Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Hurst Shifters
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-27-2010, 02:27 PM   #1
Kocomo
 
Drives: 5th Gen CGM 2SS/RS Sunroof
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seminole, FLA
Posts: 23
GPS/Backup Camera

My car turned out to be a pre-park assist vehicle. I really like it on my avalanche. Thinking about a Garmin 5000 with a backup camera. Rear visibility is poor on this car.

My problem is mounting the GPS. I want it to be semi-permanent. Less likely to grow legs and will be there all the time while backing up. The only place I can see is the dash to the right of the stereo.

Anyone do this? Any opinions? My garage is very tight.
Kocomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2010, 09:05 AM   #2
alanmeyer
 
alanmeyer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro IBM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Anaheim Hills, CA
Posts: 99
I just learned about this. I haven't seen enough reviews to be convinced either way, but it could be a good solution for you:

Smart Mirror

-Alan
__________________
2010 IBM 2SS/RS - Built 03/17/2010 - Delivered 04/06/2010
alanmeyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2010, 03:20 PM   #3
Kocomo
 
Drives: 5th Gen CGM 2SS/RS Sunroof
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Seminole, FLA
Posts: 23
I have seen these but that just interferes with the current Onstar system. Good way to limit size and location. A bit pricey.

Thanks for the info. Definitely another data point.
Kocomo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-10-2010, 01:09 PM   #4
Looney Tunes
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT ABM auto
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Warrenton VA
Posts: 97
Proclip

I used a ProClip to mount my Garmin. I prefer my Garmin GPS to the OnStar anyway. It's not with the backup camera but it might work. Go to their site and pick your mounting location and device and it will show pictures. Mine looks good and is in front of the left vent on the dash but only partly blocks the vent. You could probably mount on the left vent but my location works well. Some folks use proclip to mount phones and ipods. Check it out at:http://www.proclipusa.com/
Looney Tunes is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.