Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Apex Paul
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions

Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions External and Internal cosmetics modifications.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-29-2010, 11:24 PM   #26
Don O
Camaro and Vettehead
 
Don O's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS IOM L99 69 427/400 Vette
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 12 miles East of Disneyland - Anaheim Hills
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRSS2 View Post
Ludicrously AWESOME! Muchos Gracias!!!! Mui Bueno!! Ok, so this is what I am gathering...you are saying that the light that blinks while the car is locked on the center of the top of the dash, the power for that is coming off of the ambient light sensor from the gray block under the driver side, and the wires is on the 21 position on that block? So do I actually need to find the black wire that branches off of the ambient light sensor? I will have to see about tinkering with that as soon as i can, and I will post pics of install once I get some time may be this weekendish, if all goes well.
The black wire is just ground. You can get that anywhere on the metal on the car. You might need to use a relay if the BCM has a current sensor on the output to the LED, but you might get by if you're just powering a few LEDs.

Don O
__________________
Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong.

Don O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 09:16 AM   #27
RedRyder
 
RedRyder's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 VR Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 409
Thanks for the schematics! But if it's for the ambient light sensor doesn't that means it's on all the time? Or are your saying the sole purpose of that gray wire is for the blinking led and it is just labeled as under the ambient light sensor?
RedRyder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 02:25 PM   #28
SSTony

 
Drives: SS Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Piscataway NJ
Posts: 1,111
Send a message via AIM to SSTony
if it pulses that wont work well for us.
__________________
SSTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 07:47 PM   #29
Wizzer
 
Wizzer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Cyber Grey
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ga
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRSS2 View Post
Ludicrously AWESOME! Muchos Gracias!!!! Mui Bueno!! Ok, so this is what I am gathering...you are saying that the light that blinks while the car is locked on the center of the top of the dash, the power for that is coming off of the ambient light sensor from the gray block under the driver side, and the wires is on the 21 position on that block? So do I actually need to find the black wire that branches off of the ambient light sensor? I will have to see about tinkering with that as soon as i can, and I will post pics of install once I get some time may be this weekendish, if all goes well.
Please tell me what you find. I will be out in the garage this weekend playing around.

and...

Nice..... sweet. Nice job with the manual. Where can I buy one and how much? I want to order one asap.

Wizzer
Wizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 08:48 PM   #30
TRSS2
 
TRSS2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2LT Black RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lynn Haven, FL
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizzer View Post
Please tell me what you find. I will be out in the garage this weekend playing around.

and...

Nice..... sweet. Nice job with the manual. Where can I buy one and how much? I want to order one asap.

Wizzer
If I find anything useful, I ill take pics and post/pm you, gotta share the wealth.
link for service manual... prepare your pocket book.... http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showth...39#post1624839
__________________
2010 2LT/RS Black(exterior) on Black(Interior Leather) on Black(Flat Black Powdercoated Rims)
AAC interior red dome lights, footwell lights, SMD wheel well lights, led pods, afterburners(SMD), RED/WHITE halo headlights and fog lights, Nite Rider scanner times 2, illuminated bowtie, T-REX black phantom billet grill upper and lower, had vinyl blackouts-they turned out to be illegal . Soon to have LTLAudio door projectors.

Last edited by TRSS2; 03-30-2010 at 08:52 PM. Reason: forgot to post a link
TRSS2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 09:38 PM   #31
Don O
Camaro and Vettehead
 
Don O's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS IOM L99 69 427/400 Vette
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: 12 miles East of Disneyland - Anaheim Hills
Posts: 547
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedRyder View Post
Thanks for the schematics! But if it's for the ambient light sensor doesn't that means it's on all the time? Or are your saying the sole purpose of that gray wire is for the blinking led and it is just labeled as under the ambient light sensor?
The manual states it's part of the light sensor, but I think it means in packaging only. That is it is a separate circuit in the same housing. But I also think it is pulsed, meaning you won't have a constant voltage source.

