Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
TireRack
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-02-2010, 09:23 PM   #1
convert
 
convert's Avatar
 
Drives: the Camaro as often as possible
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 138
iPod menu problem

I have the iPod Touch 3G and I've tried resetting it as well as restoring it, but neither has helped resolve the issues with the iPod interface in the Camaro. My car has the CC hardware and CE software (from the factory).

When I search by artist, the first several artist names show up blank. When I select one, the album names don't show up right -- sometimes they're artist names, sometimes they're track names. When I select an album the track names show up ok.

I know this has been discussed on here before, but I've tried all the suggestions and none helped. I'm just wondering -- do you think this is an issue with the iPod or the PDIM? I assume it's with the PDIM, so what's the word on getting an update to fix it? It's driving me nuts!!!
convert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2010, 09:40 PM   #2
Brandenburg
Nothing is True
 
Brandenburg's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 202
Maybe you've already checked this, but are you sure the ID3 information in each mp3 is correct in your iTunes software? Garbage in - garbage out, you know. If you're using mp3s with poorly formed tags, the car will simply read the info it's given.

I have a huge library of mp3s (maybe 40,000 tracks) and many of the tags were crap. I found this software called TuneUp ( http://www.tuneupmedia.com/ ) and was astonished at the results. With a little time and patients, I cleaned up almost all my tags. I could accomplish in minutes with this software what would've taken me days or weeks to do by hand.
__________________
...Nothing is True, Everything is Permissible...
Brandenburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 03:21 PM   #3
convert
 
convert's Avatar
 
Drives: the Camaro as often as possible
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandenburg View Post
Maybe you've already checked this, but are you sure the ID3 information in each mp3 is correct in your iTunes software? Garbage in - garbage out, you know. If you're using mp3s with poorly formed tags, the car will simply read the info it's given.

I have a huge library of mp3s (maybe 40,000 tracks) and many of the tags were crap. I found this software called TuneUp ( http://www.tuneupmedia.com/ ) and was astonished at the results. With a little time and patients, I cleaned up almost all my tags. I could accomplish in minutes with this software what would've taken me days or weeks to do by hand.
Yeah, my tags are clean. I ripped most from my own CD collection using EAC, with a few others purchased form iTunes.

I pretty sure it's software (PDIM, maybe iPod) wigging out because it's not consistent. For example, when I search by artist, the first few entries are blank, but if I click into one it shows the right artist name at the top of the screen, and if I go back then the artist names will show up correctly for a few rows, then back to random mix-ups. The same type of thing happens when clicking into an artist. At first the album names are replaced by artist names. But then when I click into an album and go back the album names are replaced by track names. I'm pretty sure if it was dirty MP3 tags it would at least be consistent...

Thanks for the thought though.
convert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 03:24 PM   #4
AdnanHfuda

 
AdnanHfuda's Avatar
 
Drives: none :(
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,128
try another ipod on the camaro to see if it does the same thing
__________________
AdnanHfuda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 10:53 PM   #5
jontejera
 
Drives: 2LT RS Imperial Blue
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 26
Mine does the same crap with my iphone, it drives me nuts and the dealer seems to have no clue what I'm talking about. I have reset, restored, synced, everything you can consider and still the samething. Mine is also CC hardware and CE software, I guess just wait for a PDIM update. Hopefully it will cover ipods and iphones.
jontejera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 10:55 PM   #6
Brandenburg
Nothing is True
 
Brandenburg's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 2SS
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lexington, KY
Posts: 202
and you have CE at the moment?

