Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

BeckyD@RodgersChevrolet
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Members Area > General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion

General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion Come chat about other cars.

Old 12-01-2009, 09:59 PM   #1
305pride

Drives: 3.4l 1995 camaro
ecoboost is the future?

im a noob. so i just finally read upon what ecoboost is. sounds like a really good engine. amirite? the think every car will end up having a turbo, if not a hybrid or electric or diesel. sounds to me like the leno car should be made to compete with the ecoboost v6 mustang? maybe.
Old 12-01-2009, 11:19 PM   #2
a_Username

Drives: 2010 2SS Camaro
Not the bash, but Ecoboost wasn't the first engine with the idea. However, I'll agree with you by saying the TT V6 should be made at least as an option if Ecoboost doesn't find it's way into the Mustang.
a_Username is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2009, 11:31 PM   #3
DGthe3
Moderator.ca

Drives: 05 Grand Am GT
Send a message via MSN to DGthe3
Ecoboost is a collection of technologies which has been given a catchy name. The 2.0L turbo that GM has been running in the Cobalt SS and others is functionally the same, and was introduced first (though I think other manufacturers have done the same thing even earlier). Turbo charger + direct injection + variable valve timing + Ford Motor Company = Ecoboost.

Anyway, I don't buy into the hype about "V6 economy, V8 power". Compare it against a DI V8 of nearly the same power, in a similarly sized car and then I'll be convinced. Until then I'll be sceptical and chalk it up to marketing hype

WE DO NOT TALK ABOUT FUTURE PRODUCT PLANS PERIOD FbodFather

Camaro5 Fest sub-forum
DGthe3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2009, 01:46 AM   #4
305pride

Drives: 3.4l 1995 camaro