Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
River City Camaro Customs
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-11-2010, 07:35 PM   #1
Duke
 
Duke's Avatar
 
Drives: Red SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lake Jackson, TX
Posts: 413
A6 Tune Anyone?th less slippage

I have the A6 in my SS and the shifting is definetly too smooth. I want to feel when he shifts. And under WOT I want neck snapping shifts. So, has anyone gotten a tune to firm up the shifts? Seems to me it would even be better for the tranny with less slippage.

I remember putting a shift kit in my '89 Mustang GT, wow what a hoot.
Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 09:02 PM   #2
camaro1

 
camaro1's Avatar
 
Drives: 550+RWHP 2010 camaro
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,588
get hptuners and firm it right up!
__________________
415ci stroker, TVS 2300 Magnacharger, cnc heads, cam, yank ss3200 converter, Kooks long tubes, Bwoody true cold air kit, ZL1 Pump, magnaflow 3" cat-back, lowering springs,BMR control arms and tie rod bars, 3.73 gears, diff mounts, RX can, ADM fuel controller
camaro1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2010, 09:55 PM   #3
Mike TexaSS
 
Drives: 454 LS7 Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Houston
Posts: 380
Pm sent!
Mike TexaSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 04:16 PM   #4
bumblebeecamaro
Car Lover By Nature
 
Drives: Mini Cooper S
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central FL
Posts: 2,310
Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro1 View Post
get hptuners and firm it right up!
to my knowledge, you can't tune an A6 with HP Tuners. at least not with recently built L99s like mine.

I know it can be tuned via other methods but not with HPT. at least not yet.
__________________
bumblebeecamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 04:21 PM   #5
SGOS252382


 
SGOS252382's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: S.W. Florida
Posts: 6,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumblebeecamaro View Post
to my knowledge, you can't tune an A6 with HP Tuners. at least not with recently built L99s like mine.

I know it can be tuned via other methods but not with HPT. at least not yet.
Yeah, I talked with someone who tried to get his car tuned last week and they couldn't do it.
I had my car tuned back in July.

Hopefully they will have a fix pretty soon.
__________________
SGOS252382 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 04:25 PM   #6
bumblebeecamaro
Car Lover By Nature
 
Drives: Mini Cooper S
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Central FL
Posts: 2,310
Quote:
Originally Posted by SGOS252382 View Post
Hopefully they will have a fix pretty soon.
I've been hearing HPT saying they'll soon have a fix. I've been hearing this for over a month now.
__________________
bumblebeecamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 04:32 PM   #7
camaro1

 
camaro1's Avatar
 
Drives: 550+RWHP 2010 camaro
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 1,588
latest hptuners beta has many new a6 tables and works great for tuning the L99 trans, i am on the hptuners forum and have not seen any post about programming issues with the L99 A6

i think you guys are talking about efi live,, they are having issues with newer software in the L99 tcm, this is posted on the efi live forum:

EFI LIVE FORUM, EDIT: This problem has not been solved with the latest update, please don't attempt to program any 2010 model 6 speed TCM's until we announce a fix
__________________
415ci stroker, TVS 2300 Magnacharger, cnc heads, cam, yank ss3200 converter, Kooks long tubes, Bwoody true cold air kit, ZL1 Pump, magnaflow 3" cat-back, lowering springs,BMR control arms and tie rod bars, 3.73 gears, diff mounts, RX can, ADM fuel controller
camaro1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2010, 06:04 PM   #8
SRT10KLLR

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Down South
Posts: 1,500
Quote:
Originally Posted by bumblebeecamaro View Post
to my knowledge, you can't tune an A6 with HP Tuners. at least not with recently built L99s like mine.

I know it can be tuned via other methods but not with HPT. at least not yet.
I have both EFI Live and HP Tuners and can and have adjusted the tune in my brothers 2010 Camaro with it including the A6 parameters.

You must have a later OS that is just not yet supported. I am sure they are working on it though. Just hang on.
__________________
2005 Dodge Ram 2500 RCSB Thunder Road Hemi Sport w/STS Turbo
2004 Dodge Ram SRT-10 - Silver - Stock
2003 Chevy 1500 RCSB Stepside 400SS - 408 in now awaiting Turbo
SRT10KLLR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 04:11 PM   #9
Ghost of Vincent Price
Banned
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: underground
Posts: 374
I have a prettey decent a6 tune if you get hp tuners. I havent been to the track to totally dial it in, but its a huge huge step over stock tuning...and its still safe. Nothing crazy. Let me know if you are interested.

But the short answer is yes, hptuners is more than capable of tuning the a6 trannies...at least since Oct, but the last beta did add some more control.
Ghost of Vincent Price is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2010, 01:47 PM   #10
Steve@Vectormotorsports
 
Drives: Firehawk
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Port Huron
Posts: 211
We have a stage 2 Trans tune that seems to have a repeatable 2-3 tenths of the quarter mile, with a stock engine cal. We have tuned over 600 A6 transmissions. Honesty we have more miles on our trans. calibrations than all other tuners combined.

If you have any questions feel free to call me 1-586-790-2970
Steve@Vectormotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 11:52 PM   #11
DrewJitsu
 
DrewJitsu's Avatar
 
Drives: ZL1, 2012 3500 Duramax Dually 4x4
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lubbock, TX
Posts: 51
The place where i dyno'd mine said the same thing, HP tuner didnt have a new enough firmware update for my transmission. I have been waiting about a month also.
DrewJitsu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-13-2010, 06:17 AM   #12
tony1
 
tony1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS Vortech/L99
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve@Vectormotorsports View Post
We have a stage 2 Trans tune that seems to have a repeatable 2-3 tenths of the quarter mile, with a stock engine cal. We have tuned over 600 A6 transmissions. Honesty we have more miles on our trans. calibrations than all other tuners combined.

If you have any questions feel free to call me 1-586-790-2970
Well I ordered mine from Vectormotorsports on Wednesday received the software and cords on Thursday and e-mailed my stock reading to them and got my tunes back and installed them Friday. It was very very easy and I was real nervous but everything went smooth. You can always load your stock tune back in whenever you'll need to. The tune is custom for your mods and updates are free. So after I loaded the new tune in yesterday I took it out and you can definitley tell the difference. As far as the A6 goes the shifts are right on (no lag what so ever) in the sport mode when it shifts I feel strong hard pulls thru the gears. They sent 2 TCM tunes for the A6 (a stage 1 and a stage 2) I have only tried the stage 1.. Don't know if i'll try the stage 2 or not ..stage 1 seems perfect for me. the only problem Iam having is I only have 300 miles on it and now I can't help myself from getting on it so often ... now its too hard to drive it easy... In my opinion this was money well spent... if I had to do it all over again this is what I'd do. All I have is a Roto-Fab CAI now ( will be doing exhaust soon) and if you want to get the most out of your mods this will definitley add to them and if you got a A6 this tune is a MUST. I went with Vector after reading the comments on here and they are leading the front on the A6 also.. Glad I did.. if your scared and on the fence like I was this is the route to go.
tony1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official 1/4 Mile (V8) 2010+ Camaro Fast List Merc Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion 2674 09-18-2014 11:13 PM
Unofficial 1/4 Mile (V8) 2010+ Camaro Fast List Merc Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion 250 04-01-2014 10:40 AM
DO NOT give specific order/vin info on the site if getting a tune! TAG UR IT Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 60 07-14-2011 01:47 PM
Supercharger tuning: Why shop tune instead of tune with the S/C? JProberts Forced Induction - V8 10 12-28-2009 03:54 PM
LS3 goes 11`s Bonestock! GMRULZ Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 28 12-08-2008 09:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.