Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Phastek Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-24-2010, 01:48 PM   #51
Mike@DS
 
Drives: 99 Z28
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: SoFla
Posts: 230
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedJewel2SS View Post
well if they don't get the ball rolling on their TCM support by the time i am ready for my torque converter, i might be switching
I'm going to make sure that don't happen
Mike@DS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2010, 02:04 PM   #52
RedJewel2SS
12.23s@113mph
 
RedJewel2SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS, A6, just a few bolt ons
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 1,205
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike@Diablosport View Post
I'm going to make sure that don't happen
good, cuz i love my trinity!

any update as to the status of the TCM Support???

i know it gets brought up time and time again!
__________________

RIP Cammie 7/15/2009 - 4/1/2011
RedJewel2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 06:18 PM   #53
squatin0n18s
 
squatin0n18s's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT 2LT/RS A6 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: savannah
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedJewel2SS View Post
good, cuz i love my trinity!

any update as to the status of the TCM Support???

i know it gets brought up time and time again!
im very eager to know about tcm support too....
squatin0n18s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 10:23 PM   #54
Icntdrv55
CCOTR Member
 
Icntdrv55's Avatar
 
Drives: Victory Red 2010 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Parker CO
Posts: 1,093
should have just bought the Vector tune then....it already has the TCM tune and it ROCKS !
__________________
Camaro Club Of The Rockies (CCOTR) Check us out on Facebook!
---------------------------
2010 Camaro SS/RS Victory Red A6- Vararam Intake, Doug Thorley Tri Y LTs, Magnaflow X-pipe, Flowmaster Super 40's, VMS Tune, Razzi Ground Effects, Herritage Grill, RED headlight and fog light Halos, LED DRLs, Dash and extended Door ABL, engine, grill and rear defusser LED lighting ........ 12.59@112.21 (DA Corrected)
Icntdrv55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2010, 10:48 AM   #55
squatin0n18s
 
squatin0n18s's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT 2LT/RS A6 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: savannah
Posts: 251
the only reason i went with the diablo was that i like changing parameters on the fly and i read that with the vector you had to email it....
squatin0n18s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 12:56 PM   #56
tom692010
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 4 wheels
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Here
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by squatin0n18s View Post
the only reason i went with the diablo was that i like changing parameters on the fly and i read that with the vector you had to email it....
I agree I'll take ease of operation over a tcm tune that I need a laptop for.
tom692010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 02:00 PM   #57
kelley@vectormotorsports
 
Drives: 2009 Pontiac G8 GT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Clinton Twp., MI
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom692010 View Post
I agree I'll take ease of operation over a tcm tune that I need a laptop for.
Our TCM calibration is optimized for best performance right out of the box. There is no reason to change anything.

You only need a laptop one time to install it. With over 900 A6 tunes out there we kinda have this nailed.
kelley@vectormotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 05:51 PM   #58
tom692010
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 4 wheels
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Here
Posts: 1,404
I'm not saying you didn't nail it. I said I chose ease of operation over a TCM tune. And I highly doubt you'll never have to use a laptop again. I'm not a tuner but I've gone into mine at least 6 times since I installed it. And all for good reasons. So if you could guarantee your customers that they would get the most optimal HP out of your tune then that's great. But to say it's a one time hookup and then never again will you want to get into it.....,well I hghly doubt it.
tom692010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2010, 08:57 PM   #59
squatin0n18s
 
squatin0n18s's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RJT 2LT/RS A6 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: savannah
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom692010 View Post
I'm not saying you didn't nail it. I said I chose ease of operation over a TCM tune. And I highly doubt you'll never have to use a laptop again. I'm not a tuner but I've gone into mine at least 6 times since I installed it. And all for good reasons. So if you could guarantee your customers that they would get the most optimal HP out of your tune then that's great. But to say it's a one time hookup and then never again will you want to get into it.....,well I hghly doubt it.

i have to agree.....either way i'd still want go in and mess around with the parameters, if just to see how it reacts..(not major stuff)..i do it with my truck all the time
squatin0n18s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 08:00 AM   #60
tony1
 
tony1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS Vortech/L99
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CHICAGO
Posts: 473
Quote:
Originally Posted by squatin0n18s View Post
i have to agree.....either way i'd still want go in and mess around with the parameters, if just to see how it reacts..(not major stuff)..i do it with my truck all the time
not me ... I'll surely have it *ucked up... I'll leave that to the pros. To each his own.
tony1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 08:58 AM   #61
Duke
 
Duke's Avatar
 
Drives: Red SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Lake Jackson, TX
Posts: 408
VMS Options?