Maybe it's a hardware issue? Is all of the hardware CC or is there also updated hardware?
__________________
...Nothing is True, Everything is Permissible...
Brandenburg is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 11:26 PM   #7
Sevn86


 
Sevn86's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT/RS ABM
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Sugar Land, TX
Posts: 13,088
Quote:
Originally Posted by jontejera View Post
Mine does the same crap with my iphone, it drives me nuts and the dealer seems to have no clue what I'm talking about. I have reset, restored, synced, everything you can consider and still the samething.
My car does the same thing...and its sad cuz all the problems with the car the other members talk about my car does too...i think my cars a lemon...
__________________
2LT, RS, AT6 ABM, Gray Leather
Quote:
Originally Posted by baclarsen View Post
Dude, you go through cars faster than I go through underware!!
1000 Initial Order 9/14/2009 - Classic Chevy Sugar Land
1100 Order accepted at dealer: 9/15/2009 - NPGV41.
2000 Order accepted by GM: 9/29/2009
3000 Accepted By Production Control: 9/30/2009 - TPW 10/26/09
3100 Sequenced:10/12/09
3300 Scheduled For Production:10/13/09
3400 Broadcast:10/22/09
3800 Produced:10/27/09
4000 Available To Ship:10/28/09
4200 Shipped:10/29/09
5000 Delivered To The Dealer:11/09/09
6000 Delivered To Customer:11/12/09
Sevn86 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 01:05 AM   #8
convert
 
convert's Avatar
 
Drives: the Camaro as often as possible
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brandenburg View Post
and you have CE at the moment?

Maybe it's a hardware issue? Is all of the hardware CC or is there also updated hardware?
Mine came with CC hardware and CE software from the factory, so I assume there's no newer hardware, but I could be wrong. Mine was built last September.
convert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 01:06 AM   #9
convert
 
convert's Avatar
 
Drives: the Camaro as often as possible
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by jontejera View Post
Mine does the same crap with my iphone, it drives me nuts and the dealer seems to have no clue what I'm talking about. I have reset, restored, synced, everything you can consider and still the samething. Mine is also CC hardware and CE software, I guess just wait for a PDIM update. Hopefully it will cover ipods and iphones.
Yep, I'm waiting on a PDIM update too.

Hint, hint codeman!
convert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 07:12 AM   #10
codeman71
GM Employee
 
codeman71's Avatar
 
Drives: 2006 Pontiac G6
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Shelby Township, MI
Posts: 253
Hey sorry guys! I've been really busy here at work and haven't had as much time to browse the forums as I would like to.

This issue seems to only occur with iPod Touch and iPhone. From what I heard from the software team a while back, the 3.0 firmware really slowed down the iPod Touch's communication over USB. I don't know if that is contributing to the errors in the menus or if there's another issue. This issue has been reported to the PDIM team, but I haven't heard an update from them, so I'll check again and see what I can find.

I think the suggestion from AdnanHfuda is a good one. If you happen to have another iPod, or even a USB stick, you could try those to see if it is any different. I would bet that it would work properly as these issues seem to be around the iPod Touch and iPhone.
__________________
I work for GM and I designed the interface for the Camaro USB and Bluetooth audio streaming interface. Feel free to ask me any questions you have about how the USB or Bluetooth works!

Check out my videos on YouTube here. Let me know if you'd like to see any other type of video.
codeman71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 10:04 AM   #11
jontejera
 
Drives: 2LT RS Imperial Blue
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 26
tell them, fix it, geeettrrrrr dddooooonnnnneeee!!!!!!

thanks
jontejera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2010, 07:11 PM   #12
convert
 
convert's Avatar
 
Drives: the Camaro as often as possible
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by codeman71 View Post
Hey sorry guys! I've been really busy here at work and haven't had as much time to browse the forums as I would like to.

This issue seems to only occur with iPod Touch and iPhone. From what I heard from the software team a while back, the 3.0 firmware really slowed down the iPod Touch's communication over USB. I don't know if that is contributing to the errors in the menus or if there's another issue. This issue has been reported to the PDIM team, but I haven't heard an update from them, so I'll check again and see what I can find.