Don O
__________________
Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong.

Don O is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 09:45 PM   #32
RedRyder
 
RedRyder's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 VR Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 409
Well my goal is just a blinking LED, I bought one with a built in curcuit that makes it blink from a constant power source but if it pulses I can just wire a normal LED in there. Though it's a problem if you intend to use those night rider lights.
RedRyder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 09:47 PM   #33
RedRyder
 
RedRyder's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 VR Camaro 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 409
Also I'll be poking around in the wiring as well this weekend, hopefully at least one of us will be able to get it.
RedRyder is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 10:35 PM   #34
TRSS2
 
TRSS2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2LT Black RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lynn Haven, FL
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by RedRyder View Post
Well my goal is just a blinking LED, I bought one with a built in curcuit that makes it blink from a constant power source but if it pulses I can just wire a normal LED in there. Though it's a problem if you intend to use those night rider lights.
Which is exactly what I want to use it for... shucks, then what would be hte best course of action in order to get the AAC nite rider led bars to run a full sweep @ certain intervals...?
__________________
2010 2LT/RS Black(exterior) on Black(Interior Leather) on Black(Flat Black Powdercoated Rims)
AAC interior red dome lights, footwell lights, SMD wheel well lights, led pods, afterburners(SMD), RED/WHITE halo headlights and fog lights, Nite Rider scanner times 2, illuminated bowtie, T-REX black phantom billet grill upper and lower, had vinyl blackouts-they turned out to be illegal . Soon to have LTLAudio door projectors.
TRSS2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2010, 10:19 PM   #35
SSTony

 
Drives: SS Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Piscataway NJ
Posts: 1,111
Send a message via AIM to SSTony
the brain of the alarm is the secret to this puzzle
__________________
SSTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 08:29 AM   #36
TRSS2
 
TRSS2's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevy Camaro 2LT Black RS
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lynn Haven, FL
Posts: 103
indeed, and i am no brain surgeon grrr. oh well, the answer will come up sometime
__________________
2010 2LT/RS Black(exterior) on Black(Interior Leather) on Black(Flat Black Powdercoated Rims)
AAC interior red dome lights, footwell lights, SMD wheel well lights, led pods, afterburners(SMD), RED/WHITE halo headlights and fog lights, Nite Rider scanner times 2, illuminated bowtie, T-REX black phantom billet grill upper and lower, had vinyl blackouts-they turned out to be illegal . Soon to have LTLAudio door projectors.
TRSS2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 08:41 AM   #37
Dave2SSRS
 
Dave2SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 487
...and most alarm brains have an aux output... hmmmmmmmmm.
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Imperial Blue | Grey two-tone Interior | Silver racing stripes | Magnaflow Comp Cat-back | CAI intake | Elite Engineering Tunnel Brace |

Richmond (Houston), TX
Dave2SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2010, 09:02 PM   #38
Wizzer
 
Wizzer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Cyber Grey
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ga
Posts: 658
Some one posted this in another thread. Anyone know what this means?


---paste---

It is a gray wire at the ambient light sensor, terminal 1.
That wire is also located at the BCM X1 connector, termianl 21.
Wizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 03:54 PM   #39
Spaceballone
 
Spaceballone's Avatar
 
Drives: 1992 Custom RS, 2006 Civic
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NEw Jersey
Posts: 592
The question is: Is the security light the only thing that has power when the car is off / locked? What about onstar! isn't that still powered even if the car is off? Want to do the same thing but the blinking light must have a relay that pulses the light, plus the security light housing also controls the auto lights right?
Spaceballone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2010, 08:51 PM   #40
SSTony

 
Drives: SS Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Piscataway NJ
Posts: 1,111
Send a message via AIM to SSTony
well in theory there is a few ways to go about this.

1. The light that blinks to show the alarm is on in the center of the dash most likely does have constant power to it. I am sure the light unit just pulses power on it own. We can tap into the power before it hits the light assembly.