When purchasing the Vector tune will they customize it to your needs? For example, for the AFM, can it be on in "D" and off in "M", or only on in 5th and 6th gear? Or can the shift firmness be normal in "D" and firm in "M"?
Duke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 02:16 PM   #62
tom692010
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 4 wheels
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Here
Posts: 1,404
Quote:
Originally Posted by tony1 View Post
not me ... I'll surely have it *ucked up... I'll leave that to the pros. To each his own.
I am working with a pro. But you still have to get into the program to load the info. Especially when your in one place and he's in another.
tom692010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2010, 04:59 PM   #63
hotty toddy
Hellll yes! Damnnn right!
 
hotty toddy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevrolet Camaro 1LT
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Oxford, MS
Posts: 135
Kirk, do you have a ballpark ETA on a tune for the V6?
hotty toddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 09:58 AM   #64
kelley@vectormotorsports
 
Drives: 2009 Pontiac G8 GT
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Clinton Twp., MI
Posts: 241
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom692010 View Post
I'm not saying you didn't nail it. I said I chose ease of operation over a TCM tune. And I highly doubt you'll never have to use a laptop again. I'm not a tuner but I've gone into mine at least 6 times since I installed it. And all for good reasons. So if you could guarantee your customers that they would get the most optimal HP out of your tune then that's great. But to say it's a one time hookup and then never again will you want to get into it.....,well I hghly doubt it.
We send out a Stage 1 & 2 TCM calibration to everyone. We can fine tune either one if needed. We have the ability to adjust shift times, torque management & shift pressure by gear and shift mode. I do not see that in a handheld. We also have calibrations for most every CAI or header out there. Every one of them had a different MAF & PE calibration.
Our customers rarely need to change the calibration, but if they do we have a full function scanner included with the software.

On a different note, I agree, there is no Black Sabbath without Ozzy!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Duke View Post
When purchasing the Vector tune will they customize it to your needs? For example, for the AFM, can it be on in "D" and off in "M", or only on in 5th and 6th gear? Or can the shift firmness be normal in "D" and firm in "M"?
Yes, we can remove AFM by gear. We can also adjust shift feel and torque management by shift mode.
kelley@vectormotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2010, 09:33 PM   #65
Icntdrv55
CCOTR Member
 
Icntdrv55's Avatar
 
Drives: Victory Red 2010 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Parker CO
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by tom692010 View Post
I'm not saying you didn't nail it. I said I chose ease of operation over a TCM tune. And I highly doubt you'll never have to use a laptop again. I'm not a tuner but I've gone into mine at least 6 times since I installed it. And all for good reasons. So if you could guarantee your customers that they would get the most optimal HP out of your tune then that's great. But to say it's a one time hookup and then never again will you want to get into it.....,well I hghly doubt it.


Well Tom I guess we will have to settle this one on the track! Your Diablo against my Vector and my wife driving! See you there!!
__________________
Camaro Club Of The Rockies (CCOTR) Check us out on Facebook!
---------------------------
2010 Camaro SS/RS Victory Red A6- Vararam Intake, Doug Thorley Tri Y LTs, Magnaflow X-pipe, Flowmaster Super 40's, VMS Tune, Razzi Ground Effects, Herritage Grill, RED headlight and fog light Halos, LED DRLs, Dash and extended Door ABL, engine, grill and rear defusser LED lighting ........ 12.59@112.21 (DA Corrected)
Icntdrv55 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.