Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
RDP Motorsport
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2010, 11:39 AM   #1
jrcase
 
Drives: 2010 Black/Black 2SS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 22
Octane of gas from factory?

My car arrived on Sat. and it had between 1/2 and 3/4 tank of gas already in it (I was surprised it was that full). It had 5 miles on it then. My salesman and I both went to fill it up together and he put in 93 octane gas, so I am good there. My question is did GM put 93 octane gas from the factory or do they put in the cheap 87 octane there?

I will do the fuse pull later on (225 miles on it now) just to be sure but I wonder what grade of gas the GM factory folks put in it there?
jrcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 11:56 AM   #2
Scrappy Doo


 
Scrappy Doo's Avatar
 
Drives: Taylor Made SLDR
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: W8n 4 Snow, Minnesota
Posts: 4,629
I would doubt if they used premium. At least you got it all burned out of there.
Scrappy Doo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 01:05 PM   #3
jrcase
 
Drives: 2010 Black/Black 2SS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 22
Has the problem with the ECM been corrected yet? It seems that several months of a known problem is long enough for GM to correct a well known issue. My car was built on 2/2/2010. Can I assume the issue has been delt with?
jrcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 01:20 PM   #4
kevman2010
 
kevman2010's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS Black
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: 20 mins North of the Camaro plant, CANADA
Posts: 20
I'm pretty sure they only use regular gas (87). But it should have only been like 10 litres. Not sure why you had 1/2 a tank?
kevman2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2010, 10:37 PM   #5
HeavyD

 
HeavyD's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SSRS RY L99
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,330
I would assume they use regular, do the fuse pull anyway!
HeavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 08:23 AM   #6
jrcase
 
Drives: 2010 Black/Black 2SS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 22
I did the fuse pull last night. Drove it this morning and I didnt see any change. It may be that the problem has been corrected on the new builds as mine was built on 02/02/2010. I will run a few tanks of 93 and do it again just to be sure.
jrcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 09:44 AM   #7
TooCool5
Resident Gearhead
 
TooCool5's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LS 3.6 LLT V6 325 HP
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Central CT
Posts: 3,483
What ever they are using in Canada its better than what we get in NE. My MPG readout said 23 mpg from the factory (riding through holding lots).
Once I got NE gas it was all over. (Ethanol)
__________________
2010 Camaro Auto, Inferno Orange, Titanium Interior, Gearhead Wheels AIRAID CAI
TooCool5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 10:20 AM   #8
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,522
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrcase View Post
Has the problem with the ECM been corrected yet? It seems that several months of a known problem is long enough for GM to correct a well known issue. My car was built on 2/2/2010. Can I assume the issue has been delt with?
I'm trying to confirm. But I trust that GM after sending engineers to Alabama with an SS Camaro to look at Scotts car, they will have had it taken care of.

Quote:
Originally Posted by jrcase View Post
I did the fuse pull last night. Drove it this morning and I didnt see any change. It may be that the problem has been corrected on the new builds as mine was built on 02/02/2010. I will run a few tanks of 93 and do it again just to be sure.
The car should be correcting it's self. Especially since yours is a late car.

I've often thought about running me a tank of low grade gas through just to see if the problem is fixed or not. But John Fitzpatrick asked me not to expeirament with it any more.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 10:29 AM   #9
v6sonoma


 
v6sonoma's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 7,756
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
I'm trying to confirm. But I trust that GM after sending engineers to Alabama with an SS Camaro to look at Scotts car, they will have had it taken care of.

The car should be correcting it's self. Especially since yours is a late car.

I've often thought about running me a tank of low grade gas through just to see if the problem is fixed or not. But John Fitzpatrick asked me not to expeirament with it any more.
I wouldn't. I don't think you want to go back to those days. I think you're much happier
__________________

Mods: BBK Intake, BBK LT's and High Flow Cats, Corsa Cat-back exhaust, Hurst short throw shifter, SLP skip-shift eliminator.

7/1/09 Placed order for IOM/IO int/ SS/RS 6M
9/26/09 Took delivery!
v6sonoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 06:43 AM   #10
jrcase
 
Drives: 2010 Black/Black 2SS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
I'm trying to confirm. But I trust that GM after sending engineers to Alabama with an SS Camaro to look at Scotts car, they will have had it taken care of.

The car should be correcting it's self. Especially since yours is a late car.

I've often thought about running me a tank of low grade gas through just to see if the problem is fixed or not. But John Fitzpatrick asked me not to expeirament with it any more.
When you say you are considering trying a low octane tank full to see if the problem is fixed, I assume you had some sort of software upgrade? Just curious as to how anything could be "fixed" if they didnt do anything to your car? I have searched for a TSB on this and didnt see any. Thanks for the reply.
jrcase is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 12:14 PM   #11
SteveTaylor
 
Drives: 2012 2SS L99
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Posts: 57
I'm curious too.
Any updates on this?
SteveTaylor is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Factory Gas Cap is driving me crazy every time I refuel because it hang/hits paint 55Designs 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 91 05-20-2010 08:54 AM
Dyno stock and after cai and tune MuscleDave Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 37 01-17-2010 01:32 PM
No 93 Octane in California tribone Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing 15 08-27-2009 04:18 PM
The Much Awaited #230 (L99) Update. Scott@Bjorn3D Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 140 08-20-2009 09:52 AM
What kind of gas are you filling up with in your '10 Camaro? JewelZ 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 42 08-02-2009 09:31 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.