Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-07-2009, 03:59 PM   #18
06MonteSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 226
you plug in the predator, and after it boots up:

select Performance tune menu...

select the transmission type (auto/manual)...

select the performance tune you want to install, and it makes the backup copy of the original stock tune that's in the vehicle, then it installs the performance tune...

and done....

that's it...


he just ran into an issue where the GM calibration on his specific car is not supported yet - so, diablo will add support for his vehicle to the next revision update, and then once he updates his predator to that updated revision, all he'll have to do are those steps I listed above ^ ^ ^ ^...

Last edited by 06MonteSS; 12-28-2009 at 12:47 PM.
06MonteSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 04:07 PM   #19
Mike@DS
 
Drives: 99 Z28
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SoFla
Posts: 230
Keep in mind too guys....NOBODY else offers the features we do in a handheld tuner.
The other guys have no custom tuning, not even the ability to modify tunes, nor do they have the support network we have (guys like Lew who can help nearly 24 hours a day!!).

Also, it is likely that we are not the only ones missing support for this latest calibration...

For anyone who has not gone in for this new 'update' at the dealer, do yourself a favor and skip it.
It claims to reduce wheelhop, that means it either runs less timing or has more TM=no fun.
Mike@DS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 04:18 PM   #20
mlee
Charter Circle Member
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 27,213
So if your car hasn't been to the dealer for OS updates etc. then you should be fine with a Diablo married to your car. Shouldn't have to continually update it would you??
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 04:29 PM   #21
Tex
Texas Military Forces
 
Tex's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 Camaro RS/2SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 101
Quote:
Originally Posted by 06MonteSS View Post
you plug in the predator, and after it boots up:
select Performance tune menu...
select the transmission type (auto/manual)...
select the performance tune you want to install, and it makes the backup copy of the original stock tune that's in the vehicle, then it installs the performance tune...
and done....
that's it...

he just ran into an issue where the GM calibration on his specific car is not supported yet - so, diablo will add support for his vehicle to the next revision update, and then once he updates his predator to that updated revision, all he'll have to do are those steps I listed above ^ ^ ^ ^...
That's exactly how I did it when I got my Diablo, I'm happy with it!
__________________
Black 2SS, Automatic w/GFX package
VIS Carbon Fiber Hood
DiabloSport Tune, CAI by Cold Air Inductions
and Muffler Delete
Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 04:31 PM   #22
06MonteSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlee View Post
So if your car hasn't been to the dealer for OS updates etc. then you should be fine with a Diablo married to your car. Shouldn't have to continually update it would you??
correct...

unless diablo comes out with a new update that's for added features, new/updated tunes, and the like... then if you wanted to have that new updated stuff, you'd want to update the predator to the new revision in order to get it...
06MonteSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 10:45 PM   #23
Carlos Garza
 
Carlos Garza's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 236
I use to have a charger srt8 and I had an awesome experience with diablo and the people that work for the company. I use to talk to a guy named Johan, who is a programer at diablo motor sports, and the guy was great to say the least... They should have your car up and running in no time...
Carlos Garza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2009, 11:52 PM   #24
JICPerformance
Here to make you faster
 
Drives: 2005 GTO supercharged 2009 GXP
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 126
We had a Predator owner whose upload experienced a communication error and left the car stranded on the side of the road. This occured on a Sunday so the car had to be towed back to his home. On Monday, Diablosport did furnish an unlock code that allowed the owner to again try and successfully upload a tune.

This is just here to be informational. I would caution you to only download and upload tunes at your home or somewhere that the car could be left in case of a communication failure when using a Predator.
JICPerformance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 01:38 AM   #25
Black GT
Banned
 
Drives: 2006 Mustang GT
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 522
I had nothing but problems with the Diablo Sport, literally threw it away and bought the SCT and never had any more tune loading problems.
Black GT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 04:59 AM   #26
dragrcr
2SS 6M
 
dragrcr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS 6M
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Rancho Cucamonga , CA
Posts: 113
I ordered my Diablosport Trinity from JANNETTYRACING and I could see a little tab on the side of the box that gives access to the USB plug on the side of the unit. The tab was torn as you would to gain access (without opening the package). I checked on line after I opened it and saw what software version I had and I found that I had the newest version of the updates installed when I recieved the unit. I installed the tune with no problems whatsoever.

