Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Solo Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2010, 12:42 AM   #1
xpanda305x
Banned
 
Drives: Dark Knight
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gunshine State
Posts: 3,161
Light Dimming Problem/Question?

okay when i first got the car. the lights didnt dim at night time...well u can notice the lights dim if u pay attention. but never did it when i first got it.

later down the road. like anyone else would i started Modding it. and i changed all my car bulbs for LEDS. and then added a Subwoofer. only 1 12in sub. and then also added HIDS bi xenon. and the lights now start dimming. i ran a relay on the hids, my sub is powered by 520watt amp. and the sub only requires like 300 max! so i have 220 watts left over so idk? and the leds? well idk....but i have a question...how can i fix the light dimming. the inteior lights dim. the radio dims a lil. i know its something with the battery or something. so does anyone have a clue how can i do this? because i STILL need to add foglights AND footwell lights. so its gonna take more.

someone told me to run a capaciator or something. and another person said get a better battery but i was wondering...chevy included HIDS,Subs,Fogs n such from factory and they dont dim....whats the problemm!!!
xpanda305x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 03:24 AM   #2
mrray13


 
mrray13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT RS Rally Yellow
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern Illinois
Posts: 3,059
The added amplifier for your sub is the issue. Try driving at night without the system on, I'll wager you'll not see any dimming. That is usually occuring when the bass hits in the system, drawing extra current from the battery to provide for it.

Don't buy a cap, waste of money. Upgrade your battery. Try a good quality deep cycle,not a normal starting battery. It should help to resolve your issue, which is a voltage problem, by having extra current on standby, to ease the strain on the alternator.
__________________
PacMan
mrray13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 05:48 AM   #3
xpanda305x
Banned
 
Drives: Dark Knight
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Gunshine State
Posts: 3,161
Yeah it's when the bass hits!

How much can one on of those batterys run me?
xpanda305x is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 07:12 AM   #4
squatin0n18s
 
squatin0n18s's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT 2LT/RS A6 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: savannah
Posts: 251
im interested in this also, as i was told i'd need a battery too, but my guy said i wouldnt necesarily have to run a whole new battery i could just replace mine with a lot better one...is this true? or should i just go ahead and run the new battery? doesn't matter to me i'm just tired of the lights dimming while driving, people always think im flashing my lights or something cos they do it back!!
squatin0n18s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 03:54 PM   #5
mrray13


 
mrray13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT RS Rally Yellow
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern Illinois
Posts: 3,059
A good battery to replace your factory battery should work. Optima Yellow Top/Blue Top, are two of the most popular. There are batteries by Stinger , and hell, too many companies to list, lol. My favortie is the BatCap 800. Tiny little sucker, will start your car, but is better as a second battery.

Go to a local car audio shop and see what they have for deep cycle batteries. Then price online as well as there. Compare with the Yellow Tops and Blue Tops. Buy the one that fits in your price range, should range from about $120 and up, some online pricing might be lower.
__________________
PacMan
mrray13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 06:58 PM   #6
squatin0n18s
 
squatin0n18s's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT 2LT/RS A6 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: savannah
Posts: 251
yeah i did a bit of research on deep cycle battery's and optima came up the most for sure...but i cant find anything about whether to use a blue, yellow, or red top battery for my (future) camaro....im gonna be doing 1000-1300 watts rms, so i'll definitely be upgrading the big three. once i find a good y,r,or b top, do you think it'll be able to handle that without getting a second battery? i'll probably be doing the interior lights and halo's too....i don't mind if it dims a little i just don't want it doing what its doing to my truck right now to my camaro...
squatin0n18s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 03:01 AM   #7
inferno_orange_ss/rs
 
inferno_orange_ss/rs's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2ss/rs
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Helena Montana
Posts: 28
something you can also do is add another ground wire onto your existing battery. one of the dimming problems with subs is the grounds. try a bigger ground on your amp and add another one to your batt. that got rid of my dimming problems with stock battery.
inferno_orange_ss/rs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2011, 12:17 PM   #8
Topdown
The wait is over!
 
Topdown's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, IOM, L99, Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by inferno_orange_ss/rs View Post
something you can also do is add another ground wire onto your existing battery. one of the dimming problems with subs is the grounds. try a bigger ground on your amp and add another one to your batt. that got rid of my dimming problems with stock battery.
I definitely wouldn't recommend adding a bigger ground to your amp without upgrading the positive wire as well... your power and ground wires need to be the same size and as close to the same strand count as possible... power flows from negative to positive (and from positive to negative under some circumstances) so you always want your positive and negative wires of the same gauge, etc...
__________________
Ordered - 4/17/2010
Delivered - 5/29/2010

AlphaDamp CLD Mat - Get more Sound Deadening with less Sound Deadener
Topdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2011, 10:09 AM   #9
inferno_orange_ss/rs
 
inferno_orange_ss/rs's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2ss/rs
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Helena Montana
Posts: 28
first you want the correct gauge wire for power. you can have all the power in the world but a weak ground wire will stop you in your tracks. having two diffrent size ground and power wires doesn't matter at all. call any stereo shop around your town and they will tell you that they install a beefy ground wire on installs that is usually bigger than the power line. if you already installed your power threw your firewall and under the carpet don't take it out to match a bigger ground thats just stupid.
inferno_orange_ss/rs is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY Raptor Dual Stage Shift Light. ThunderSS Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 46 03-10-2014 04:53 PM
Glove box light jbsrace1 Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 66 06-03-2013 03:40 PM
SIDE MARKER, REVERSE LIGHT AND TAIL LIGHT TINT!!! BLACK10 Exterior Parts & Accessories 561 11-18-2010 12:55 PM
Some Texas Lighting Laws Mecha USA - Texas 5 10-20-2009 02:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.