2. The alarm is off and there is no power to it till its turned on so we must find where the power line is where the alarm is hooked up. tap that and it should give power.

I am going to set the alarm and test some wires or fuses that have power with the alarm on and that dont with alarm off and see what I come up with.
__________________
SSTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 09:10 PM   #41
Wizzer
 
Wizzer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Cyber Grey
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ga
Posts: 658
Ok guys we Need to rebump this to the top. I got the scanner bar scanning and i so need to hit the hot wire to fire it when i arm the alarm. Did anyones digging amount to anything. Thx


Wizzer
Wizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2010, 11:53 PM   #42
Sweet Caroline 2SS Aqua
 
Drives: 2SS Aqua
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nevada
Posts: 58
Here is my two cents, a guess and a starting point.
I am thinking the remote start and alarm are connected together some how.
I lock the doors and press remote start. HMMM.
Here a link to a picture of the remote start location.

http://www.popularhotrodding.com/fea.../photo_03.html

Passenger side of the mirror, on the windshield.
Now whos brave enough to take off the cover and probing for hot wires.
Anyone?? If so post the results please. As well as the wiring as it gets into the headliner.

Like I said a starting place. Now to trace them down the side and somewhere easily to tap into.
Sweet Caroline 2SS Aqua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 10:36 AM   #43
Wizzer
 
Wizzer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Cyber Grey
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ga
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sweet Caroline 2SS Aqua View Post
Here is my two cents, a guess and a starting point.
I am thinking the remote start and alarm are connected together some how.
I lock the doors and press remote start. HMMM.
Here a link to a picture of the remote start location.

http://www.popularhotrodding.com/fea.../photo_03.html

Passenger side of the mirror, on the windshield.
Now whos brave enough to take off the cover and probing for hot wires.
Anyone?? If so post the results please. As well as the wiring as it gets into the headliner.

Like I said a starting place. Now to trace them down the side and somewhere easily to tap into.

Is that what that is? The cover fell off when I was up there wiring once. I will do it now. I was an auto mech before I joined the USAF and I kept all my wiring tools. I have a nice snap on test light that just puts a tiny prick ( so to speak ) in the wire and when I pull it out the plastic sheathing from the wire expands over my mark. Doing it now. brb
Wizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2010, 11:08 AM   #44
Wizzer
 
Wizzer's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Cyber Grey
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Ga
Posts: 658
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wizzer View Post
Is that what that is? The cover fell off when I was up there wiring once. I will do it now. I was an auto mech before I joined the USAF and I kept all my wiring tools. I have a nice snap on test light that just puts a tiny prick ( so to speak ) in the wire and when I pull it out the plastic sheathing from the wire expands over my mark. Doing it now. brb



Well here is what happened.

I popped the cover off. Cut some of the wiring sheathing off that bands the four wires together and probed. There are 4 wires up there and the only one that gave me a reading is the red. The red is on when the car is unarmed and then when you arm it the wire goes dead. I still have to do more testing but as of now if there was some sort relay that didn't draw much power constantly we would have the answer.

Heres the thing. Relays that hold a circuit from closing draw power to hold the contacts apart. In theory I could buy one to hold the lightbar from getting power and when the car arms the relay would lose power and then make contact. When I disarm the relay would get power and then pull the circuit apart and thus the light bar would go off.

Two things make me nervous. Unless there is a no/low draw electronic relay on the market the circuit would always be drawing power to keep the relays contacts from closing and thus over long periods of time your battery would die.

The other thought is that how much current can that small wire on the windshield support. You wouldn't want a relay drawing too much and burning out what ever is feeding the circuit.

Now for those of you who have no wiring skills you should know that there are two types of relays.

1. The type that use power to close a circuit ( aka a cheap one that comes in driving lights ) when you apply power to a relay it makes a little magnet push a contact together and make a circuit.

2. The type that always draws power to hold the contacts apart. Thus when you remove power the magnet lets the contact free and a small spring forces the circuit to close.


