Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Gen5DIY
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions All DIY projects & discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-21-2010, 10:28 PM   #1
HeavyD

 
HeavyD's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SSRS RY L99
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,330
Best spot to run a wire through firewall?

Hello all. I have a little electrical project and I need to run a 16 gauge wire from the interior to the engine compartment. I am looking for some advice on the best location somewhere on the firewall to get through. Thanks.
HeavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 09:17 AM   #2
FwyFlyer
 
FwyFlyer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 284
Me too!

Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyD View Post
Hello all. I have a little electrical project and I need to run a 16 gauge wire from the interior to the engine compartment. I am looking for some advice on the best location somewhere on the firewall to get through. Thanks.
When I wire my DRLs as fogs I am going to put the fogs on a switch so I will need this info too......
FwyFlyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 09:35 AM   #3
TonyNo

 
TonyNo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT, IBM
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Chicago Suburbs
Posts: 980
If you can't chase it through an existing hole, it's wide open just to the outside of the steering column.
__________________
TonyNo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 10:09 AM   #4
skuttduck


 
skuttduck's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2LT Camaro
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 2,528
Send a message via ICQ to skuttduck Send a message via AIM to skuttduck Send a message via Yahoo to skuttduck
I think the best place I found was on the passenger side. I haven't done this yet for my radar detector, instead it just goes under the weather stripping on the drivers side.

Pull up the cowl on the passenger side, then pull off the passenger side kick panel. It appears you can run the cable in through there.
skuttduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 01:10 PM   #5
Mag-Tex
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT/RS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 55
IIRC, I cut a little slit in the grommet where the hood release cable goes thru the firewall. It is just above the deadpedal. May not be the best place, but it was easy and no problems so far.
Mag-Tex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2010, 07:56 PM   #6
HeavyD

 
HeavyD's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SSRS RY L99
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,330
Cool, I just took possession of the car this week. With everything else I really haven't had time to look around. Thanks for the pointers!
HeavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 12:13 AM   #7
LS3SSRS

 
LS3SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IBM SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 808
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mag-Tex View Post
IIRC, I cut a little slit in the grommet where the hood release cable goes thru the firewall. It is just above the deadpedal. May not be the best place, but it was easy and no problems so far.
good info thanx
__________________
2SS/RS, 6spd manual, IBM w/black leather
Blacked out tail/signal lights, 5% rear tint, 20% sides, Dynomax Bullet exhaust, Barton short throw shifter, Clear Image offroad downpipes
LS3SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 12:58 AM   #8
itsadryheat79
 
itsadryheat79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1 10SSRS (2)79Z28 72RS 69Z
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 317
Send a message via Yahoo to itsadryheat79
I am looking for a more perminant solution but found that you can go right threw the drivers side cowl weather stripping under the hood hinge area. I know it's not the best soltion but it did not require cutting or poking anything and was quick and easy.

Last edited by itsadryheat79; 01-23-2010 at 01:18 AM. Reason: Adding a couple of pics
itsadryheat79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 01:27 AM   #9
itsadryheat79
 
itsadryheat79's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1 10SSRS (2)79Z28 72RS 69Z
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 317
Send a message via Yahoo to itsadryheat79
This is an easy way to do it.

I am looking for a more perminant solution but found that you can go right threw the drivers side cowl weather stripping under the hood hinge area. I know it's not the best soltion but it did not require cutting or poking anything and was quick and easy. - Attaching a couple of pics below

White wire exiting the engin bay:


White wire comming into the fusebox area of interior.
itsadryheat79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 07:50 AM   #10
skuttduck


 
skuttduck's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2LT Camaro
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 2,528
Send a message via ICQ to skuttduck Send a message via AIM to skuttduck Send a message via Yahoo to skuttduck
Quote:
Originally Posted by itsadryheat79 View Post
I am looking for a more perminant solution but found that you can go right threw the drivers side cowl weather stripping under the hood hinge area. I know it's not the best soltion but it did not require cutting or poking anything and was quick and easy. - Attaching a couple of pics below
That is exactly how I have my radar detector. I'll see if i can reroute the cable to run through the passenger side though. As you can easily take off the cowl, get to the in cabin filter, and there is a whole lot of wires going down there.
skuttduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 08:17 AM   #11
ThunderSS

 
ThunderSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: East of Houston
Posts: 767
there is an area just the the right of the brake booster, and about 5 inches down from the main (red) Power wire on the drivers side of the engine compartment.
You can access it through the inside by removing the kick plate trim, and the the trim piece that runs along the door. Be careful, you don't wont to nick the power wire .. I drilled from the inside, and made a 1/2 hole. put a grommet in and fed some wire loom through it.

It's hard to see, but directly below the red power cable, is a black wire loom coming through the firewall.


here is the inside
__________________

2010 Camaro SS/RS HKE Forged 416 CID
http://www.fquick.com/ThunderZ28
510 HP/485 Ft. Lbs
ThunderSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2010, 08:47 PM   #12
HeavyD

 
HeavyD's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SSRS RY L99
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,330
Great, thanks again!
HeavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2010, 03:36 AM   #13
SS Drifter
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 561
There is an existing hole about 1/2" dia. just a couple inches right (or was it left) of the point where the hood release cable passes through the firewall. Just pull out the rubber plug and replace it with a grommet.
SS Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 10:08 PM   #14
xpanda305x
Banned
 
Drives: Dark Knight
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gunshine State
Posts: 3,161
ima look under my hood 2morrow to see what i can find...
xpanda305x is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY: Here it is Dashboard ambient lighting ABL Tecca Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 356 09-03-2009 11:46 AM
June 13th Motorgen Meet/Angeles Crest Run! SeanPlunk USA - California 29 06-22-2009 01:48 PM
Motorgen LA Invasion Videos (58) and Pics Thread SeanPlunk USA - California 5 05-31-2009 02:23 AM
MSD ignition run on Jamey 1st & 2nd Generation Camaros 8 05-19-2008 09:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:02 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.