Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Old 03-11-2010, 08:32 AM   #1
JagerPLZ

Drives: 2010 Camaro
Newbie here....lookin for an answer....

Hey guys (and gals) - I'm new to the site here. I got my car about 2 months ago, and am looking at starting my audio install next weekend. I have worked at several custom audio shops and was MECP certified for awhile - so I know a little bit about what I'm doing LOL. I'm going with Alpine Type X Pro series components up front, either another set of the Alpine components or 6"x9"s in the rear deck, and a single 12W7 for some thump. All highs and mids will be pushed by JL 300/4, and the W7 will be pushed by a 1000/1. I'm in the process of laying out my box design as I type this and had 2 questions about the rear 6"x9"s before I tear everything apart and start the dynamat process: 1) Does anyone know the mounting depth of the factory 6"x9"s (I have the BA system). 2) Is there any kind of a gap between the face of the 6"x9"s and the rear deck - so that if I went the route of replacing the 6"x9"s with new ones, I could possibly do an aftermarket 6"x9" that is a coaxial or even 3-way. Thank you in advance for your help - Great Site!!!
JagerPLZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 09:02 AM   #2
klatterblast

Drives: 2010 camaro 2ssrs blk.
Welcome to C5 , you should be able to put 3 ways but if you replace the 6x9s mount them from the bottom so there accessible