Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Hines Performance (HPE)
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2010, 01:25 PM   #1
mikey8
 
mikey8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS Transformer LS3
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 527
LS3 on Dynojet low?

UPDATE: DYNO SHEET ADDED POST #10

DynoJet 352.99 hp, and 345.95. CF: Standard.... I have a CAI, in shipping, and a catback on the car. Are these numbers low, or real? 78 degrees, 30.17 hg, and 44% humidity. They seem low from seeing others here. I could post the printout, if my frickin scanner worked. He told me those were real numbers. He said that the dynojet was accurate because he can't play with weather settings? I dunno

__________________

Last edited by mikey8; 03-28-2010 at 09:12 PM.
mikey8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 11:12 PM   #2
moiy1983
 
moiy1983's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss/rs
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cleveland tx
Posts: 304
i think that is kinda of low did he tune it or was that stock? to give u an idea i have a ls3 with a lmr cai and kooks full exhauts ( long tube headers and catted exhaust) and a tune it base lined at 386rwhp and after the tune it was right at 400rwhp (sae setting on the dyno). i mention that because he changed it to std it was 408rwhp.
moiy1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 11:18 PM   #3
2010SSRSM6
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
2010SSRSM6's Avatar
 
Drives: My wife crazy with my C5 usage.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,866
Look at your graph and see what settings were used. STD or SAE? What smoothing? Those are pretty low for an LS3. Was traction control AND stabilatrak off?
__________________
Powered by Cunningham MotorSports
2010SSRSM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2010, 11:26 PM   #4
linkwpc
The punching cat
 
linkwpc's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 Camaro SS Black W/Hugger&W/IOI
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 4,032
You could just have some bad gas.
__________________
My car build (COTW 7/23/12) - - - - - - > CLICK HERE! : http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=80725
linkwpc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 12:00 AM   #5
danhr
BAMF SS
 
danhr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ford City, PA
Posts: 2,054
Send a message via AIM to danhr
Something isn't right. I just put out 400/405 in my headers/exhaust/intake car (sae, not std) on a BONE STOCK tune
__________________
Bragging about a car that you paid someone to pick the parts and install them for you, is like paying someone to bang your wife, and then bragging about the kid.
"I'm sorry officer, no, I do not know why you pulled me over."
danhr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 06:37 AM   #6
mikey8
 
mikey8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS Transformer LS3
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 527
It was STD:1.01 Smoothing 5. As far as I know, traction contol and stabil trac were on. The only mod I have is a catback. No tune. Oh well, At least I have a base for when I put my CAI on, when it arrives tomorrow. After the intake, I'm done for a while. The next mod will be a tune.
__________________
mikey8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 07:12 AM   #7
MEDISIN

 
MEDISIN's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 CTS-V Sedan
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chapel Hill, NC
Posts: 1,113
How many miles on it? 93 octane? Mine was a bit low from the factory too with 354HP and 357TQ on a dynojet. Headers, CAI and a proper tune brought me to 415HP and 412TQ. I figure the factory tune just didn't fit my car well
__________________
2012 - Present: 2011 CTS-V Sedan, A6, Airaid and Tune by R.P.M. = 515 hp/487 lb-ft.
2009 - 2012: 2010 2SS RS IBM M6 Photos, MGW Shifter, BMR Trailing Arms/Tunnel Brace, Roto-Fab CAI, VMAX Ported TB, Kooks 6511-Complete (Headers, X-Pipe, Mufflers), dyno tuned by R.P.M. = 415 hp/412 lb-ft.
MEDISIN is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 07:14 AM   #8
mikey8
 
mikey8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS Transformer LS3
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 527
2200 miles, 93 octane. It doesn't feel like a slug.
__________________
mikey8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 07:16 AM   #9
SGOS252382


 
SGOS252382's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: S.W. Florida
Posts: 6,280
You best bet would be to ask the shop what the other stock LS3s are dynoing on that dyno. Your numbers could be normal for that dyno.
__________________
SGOS252382 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 09:44 AM   #10
mikey8
 
mikey8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS Transformer LS3
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 527
UPDATE: I got my scanner to work!!!! He only did 2 pulls, as I wanted to save the last for my CAI, on Monday. BTW, he was in 4th gear, I think, for the final pull with the most hp.
Attached Images
 
__________________
mikey8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2010, 09:58 AM   #11
mikey8
 
mikey8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS Transformer LS3
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by SGOS252382 View Post
You best bet would be to ask the shop what the other stock LS3s are dynoing on that dyno. Your numbers could be normal for that dyno.
I think I'm the first Camaro LS3 they have done. I guess I'm the baseline. I was talking to him about a tune, for shits and giggles, and he said he uses EFI live.
__________________

Last edited by mikey8; 03-28-2010 at 10:33 AM.
mikey8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 12:42 AM   #12
2010SSRSM6
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
2010SSRSM6's Avatar
 
Drives: My wife crazy with my C5 usage.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,866
With Traction control and Stabilitrac on you will not get a correct read. Hold the button down for 7 seconds next time and see what happens. You should see somewhere near the 370-380 on both HP and TQ.

