Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
JUICEDMOTORSPORTS
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-23-2010, 10:16 PM   #26
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 23,753
A while back you guys said you were working on TCM tune... what's the status now?... did it ever happen?
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 02:38 AM   #27
CaliEMT
Decepticons. . . MOBILIZE
 
CaliEMT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS Black
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Santa Maria, Ca
Posts: 314
I know I'll sound nooby but how will the diff octanes affect the car?

And are there any downfalls to using higher octanes on the Camaro? The dealer told me to use regular always.
CaliEMT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 07:00 AM   #28
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 23,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaliEMT View Post
I know I'll sound nooby but how will the diff octanes affect the car?

And are there any downfalls to using higher octanes on the Camaro? The dealer told me to use regular always.
Depends on whether you are V6 or V8. From the looks of your avitar V8 and your dealer would have told you wrong. V8 should be running 91 or higher. V6 just stick with regular. Search Fuse Pull thread and you'll get all the info you need.
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 08:26 AM   #29
Bell040


 
Bell040's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS - Black - GFX
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: B'ham, Alabama
Posts: 2,458
Quote:
Originally Posted by CaliEMT View Post
I know I'll sound nooby but how will the diff octanes affect the car?

And are there any downfalls to using higher octanes on the Camaro? The dealer told me to use regular always.


research "Engine Knock" http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Engine_knocking

then read the "fuse pull" thread http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=38964
__________________
Ordered: 10-13-08
Built: 3-30-09 (#1691)
Recieved: 6-12-09

Blacked out, Cammed (Lunati Voodoo 233/245, .578/.598 @114°, +4°), ARH LTs, VR OTR CAI, Cutouts, and lots of other fun mods.
Bell040 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2010, 08:05 PM   #30
06MonteSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ohten View Post
I just picked up my Diablo Sport and the speed shop I purchased from installed the tune.The reason I purchased the D.S. was to get rid of AFM,I asked him if AFM would be turned off with just the tune alone and he said it disables it automatically.Who is correct here and can someone tell me exactly what was changed with the tune.I did a search and came up empty,I have owned my car for only a month,so maybe I missed that thread.
no, the AFM/DOD is not disabled automatically when you just install the tune... you have to go in and set it to off, then install the modified tune with that change...

hook up to your car... select the same diablo tune that was installed before, and then select "Modify Tune"... select the AFM parameter, and select/highlight "OFF", press the center button on the predator to save your change, then press the ESC button a few times to back out of the menu, and it will ask you, "Install tune now?" - answer/select YES and it will install the modified tune with the AFM/DOD turned off...
06MonteSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 06:47 AM   #31
06MonteSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 226
you can just unplug it... good to go...
06MonteSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 07:01 AM   #32
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 23,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlee View Post
A while back you guys said you were working on TCM tune... what's the status now?... did it ever happen?
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 09:43 PM   #33
brtaus
 
brtaus's Avatar
 
Drives: None
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom692010 View Post
if load the 91 octane tune do I them have to go into modify tun to disable the skip shift?
I didn't have to....
brtaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 02:02 AM   #34
chevyss
SS/RS
 
chevyss's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS IOM w/blk stripes A6
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Eastern Washington
Posts: 816
I purchased my Preditor last year. I have yet to install it because the car was put away for the winter. Are there any updates to the tune that is installed in it from last year??

I'm a real weenie when it comes to all this electronic stuff. I'm still looking for someone to help me install the tune.
chevyss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 08:43 AM   #35
Mike@DS
 
Drives: 99 Z28
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SoFla
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevyss View Post
I purchased my Preditor last year. I have yet to install it because the car was put away for the winter. Are there any updates to the tune that is installed in it from last year??

I'm a real weenie when it comes to all this electronic stuff. I'm still looking for someone to help me install the tune.
The latest revision is 9r14, would not be a bad idea to update it if you have not yet used it.

