FwyFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 05:15 PM   #54
TonyNo

 
TonyNo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT, IBM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 979
Quote:
Originally Posted by SSTony View Post
can you hook these up to do both? as in come on and off when the dome light is on and a switch to turn it on whenever you want?
You would just need a SPDT switch to select between the dome circuit and constant power. See diagram attached.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FwyFlyer
Another question: with the doors closed, when you switch the dome on manually, do the foot wells come on too?
Yup.
Attached Images
 

Last edited by TonyNo; 01-08-2010 at 05:25 PM. Reason: Correction; added diagram
TonyNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2010, 06:44 PM   #55
Michael_Js
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
Michael_Js's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS - Black w/IOM; 6M
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 5,306
Send a message via AIM to Michael_Js Send a message via MSN to Michael_Js
Quote:
Originally Posted by FwyFlyer View Post
Wait! does it have taps on it from GM? or you alarm installer put some on it as well as yourself? Another question: with the doors closed, when you switch the dome on manually, do the foot wells come on too?
Thanks

yes, he already answered. Mine had taps on it from the alarm installer - NOT from GM. he used the lights coming on to set the alarm off - someone opening the doors.

And as already answered, the foot wells do come on when you turn on the dome light

Works great! Such as easy mod too! No drilling to hang the light bars. i just zip tied them.

Michael J.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2010 Black 2SS/RS; 6M; IOM, GFX, sunroof; ADM Race CAI; Zoomers CB; Viper Alarm; Pdaft F&R sways, Adj Endlinks, Rtrailing arms, Camber kit, strut brace, Front Trailing Arm Bushing; SLP Skip-Shift Elim; Tinted lights/windows; Hurst Short-throw; LoJack; Door & Dash ABL Mods; ********; JBA Shorty headers; AACStyle LEDs; Stillen DS rotors, Hawk Ceramic pads; Havoc Blk Chrome wheels: 20x9s; Lingenfelter Blk Al Pedals; RevXtreme Catch Can; Goodridge SS lines; Ported TB; RK Sport hood; Hotchkis chassis brace; KW V3 coilovers;
Michael_Js is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 04:09 PM   #56
bologdl
 
bologdl's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT AS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 68
Found this site and it offers a remote swirch option for operating your LEDS.
12V LED Dimmer and Strobe Remote Switch - Plug & Play!
http://www.oznium.com/12v-remote-dimmer-strobe-switch
bologdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 04:17 PM   #57
SummoneR
Paul
 
SummoneR's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS M6 "Marauder"
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 6,276
Send a message via Yahoo to SummoneR
Quote:
Originally Posted by bologdl View Post
Found this site and it offers a remote swirch option for operating your LEDS.
12V LED Dimmer and Strobe Remote Switch - Plug & Play!
http://www.oznium.com/12v-remote-dimmer-strobe-switch
OZNIUM is awesome! I buy all my LED's from them. (Other than the Dome light I got from AAC. If I do my own custome work i get them from OZNIUM.

These are from OZNIUM

__________________
SummoneR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 02:01 PM   #58
Garret_Buie
 
Drives: 2010 Imperial Blue LS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 4
Instead of TTAP connecter, why not just use a wire tap... alot less work and no need for a fuse
Garret_Buie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2010, 02:14 PM   #59
TonyNo

 
TonyNo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT, IBM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 979
T-tap is so that you can pull/change it, and the fuse is just to be safe.
__________________
TonyNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2010, 03:48 PM   #60
Garret_Buie
 
Drives: 2010 Imperial Blue LS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 4
I'm using a simple wire tap on my dodge dakota, works just fine that way
Garret_Buie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 12:39 AM   #61
Toasty
Custom User Title :D
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 2,338
Quote:
Originally Posted by TWCompetition View Post
Not sure if this is pertinent but found it on the CTS-V forums.

http://www.cadillacforums.com/forums...footwells.html

kit uses p/n 19170639. google search results make them look exactly like the ones that were supposed to be made for the camaro, but not sure on wire length or color of LED.
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2010, 01:36 AM   #62
franknbeans
Whipped
 
franknbeans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh-ish - PA
Posts: 4,201
I just used the stock connectors.

http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=63527
__________________
franknbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 02:04 PM   #63
SNV

 
SNV's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 RRM 2ls
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,299
Anybody using Cold Cathode Light kits?
__________________
2010 IBM 1LT out. 2013 BRM 1LS in. It's like having a blank canvas once again. Modding has started! Now on to a 2014......
SNV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 09:48 PM   #64
SNV

 
SNV's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 RRM 2ls
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: NJ
Posts: 1,299
Ordered a set of 10" Piranha Bars from oznium.com. Should be here sometime next week . Will post up some pics when I install.

SummoneR - Thanks for the repies to my pm's.
__________________
2010 IBM 1LT out. 2013 BRM 1LS in. It's like having a blank canvas once again. Modding has started! Now on to a 2014......
SNV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 02:01 PM   #65
SummoneR
Paul
 
SummoneR's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS M6 "Marauder"
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 6,276
Send a message via Yahoo to SummoneR
Quote:
Originally Posted by SNV View Post
Ordered a set of 10" Piranha Bars from oznium.com. Should be here sometime next week . Will post up some pics when I install.

SummoneR - Thanks for the repies to my pm's.
Looking forward to the pictures SNV. No Problem! Glad I could help.
__________________
SummoneR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 10:08 PM   #66
pkauf
 
pkauf's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Crystal Red Convertible RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fairview, Texas
Posts: 276
How cool - got mine done tonight!!!

Thanks to TonyNo - Just got mine installed tonight - what great instructions!!!!! I could have never found the right wires without his help.

A great upgrade to the dark footwells!!! Also added the LED Bulbz (blue) for the dome light, trunk and license plate!!!
__________________
pkauf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 10:28 PM   #67
Sgt. Fury
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 17
Hey, Just wanted to give a shout out to you Tonyno, Just finished up this install and could not have been easier. Thanks for the info! Cheers!
Sgt. Fury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 10:44 PM   #68
TonyNo

 
TonyNo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT, IBM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 979
No problem! Helping out where I can!
__________________
TonyNo is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where to wire in ambient footwell lighting? cybercoaster Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 32 01-11-2016 12:08 PM
Ambient Footwell Lighting: ORACLE CCFL Tubes ($35/Pair) AACstyle Interior Parts & Accessories 276 12-28-2012 04:39 PM
Anyone have the Footwell Lighting Kit Installed? wildthing001967 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 12 07-03-2011 06:00 PM
AACStyle footwell lighting problem TRSS2 Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 8 01-23-2010 07:41 PM
footwell neon lighting. How to wire to have it come on the other ambient lighting? Jakefeb3 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 6 11-22-2009 10:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.