I think the suggestion from AdnanHfuda is a good one. If you happen to have another iPod, or even a USB stick, you could try those to see if it is any different. I would bet that it would work properly as these issues seem to be around the iPod Touch and iPhone.
Hey, thanks for the update. I don't have another iPod to try it with, but I was using a USB stick before my iPod Touch, and it didn't have the same problem (it had other shortcomings though, which is why I switched). An update would be awesome! I hoped that the new iPod firmware (3.1.3?) would help, but it didn't make a difference.
convert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 02:21 PM   #13
BalloonPilotCamaroDriver
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: West Des Moines, IA
Posts: 2
I have the same problem with my iPhone 3G, I tried friends phones and again, the same issue. I did try a regular iPod and of course it worked flawlessly. My iPhone used to work fine, so I would agree with Codeman that it has something to do with the iPhone's firmware update. Now we just need a solution to the problem.
BalloonPilotCamaroDriver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2010, 02:57 PM   #14
DTM
DTMphotography
 
DTM's Avatar
 
Drives: 10' Camaro SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: SF Bay Area
Posts: 586
I have the same problem and it irritates me every single day, sometimes for no reason it just won't even load my iPhone into the CPU, I'd love for this to get resolved soon
__________________
2010 2SS/RS: 12.77 @ 111mph (muffler delete) - SOLD
DTM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-17-2010, 11:22 PM   #15
jontejera
 
Drives: 2LT RS Imperial Blue
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Arlington, Texas
Posts: 26
any news, I'm tired of this crap and dont want to have to keep adding new music to 2 things. My iphone should be enough.
jontejera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2010, 09:00 AM   #16
Moorepheus

 
Drives: 2013 Dodge Charge R/T Plus AWD
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 1,306
Mine is doing the same thing. There was a PMID update out on March 5th, I am going to the dealer to get the update and see if that fixes the problem. But from reading this thread, it seems that Apple's update to the iPhone is the cause.

One question, when you guys do plug your iPhone 3G/3GS into your Camaro, does it give you that "Not a compatible device and you should put it in Airplane Mode"?
Moorepheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 04:40 AM   #17
drhoades
 
Drives: 2010 2SS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: KC
Posts: 29
Can anyone confirm if the 120G ipod classic has this problem or not? I have it with my touch, but I'm willing to get a classic if that works better.

Thanks.
drhoades is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 05:41 AM   #18
Ex-stang
 
Ex-stang's Avatar
 
Drives: "Sergeant" a 1LT/SIM/RS/CONN/BA/M6
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Montreal
Posts: 203
Quote:
Originally Posted by codeman71 View Post
Hey sorry guys! I've been really busy here at work and haven't had as much time to browse the forums as I would like to.

This issue seems to only occur with iPod Touch and iPhone. From what I heard from the software team a while back, the 3.0 firmware really slowed down the iPod Touch's communication over USB. I don't know if that is contributing to the errors in the menus or if there's another issue. This issue has been reported to the PDIM team, but I haven't heard an update from them, so I'll check again and see what I can find.

I think the suggestion from AdnanHfuda is a good one. If you happen to have another iPod, or even a USB stick, you could try those to see if it is any different. I would bet that it would work properly as these issues seem to be around the iPod Touch and iPhone.

Mine is brand new brought it home 2 days ago and my 4g usb flash drive does same thing.When i search all of a sudden screen goes blank music keeps going but no display i actually have to pull out stick stop engine to have the indexing restart before i can see the menus/titles etc again.
Ex-stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-19-2010, 06:30 AM   #19
CamaroCowboy

 
CamaroCowboy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Chevy Truck
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Copperas Cove, Texas
Posts: 1,874
Same crap

I had a similar problem with my Zune. It would not let me search by playlists and if I was listening to the Zune and I hit a bump or turned a corner to sharp it would cut out and start playing the radio. it got so annoying. I took it to the dealership 4 times before I got it fixed and I had to go and talk to the Sales Manager and Owner of the Car Lot to get it fixed. They finaly replaced the control module and wiring harness for the Dash.
CamaroCowboy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PDIM Intermittently Fails to Recognize iPod or Zune in USB RandyB Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 12 10-09-2012 07:16 AM
Got A New IPod 160gb Classic For Christmas, Will The USB Port Charge The IPod ? RCPW Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 13 12-30-2009 01:01 PM
Great Read and Info on Oil Weight Banshee Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing 1 11-23-2009 09:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.