Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2010, 11:59 AM   #1
mackvenom1
 
mackvenom1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Mercedes-Benz C300 Sport 4M
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Yonkers, NY
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to mackvenom1
Question Can I change XM receiver to Sirius?

Hey guys. My current car comes with Sirius radio, to which I subscribe. The sound quality is excellent, and I am also familiar with all of the channels (a minor point).

I know the 2010 Camaro comes with XM connectivity. My parents both drive Hondas, which I am familiar with. Both have XM radio. They cut out frequently (clouds, overpasses, etc.) and the sound quality isn't that good.

I know that XM and Sirius are essentially the same company now, so my question is, can the Camaro be modified to receive Sirius radio WITHOUT buying a new, aftermarket Sirius receiver that you plug into the lighter or something? Can the stock radio be re-programmed somehow?
mackvenom1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:07 PM   #2
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,645
Aren't Sirius and XM the same company now?

As far as I'm aware, you cannot change out the XM receiver with a Sirius one.
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:23 PM   #3
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,554
I can't remember who did but its basically been confirmed the XM receiver is new and integrated in this car and can't be replaced with any of the Sirius replacement modules.
__________________
I'm Brick Tamland. People seem to like me because I am polite and I am rarely late. I like to eat ice cream and I really enjoy a nice pair of slacks. Years later, a doctor will tell me that I have an I.Q. of 48 and am what some people call mentally retarded.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1993 Volkswagen Fox - Race Car (yes seriously)

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:26 PM   #4
ron10


 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM L99
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: LOUISVILLE,KY..
Posts: 7,544
xm and sirius is the same,they murged.they advertise as xm on sirius.
ron10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:29 PM   #5
IROCanSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 89 IROC 350
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Back roads, southern Ohio
Posts: 12,504
sirius bought xm
IROCanSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:29 PM   #6
irocnroll


 
irocnroll's Avatar
 
Drives: '91 RS Vert, '11 Grand Cherokee
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by ron10 View Post
xm and sirius is the same,they murged.they advertise as xm on sirius.
They maybe under the same ownership, but the DJ's and channels are different and you cant listen to XM stations on Sirius receivers or Sirius on XM receivers. I know on Sirius you can get a subscription to "The Best of XM" which are their most popular stations. My guess is that you might be able to get a subscription to the "Best of Sirius".
irocnroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:31 PM   #7
mackvenom1
 
mackvenom1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Mercedes-Benz C300 Sport 4M
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Yonkers, NY
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to mackvenom1
The businesses are the same...

But the fact that the channels are different if you have XM versus Sirius, or that all channels aren't available across both, indicates that there are TWO separate signals still for XM and Sirius. There are two satellites--one for each feed.

I was wondering if my car could receive the Sirius *signal* instead of XM *signal* because XM blows in comparison to Sirius. It's a satellite receiver, how hard could it be to modify or change it?
mackvenom1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:33 PM   #8
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,490
They merged but the technology for XM and Sirius radios have not.

You still need to get "The Best of XM" if you have Sirius or "The Best of Sirius" if you have XM.
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:34 PM   #9
MacTruck
 
MacTruck's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro RS
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 318
Do what I did. Got a mobile adapter for my sirius radio and plugged it into the cig lighter, audio input and threw the antenna on the dash. Works great, kind of. I am getting some static through the audio plug in the car. I think its loose or something. Gotta have it looked at.
__________________
Soon - Camaro Black 1SS/RS Convertible
Piece of Crap Toyota Tundra 4x4 CREWMAX SR5 5.7L
Yeah, I'm 7yrs old
MacTruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:35 PM   #10
Camar0wn3d
formerly "wh0rsep0wer"
 
Camar0wn3d's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SS RS CGM
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Myrtle Beach, SC
Posts: 483
I heard the signal quality was better on Sirius too...(less compression)
__________________
2010 1SS/RS - CGM/Gray Interior - M6
SOLD (stupid recession)
Kooks 1 7/8" headers, Solo Mach-X, Vararam.

