Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

PFYC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Old 03-11-2010, 06:59 PM   #1
CamaroDreams07
Black Belt Shinemaster

Drives: Shinier than yours
T-Tap question

So I'm new to the electrical world, can any of you guys tell me some more about t-taps. I guess they cut the insulation for you right? What happens if I want to remove one? Can I do that and just put some tape over where it was? Or is it unsafe to remove this after youve done it?
CamaroDreams07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2010, 07:30 PM   #2
mrray13

Drives: 2010 1LT RS Rally Yellow
T-Taps do indeed pierce the insulation, then allow the insertion of a male spade. Removing one is just as easy an installing one, a small blade screwdriver will do the trick, and it shoudln't leave any exposed wire. If it does, and that's a possiblity, a small piece of tape will indeed work. Yes, it's safe to remove anytime you need to.
Old 03-11-2010, 07:39 PM   #3
Jarhead
Semper Fi Camaro

Drives: 2010 1SS/RS Aqua Blue LS3 Gauge PKG
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroDreams07 View Post
So I'm new to the electrical world, can any of you guys tell me some more about t-taps. I guess they cut the insulation for you right? What happens if I want to remove one? Can I do that and just put some tape over where it was? Or is it unsafe to remove this after youve done it?
here is a pic of one in use.

Old 03-11-2010, 07:42 PM   #4
strauchpete
Account Suspended

Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT
In the aftermarket install world T-tap is a 4 letter world, if a shop uses them I would run as fast as you can way.