Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls

Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls Report, discuss and diagnose any issues and problems with your Camaro, including warranty discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-07-2014, 09:59 AM   #1
11 camaro
 
Drives: camaro rs
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: maryland
Posts: 68
tpms sensors help!!!!

hello, im having alot of issues with my 2011 camaro the tpms light keeps going on ive tried to reset it and after a little drive it comes back on any help would be great.
11 camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 10:25 AM   #2
skuttduck


 
skuttduck's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2LT Camaro
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 2,527
Send a message via ICQ to skuttduck Send a message via AIM to skuttduck Send a message via Yahoo to skuttduck
Does it read low when you look at the tire pressure or is it blank?

My dad had one sensor that was reading nothing when we took his 45th Anniversary down to Savannah Georgia. He took it to the dealer down there and they reset it. However when I switched him out to winter tires by letting the air out, and going back to summer tires he hasn't had the problem since.

Do you have another wheel, tire you could do that on?

I did notice that the tpms sensors do run off of CR2032 batteries, so I suppose they could be going bad, or just acting up because of the cold temperatures.
__________________
skuttduck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 03:46 PM   #3
Eddiefuzz
 
Eddiefuzz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RS
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florence New Jersey
Posts: 481
Quote:
Originally Posted by 11 camaro View Post
hello, im having alot of issues with my 2011 camaro the tpms light keeps going on ive tried to reset it and after a little drive it comes back on any help would be great.
You can't just press the reset button ,like resetting the trip mileage or average speed.... There is a step by step process that includes either putting air in or letting air out. Go to the DYI section and search "reset TPMS". Or take it to the dealer they should do it for free. PS I pressed the button too, when I first got my car...
Eddiefuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 04:38 PM   #4
Rock-It Man
376 cubic inches of fun
 
Rock-It Man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS A6
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Eddiefuzz View Post
You can't just press the reset button ,like resetting the trip mileage or average speed.... There is a step by step process that includes either putting air in or letting air out. Go to the DYI section and search "reset TPMS". Or take it to the dealer they should do it for free. PS I pressed the button too, when I first got my car...
The letting out air method doesn't work for 2012 (or is it 2013) and later cars. Check your user's manual.
Rock-It Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2014, 05:06 PM   #5
Eddiefuzz
 
Eddiefuzz's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 RS
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Florence New Jersey
Posts: 481
His name is "11 Camaro", I think he has an eleven. You quoted me to make it seem I was wrong, and YOU WEREN'T EVEN SURE OF A CORRECT ANSWER TO HIS PROBLEM!!! Go F Yourself! 752 Post, have you ever given any answer, other than check the owners manual?
I stated that I had done the same thing, and there are steps to take, check DYI, or have a dealer do it.
Eddiefuzz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 08:16 AM   #6
11 camaro
 
Drives: camaro rs
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: maryland
Posts: 68
thanks eddie i went through the steps like the owners manual says and now it reads nothing but i drove it this morning it seems like there trying to work but it is also cold in maryland so i dont know what to do. been to the dealership four times they even replaced the right rear sensor, these things are a pain in the ass!!!!!
11 camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2014, 06:02 PM   #7
skuttduck


 
skuttduck's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2LT Camaro
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 2,527
Send a message via ICQ to skuttduck Send a message via AIM to skuttduck Send a message via Yahoo to skuttduck
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock-It Man View Post
The letting out air method doesn't work for 2012 (or is it 2013) and later cars. Check your user's manual.
Even though it isn't supposed to, I did it on my dad's 45th anniversary camaro for the past few years.

The menu item saying press set/clear is missing, but if you hold it, it will ask you if you want to do this, and you can do the manual method. I let out about 10 seconds of air on each tire.

Keep the other set of wheels with sensors away from the car.
__________________
skuttduck is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 08:26 AM   #8
11 camaro
 
Drives: camaro rs
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: maryland
Posts: 68
update, i got the light to go out, but as i was driving it , it seems to loose signal and the light comes back on what could be the problem with this? when one goes out the rest shortly goes out, i have all the rite tire pressure in them, HELP!!!!!
11 camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2014, 08:59 AM   #9
11 camaro
 
Drives: camaro rs
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: maryland
Posts: 68
WHERE DOES THE TMPS GET ITS READING FROM?
11 camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 08:28 AM   #10
Rizzo
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SIM 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 423
Do you have a Scosche kit installed in it?
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=246752
__________________
========================
Rizzo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2014, 10:15 PM   #11
Chevrolet Customer Svc


 
Chevrolet Customer Svc's Avatar
 
Drives: GM Vehicles
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 8,532
Quote:
Originally Posted by 11 camaro View Post
update, i got the light to go out, but as i was driving it , it seems to loose signal and the light comes back on what could be the problem with this? when one goes out the rest shortly goes out, i have all the rite tire pressure in them, HELP!!!!!
Very sorry to hear about this. I understand that you're seeking thoughts and opinions, but send me a message if you want to take it a step further and get an official diagnosis. I will then reach out to the dealer's Customer Care Specialist for additional assistance with potentially resolving this at the dealer level.