2012 2LS - I'm back in BLACK!
Camar0wn3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:36 PM   #11
irocnroll


 
irocnroll's Avatar
 
Drives: '91 RS Vert, '11 Grand Cherokee
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by mackvenom1 View Post
The businesses are the same...

But the fact that the channels are different if you have XM versus Sirius, or that all channels aren't available across both, indicates that there are TWO separate signals still for XM and Sirius. There are two satellites--one for each feed.

I was wondering if my car could receive the Sirius *signal* instead of XM *signal* because XM blows in comparison to Sirius. It's a satellite receiver, how hard could it be to modify or change it?
No, antenna's are different, the box that configures the signal is different, and you cant just swap out the box. I had asked about this as my car was also "XM ready" I just bought a Sirius receiver instead. And dealt with it. You cant use the buttons on the radio to control the content either even if you buy a new box.

Like I said, check with XM and see if they have a "Best of Sirius" subscription option.
irocnroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:36 PM   #12
Darth_Emma
Psssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhh!
 
Darth_Emma's Avatar
 
Drives: under contruction
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marysville, Ohio
Posts: 13,149
I think you can subscribe to Sirius channels through XM though.
__________________
Darth_Emma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:39 PM   #13
mackvenom1
 
mackvenom1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Mercedes-Benz C300 Sport 4M
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Yonkers, NY
Posts: 136
Send a message via AIM to mackvenom1
Okay, I'm glad you guys are reading my original question, false hahaha.

1) Yes, I know that Sirius and XM are the same company . Several of you have backed me up on that.

2) Yes, I know I can get channels via the "Best Of" packages. I'm not worried about the 3 or 4 channels I won't get on XM.

I am worried about the SOUND QUALITY. Sirius is simply better than XM. I don't have to worry about interference or not getting a signal every time I pass under an overpass or cloud. I can blast the music without getting static/buzz/blaring.

I do NOT want to buy an aftermarket adapter and plug it into my cigarette lighter and just throw it on the dash . I said that specifically. I want my current audio system to receive the Sirius SIGNAL instead of the XM SIGNAL. Who or how can I program that?
mackvenom1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:44 PM   #14
irocnroll


 
irocnroll's Avatar
 
Drives: '91 RS Vert, '11 Grand Cherokee
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by irocnroll View Post
No, antenna's are different, the box that configures the signal is different, and you cant just swap out the box. I had asked about this as my car was also "XM ready" I just bought a Sirius receiver instead. And dealt with it. You cant use the buttons on the radio to control the content either even if you buy a new box.

Like I said, check with XM and see if they have a "Best of Sirius" subscription option.
Quote:
Originally Posted by mackvenom1 View Post
Okay, I'm glad you guys are reading my original question, false hahaha.

1) Yes, I know that Sirius and XM are the same company . Several of you have backed me up on that.

2) Yes, I know I can get channels via the "Best Of" packages. I'm not worried about the 3 or 4 channels I won't get on XM.

I am worried about the SOUND QUALITY. Sirius is simply better than XM. I don't have to worry about interference or not getting a signal every time I pass under an overpass or cloud. I can blast the music without getting static/buzz/blaring.

I do NOT want to buy an aftermarket adapter and plug it into my cigarette lighter and just throw it on the dash . I said that specifically. I want my current audio system to receive the Sirius SIGNAL instead of the XM SIGNAL. Who or how can I program that?
K how about you read my thread??

