Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
autoguy
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2010, 12:44 PM   #1
Acebeforejack
 
Acebeforejack's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS2/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 20
JBA shorty headers installed, engine light on

I just got my JBA shorty headers installed 2 days ago and the engine light is on.. I have a diablo sport predator tuner and i was curious is anyone could walk me threw on how to turn the engine light off.. I also have another quistion.. I installed a CAI and i thought i could tell the little hp differnce then after i installed the custom tune that came with the predator i didnt notice anything really... I turned off the skip shift and i think the DOD.. Is there anything else i can do? thanks..
Acebeforejack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 01:11 PM   #2
Michael_Js
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
Michael_Js's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS - Black w/IOM; 6M
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 5,322
Send a message via AIM to Michael_Js Send a message via MSN to Michael_Js
Did you/they reset the computer after the header install? I had no codes with my JBA shorties.

No knowledge of tuning, so can't help there...
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2010 Black 2SS/RS; 6M; IOM, GFX, sunroof; ADM Race CAI; Zoomers CB; Viper Alarm; Pdaft F&R sways, Adj Endlinks, Rtrailing arms, Camber kit, strut brace, Front Trailing Arm Bushing; SLP Skip-Shift Elim; Tinted lights/windows; Hurst Short-throw; LoJack; Door & Dash ABL Mods; Subthump; JBA Shorty headers; AACStyle LEDs; Stillen DS rotors, Hawk Ceramic pads; Havoc Blk Chrome wheels: 20x9s; Lingenfelter Blk Al Pedals; RevXtreme Catch Can; Goodridge SS lines; Ported TB; RK Sport hood; Hotchkis chassis brace; KW V3 coilovers;
Michael_Js is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 01:14 PM   #3
Icntdrv55
CCOTR Member
 
Icntdrv55's Avatar
 
Drives: Victory Red 2010 2SS/RS A6
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Parker CO
Posts: 1,093
On a separate topic.....have either of you guys noticed any performance increase with the shorties. I am on the fense as I have heard mixed reviews, some say they increase HP some say they dont!
__________________
Camaro Club Of The Rockies (CCOTR) Check us out on Facebook!
---------------------------
2010 Camaro SS/RS Victory Red A6- Vararam Intake, Doug Thorley Tri Y LTs, Magnaflow X-pipe, Flowmaster Super 40's, VMS Tune, Razzi Ground Effects, Herritage Grill, RED headlight and fog light Halos, LED DRLs, Dash and extended Door ABL, engine, grill and rear defusser LED lighting ........ 12.59@112.21 (DA Corrected)
Icntdrv55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 01:26 PM   #4
Acebeforejack
 
Acebeforejack's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS2/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Michael_Js View Post
Did you/they reset the computer after the header install? I had no codes with my JBA shorties.

No knowledge of tuning, so can't help there...
how do you reset the computer? no i didnt.. and i bet they didnt either
Acebeforejack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 03:30 PM   #5
JBAGREG
Account Suspended
 
Drives: JBA SUPERSPORT 2SS/RS Vortech Blown
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Dimas
Posts: 58
If you have the Diablo Sport Tuner you should be able to read what code you have triggered. Before you do anything, follow the step by step instructions that came with your Diablo and read the Check Engine Code. Thats going to tell you where to start your diagnosis.

Once you know what the code is. Write it down and use the Diablo to clear the code. After that, come back and tell us what code you have triggered.

FYI. The JBA 1812S headers will not trigger a light unless you have caused an issue with an 02 sensor. Lets see what codes you have before we do anything else.
JBAGREG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 03:33 PM   #6
Michael_Js
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
Michael_Js's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS - Black w/IOM; 6M
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 5,322
Send a message via AIM to Michael_Js Send a message via MSN to Michael_Js
Ok, what he said

If you don't have the tuner, some auto parts stores, like AutoZone, will read the code for free...
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2010 Black 2SS/RS; 6M; IOM, GFX, sunroof; ADM Race CAI; Zoomers CB; Viper Alarm; Pdaft F&R sways, Adj Endlinks, Rtrailing arms, Camber kit, strut brace, Front Trailing Arm Bushing; SLP Skip-Shift Elim; Tinted lights/windows; Hurst Short-throw; LoJack; Door & Dash ABL Mods; Subthump; JBA Shorty headers; AACStyle LEDs; Stillen DS rotors, Hawk Ceramic pads; Havoc Blk Chrome wheels: 20x9s; Lingenfelter Blk Al Pedals; RevXtreme Catch Can; Goodridge SS lines; Ported TB; RK Sport hood; Hotchkis chassis brace; KW V3 coilovers;
Michael_Js is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 04:57 PM   #7
Acebeforejack
 