It is super simple to install, go for it!
Mike@DS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 10:14 AM   #36
06MonteSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 226
power it up - and once it boots up and is at the main menu, there's a number at the top of the screen - that's the revision number...

what's that number?? that will tell you what revision it's already on...
06MonteSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 10:41 AM   #37
06MonteSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 226
hahahhaa... he's B.S.-ing you man....

can't tell...

hahahahaa... that's funny...

well, let me rephrase that... maybe you can with some of the other tuners/programmers that are out there... but not if you use a diablo predator or trinity... heh...

Last edited by 06MonteSS; 03-04-2010 at 11:06 AM.
06MonteSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 10:43 AM   #38
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 23,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by mlee View Post
A while back you guys said you were working on TCM tune... what's the status now?... did it ever happen?
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 11:05 AM   #39
06MonteSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 226
it's in the process of "happening"...

tcm's are on the bench being tested with the flash process...
06MonteSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 12:21 PM   #40
Buffnshine
So Cal Camaro5 Race Team
 
Buffnshine's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 SS/RS, '06 HHR, '70 El Camino
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Huntington Beach, CA
Posts: 2,631
OK so I have read through the tread, I have a L99 with 3000 miles no engine mods yet, plan on a CAI and exhaust next couple of months, maggie end of the year (oh and its a CA car 91 octain). My question is do I do a tune now or after the mods (I want the AFM gone) and if its before do I have to change it as I make changes? It sounds like the Diablo is the best one out there, not familiar with these at all and that they are sort of just plug and play. Does it hold multiple tunes so that I can switch back to factory so as not to void warranty when taking it in for service? Thanks
__________________
TEAM L99 - So Cal Camaro5 Race Team #27
9/5/09 Purchased #36962 Black 1SS/RS L99 "E-TCKT" Base Dyno 328hp/341tq @BBK meet
Mods to Date: Window Tint 5% & 15%, ACC P13W Lighting, Adaptive DRL Harness, Ghost Armor, Lloyds "SS" Mats, Dash Plaque, Flowmaster Outlaw Exhaust, Drake Front Bowtie Delete, Stealth 3457 Chrome/Mirror Signal Bulbs, Grant Revolutions Steering Wheel, PFADT Sport Springs, Sway Bars, End Links, Trailing Arms, 4 Wheel Alignment, Hurst Auto Shifter and Paddle Shifter, Satin Black Rear Tail Light Bezels
Buffnshine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 12:32 PM   #41
mlee
H-Town Camaro Club
 
mlee's Avatar
 
Drives: Number Twenty-Three
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Conroe, TX
Posts: 23,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Buffnshine View Post
OK so I have read through the tread, I have a L99 with 3000 miles no engine mods yet, plan on a CAI and exhaust next couple of months, maggie end of the year (oh and its a CA car 91 octain). My question is do I do a tune now or after the mods (I want the AFM gone) and if its before do I have to change it as I make changes? It sounds like the Diablo is the best one out there, not familiar with these at all and that they are sort of just plug and play. Does it hold multiple tunes so that I can switch back to factory so as not to void warranty when taking it in for service? Thanks
Do the tune now... It holds your original tune in storage along with other tunes you can get done by Jannettey or the Diablo guys. Super easy to install the Diablo 91 octane tune right out of the box. Catback and CAI work great with the Diablo... Once you get into headers you might want to get a custom tune for your Diablo to tune out O2 codes. Once you are at the Maggie level then you will get a different tune altogether. Check out their website and forums for more info.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 06MonteSS View Post
it's in the process of "happening"...

tcm's are on the bench being tested with the flash process...
Thanks... I'll leave you alone and go back to eating popcorn again...
__________________
.
mlee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 07:17 PM   #42
Ripptide56
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Corpus
Posts: 46
Does the predator change the shift points and pressures in the tranny?
Ripptide56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 11:20 PM   #43
SRTM4
 
Drives: 2010 SS Camaro black
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: louisiana
Posts: 34
I have to say that after I bought the Diablo Predator and found out that I had to update the tuner I wasnt happy. I wanted a plug and play system that I didnt have to get a migraine headache over.

