Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Apex Paul
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-17-2010, 11:21 AM   #1
nhra stocker
 
nhra stocker's Avatar
 
Drives: 69,10 camaro 71 chevelle
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Shelbyville, IL
Posts: 718
Putting the stock tune back in my car???

I received my Vector Motorsports tuned file this week. I had the chance today to install it into my car. But im wanting to put it back stock for now due to my dyno appointment tomorrow. I want to be able to run it both ways on the dyno. But for some reason when i try to down load the stock file i saved , it says (Warning this is a new ECM file for us). Any suggestions???
__________________
2010 Camaro SS RS M6 Bone stock 12.58 at 110mph http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=263
1971 Chevelle SS 454 365hp NHRA C/SA 10.73 at 122
1969 Camaro (427 ZL-1 clone) M-22 being built
1982 Siverado 4x4 454 Mud truck stock class 3.66 sec in 150' of mud
nhra stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 02:32 PM   #2
motor1
 
motor1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS/M6.....no longer
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 479
Did you just download it anyway? I would imagine that if it is the stock tune that you saved then nothing can go wrong. There is a cell number in your instructions. If you are really worried I would just give them a call and if not available just call in the morning.
motor1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 02:35 PM   #3
nhra stocker
 
nhra stocker's Avatar
 
Drives: 69,10 camaro 71 chevelle
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Shelbyville, IL
Posts: 718
The stock file wont upload back to my cars ECM and The emergency phone number goes straight to a voicemail!
__________________
2010 Camaro SS RS M6 Bone stock 12.58 at 110mph http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=263
1971 Chevelle SS 454 365hp NHRA C/SA 10.73 at 122
1969 Camaro (427 ZL-1 clone) M-22 being built
1982 Siverado 4x4 454 Mud truck stock class 3.66 sec in 150' of mud
nhra stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 06:01 PM   #4
motor1
 
motor1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS/M6.....no longer
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 479
Did you get it worked out?
motor1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 08:21 PM   #5
nhra stocker
 
nhra stocker's Avatar
 
Drives: 69,10 camaro 71 chevelle
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Shelbyville, IL
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by motor1 View Post
Did you get it worked out?
Nope the file is right above my tuned file saved in a folder. My wife and i tried many times to program the ECM to the stock file just like we did the tuned file but no luck. It wont even start it pops up a warning and wont let us.
__________________
2010 Camaro SS RS M6 Bone stock 12.58 at 110mph http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=263
1971 Chevelle SS 454 365hp NHRA C/SA 10.73 at 122
1969 Camaro (427 ZL-1 clone) M-22 being built
1982 Siverado 4x4 454 Mud truck stock class 3.66 sec in 150' of mud
nhra stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 08:35 PM   #6
motor1
 
motor1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS/M6.....no longer
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 479
Please post your solution when it gets taken care of. I am sure Vector will get it worked out tomorrow. They open at 9 CST but will probably answer their cell if you need them sooner.
motor1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:35 PM   #7
Jeanius


 
Jeanius's Avatar
 
Drives: Blk/Blk LS3 SS
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Golden State
Posts: 2,460
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhra stocker View Post
The emergency phone number goes straight to a voicemail!
Some emergency line....
__________________
2SS LS3 M6 - MGW - Dynatech LT's HF Cats - Magnaflow Street CB - ADM Race CAI - Pedders Xa Coilovers - Pfadt Sways
Jeanius is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 09:37 PM   #8
jeffny09


 
jeffny09's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new york
Posts: 5,714
Send a message via AIM to jeffny09 Send a message via Yahoo to jeffny09
that blows hmmm weird tho
__________________
top 10 reason why real men drive stick.

10. A manual transmission is the ultimate in control
9. You can use automotive jargon and not sound like a total tool
8. You can't spell "manual" without "man"
7. Manual transmissions prove you can do more than one thing at a time
6. You can't drift in an auto
5. You can't pull fancy moves in an automatic
4. You get better fuel economy with a stick
3. You’ll never look like a chump if you can drive stick
2. Manual transmission cars are faster
1. Women like a guy who is good with his hands.

jeffny09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2010, 10:26 PM   #9
Roger Ramjet
Motor Head
 
Roger Ramjet's Avatar
 
Drives: CTS-V
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: So MD
Posts: 494
I would try disconnecting the battery. Remove both the positive and negative cables. Then touch the cables together a couple times to down power the ECM. Reconnect the battery.