Acebeforejack's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS2/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 20
okay i did what you said... I got 3 codes P0030 P0053 P0135 they all had to do something with heating something... But it wouldnt let me clear it..
Acebeforejack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 05:33 PM   #8
Eric Baker

 
Drives: Black/Black 2SS/RS 6M
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 944
Are any of the O2's unplugged by chance?
Eric Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 05:54 PM   #9
JBAGREG
Account Suspended
 
Drives: JBA SUPERSPORT 2SS/RS Vortech Blown
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Dimas
Posts: 58
P0030 HO2S Heater Control Circuit (Bank 1 Sensor 1)
P0053 HO2S Heater Resistance (Bank 1, Sensor 1)
P0135 02 Sensor Heater Circuit Malfunction (Bank 1 Sensor 1)

Did you disconnect the battery when you installed the headers?
JBAGREG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:18 PM   #10
JBAGREG
Account Suspended
 
Drives: JBA SUPERSPORT 2SS/RS Vortech Blown
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Dimas
Posts: 58
Sounds to me like a Bad 02 sensor. - Could have been damaged during install or not hooked back up. Here is the data I found on OBD-Codes.com
Your OBD-II Trouble Codes Repair Site

Oxygen O2 Sensor Heater Circuit Malfunction (Bank 1, Sensor 1)

What does that mean?

This code refers to the front oxygen sensor on Bank 1. The heated circuit in the oxygen sensor decreases time needed to enter closed loop. As the O2 heater reaches operating temperature, the oxygen sensor responds by switching according to oxygen content of the exhaust surrounding it. The ECM tracks how long it takes for the oxygen sensor to begin switching. It the ECM determines (based on coolant temp) that too much time elapsed before the oxygen sensor began operating properly, it will set P0135.

Causes
A code P0135 may mean that one or more of the following has happened:

O2 Heater element resistance is high
Internal short or open in the heater element
O2 heater circuit wiring high resistance
open or short to ground in the wiring harness

Possible Solutions
Repair short or open or high resistance in wiring harness or harness connectors
Replace oxygen sensor (cannot repair open or short that occurs internally to sensor)
JBAGREG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:24 PM   #11
trudawg660

 
Drives: 2006 Dodge Charger / 2SS IOM
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,642
a couple of the v6 people had that problem with the jba shorties
trudawg660 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:50 PM   #12
2010 4 DW
Account Suspended
 
Drives: White 2010 RS/SS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Diego
Posts: 674
Quote:
Originally Posted by trudawg660 View Post
a couple of the v6 people had that problem with the jba shorties
They fixed the check engine light when the leak was fixed between the flanges on the collector.

You have to use high temp RTV at that location for optimal seal.

DW
2010 4 DW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 10:22 PM   #13
fldrummer
"Black Ace"
 
fldrummer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS black/black
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Ft. Lauderdale, FL
Posts: 1,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010 4 DW View Post
They fixed the check engine light when the leak was fixed between the flanges on the collector.

You have to use high temp RTV at that location for optimal seal.

DW
I had the same problem when installing my DT shorties on the driver-side. We torqued the head bolts on top first and couldn't get the bottom flange to seal w/ the collector (should have done the opposite first, but the instructions didn't specify, if I recall. I would get under the car and check those flange connections to make sure they're flush first, before anything else (I had a huge gap, LOL).
fldrummer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 01:38 PM   #14
Acebeforejack
 
Acebeforejack's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS2/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Georgia
Posts: 20
none of that sounds good :(
Acebeforejack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-23-2010, 03:01 PM   #15
bilydean
 
bilydean's Avatar
 
Drives: One of the rare ABM camaros
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Jose, CA
Posts: 415
I put JBAs on mine as well and no codes. You must have banged the o2 sensor.

