Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ADM PERFORMANCE
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission

Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission Tune and diagnostics for engines and auto transmission.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-12-2010, 02:07 AM   #1
iom
 
Drives: 2010 camaro iom ss rs
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: los angeles ca
Posts: 89
HYPERTECH ISSUES , PLEASE HELP !

I had my camaro now for about six months , 2010 ss l99 .

At first i hated this car , it was way to hard to get one , then when i got it, it was running slow.

Down the line i fix all the prob's & master the take off , so it was a different car totally.

I started to really love the car until : HYPERTECH MAX ENERGY.

I installed it correctly ( i used hypertech & superchips before ) so i am familiar with the programmers.

And you can tell that there is a difference , it pulls a little harder , afm is turn off so you dont feel like the car is in v6 mode , in fact the car is alot more beefy if you will.

The Problem : even with traction control on the tires spin like crazy & the worst part is that with out the tuned the car has a better 0-60 time & quarter mile time.

This is because the tires spin's too much , like i stated before it took me some time but i mastered the takeoff before the tune & now i cant get the hang of it.

QUESTION'S :

1 Has anybody installed this programmer if so , do you have the same issues.

2 Has anybody seen an improvement in 0-60 / 1/8 & 1/4 mile time's.

3 Please post up your max energy spec's .

4 If i put it back to stock will it void warranty. ( yes or no ) i have seen the other post about this question & there is alot of perspective's.

we need fact's , has anybody return there camaro to stock then take it to a dealer?
iom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 05:44 AM   #2
Reddy2Ride
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS RS Silver/Blk
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: New Braunfels, TX
Posts: 11
Returning it to the stock ECM tune before you go to the dealer is what will keep your warranty. If you take it in with the your non-OEM tune then kiss your powertrain warranty bye-bye.
Reddy2Ride is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 05:49 AM   #3
Mindz
E.B.A.H.
 
Mindz's Avatar
 
Drives: you wild...
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: In the happy padded room wearing a jacket that makes me hug myself...
Posts: 18,213
Although from what I hear, they can check when the ECM was last flashed back, so if they see that your ECM was flashed after you bought your car, they might think something's fishy. Never know though.
__________________
Blue Rush, 2010 SS [Car of the Week 3/22/2010] Traded in on...ZLZBUBB, 2013 ZL1
Mindz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-12-2010, 06:49 AM   #4
Roger Ramjet
Motor Head
 
Roger Ramjet's Avatar
 
Drives: CTS-V
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: So MD
Posts: 494
I don't know about the Hypertech tuner but other tuning programs can set Torque Management levels to anything you want to control wheel spin.
__________________
History Camaro's: 83, 93, 95, 98, & 10.
Roger Ramjet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 03:24 AM   #5
iom
 
Drives: 2010 camaro iom ss rs
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: los angeles ca
Posts: 89
Hmm,
Is there anybody out there with an ss camaro that installed a hypertech max enery unit.
iom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 09:30 AM   #6
flyby

 
Drives: 2010 Silver SS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Glen Gardner, NJ
Posts: 1,326
No hypertech, but, based on your write up what you need is better rear planting. It seems that hypertech has done its job. Suggest pedders XA drag package and wider drag radials. This should fix your spinning and 60' times. Hope this helps.
flyby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2010, 10:01 AM   #7
DSteck
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2006 Corvette Z06
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: St. Louis, MO
Posts: 590
I can't believe somebody's blaming a tune for their wheel spin.

Learn to pedal, or work on the suspension/tires. The only other option would be to go way out of your way setting up a torque management strategy to kill your power automatically in 1st gear, but I think that'd be really dumb and not worth the time.
DSteck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-20-2010, 03:55 PM   #8
grocerygetter
instigator
 
grocerygetter's Avatar
 
Drives: Black on black 2009 C6
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 72034
Posts: 3,980
My car was noticeably (track measured) quicker with the Hypertech tune. If the wheelspin issue is freaking your cookies just turn the 0-60 function back to stock. The car will still run better than stock. I got it figured out though and I like the thing a lot.
__________________
-John S.

2014 GMC CC Z71, 2009 C6 vette (57x/53x at the wheel and less than 3300lbs)
2010 Camaro 2ss/rs---SOLD 4/15/14
-654whp with a few cosmetic things, Pfadt suspension, Vortech, CircleD, GPI ss3 vvt bump stick, gears, stuff in between,18" TSW N'rings for drag duty, 20" Forgestar F14s for street.

Thanks to:
Tony@ dv8motoring
rhino@ Gwatney Chevrolet/GPI Jacksonville AR
TCAudio in Benton AR
grocerygetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 11:31 PM   #9
grocerygetter
instigator
 
grocerygetter's Avatar
 
Drives: Black on black 2009 C6
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: 72034
Posts: 3,980
No problem...being honest. And to add...the car runs flat out better and still gets 24mpg with dod disabled.
__________________
-John S.