After this, try reflashing the ECM.
__________________
History Camaro's: 83, 93, 95, 98, & 10.
Roger Ramjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 07:44 AM   #10
40years

 
40years's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO 1SS/RS IBM
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 1,523
Had a similar problem with Vector on Saturday. Took my car to the drag strip and made 2 passes with the stock files to get a base line ET and then went to load the Vector files to the ECM & TCM. Loaded to 24% and quit. Tried everything that I could think of and nothing worked. Car was cpmpletely dead. Would not even load the stock files. Got ahold of Kirk at Vector and he said that they have never had that happen before. Ended up having the car put on a flat bed and towed home. Now I am looking at removing the ECM and overnighting it to Vector and renting a car for 3 or 4 days. On a whim yesterday morning I uninstalled Vector's software on the laptop and reinstalled it and tried loading the files again and it worked. Took both files. Disconnected the negative cable for 10 mnutes and the car started and runs just fine now. Hope this helps.
40years is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 08:07 AM   #11
nhra stocker
 
nhra stocker's Avatar
 
Drives: 69,10 camaro 71 chevelle
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Shelbyville, IL
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by 40years View Post
Had a similar problem with Vector on Saturday. Took my car to the drag strip and made 2 passes with the stock files to get a base line ET and then went to load the Vector files to the ECM & TCM. Loaded to 24% and quit. Tried everything that I could think of and nothing worked. Car was cpmpletely dead. Would not even load the stock files. Got ahold of Kirk at Vector and he said that they have never had that happen before. Ended up having the car put on a flat bed and towed home. Now I am looking at removing the ECM and overnighting it to Vector and renting a car for 3 or 4 days. On a whim yesterday morning I uninstalled Vector's software on the laptop and reinstalled it and tried loading the files again and it worked. Took both files. Disconnected the negative cable for 10 mnutes and the car started and runs just fine now. Hope this helps.
What procedure did you take to uninstall it ?
__________________
2010 Camaro SS RS M6 Bone stock 12.58 at 110mph http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=263
1971 Chevelle SS 454 365hp NHRA C/SA 10.73 at 122
1969 Camaro (427 ZL-1 clone) M-22 being built
1982 Siverado 4x4 454 Mud truck stock class 3.66 sec in 150' of mud
nhra stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 08:20 AM   #12
40years

 
40years's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO 1SS/RS IBM
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 1,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhra stocker View Post
What procedure did you take to uninstall it ?
I went ahead and loaded the modified files. Have not tried to go back to stock yet. I'm a little gun shy at this point as this car is my daily driver.
40years is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 08:32 AM   #13
Flynnaz
Wicked Camaro
 
Flynnaz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 IOM 2SS/RS 1LE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,401
Send a message via MSN to Flynnaz Send a message via Yahoo to Flynnaz Send a message via Skype™ to Flynnaz
If you mean uninstalling the software on you laptop, use Control Panal, then uninstall programs, look for the tune program.
__________________

Mods so far: Ported Throttle Body/Airiad CAI/ Elite Oil Catch Can/Clutch reservoir separation Mod/Subthump/Foot well Lighting/RBG LED behind Grill/LED under Polished Strut Tower Brace/Vinyl Gill Blackouts/Skip Shift Eliminator/DYI Mild to Wild/AAC Plasma DRL's with Plug n Play harness/Blue LED Dome light, white LED trunk and Licence plate light/tinted windows/blacked out side markers and tail lights/Headlight Armor/Clear Bra/splash guards/Black Gorilla Locking Lug Nuts/Plastidipped Bow Ties and rear Tail Light Bezels/Emblem Pros Black Camaro letters/diodedynamics lighted cup holder (SS)
Flynnaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 10:16 AM   #14
kelley@vectormotorsports
 
Drives: 2009 Pontiac G8 GT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Clinton Twp., MI
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeanius View Post
Some emergency line....
We had no cell service at my house yesterday. I didn't realize this until my phone alerted me to his message from yesterday this morning.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 40years View Post
Had a similar problem with Vector on Saturday. Took my car to the drag strip and made 2 passes with the stock files to get a base line ET and then went to load the Vector files to the ECM & TCM. Loaded to 24% and quit. Tried everything that I could think of and nothing worked. Car was cpmpletely dead. Would not even load the stock files. Got ahold of Kirk at Vector and he said that they have never had that happen before. Ended up having the car put on a flat bed and towed home. Now I am looking at removing the ECM and overnighting it to Vector and renting a car for 3 or 4 days. On a whim yesterday morning I uninstalled Vector's software on the laptop and reinstalled it and tried loading the files again and it worked. Took both files. Disconnected the negative cable for 10 mnutes and the car started and runs just fine now. Hope this helps.
Actually your issue was completely different. Somehow your laptop blocked part of the program from being installed. Sometimes an anti-virus program will do this. It is best for any type of programming to be verified at home before trying remotely. If you were home a simple log file emailed to us would have fixed the problem.
kelley@vectormotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 10:27 AM   #15
kelley@vectormotorsports
 