The relay I think we need is number 2. Perhaps there is a digital relay on the market that pulls almost no power and can just sense when voltage is lost. This electronic type is what we need to google. If you can find this you will have your answer.

baring all my rambling yet a third solution would be to find a wire that gets hot when you arm. Sadly my testing did not find this. All I found was a wire that loses power when you arm. But it is progress. Thoughts?

Here is relay 101 for anyone who wants a nice explanation. http://www.bcae1.com/relays.htm
Wizzer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 08:57 PM   #45
Camaro4Life2011
 
Camaro4Life2011's Avatar
 
Drives: Black Camaro 2LT RS with Sunroof
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 257
lol why dont you guys just tap into the dome light under the steering colum. The same one people use for the led footwell lights. You can then route it through to the engine bay where the light is. If you need help let me know.
__________________
2011 Blk on Blk 2LT

[x] Perma-grin
[x]1000 Watt Dual 12'' Subs (Subthump Harness)
[x]Blacked out Bow-ties
[x]AACStyle Blue Footwell Lights.
[x]AACStyle Blue LED Dome Light.
[x]AACStyle Blue LED Trunk Light
[x]Knight Rider 54 Blue LED
[X]Valentine 1 Hard Wire
[X]Valentine 1 Concealed Display
[ ]20 %Tinted Windows
[ ]LED Underglow
[ ]Rear Footwell Lights
[ ]ABL Extension
[ ]Camaro RS Projection
[ ]Painted Calipers
[ ]Glove Box Light
[ ]Door Handle Lights
[ ]Cold Air Inductions CAI
[ ]AACStyle Plasma DRL
[ ]AACStyle License Plate LEDS
Camaro4Life2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 09:15 PM   #46
The Stig
knows 2 facts about ducks
 
The Stig's Avatar
 
Drives: ...and they're both wrong
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: The HMS Invincible
Posts: 26,680
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRSS2 View Post
I am wanting to tap onto the security light wire, so I can use AAC's nite rider light bars as a security light, I just do not know where the wire is, I am hoping I can just tap on under the driver side near where I am tapping onto the dome light (which I found here, Thanks TonyNo, greatly appreciated). I tried searching and came up with this, but I did not see what I need. Any and all assistance is most definitely appreciated. Thanks ahead of time.
Id be careful about draining your battery with that. I mean I guess it depends how long you leave your car parked.
__________________
Click to view my build thread
The Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 09:19 PM   #47
Camaro4Life2011
 
Camaro4Life2011's Avatar
 
Drives: Black Camaro 2LT RS with Sunroof
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 257
But I would imagine you would be fine if you tapped into the dome light wire. I believe it shuts it off if the battery gets low.
__________________
2011 Blk on Blk 2LT

[x] Perma-grin
[x]1000 Watt Dual 12'' Subs (Subthump Harness)
[x]Blacked out Bow-ties
[x]AACStyle Blue Footwell Lights.
[x]AACStyle Blue LED Dome Light.
[x]AACStyle Blue LED Trunk Light
[x]Knight Rider 54 Blue LED
[X]Valentine 1 Hard Wire
[X]Valentine 1 Concealed Display
[ ]20 %Tinted Windows
[ ]LED Underglow
[ ]Rear Footwell Lights
[ ]ABL Extension
[ ]Camaro RS Projection
[ ]Painted Calipers
[ ]Glove Box Light
[ ]Door Handle Lights
[ ]Cold Air Inductions CAI
[ ]AACStyle Plasma DRL
[ ]AACStyle License Plate LEDS
Camaro4Life2011 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
aac, knight rider, security, tap, wiring

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DIY - ABL using EL wire, and 3/16" tube camarorick Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions 502 02-25-2014 01:29 PM
Onstar....a spy???? please comment dieseldave24v General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 138 02-23-2012 01:12 PM
Those with LT's, RESET your check engine light! TAG UR IT Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 107 08-18-2010 01:51 AM
Third brake light Rob53 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 23 11-11-2009 10:28 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:47 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.