1.) IT IS NOT POSSIBLE FOR THE XM ANTENNA TO RECEIVE A SIRIUS SIGNAL

2.) IT IS NOT POSSIBLE FOR THE XM RECEIVER TO DECODE THE SIRIUS SIGNAL


Hope this clears is up.
irocnroll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:47 PM   #15
IROCanSS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 89 IROC 350
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Back roads, southern Ohio
Posts: 12,504
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camar0wn3d View Post
I heard the signal quality was better on Sirius too...(less compression)
sirius uses 3 satelites, I believe Xm uses 1. Thats why Sirius is better quality. With that said, I have neither. Not a fan.
IROCanSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:48 PM   #16
Fogey

 
Fogey's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 2SS/RS A6, IOM
Join Date: May 2009
Location: West Los Angeles
Posts: 1,209
Interesting discussion with Chevy Rep

I called the Renaissance Center and ask to speak to a Chevy service Rep. I told her that I couldn't get a definitive answer re: warranty issues and she obliged to try to answer them. I told her I was getting a Camaro and was interested in potentially having a couple of aftermarket GM parts installed at the time of purchase (air box, shorty pipes, et. al.) but did not want to void the factory warranty.
Here was her answer:
The installation of "Genuine GM Parts" by a GM dealer will not void the warranty. The part should be labeled "Genuine GM..." in the catalogue and/or probably on the box. She then warned, there are parts in a dealers GM catalogue that are not "Genuine GM..." and they have the risk of voiding the warranty. An example she gave is that there are aftermarket exhaust systems sold and installed by GM Dealers and were they to result in an engine failure, the repairs could be exempted from the warranty.
Her last caveat seemed obvious but it's worth noting. She said that even if a part is "Genuine GM..." it could void the warranty. The example she gave was the installation of a GM racing engine in a stock Camaro. Dealers are told they should tell the buyer that this part could void the drivetrain warranty but she knows they don't always do it and if you have a question call a GM factory rep and note the reps name, when you called etc., in case there is an issue.
It's all clear as mud but I feel better informed than I was after talking to a local dealers service manager.

I AM A MORON. MEANT TO POST AS A NEW THREAD

Last edited by Fogey; 03-22-2010 at 12:58 PM. Reason: Stupidity
Fogey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 12:53 PM   #17
irocnroll


 
irocnroll's Avatar
 
Drives: '91 RS Vert, '11 Grand Cherokee
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 2,342
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fogey View Post
I called the Renaissance Center and ask to speak to a Chevy service Rep. I told her that I couldn't get a definitive answer re: warranty issues and she obliged to try to answer them. I told her I was getting a Camaro and was interested in potentially having a couple of aftermarket GM parts installed at the time of purchase (air box, shorty pipes, et. al.) but did not want to void the factory warranty.
Here was her answer:
The installation of "Genuine GM Parts" by a GM dealer will not void the warranty. The part should be labeled "Genuine GM..." in the catalogue and/or probably on the box. She then warned, there are parts in a dealers GM catalogue that are not "Genuine GM..." and they have the risk of voiding the warranty. An example she gave is that there are aftermarket exhaust systems sold and installed by GM Dealers and were they to result in an engine failure, the repairs could be exempted from the warranty.
Her last caveat seemed obvious but it's worth noting. She said that even if a part is "Genuine GM..." it could void the warranty. The example she gave was the installation of a GM racing engine in a stock Camaro. Dealers are told they should tell the buyer that this part could void the drivetrain warranty but she knows they don't always do it and if you have a question call a GM factory rep and note the reps name, when you called etc., in case there is an issue.
It's all clear as mud but I feel better informed than I was after talking to a local dealers service manager.
I am kind of confused by the derailment of this post to the OP's original question.
irocnroll is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Okay to use ramps on V6 for oil change? philipdistefano Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 4 01-31-2010 05:06 PM
Okay to use ramps on V6 for oil change? philipdistefano Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 10 01-19-2010 04:05 PM
Ok so had the car for a week... Where are you putting your spare change?! JDBeck23 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 49 10-08-2009 04:05 AM
Too late to change at event 3000 ? scottc Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 10 08-03-2009 06:20 PM
ORDER CHANGE @ 1100 Autobot Camaro Price | Ordering | Tracking | Dealers Discussions 4 07-24-2009 11:21 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.