Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
PFYC
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-22-2010, 05:18 PM   #1
Moriartii

 
Moriartii's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 IOM 2SS/RS M6 w/Hurst
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 1,296
Amp grounding

When installing an amp in the trunk, how and where are people grounding the amp?

Cheers
K
Moriartii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 05:21 PM   #2
AmericanV8
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS, Chrysler 300 SRT8
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: California
Posts: 161
I used the metal assembly that holds the battery in place. I'm almost certain that is what the vehicle is grounded to as well. If you remove the air compressor and look down at the battery you'll find it on the bottom right. I hope this helps. Sorry don't have picks to post up.......
AmericanV8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:27 PM   #3
Michael_Js
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
Michael_Js's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS - Black w/IOM; 6M
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 5,317
Send a message via AIM to Michael_Js Send a message via MSN to Michael_Js
Yup, same place...power from the opposite side, off the battery, with an inline fuse.
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2010 Black 2SS/RS; 6M; IOM, GFX, sunroof; ADM Race CAI; Zoomers CB; Viper Alarm; Pdaft F&R sways, Adj Endlinks, Rtrailing arms, Camber kit, strut brace, Front Trailing Arm Bushing; SLP Skip-Shift Elim; Tinted lights/windows; Hurst Short-throw; LoJack; Door & Dash ABL Mods; Subthump; JBA Shorty headers; AACStyle LEDs; Stillen DS rotors, Hawk Ceramic pads; Havoc Blk Chrome wheels: 20x9s; Lingenfelter Blk Al Pedals; RevXtreme Catch Can; Goodridge SS lines; Ported TB; RK Sport hood; Hotchkis chassis brace; KW V3 coilovers;
Michael_Js is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:41 PM   #4
Moriartii

 
Moriartii's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 IOM 2SS/RS M6 w/Hurst
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 1,296
My particular amp says to keep the ground wire as short as possible, not longer than 10" inches. Is this a big deal or?

Cheers
K
Moriartii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:44 PM   #5
Michael_Js
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
Michael_Js's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS - Black w/IOM; 6M
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 5,317
Send a message via AIM to Michael_Js Send a message via MSN to Michael_Js
Use a large enough gauge and it should be fine. The one that came with my MBQuart was huge!

Where are you putting the amp in the trunk?
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2010 Black 2SS/RS; 6M; IOM, GFX, sunroof; ADM Race CAI; Zoomers CB; Viper Alarm; Pdaft F&R sways, Adj Endlinks, Rtrailing arms, Camber kit, strut brace, Front Trailing Arm Bushing; SLP Skip-Shift Elim; Tinted lights/windows; Hurst Short-throw; LoJack; Door & Dash ABL Mods; Subthump; JBA Shorty headers; AACStyle LEDs; Stillen DS rotors, Hawk Ceramic pads; Havoc Blk Chrome wheels: 20x9s; Lingenfelter Blk Al Pedals; RevXtreme Catch Can; Goodridge SS lines; Ported TB; RK Sport hood; Hotchkis chassis brace; KW V3 coilovers;
Michael_Js is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:47 PM   #6
Moriartii

 
Moriartii's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 IOM 2SS/RS M6 w/Hurst
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 1,296
The amp is either going on the back of enclosure facing the passthrough area or on the front facing into the trunk. Depends on how Steve designs it.
I will be using 4 GA wire for power and ground.
Cheers
K
Moriartii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 06:59 PM   #7
Michael_Js
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
Michael_Js's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS - Black w/IOM; 6M
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Posts: 5,317
Send a message via AIM to Michael_Js Send a message via MSN to Michael_Js
Then you're set! That's huge! no issues there...Good luck!
__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
2010 Black 2SS/RS; 6M; IOM, GFX, sunroof; ADM Race CAI; Zoomers CB; Viper Alarm; Pdaft F&R sways, Adj Endlinks, Rtrailing arms, Camber kit, strut brace, Front Trailing Arm Bushing; SLP Skip-Shift Elim; Tinted lights/windows; Hurst Short-throw; LoJack; Door & Dash ABL Mods; Subthump; JBA Shorty headers; AACStyle LEDs; Stillen DS rotors, Hawk Ceramic pads; Havoc Blk Chrome wheels: 20x9s; Lingenfelter Blk Al Pedals; RevXtreme Catch Can; Goodridge SS lines; Ported TB; RK Sport hood; Hotchkis chassis brace; KW V3 coilovers;
Michael_Js is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 07:08 PM   #8
Eric Baker