William R.
Chevrolet Customer Care
Chevrolet Customer Svc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2014, 04:47 AM   #12
CookieCk
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LS
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock-It Man View Post
The letting out air method doesn't work for 2012 (or is it 2013) and later cars. Check your user's manual.
It does still work, it just doesn't state it in the user manual anymore. Says it requires a tool, but it works perfectly fine without it.
CookieCk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 10:09 AM   #13
wutshotDJroomba
 
wutshotDJroomba's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LS/SC
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bacliff, TX
Posts: 179
Quote:
Originally Posted by CookieCk View Post
It does still work, it just doesn't state it in the user manual anymore. Says it requires a tool, but it works perfectly fine without it.
I recently slapped a set of 2010 chrome SS rims with tires onto my 2012 LS I tried letting the air out to reset them and I couldn't get any reading, and the horn simply would not sound, I would start the procedure and hear the horn honk, but once I started letting air out of the first tire....no horn.... so now I'm curious do I need to take it to the "stealership" to have it reset with said tool or no? Frankly I'm at a loss for ideas other than that one, anyone got a clue lol?
__________________
"....Empty your mind, be formless. Shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle and it becomes the bottle. You put it in a teapot, it becomes the teapot. Now, water can flow or it can crash. Be water, my friend.”
-Bruce Lee
wutshotDJroomba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 12:51 PM   #14
chozn4service
Five-O
 
chozn4service's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SSRS RJT
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: +34° 55' 19.15", -117° 53' 22.43"
Posts: 2,367
I have a 2011 2SSRS that I got this past August that was doing the same of my sensor going off, showing an issue with my DS/R. I got almost home and the indicator came on. I went back the next day for the reset and made it half way home again and sensor came on. Instead of driving back to my home dealership which is like 35 miles away, I went to the dealership about 8 miles away and they reset my sensor but told me I may need new sensors if it goes off again. I haven't had another problem since.
__________________
http://www.cardomain.com/ride/3832170 : Praise The Lowered!
Flowmaster Catback Exhaust, Vararam intake, Solo HFC, VMax Ported TB, VMax "Black Ice" manifold insulator, Trifecta Tune, Mike Norris Catch Can, DRL Harness, Heritage grill, Razzi GFX, NLP Spoiler, MPD1 Spoiler and more!
chozn4service is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 05:11 PM   #15
11 camaro
 
Drives: camaro rs
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: maryland
Posts: 68
i went to the dealership today to see how they were doing on my car, with the tmps issue they replaced the bcm and the reciever still no fix, i asked them if metallic tint on my windshield would be causing the issue , they didnt really know but it makes a hell of alot sense that it would to me, so im going to take the tint off the windshield to see if it fixes the issue, because when i first bought the car no light issue until i tinted it. what do you guys think?
11 camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 05:26 PM   #16
punkindave
The Great Punkin
 
punkindave's Avatar
 
Drives: 94 Z28 Convertible & 2013 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Bethlehem, PA
Posts: 116
Ding ding ding... Tint has been known to cause this prob.
__________________
Who opened up a fresh box of idiots without finishing the old box, now they're everywhere!!
punkindave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2014, 05:34 PM   #17
11 camaro
 
Drives: camaro rs
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: maryland
Posts: 68
is it on all the windows or just the windsheild?
11 camaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2014, 02:11 PM   #18
GM_guy
 
Drives: 13 2LT Camaro, 04 Z06, 05 Silverado
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 42
My wifes 2013 2LT/RS started having TPMS issues about a month after we bought it. It's been in 6 times and they have replaced several things including the Onstar mirror and BCM and it has not fixed the issue.

GM has since decided to blame us for tinting the windows, even though it's non-metallic and thier own TSB states metallic tint.

The issue seems to be getting worse as well. It started on the left side front or rear or both and maybe once a day. Now it includes the right front and happens sometimes 4 times a day or will come on and not go off. Obvious to me, since the front tires are giving us problems it cannot be the tint because our winshield is not tinted.

Dealership is stuck because GM won't allow them to do anything under warranty more until the tint is removed. I offered to remove it at my expense if they will retint it if that proves not to be the issue. There response was NO.

All my so called 'customer service' rep can do is say I'm sorry.
GM_guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2014, 04:09 AM   #19
CookieCk
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro LS
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Georgia
Posts: 251
Quote:
Originally Posted by wutshotDJroomba View Post
I recently slapped a set of 2010 chrome SS rims with tires onto my 2012 LS I tried letting the air out to reset them and I couldn't get any reading, and the horn simply would not sound, I would start the procedure and hear the horn honk, but once I started letting air out of the first tire....no horn.... so now I'm curious do I need to take it to the "stealership" to have it reset with said tool or no? Frankly I'm at a loss for ideas other than that one, anyone got a clue lol?
Mine takes a bit to register each one sometimes, but it definitely works(2012 LS as well). I've done it like 7 times or so now. I guess just keep letting air out until it senses it and if nothing else take it to the dealer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by punkindave View Post
Ding ding ding... Tint has been known to cause this prob.
Hadn't heard that yet. Mine was tinted by the dealership before they even put it on the lot, glad I haven't had that issue.
CookieCk is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.