Ted made sure and updated my unit to the latest version and I am pretty sure he even rgistered my unit too because when I downloaded the drivers and installed them on my computer it never asked me to register (like it said it would)! That is great customer service that the average person would not even know about.
__________________
I "love" Drag Racing and Women!
dragrcr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 05:41 AM   #27
vdevine
 
vdevine's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black SS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 605
No problems with my Diablo. 10 minutes start to finish. Awesome.
__________________
Vince
SS2 Black with CGM Stripes
3800 Born: 25 May VIN#12136
6000 Mine 26 June 2009
SLP Loudmouth II, NOWEEDS, BMR 1.4/1.0 Lowering Springs, Cold Air Inductions Intake, Tune, Eagle Eyes w HID, SLP "SS" Grille Insert, Pistol Grip Shifter, Hawk PC Pads, RGB Scanner, Tint, Headlight Armor, Clear Bra, 22's.
vdevine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 06:58 AM   #28
BlownSS

 
BlownSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lincoln Nebraska
Posts: 1,758
Quote:
Originally Posted by dragrcr View Post
I ordered my Diablosport Trinity from JANNETTYRACING and I could see a little tab on the side of the box that gives access to the USB plug on the side of the unit. The tab was torn as you would to gain access (without opening the package). I checked on line after I opened it and saw what software version I had and I found that I had the newest version of the updates installed when I recieved the unit. I installed the tune with no problems whatsoever.

Ted made sure and updated my unit to the latest version and I am pretty sure he even rgistered my unit too because when I downloaded the drivers and installed them on my computer it never asked me to register (like it said it would)! That is great customer service that the average person would not even know about.

i ordered mine from Janetty too! great people to work with. I am just frustrated that it wasnt ready to go out of the box......hopefully they will get me a tune this week or next.
__________________
2010 IOM SS/RS LS3, Hennessey HPE550 Polished Magnuson TVS2300 Supercharger. 3.4 Pulley. Kooks long tube headers / high flow cats. GHL Full exhaust. ZL1 Fuel Pump/ADM FPCM. MSW Bap. JRE ZL1 Race cam with new springs/pushrods/Trunion Upgrade. FIC 850cc injectors. ZR1 Map sensor. CAI Induction. JRE Tune.
BlownSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2009, 08:59 AM   #29
06MonteSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 226
it's all GM's fault...

that's why on diablo's forum, they're letting people know not to have their cars updated by the dealer to the new update... it's not gaining you anything, and the new calibration isn't supported yet...

yeah man... not to worry... they'll getcha goin...
06MonteSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2009, 12:14 AM   #30
Mark-HD
 
Mark-HD's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Inferno Orange SS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Atlanta, Ga.
Posts: 228
I purchased a Diablo Trinty for my LS3 M6 and it came from Jannetty with the latest uploads. Took 5 minutes to load the 93 Octane tune. Ran great. I have now loaded the stock tune back in though. Had a Magnacharger installed last weekend. Bought HP Tuners to facilitate the tune for the maggie. Point here - I had no issues with the Diablo and the Race functins and logging are easy to do.
__________________
2010 Camaro SS, M6, MTI shifter and sway bars, GM quarter flares, Corsa catback, Roto-Fab CAI, 30% tinted windows, Lloyd's custom mats, Hawk ceramic pads, Pedders lower coils, Magnuson supercharger with 3.6 pulley, BMR trailing arms & toe rods, Kook's LT's1 7/8 w/cats, Lingenfelter/SLP billet pedals, KW V'3 Coilovers, RevExtreme catch can, ---Ordered--- IconZ LS7 9 & 11" polished wheels!. Dyno'd 563.05 HP, 543.86 Torq.
Mark-HD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 06:33 PM   #31
carguy50
 
carguy50's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS, Sequntials,Tune,Flomstr,CAI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South TX
Posts: 350
Who knows How to make the Diablo U7194 turn off the AFM. The help center called it DOD(displacement on demand). I installed the performance tune, it did fine. I can not figure how to turn off the Automatic Fuel Management system. both the supplier and the tech help center said it would turn it off. I tried the custom install, did not give the option.
WHO KNOWS HOW?????
carguy50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2009, 07:27 PM   #32
carguy50
 
carguy50's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS, Sequntials,Tune,Flomstr,CAI
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: South TX
Posts: 350
nobody told me you had to tear you trunk liner out and pull fuses. still can't figure out how to turn off AFM
carguy50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 10:30 AM   #33
Number_9

