Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
SMGSS
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2010, 09:25 PM   #1
EDGE_
 
EDGE_'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS/RS SIM L99
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 155
Cool Remote Start installation for 1SS (L99)

Just had my Remote Start (Part Number: 92213216) installed and I hope this will answer some of the many misconceptions out there.

Firstly the following were parts of my order:

Remote Start (P/N: 92213216) installed - $154.28 + taxes
New key fob (P/N: 13504199) programmed & cut by dealer - $31.82 + taxes

Installation took almost three hours and it is still not done because the machine that laser cuts the key died. I will need to return tomorrow or whenever they get the machine fixed.

I only purchased one key because my dealer only had one in stock. This key is exactly like the 2SS/2LT/1LTwC&C. It is just like my current key but includes one extra button for the remote start. So no 'advanced' key fob and no need to carry two key fobs.

Now for the real kicker. The actual Remote Start module is already installed in the vehicle. It is in the dashboard! The Remote Start (P/N: 92213216) 'module' that I purchased is actually an extension wire harness and a plastic case for the module in the dashboard. These are needed to move the actual module from the dashboard to the top of the windshield, just right of the rear view mirror. The Tech told me that the module needs to be moved to extend the range of the transmitter. So you are paying $115.00 for a little wire harness, a small plastic case and four tye wraps.

IMPORTANT: The key fob (transmitter) is NOT included in the Remote Start kit (P/N: 92213216) even though a picture of the fob is shown when advertising the part, just read the fine print.

Hope this helps.

PDIM - DONE
Remote Start - DONE
Steering Wheel Audio Controls - PENDING
Bluetooth for phone - PENDING
EDGE_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 11:01 PM   #2
HeavyD

 
HeavyD's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SSRS RY L99
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,330
Cool, thanks for info. I knew it was something like this. Interesting!
HeavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2010, 11:09 PM   #3
Legend17
Army Bound
 
Legend17's Avatar
 
Drives: 97 Camaro RS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 123
wow didnt think it would come with the module. wonder if the module is actually in a manual car. aftermarket harness could be made to adapt for the manual transmission. would be a cool idea if the module is there. company would make good money cuz the optional remote start harness im sure would sell
Legend17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-03-2010, 12:19 AM   #4
Buffnshine
So Cal Camaro5 Race Team
 
Buffnshine's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 SS/RS, '06 HHR, '70 El Camino
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 2,630
Cool news thanks for the update, waiting to hear how the steering wheel goes

__________________
TEAM L99 - So Cal Camaro5 Race Team #27
9/5/09 Purchased #36962 Black 1SS/RS L99 "E-TCKT" Base Dyno 328hp/341tq @BBK meet
Mods to Date: Window Tint 5% & 15%, ACC P13W Lighting, Adaptive DRL Harness, Ghost Armor, Lloyds "SS" Mats, Dash Plaque, Flowmaster Outlaw Exhaust, Drake Front Bowtie Delete, Stealth 3457 Chrome/Mirror Signal Bulbs, Grant Revolutions Steering Wheel, PFADT Sport Springs, Sway Bars, End Links, Trailing Arms, 4 Wheel Alignment, Hurst Auto Shifter and Paddle Shifter, Satin Black Rear Tail Light Bezels
Buffnshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 08:42 PM   #5
2k10ss4me
 
Drives: Summit White 1SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 43
EDGE_

Do you have pictures of the module that was moved to the windshield? I'm assuming this is something that is barely visible but I want to make sure before taking the plunge and end up with something that's unsightly.
2k10ss4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2010, 09:42 PM   #6
strauchpete
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sedalia, Missouri
Posts: 338
Personally I have used the factory remote start and I think they suck, it doesnt run long enough and it doesnt warm the car up.

when you could get a decent and after market remote installed for about $300
strauchpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2010, 11:03 PM   #7
EDGE_
 
EDGE_'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS/RS SIM L99
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 155
It looks exactly the same as the 2SS. I can get pictures tomorrow if you like.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2k10ss4me View Post
EDGE_

Do you have pictures of the module that was moved to the windshield? I'm assuming this is something that is barely visible but I want to make sure before taking the plunge and end up with something that's unsightly.
EDGE_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 07:28 AM   #8
2k10ss4me
 
Drives: Summit White 1SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Omaha, NE
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by EDGE_ View Post
It looks exactly the same as the 2SS. I can get pictures tomorrow if you like.
If you could post a picture or two I'd appreciate it.
2k10ss4me is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 08:23 AM   #9
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by strauchpete View Post
Personally I have used the factory remote start and I think they suck, it doesnt run long enough and it doesnt warm the car up.
Did you set the temperature and fan speed all the way up before you exit the vehicle prior to testing this?

