Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 08-12-2008, 04:28 PM   #1
ckellyme3
 
ckellyme3's Avatar
 
Drives: 1986 IROC 406 stroker
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: exton pa
Posts: 150
Soundsystem Expansion Possible?

Quote:
Originally Posted by evilmaro View Post
YES Boston Acoustics =

EDIT:

and heres the specs
Available Boston Acoustics Sound
Systems – the first application
in a GM vehicle
– 245-watt 9-speaker premium
Boston Acoustics Sound System
– 6.5-inch woofers in each door
– 1-inch tweeters in A-pillars
– 3.5-inch center channel speaker
in the upper Instrument Panel
– Seven-channel sub-woofer
on rear shelf
Im hoping someone would know if there is aux. outputs/inputs in the stock head unit for more amplifiers (at least one) so i can put some subs in the trunk?? The head unit in this car just goes with the whole flow of the interior and it would be shitty to have to put even an expensive high tech looking head unit in place of it. Some newer cars stock head unit allow for this but not all. im young, and im a huge sound nut. 245 watts isnt gonna cut it for me at all. no matter how crisp it is even though its a plus. i wanna be HEARD a block away and feel my whole car shake when the bass knocks. please someone give me the good news.
ckellyme3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 04:55 PM   #2
JEFF2010SSMANUAL
JEFF2010SSMANUAL
 
JEFF2010SSMANUAL's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 1,953
I ALSO HOPE the Boston system has a low level RCA for a sub amp, BUT I HIGHLY DOUBT IT.

I want to add 1 MASSIVE 12" with a 1k amp in the trunk.

A lightweight sealed box.

MOST factory systems don't have extra RCA phono's for another amp.

A cleansweep might be needed, then the COST goes WAY TOO HIGH IMO.

I want to add 1 sub.
JEFF2010SSMANUAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 05:16 PM   #3
ckellyme3
 
ckellyme3's Avatar
 
Drives: 1986 IROC 406 stroker
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: exton pa
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEFF2010SSMANUAL View Post
I ALSO HOPE the Boston system has a low level RCA for a sub amp, BUT I HIGHLY DOUBT IT.

I want to add 1 MASSIVE 12" with a 1k amp in the trunk.

A lightweight sealed box.

MOST factory systems don't have extra RCA phono's for another amp.

A cleansweep might be needed, then the COST goes WAY TOO HIGH IMO.

I want to add 1 sub.
how much is a "cleansweep"? trust me i plan on dumping a shitload of money into this car already it wont matter lol.
ckellyme3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 05:20 PM   #4
JEFF2010SSMANUAL
JEFF2010SSMANUAL
 
JEFF2010SSMANUAL's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 1,953
Its not just the cost of the cleansweep, its having to add all new amps and speakers to go with the entire upgrade to keep the OEM HD unit in the car.
JEFF2010SSMANUAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 05:30 PM   #5
ckellyme3
 
ckellyme3's Avatar
 
Drives: 1986 IROC 406 stroker
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: exton pa
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by JEFF2010SSMANUAL View Post
Its not just the cost of the cleansweep, its having to add all new amps and speakers to go with the entire upgrade to keep the OEM HD unit in the car.
im just going to keep all that shit if its good enough but run an AUX amplifer and subwoofers that are gonna be in the trunk. that would make no sense even if i had to have some kind of work or application done to the head unit that i would need to get new shit. i plan on using the stock amplifier in the unit to its abilities with the stock speakers. i just want extra haha.
ckellyme3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 05:41 PM   #6
JEFF2010SSMANUAL
JEFF2010SSMANUAL
 
JEFF2010SSMANUAL's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 1,953
I also plan on tapping in on the signal to add a high quality 1k-2k sub amp and a high quality 12" sealed sub. I don't want a heavy BOX. Boston with a little help.
JEFF2010SSMANUAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 07:28 PM   #7
The_Blur
Rock Chalk
 
The_Blur's Avatar
 
Drives: Demon Super Sport
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 14,695
Send a message via AIM to The_Blur
As I've stated on previous threads, check out JL's Cleansweep system for improved audio and stock appearance.
The_Blur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 08:45 PM   #8
JEFF2010SSMANUAL
JEFF2010SSMANUAL
 
JEFF2010SSMANUAL's Avatar
 
Drives: IOM 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Northern IL
Posts: 1,953
Quote:
Originally Posted by The_Blur View Post
As I've stated on previous threads, check out JL's Cleansweep system for improved audio and stock appearance.
Already said that in post #2.

A low level phono/RCA would be much better for just adding a sub-amp and sub, but like I said, not many factory headunits have pre-outs.
JEFF2010SSMANUAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 09:44 PM   #9
Sizzox
Most Known Unknown
 
Sizzox's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Vette
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Salem, Ohio
Posts: 780
Send a message via AIM to Sizzox
you can buy an adapter that you splice into any of the speaker wires and it converts it to an rca output and can hook the amp up through that i had to do that in my blazer before i got my head unit quality is the same didnt notice a difference yet from the new in dash dvd player the adapter only cost like 20 bucks from best buy or something
Sizzox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 11:20 PM   #10
MTron
 
Drives: 99 Grand Prix
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto
Posts: 334
Easiest way is to tap into the rear speaker feed, get an amp with high level inputs, feed the rear speaker signal into the amp, set the amps crossover freq to a low pass setting at about 80-100 hz and connect the sub, voila!

any amp in the power levels that ur thinking about will have these features (well at least the low pass filter with adjustable crossover, double check that it has high level inputs)
MTron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2008, 11:47 PM   #11
ckellyme3
 
ckellyme3's Avatar
 
Drives: 1986 IROC 406 stroker
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: exton pa
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sizzox View Post
you can buy an adapter that you splice into any of the speaker wires and it converts it to an rca output and can hook the amp up through that i had to do that in my blazer before i got my head unit quality is the same didnt notice a difference yet from the new in dash dvd player the adapter only cost like 20 bucks from best buy or something

yeah but splicing speaker wire causes shorts and other bad electriacal shit. ive had bad expirences doing that both in houses and in cars. but it wouldnt be a bad idea to check out do u know exactly what its called so i could ask someone at best buy?
ckellyme3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 08:50 PM   #12
Sizzox
Most Known Unknown
 
Sizzox's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Vette
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Salem, Ohio
Posts: 780
Send a message via AIM to Sizzox
Heres a link for an adapter from crutchfield its called a four-channel line output converter
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-C8QyGDH...evel&i=142SLC4
Sizzox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2008, 09:30 PM   #13
ckellyme3
 
ckellyme3's Avatar
 
Drives: 1986 IROC 406 stroker
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: exton pa
Posts: 150
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sizzox View Post
Heres a link for an adapter from crutchfield its called a four-channel line output converter
http://www.crutchfield.com/S-C8QyGDH...evel&i=142SLC4
omg thank you. your the man. only $20 to?? that just saved me alot of worry and hassle in the future.
ckellyme3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2008, 08:45 AM   #14
Sizzox
Most Known Unknown
 
Sizzox's Avatar
 
Drives: 08 Vette
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Salem, Ohio
Posts: 780
Send a message via AIM to Sizzox
Sure anytime thats the same thing i was worried about in my blazer back when i but subs in it and i saw it was only 20 bucks you cant beat that
Sizzox is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.