 
Number_9's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Trophy Club, TX
Posts: 1,463
Quote:
Originally Posted by carguy50 View Post
Who knows How to make the Diablo U7194 turn off the AFM. The help center called it DOD(displacement on demand). I installed the performance tune, it did fine. I can not figure how to turn off the Automatic Fuel Management system. both the supplier and the tech help center said it would turn it off. I tried the custom install, did not give the option.
WHO KNOWS HOW?????
Quote:
Originally Posted by carguy50 View Post
nobody told me you had to tear you trunk liner out and pull fuses. still can't figure out how to turn off AFM
Couple of things here, CarGuy50... first of all, you don't have to do anything in the trunk to use a Predator. I pull the OnStar fuse, by removing the access panel on the drivers' side of the dash, it's a single fuse pull... and in all honesty, you can actually get by without doing it, but I usually do it anyway (PM me if you are having any trouble finding this.)

In terms of modifying options to my own tune, AFM and Wheel size are the ones I am most likely to manipulate... and since updating my own Predator to r11, I am also getting an "error" message when I try to modify any of the individual parameters... no doubt, this is something DiabloSports will address in an upcoming software release - they'll have to because of all the units they've sold and want to sell (BTW - software updates are super easy to apply to the unit and there's ton's of how-to's, etc. on the DiabloSports support forums.) The AFM (DOD) support *was* there in the Predator's r09 software release - I used it on my own unit. However, the AFM (DOD) support appears to have been temporarily disabled in the r11 release (which is on my Predator too.)

Whenever options start disappearing, it's usually because GM has made changes to the software system for the car, which in turn means that DiabloSports has to disable support for any modules/functions/parameters that have changed. This is to ensure that no one "bricks" their precious car. In turn, DiabloSport's engineers go back to the drawing board and crank out a software update to address GM's changes. This is as true for DiabloSports, as it is for HP Tuners, as it is for SuperChips.

Most important thing here is to breathe in/breathe out and put everything into perspective. Your Predator is not broken. This is how the game is played. GM makes updates to the various system modules/functions/parameters and anyone with a device/product designed do something with/to those system modules/functions/parameters has to react.

Call it cat and mouse, call it a pain in the a**, but it is what it is... but the worst case is you run w/AFM for a little while, until DiabloSport's releases a new software update.

UPDATE / EDIT: what do you know... after posting this reply, I went to the DiabloSports website... there is an r12 update available now! Here's a link to the file. I am going to download it an update my own Predator. Hopefully, we'll find that things can be modified again! More to come as things develop... ... ...

UPDATE / EDIT: Okay, so I downloaded the r12... then updated my Predator. Same thing. The unit is on r12 now but still cannot modify any of the parameters... this tells me their still working out some kinks. My thinking is that it's time for any Diablo owners in this forum to start burning up the threads on the DiabloSport support forum... this is the only way we are going to effect change, as it's on DiabloSports to gets this working for us again.
__________________



Last edited by Number_9; 12-13-2009 at 11:37 AM.
Number_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2009, 11:38 AM   #34
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,297
Number 9 has a Predator!!! SWEET!!!
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Diablosport Trinity: New Lower Price $599 @ BMC Performance Kris@BMCPerformance V8 Bolt-Ons & Tunes 11 02-18-2010 08:00 PM
Diablosport Predator and Trinity Programmers Available! tbyrne Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 41 11-20-2009 06:00 PM
Diablosport 7194 for Camaro now available ADM PERFORMANCE Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 6 09-21-2009 10:08 AM
DiabloSport Predator now for 2010 Camaro - free and lightning fast shipping @ PFYC Redshift V8 Bolt-Ons & Tunes 0 09-09-2009 09:55 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.