Drives: 2009 Pontiac G8 GT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Clinton Twp., MI
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhra stocker View Post
I received my Vector Motorsports tuned file this week. I had the chance today to install it into my car. But im wanting to put it back stock for now due to my dyno appointment tomorrow. I want to be able to run it both ways on the dyno. But for some reason when i try to down load the stock file i saved , it says (Warning this is a new ECM file for us). Any suggestions???
Problem fixed.

The stock file that was saved on his laptop was somehow corrupted. The copy he sent me looked fine. I just sent him back my copy of his stock file.

Our software checks all files before writing them. If a bad file were allowed to write to an ECM the ECM would be destroyed. We have never "bricked" an E38 ECM.
kelley@vectormotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 10:29 AM   #16
jeffny09


 
jeffny09's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new york
Posts: 5,714
Send a message via AIM to jeffny09 Send a message via Yahoo to jeffny09
so does it work for him now ?
__________________
top 10 reason why real men drive stick.

10. A manual transmission is the ultimate in control
9. You can use automotive jargon and not sound like a total tool
8. You can't spell "manual" without "man"
7. Manual transmissions prove you can do more than one thing at a time
6. You can't drift in an auto
5. You can't pull fancy moves in an automatic
4. You get better fuel economy with a stick
3. You’ll never look like a chump if you can drive stick
2. Manual transmission cars are faster
1. Women like a guy who is good with his hands.

jeffny09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 10:32 AM   #17
kelley@vectormotorsports
 
Drives: 2009 Pontiac G8 GT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Clinton Twp., MI
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffny09 View Post
so does it work for him now ?
Yes.
kelley@vectormotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 10:33 AM   #18
jeffny09


 
jeffny09's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: new york
Posts: 5,714
Send a message via AIM to jeffny09 Send a message via Yahoo to jeffny09
great job!
__________________
top 10 reason why real men drive stick.

10. A manual transmission is the ultimate in control
9. You can use automotive jargon and not sound like a total tool
8. You can't spell "manual" without "man"
7. Manual transmissions prove you can do more than one thing at a time
6. You can't drift in an auto
5. You can't pull fancy moves in an automatic
4. You get better fuel economy with a stick
3. You’ll never look like a chump if you can drive stick
2. Manual transmission cars are faster
1. Women like a guy who is good with his hands.

jeffny09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 04:52 PM   #19
nhra stocker
 
nhra stocker's Avatar
 
Drives: 69,10 camaro 71 chevelle
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Shelbyville, IL
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kirk@VectorMotorsports View Post
Problem fixed.

The stock file that was saved on his laptop was somehow corrupted. The copy he sent me looked fine. I just sent him back my copy of his stock file.

Our software checks all files before writing them. If a bad file were allowed to write to an ECM the ECM would be destroyed. We have never "bricked" an E38 ECM.
Worked great with the stock file Kirk sent back to me. The file i had saved had something wrong with it. Kirk got ahold of me at 8:11 this morning and he had me straightened out and running fine by 8:32 left for the dyno at 8:45. Ive switched it to the tune file and back stock twice and no problems at ALL! Thank You Kirk!!!
__________________
2010 Camaro SS RS M6 Bone stock 12.58 at 110mph http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=263
1971 Chevelle SS 454 365hp NHRA C/SA 10.73 at 122
1969 Camaro (427 ZL-1 clone) M-22 being built
1982 Siverado 4x4 454 Mud truck stock class 3.66 sec in 150' of mud

Last edited by nhra stocker; 01-18-2010 at 05:10 PM.
nhra stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 04:57 PM   #20
kelley@vectormotorsports
 