After purchasing the cables needed to download the update to my programmer I had some issues with my PC and getting everything to work. I was pretty hot by this time.
I finally got Diablo's Hotline and the guys over there got me straight.
They walked me through everything and now after seeing what needed to be done it really isnt that bad.
I have since installed the diablo tune and man it impressed me. The car runs much better and I felt a nice power difference all the way through to redline.
Well worth it!!
This is coming from a guy who just sold a 03 whipple powered 600hp cobra.
Diablo did a good job with the tune for a basically stock car. Just a K&N intake and Borla axleback. The car is pretty impressive now.
SRTM4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 07:35 AM   #44
steeleshark2


 
steeleshark2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Transformer 1SS Camaro
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Kingsland, Ga
Posts: 2,559
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRTM4 View Post
I have to say that after I bought the Diablo Predator and found out that I had to update the tuner I wasnt happy. I wanted a plug and play system that I didnt have to get a migraine headache over.

After purchasing the cables needed to download the update to my programmer I had some issues with my PC and getting everything to work. I was pretty hot by this time.
I finally got Diablo's Hotline and the guys over there got me straight.
They walked me through everything and now after seeing what needed to be done it really isnt that bad.
I have since installed the diablo tune and man it impressed me. The car runs much better and I felt a nice power difference all the way through to redline.
Well worth it!!
This is coming from a guy who just sold a 03 whipple powered 600hp cobra.
Diablo did a good job with the tune for a basically stock car. Just a K&N intake and Borla axleback. The car is pretty impressive now.
Did you dial in you fuel trims and WOT settings yet? If not, you will get more out of it. Also, if you want the most power, go with a custom tune with monte. He has done several camaros (including mine) with great results. His website is: http://www.dslogredux.com/*******_Tune/

You will not be disappointed!!
steeleshark2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 02:59 PM   #45
SRTM4
 
Drives: 2010 SS Camaro black
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: louisiana
Posts: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by steeleshark2 View Post
Did you dial in you fuel trims and WOT settings yet? If not, you will get more out of it. Also, if you want the most power, go with a custom tune with monte. He has done several camaros (including mine) with great results. His website is: http://www.dslogredux.com/*******_Tune/

You will not be disappointed!!

Hmmmm. I may just do that.
Thanks for the info.
SRTM4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 03:52 PM   #46
06MonteSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 226
Thanks Steele...

Yes, I can whip up nice custom tunes for the new camaros...
06MonteSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 07:40 AM   #47
scottcolem
 
scottcolem's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2014 ZL1
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Charleston South Carolina
Posts: 162
Would i gain anything from basically a stock ls3? i have ordered a flowmaster cat back. i plan on installing headders and hi flow cats and either a maggie or vortech supercharger.
scottcolem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 08:07 AM   #48
06MonteSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 226
yes... you would gain quicker throttle response, quicker acceleration, stronger/harder pull, and better mileage...

once you get a supercharger on there tho, you'd need to really get on a dyno to get tuned for that forced induction...
06MonteSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 10:59 AM   #49
Ripptide56
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Corpus
Posts: 46
And I'll ask again,Does the Predator change anything in the tranny? Or is it just all in the motor?
Ripptide56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2010, 02:27 PM   #50
06MonteSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Monte Carlo SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: CT
Posts: 226
right now, it's only on the ecm/engine side of things...

the tcm tuning is currently in testing on the engineering bench...
06MonteSS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official 1/4 Mile (V8) 2010+ Camaro Fast List Merc Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion 2617 07-08-2014 02:40 PM
Unofficial 1/4 Mile (V8) 2010+ Camaro Fast List Merc Dragstrip and Launch Techniques Discussion 250 04-01-2014 10:40 AM
Diablosport Trinity: New Lower Price $599 @ BMC Performance Kris@BMCPerformance V8 Bolt-Ons & Tunes 11 02-18-2010 07:00 PM
which vendors will INCLUDE a custom tune with purchase of diablosport predator? Mustang Killa Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 7 02-11-2010 08:41 AM
LS3 goes 11`s Bonestock! GMRULZ Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 28 12-08-2008 09:10 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.