2014 GMC CC Z71, 2009 C6 vette (57x/53x at the wheel and less than 3300lbs)
2010 Camaro 2ss/rs---SOLD 4/15/14
-654whp with a few cosmetic things, Pfadt suspension, Vortech, CircleD, GPI ss3 vvt bump stick, gears, stuff in between,18" TSW N'rings for drag duty, 20" Forgestar F14s for street.

Thanks to:
Tony@ dv8motoring
rhino@ Gwatney Chevrolet/GPI Jacksonville AR
TCAudio in Benton AR
grocerygetter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 07:43 PM   #10
macinbro
 
macinbro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS RS CGM LS3
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Winter Springs, FL
Posts: 72
what is this 0-60 function that Hypertech offers. I hear camaros from the factory limit the throttle to not go beyond 90% from 0-60MPH. Is this what is overridden by this unit?
macinbro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 07:51 PM   #11
GTAHVIT
One Lucky Guy.
 
GTAHVIT's Avatar
 
Drives: #22 Tom Henry Racing 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saint Augustine FL
Posts: 28,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hypertech View Post
Simply using Hypertech tuning alone, with no other modifications, will not cause an engine or powertrain failure. Our tuning is developed on a stock vehicle, and tested thoroughly to ensure that the performance gains and adjustable features are within the mechanical limitations of the engine and drivetrain, as designed by GM. Your vehicle warranty cannot be voided simply for having a Hypertech tune in your ECM. All Hypertech tuning meets EPA emission regulations for all 50 states, and the 2010 Camaro tuning is currently pending approval for a CARB EO. Make sure you don’t leave your programmer in your car when you take it in to the dealership. J

I would be very careful making the statement I've highlighted in red. Dealers are now having GM remotely scan the ECM's to determine if the ECM had been tuned or not... We are hearing that a dealer can choose to deny a related warranty claim for having a tuned ECM...

Some dealers are used to hand held tuners... Others are not. I would not say that any and all dealers will honor a related warranty claim if the car is found to currently have or previously have a tune on it.
GTAHVIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2010, 06:55 PM   #12
010 Camaro SS

 
010 Camaro SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS 2SS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,493
I installed Hypertech Max Energy a couple of weeks back...If it's
all in my head or not car run like a bat out of hell...Tuned it with
premium fuel ...Only thing that puzzled me was on the display
it said engine power reduced...At one time during programming...
Did'nt make anything of it...Car is frigging crazy...Also have installed
Airaid intake and Borla axle back exhaust...
010 Camaro SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 07:35 AM   #13
GTAHVIT
One Lucky Guy.
 
GTAHVIT's Avatar
 
Drives: #22 Tom Henry Racing 2010 2SS/RS
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Saint Augustine FL
Posts: 28,770
Quote:
Originally Posted by 010 Camaro SS View Post
I installed Hypertech Max Energy a couple of weeks back...If it's
all in my head or not car run like a bat out of hell...Tuned it with
premium fuel ...Only thing that puzzled me was on the display
it said engine power reduced...At one time during programming...
Did'nt make anything of it...Car is frigging crazy...Also have installed
Airaid intake and Borla axle back exhaust...
I've used their stuff before and have always been happy with it.



It's not in your head.



as far as the reduced power message....
GTAHVIT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 08:59 AM   #14
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,365
Drag radials.
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 10:38 PM   #15
third1
speed freak
 
third1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cadillac Escalade,10 IOM 2ss
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Neenah Wi
Posts: 1,134
Mine said the same thing( engine power reduced) while pulling the stock file with the SCT
__________________
Current:2012 Cadilac Escalade.2011 CVO StreetGlide cammed,tuned&loud. 2010 IMO/IO,custom stripes,GFX,sunrf,solo exhaust,JBA shorties,rotofab,Jannetty tune,Pfadt,JLw6 Audison&Hertz,7/4/09 2GIFKIEJ6A9123779Del 7/10/09 Former Camaros 72 LT1 Z28, 86 z28
third1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2010, 04:43 AM   #16
010 Camaro SS

 
010 Camaro SS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS 2SS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ottawa Ontario Canada
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally Posted by third1 View Post
Mine said the same thing( engine power reduced) while pulling the stock file with the SCT
Maybe that's what it was...When it was pulling the
stock programming to store...Makes sense...
010 Camaro SS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
camaro, hypertech, l99, max energy

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rally Stripe Issues and Warranty Issues MRKNJ Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls 10 06-28-2010 11:59 AM
ISSUES with YOUR CAMARO! JewelZ Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls 65 10-03-2009 01:45 PM
Camaro issues L99, 6 speed, quality, etc. larietrope 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 7 07-14-2009 10:03 PM
Issues With My Camaro - We Need a Forum Here Embalmer Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls 14 06-15-2009 01:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.