If I'm not mistaken, STD should show HIGHER numbers than SAE.
__________________
Powered by Cunningham MotorSports
2010SSRSM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 09:32 AM   #13
mikey8
 
mikey8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS Transformer LS3
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 527
Thanks bro. When I got in after the dyno, the stabiltrac light was on. He said I would see that and maybe the abs light because the rear tires were moving and the front was not. Is that any indication that TC and ST were on?
__________________
mikey8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 11:02 AM   #14
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey8 View Post
UPDATE: DYNO SHEET ADDED POST #10

DynoJet 352.99 hp, and 345.95. CF: Standard.... I have a CAI, in shipping, and a catback on the car. Are these numbers low, or real? 78 degrees, 30.17 hg, and 44% humidity. They seem low from seeing others here. I could post the printout, if my frickin scanner worked. He told me those were real numbers. He said that the dynojet was accurate because he can't play with weather settings? I dunno

Any dyno is ONLY AS ACCURATE as the Input Sensors, and Dynojet has a 10% acceptable Error on they're sensors.

LS3s Dyno 372-378 RWHP, they must be fully up to temp, the oil must be fully up to temp, and 4 dyno runs should be made and average the best 2, the first two will be low if not warmed up.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2010, 11:47 PM   #15
2010SSRSM6
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
2010SSRSM6's Avatar
 
Drives: My wife crazy with my C5 usage.
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SoCal
Posts: 5,866
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey8 View Post
Thanks bro. When I got in after the dyno, the stabiltrac light was on. He said I would see that and maybe the abs light because the rear tires were moving and the front was not. Is that any indication that TC and ST were on?
No, mine did that too after my dyno pulls. It should have gone away after you drove a few minutes. It freaked me out a little when it didn't go right out. I was wondering how much $$$ that free dyno time just cost me.

I think Ted would be the one to talk to about getting you where you want your car to be.
__________________
Powered by Cunningham MotorSports
2010SSRSM6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 06:16 AM   #16
mikey8
 
mikey8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS Transformer LS3
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 527
I'm only looking for another 200 rwhp
__________________
mikey8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 07:19 AM   #17
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey8 View Post
I'm only looking for another 200 rwhp
Got you covered, Our YSI package it at 610 RWHP on 93 octane pump gas, thats 235 RWHP gain.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts

Last edited by JANNETTYRACING; 03-30-2010 at 07:38 AM.
JANNETTYRACING is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 07:37 AM   #18
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010SSRSM6 View Post
No, mine did that too after my dyno pulls. It should have gone away after you drove a few minutes. It freaked me out a little when it didn't go right out. I was wondering how much $$$ that free dyno time just cost me.

I think Ted would be the one to talk to about getting you where you want your car to be.
Actually. once the ABS triggers a fault your Stabiltrac and Traction control are both automatically disabled.

The system can't function unless it sees speed signals from all 4 tires.

Ted.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 08:52 AM   #19
mikey8
 
mikey8's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS Transformer LS3
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Orlando
Posts: 527
Quote:
Originally Posted by JANNETTYRACING View Post
Actually. once the ABS triggers a fault your Stabiltrac and Traction control are both automatically disabled.

The system can't function unless it sees speed signals from all 4 tires.

Ted.
You da man! So what you are saying, is that when I dynoed, the TC and ST were disabled as a result of a fault. When you are making the pulls, what gear do you use for the best reading. Mine was in 4th. I want to be able to make a good pull with the CAI on. Thanks again for the CAI,it rocks!
__________________
mikey8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 09:11 AM   #20
JANNETTYRACING
PRESIDENT CALIBRATOR JRE

 
JANNETTYRACING's Avatar
 
Drives: YELLOW 2013 ZL1 AUTO
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: ON THE DYNO WATERBURY CT.
Posts: 9,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikey8 View Post
You da man! So what you are saying, is that when I dynoed, the TC and ST were disabled as a result of a fault. When you are making the pulls, what gear do you use for the best reading. Mine was in 4th. I want to be able to make a good pull with the CAI on. Thanks again for the CAI,it rocks!
Yes, 4th gear is the correct gear for Manual or Auto on the new Camaros.
__________________
Technical information, Parts Sales, Professional Installation, and Custom Dyno Tuning.
Please vist our web sites for all your performance needs!
Ted Jannetty
Jannetty Racing Ent Inc.
2984 East Main St.
Waterbury Ct. 06705
203-753-7223
tedj@jannettyracing.com
www.jannettyracing.com
www.turboaddictionparts.com
Performance Parts
JANNETTYRACING is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LS3 engine specifications Tran Wiki 3 10-06-2010 10:56 PM
Advice---Supercharged L99, S/C'd LS3 or LS9? CamaroZR1 Forced Induction - V8 25 09-25-2008 09:21 AM
LS376/480 EFI LS3 Gen IV V-8 NOODLESgoneWILD Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 18 09-04-2008 08:14 AM
corvettes LS3 vs Camaros LS3 Caliman93230 Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 8 09-02-2008 10:52 AM
5th Gen Camaro LS3 info from Chevy Hi-Po...READ TAG UR IT Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 295 03-07-2008 10:06 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.