 
Drives: Black/Black 2SS/RS 6M
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Boston MA
Posts: 956
When I install an amp in a trunk with the battery back there, I always ground directly to the battery. Reason for this is the ground wire from the battery to the car is only usually big enough for everything that's already in the car, not the demands of the extra amp(s).

The proper way to do it in ANY car is to add an extra ground strap from the battery to the body of the vehicle the size of the amp wire you're using if you can't go to the battery directly.
Eric Baker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2010, 08:21 PM   #9
strauchpete
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Sedalia, Missouri
Posts: 338
I would do power and ground directly to the battery since it is right there and then do an upgrade ground from the battery to the cars body.
strauchpete is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 05:22 PM   #10
Moriartii

 
Moriartii's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 IOM 2SS/RS M6 w/Hurst
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 1,296
Bringing this back up.

-I have the enclosure, its a Subthump dual made to house one 12" sub (goes in the pass through area of the trunk).

-I am using the Stinger HPM #4 Amp install kit (btw very nice stuff!!)
-My amp specifically says to keep my ground 10" or shorter.
-I am mounting my amp to the back of my enclosure between the enclosure and the back seat.
-Given my requirement of the 10" ground where can I ground to? Not too keen on drilling into the car. If I could drill through a panel without going through the car body it would be fine. I dont believe I have enough length to reach the battery, either the terminal or the bracket.

Thoughts or pics?
Thank you
K
Moriartii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 07:03 PM   #11
mrray13


 
mrray13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT RS Rally Yellow
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern Illinois
Posts: 3,059
You could always upgrade to 2/0 and go to the factory ground, or battery. While keeping the ground as short as possible is ideal, it's not something set in stone. That said, you don't want a 2' ground either.

Find a good brace, sand all the paint off and through bolt it, if you can't reach the battery/factory ground. Should be one on either side of where you are looking to put the enclosure. If not, I'll look in my trunk and see if I can come up with something.
__________________
PacMan
mrray13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 09:36 AM   #12
Moriartii

 
Moriartii's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 IOM 2SS/RS M6 w/Hurst
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 1,296
Thanks Mrray! I appreciate it!
You dont think those braces would be too small?
K
Moriartii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 04:30 PM   #13
Moriartii

 
Moriartii's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 IOM 2SS/RS M6 w/Hurst
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 1,296
In this picture, courtesy of third1 as it is their trunk, could I ground to the brace rail that you can see poking out in the lower left corner? The orange power cord is there and the carpet panel is covering part of it.

Cheers
K
Moriartii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 09:59 PM   #14
Moriartii

 
Moriartii's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 IOM 2SS/RS M6 w/Hurst
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Austin Texas
Posts: 1,296
Bump for some love since I had my album pics set to private.

Fixed that so now maybe you all can see what I am referring to.
K
Moriartii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 10:15 PM   #15
mrray13


 
mrray13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT RS Rally Yellow
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern Illinois
Posts: 3,059
That would work. Sand until no paint is left where you will ground. Thru bolt, although you can get by with self tappers/star washers.
__________________
PacMan
mrray13 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amp install- how to (w/pics) ASTEDA Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 55 07-14-2014 03:27 AM
Amp install - how to (w/pics) ASTEDA Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 28 01-27-2013 04:07 PM
Stereo GUIDE ALL READ WildBeast15 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 29 09-11-2010 02:14 AM
Side Mount Amp Rack Pics Steve@Subthump Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 0 09-12-2009 03:27 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.