Drives: 2009 Pontiac G8 GT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Clinton Twp., MI
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhra stocker View Post
Worked great with the stock file Kirk sent back to me. The file i had saved had something was wrong with it. Kirk got ahold of me at 8:11 this morning and he had me straightened out and running fine by 8:32 left for the dyno at 8:45. Ive switched it to the tune file and back stock twice and no problems at ALL! Thank You Kirk!!!
No problem. Now get that car to the track!
kelley@vectormotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 05:05 PM   #21
Flynnaz
Wicked Camaro
 
Flynnaz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 IOM 2SS/RS 1LE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 2,401
Send a message via MSN to Flynnaz Send a message via Yahoo to Flynnaz Send a message via Skype™ to Flynnaz
Maybe disabling you anti-virus when downloading/installing these files and or software might prevent this?
__________________

Mods so far: Ported Throttle Body/Airiad CAI/ Elite Oil Catch Can/Clutch reservoir separation Mod/Subthump/Foot well Lighting/RBG LED behind Grill/LED under Polished Strut Tower Brace/Vinyl Gill Blackouts/Skip Shift Eliminator/DYI Mild to Wild/AAC Plasma DRL's with Plug n Play harness/Blue LED Dome light, white LED trunk and Licence plate light/tinted windows/blacked out side markers and tail lights/Headlight Armor/Clear Bra/splash guards/Black Gorilla Locking Lug Nuts/Plastidipped Bow Ties and rear Tail Light Bezels/Emblem Pros Black Camaro letters/diodedynamics lighted cup holder (SS)
Flynnaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 05:31 PM   #22
JuicedSS
 
JuicedSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS RS M6
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N.O./Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by nhra stocker View Post
Worked great with the stock file Kirk sent back to me. The file i had saved had something wrong with it. Kirk got ahold of me at 8:11 this morning and he had me straightened out and running fine by 8:32 left for the dyno at 8:45. Ive switched it to the tune file and back stock twice and no problems at ALL! Thank You Kirk!!!
Did you do a dyno comparison tuned vs. untuned?
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6 Black on Black
22" Vossen CV1 Wheels, Roto-Fab CAI, Dynatech 1 7/8" Long Tubes w/ High Flow Cats, Magnaflow Tru-X Pipe,
Barton Short Throw Shifter, Vector Motorsports Tune, Ground Effects, MPD1 Spoiler
JuicedSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 05:55 PM   #23
motor1
 
motor1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS/M6.....no longer
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 479
I was gonna suggest trying the file that you emailed to him but figured that it would obviously be the same as what you had saved. I am VERY curious to see the results. What are your MODS? CAI or anything? Sounds like you got great service. Thanks
motor1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 06:06 PM   #24
nhra stocker
 
nhra stocker's Avatar
 
Drives: 69,10 camaro 71 chevelle
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Shelbyville, IL
Posts: 718
Quote:
Originally Posted by JuicedSS View Post
Did you do a dyno comparison tuned vs. untuned?
I got 3 baseline pulls therefore if i wanted to change anything on the car they charge me more! It was there policy (Ford Dealership) $110 for 2-3 pulls $225 to change anything.
__________________
2010 Camaro SS RS M6 Bone stock 12.58 at 110mph http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=263
1971 Chevelle SS 454 365hp NHRA C/SA 10.73 at 122
1969 Camaro (427 ZL-1 clone) M-22 being built
1982 Siverado 4x4 454 Mud truck stock class 3.66 sec in 150' of mud
nhra stocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2010, 07:02 PM   #25
JuicedSS
 
JuicedSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS RS M6
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: N.O./Ponchatoula, LA
Posts: 202
What were the baseline numbers?
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS/RS M6 Black on Black
22" Vossen CV1 Wheels, Roto-Fab CAI, Dynatech 1 7/8" Long Tubes w/ High Flow Cats, Magnaflow Tru-X Pipe,
Barton Short Throw Shifter, Vector Motorsports Tune, Ground Effects, MPD1 Spoiler
JuicedSS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Just for fun take a walk down memory lane Beandip2811 General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 15 08-09-2009 09:26 AM
My car from stock 1Lt to my perfect car. Mohrg Beast Member Car Journals 0 07-24-2009 07:41 PM
2010 Chevy Camaro SS Indy 500 Pace Car Drive linkwpc Camaro Photos | Spyshots | Video | Media Gallery 0 05-23-2009 09:47 PM
Why you can't buy a new car directly from the manufacturer scotchsride09 Off-topic Discussions 13 02-14-2009 05:15 PM
LS3 goes 11`s Bonestock! GMRULZ Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 28 12-08-2008 09:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.