Dean
__________________
1100 4/28
2000 5/23
3000 5/27
3400 6/20 TPW of 6/29
3800 7/3
4D00 7/8 interned at QC
4B00 7/16 Released from QC
4200 7/20

8/5 We picked up the car
bilydean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 11:45 AM   #16
Mikk2K
 
Mikk2K's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 Camaro LTRS, '12 Pro4x Frontier
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hartford, WI
Posts: 306
I put JBA shorties on V6 this past weekend and after about a 100 miles the check engine light came on. I'm going to have them looked at again... I was really hoping for no problems, but wasn't as lucky as the select few.
Mikk2K is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 06:03 PM   #17
scrming
Red Brick of Vengeance!
 
scrming's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 Second Brick
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: at my pulpit
Posts: 7,605
I'm one of the V6 owner that has been getting a CEL with the JBA shorties... We've double checked everything, no apparent leaks... Guess the next step is pulling the stacker flange apart and checking it... But as it stands now, the majority of JBA shorty owners in the V6 section are seeing CELs..
scrming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 06:26 PM   #18
67 GTO
13.453 @ 101.90
 
67 GTO's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2LT Rally Yellow
Join Date: May 2009
Location: SE Pa.
Posts: 1,889
No CEL here with over 1,500 miles since install. I talked with the service manager today who oversaw the install. He said they did a double weld on the stacker flanges, one on the inside and another on the outside. He said they were concerned about leaks and took the extra step. They did nothing special with the flange clamps.

He did say they were aware that even a tiny leak could cause a CEL.

I just may be lucky, for now.
__________________


GMPP exhaust/JBA shorties/Vararam CAI/VMax TB/SLP Pulley/VMax IM isolator/MACE Ported IM +Plenum Spacer/IPF Tuned
67 GTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 01:31 PM   #19
Silver Ice Man
 
Silver Ice Man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Silver Ice
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 452
Hey there guys,
How do you know which is bank 1, bank 2, etc??
I just installed a set of Dynatech LT's and threw a code within 5 KMS.
Check the codes with the SCT tuner and here they are.
P0030, and
P0135
pretty much same as everyone has already discussed on here.
Only mine went onto an L99 engine, with the auto trans, not sure if that will make a difference or not.
I will see if I can clear the codes and how quickly they will return if at all.
__________________
Sorry everyone, sold the Camaro, and now
Running a Vette.
Silver Ice Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 06:30 PM   #20
HeavyD

 
HeavyD's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SSRS RY L99
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,330
You will need to tune the engine with LT. Stock tune will set the CEL because the O2 sensors are in different locations now and read the exhaust differently. Not sure which is bank1 or 2, sorry.
HeavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-26-2010, 07:53 PM   #21
Silver Ice Man
 
Silver Ice Man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Silver Ice
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeavyD View Post
You will need to tune the engine with LT. Stock tune will set the CEL because the O2 sensors are in different locations now and read the exhaust differently. Not sure which is bank1 or 2, sorry.
Not a problem, I am currently running with a tune from Jannetty Racing, I have already sent an email off to Ted which I will most lilely get a response on Monday.
I may also have a bad O2 wire extension as the code was thrown almost immediately.
Other than the light, the car pulls hard, sounds great, and gets alot of attention.
The guys have been great at Jennety to deal with, to bad I am so far way as I would get them to do a cam set up for the car next.
Maybe next year.
__________________
Sorry everyone, sold the Camaro, and now
Running a Vette.
Silver Ice Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 07:28 PM   #22
HeavyD

 
HeavyD's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SSRS RY L99
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,330
Cool. Yah, sounds like an electrical problem.
HeavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 07:52 PM   #23
Silver Ice Man
 
Silver Ice Man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro Silver Ice
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 452
Sorry guys, I didn't mean to jack the thread, thanks for the replys though
__________________
Sorry everyone, sold the Camaro, and now
Running a Vette.
Silver Ice Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-27-2010, 10:41 PM   #24
third1
speed freak
 
third1's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cadillac Escalade,10 IOM 2ss
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Neenah Wi
Posts: 1,133
No codes with my JBAs. I'm betting it is in one of the O2 connections.
__________________
Current:2012 Cadilac Escalade.2011 CVO StreetGlide cammed,tuned&loud. 2010 IMO/IO,custom stripes,GFX,sunrf,solo exhaust,JBA shorties,rotofab,Jannetty tune,Pfadt,JLw6 Audison&Hertz,7/4/09 2GIFKIEJ6A9123779Del 7/10/09 Former Camaros 72 LT1 Z28, 86 z28
third1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Engine Cleaning With Pictures Angelo@Autopia Cosmetic Maintenance: Washing, Waxing, Detailing, Bodywork, Protection 4 05-01-2010 11:00 PM
Kenne Bell Vs. Whipple Who Wins? thalilbear02 Forced Induction - V8 132 01-28-2010 07:23 PM
JBA bolt up shorty headers ROD1 Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 31 01-13-2010 05:55 PM
JBA shorty headers? SS-screamer Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 2 09-21-2009 02:28 PM
Camaro ls3 news...true or false? Dark Knight Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 74 06-05-2008 05:29 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.