Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Circle-D
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-08-2016, 08:12 PM   #1
Tmick5jr
Todd
 
Tmick5jr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 1,558
Service Stabilitrak and Flashing CEL

I have 45k miles on my lfx v6 Camaro and today for the second time in the past two months my car started shaking when coming down to idle. While it was shaking I got a flashing CEL and a service stabilitrak message. I was just wondering why its this is happening and how can I prevent it? Maybe a misfire? Start by changing out all the spark plugs? Both times this happened I just restarted my car and everything was fine, like it never even happened. Ever since day one, ive only used full synthetic mobil 1 oil, and nothing less than 93 octane since ive owned the car. I also have been using a catch can since the car was bought new. just wondering what steps I should take going forward. this same problem actually just happened to my neighbor today too so we could use the help. thanks
Tmick5jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 08:56 PM   #2
Rock-It Man
376 cubic inches of fun
 
Rock-It Man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS A6
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1,656
Don't spend money changing anything until you know what the diagnostic codes are. Call On Star or see your dealer.

BTW, why are you using 93 octane in a V6? It is of no benefit.
Rock-It Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 09:21 PM   #3
Tmick5jr
Todd
 
Tmick5jr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 1,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rock-It Man View Post
Don't spend money changing anything until you know what the diagnostic codes are. Call On Star or see your dealer.

BTW, why are you using 93 octane in a V6? It is of no benefit.
just got the code read P0300. Its a misfire code. that was using my buddys EFI Live tuning module. If I go to an auto parts store can they read it and tell me specifically which cylinder? his efi cant do that. and also my 36k warranty is up. Would this be covered under my 100k powertrain?
Tmick5jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2016, 11:47 PM   #4
Dizzy82


 
Dizzy82's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1LT/RS A6 RJT SuperCharged
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 87114
Posts: 3,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tmick5jr View Post
just got the code read P0300. Its a misfire code. that was using my buddys EFI Live tuning module. If I go to an auto parts store can they read it and tell me specifically which cylinder? his efi cant do that. and also my 36k warranty is up. Would this be covered under my 100k powertrain?
Depends on your mods and your dealership.
__________________
Power is worthless without control. The 2nd protects the 1st.
BMR sub frame brace, BMR tunnel brace, LSR sways, LSR CM ca & tl, Sphon ExD el, GM tower brace, Megan coil overs, Goodridge Stainless Steel Braided brake lines, PowerStop D/S rotors & pads, Doug Thorty Ceramic Shorties, Magnaflow x-pipe, MRT V2.0, KICKER PowerStage sub & amp, Infinity speakers & tweeters, Dynamat, Viteese Throttle Controller, Viteese Paddle Shifters, ACS T2 Splitter, ACS T2 Ports/Quad LED lights, VDI kit, Havoc diffuser, IPF ECU/TRANS tuned, IPF/KPE Supercharged. 364RWHP/297RWTQ

Last edited by Dizzy82; 06-09-2016 at 10:13 AM. Reason: emphesis
Dizzy82 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 01:26 AM   #5
Tmick5jr
Todd
 
Tmick5jr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 1,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzy82 View Post
Depends on your mods and your dealership.
i don't get it. I did 4 passes at the track the other night and everything was fine. you'd think ide get the misfire when my foots to the floor right??
Tmick5jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 09:16 AM   #6
JerTM
 
JerTM's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Utah
Posts: 705
A p0300 only indicated the PCM has detected a misfire but not which specific cylinder/s. If you can get a misfire count for all cylinders you could locate which one/s have the highest count and go from there. Being a v6 I would suspect a coil given your description, but don't change any parts until you can be certain you are changing the correct part. Often on the 3.6 you'll get a misfire from a coil under certain conditions which can be hard to duplicate.
JerTM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2016, 10:56 PM   #7
KevHao
 
Drives: 2013 Camaro 2ss/RS LS3 6MT
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 42
Check the spark plugs. Same thing happened to my ss 3 times in 1 year due to a loose plug.
KevHao is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.