Mine heats my car up easily inside 5 minutes...
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2010, 08:51 PM   #10
EDGE_
 
EDGE_'s Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS/RS SIM L99
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 155
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2k10ss4me View Post
If you could post a picture or two I'd appreciate it.
Remote Start Module



Remote Start Key Fob


Note: These are not my images. They were previously posted on the Internet.
EDGE_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 10:34 PM   #11
RCLapCar
 
RCLapCar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT/RS A6 IOM/IO
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 502
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legend17 View Post
wow didnt think it would come with the module. wonder if the module is actually in a manual car. aftermarket harness could be made to adapt for the manual transmission. would be a cool idea if the module is there. company would make good money cuz the optional remote start harness im sure would sell
I would assume the module is identical in ALL cars. It would be used for all key fob functions (doors, trunk, panic and remote start). Most likely it's ability to start the engine is disabled in the software on manual cars, either in the module itself or more likely in whatever computer controls the engine ignition sequence.
__________________
2010 2LT/RS A6 IOM/IO - 2G1FC1EV9A9180784 - Airaid V2 - Solo Catback w/ J-Pipes
RCLapCar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 01:32 PM   #12
Angrybird 12
Retired, Cancer Survivor
 
Angrybird 12's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 CAMARO 1LT, 08 Vue, 14 Spark
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: J. C. Tennessee
Posts: 17,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by strauchpete View Post
Personally I have used the factory remote start and I think they suck, it doesnt run long enough and it doesnt warm the car up.

when you could get a decent and after market remote installed for about $300
Then you have another fob on your keychain.. how clunky is that...

You do know you can start the thing up twice for 10 minutes each time, if you can't warm your car up in 20 minutes then you need to move somewhere warmer...
__________________
Cancer's a bitch! Enjoy life while you can! LIVE, LOVE, DRIVE...CAMARO!

Previous Camaros: 1974, 1979 and 2010.
Angrybird 12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 03:43 PM   #13
Racer-X
Rhymin and Stealin
 
Racer-X's Avatar
 
Drives: The Search is on ABM V6.....
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 680
Send a message via MSN to Racer-X
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyman 08 View Post
Then you have another fob on your keychain.. how clunky is that...

You do know you can start the thing up twice for 10 minutes each time, if you can't warm your car up in 20 minutes then you need to move somewhere warmer...
NOT 100% True. I can add any of our Compustar systems to the factory remote.

or if you have a smart phone you could use this...
Racer-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 06:20 PM   #14
Angrybird 12
Retired, Cancer Survivor
 
Angrybird 12's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 CAMARO 1LT, 08 Vue, 14 Spark
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: J. C. Tennessee
Posts: 17,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAS View Post
NOT 100% True. I can add any of our Compustar systems to the factory remote.

or if you have a smart phone you could use this...
Would it work without the fob with the remote start button???

I got a Dumb phone anyway... can't afford the plan for a smart one..
__________________
Cancer's a bitch! Enjoy life while you can! LIVE, LOVE, DRIVE...CAMARO!

Previous Camaros: 1974, 1979 and 2010.

Last edited by Angrybird 12; 06-30-2010 at 06:54 PM.
Angrybird 12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2010, 07:56 PM   #15
Racer-X
Rhymin and Stealin
 
Racer-X's Avatar
 
Drives: The Search is on ABM V6.....
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 680
Send a message via MSN to Racer-X
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyman 08 View Post
Would it work without the fob with the remote start button???

I got a Dumb phone anyway... can't afford the plan for a smart one..
Yes, the phone itself becomes the remote.
Racer-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 05:56 AM   #16
Angrybird 12
Retired, Cancer Survivor
 
Angrybird 12's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 CAMARO 1LT, 08 Vue, 14 Spark
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: J. C. Tennessee
Posts: 17,938
Quote:
Originally Posted by IAS View Post
Yes, the phone itself becomes the remote.
I didn't ask about the phone, I asked if it would work with the fob without the remote start button.. I said I didn't have a smart phone...
__________________
Cancer's a bitch! Enjoy life while you can! LIVE, LOVE, DRIVE...CAMARO!

Previous Camaros: 1974, 1979 and 2010.
Angrybird 12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 08:24 PM   #17
Racer-X
Rhymin and Stealin
 
Racer-X's Avatar
 
Drives: The Search is on ABM V6.....
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Albuquerque, NM
Posts: 680
Send a message via MSN to Racer-X
oh sorry, the drone system wil not, but any of the regular compustar systems will work with the regualr stock remote.
Racer-X is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2010, 10:15 PM   #18
chevy 3
NEcamaro5
 
chevy 3's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2ss rs 1LE
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: mass
Posts: 3,888
man i want this so bad for my m6 with out paying 500.
chevy 3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-27-2011, 11:23 PM   #19
Blue_Shark
 
Blue_Shark's Avatar
 
Drives: IBM L99 1SS/RS A6
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Soledad CA
Posts: 58
im wondering if i only buy the key fobs that have da remote start.... will it work??.....since the harness only to extend the range of the transmitter.
__________________
AMERICAN REVOLUTION RACING
BLUE_SHARK


Blue_Shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 07:26 AM   #20
bigted83
They call me captain slow
 
bigted83's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro lt
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Springfield Illinois
Posts: 1,228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Skyman 08 View Post
Would it work without the fob with the remote start button???

I got a Dumb phone anyway... can't afford the plan for a smart one..
to the dumb phone comment but not being able to afford a smartphone
bigted83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 12:54 PM   #21
Topdown
The wait is over!
 
Topdown's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, IOM, L99, Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue_Shark View Post
im wondering if i only buy the key fobs that have da remote start.... will it work??.....since the harness only to extend the range of the transmitter.
Thats the same question I have... if its all already there and hooked up, it seems reasonable that it would work.
__________________
Ordered - 4/17/2010
Delivered - 5/29/2010

AlphaDamp CLD Mat - Get more Sound Deadening with less Sound Deadener
Topdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 02:34 PM   #22
GTPprix
I hack cars.
 
Drives: Lots ;)
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Macomb Township, MI
Posts: 328
Send a message via ICQ to GTPprix Send a message via AIM to GTPprix Send a message via Yahoo to GTPprix
No, its turned off in the BCM. Also the module thats being labeled as a "remote start module" is nothing more than the RCDLR.
__________________
Chris White
2006 Spice Red A4 GTO - Stock
2012 Jeep SRT8 - Tuned
2013 SRX - Custom IPC/CUE/BCM
2013 Volt - Custom IPC/BCM/UPA/Mylink
2015 Yukon Denali - Hacking in progress.
GTPprix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 04:23 PM   #23
GreenMonster
Its all about the U
 
GreenMonster's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SGM
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Miami
Posts: 1,676
remote starts the sh** I always start mine like that
__________________
GreenMonster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2011, 11:56 PM   #24
Blue_Shark
 
Blue_Shark's Avatar
 
Drives: IBM L99 1SS/RS A6
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Soledad CA
Posts: 58
well i found out today that u do need to buy Remote Start (P/N: 92213216) because it comes it a access code dat GM give ur dealer to enter to reprogram ur bcm to enable ur remote start and ofcourse to reroute ur remote start module
__________________
AMERICAN REVOLUTION RACING
BLUE_SHARK


Blue_Shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2011, 11:40 PM   #25
mauricioaglr
 
mauricioaglr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS Agua Blue Metalic
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Pico Rivera, CA
Posts: 94
Is there a DIY for relocating the module? I want to save some cash and only have the dealer do the reprogramming, I already bought the part.
mauricioaglr is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official 1/4 Mile (V8) 2010+ Camaro Fast List Merc Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion 2718 10-21-2014 12:39 PM
Remote Start Durability kanys 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 33 03-28-2009 07:43 AM
remote start operation albino 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 25 03-14-2009 06:03 AM
Remote Start Available for the Manual Tranny? Rodrunner 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 36 12-30-2008 10:35 AM
Remote Start l008com Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 34 11-18-2008 03:19 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.