Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Solo Performance
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-30-2010, 10:00 PM   #1
ChuckBuSSter
 
ChuckBuSSter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 43
Question PDIM Problem?

I did a search and didn't see anybody with this problem.

I just bought a 4GB PNY FLASH drive. I dumped a few hundred MP3s on it plug it into the USB port on the car and everything worked great. The next day I pulled the FLASH drive and dumped a few hundred more songs on the drive. When I plugged it in I got the message ""no supported data was found". I pulled the drive and plugged it in again and got same message.

I plugged the drive into my computer and noticed that a few of the files were M4A files (Itunes). I went through and deleted all of these and tried it again in the car. It still didn't work.

I deleted all but one file and tried it again. This time it came up with the same message for a few seconds and then showed the USB logo and played about 1 second of the song and then switched to the FM radio.

I tried this a few more times with the same results and once while it was playing the song for 1 second I rotated the MENU/SELECT knob and the display changed to the song title and it continued to play. I was able to repeat this behavior a few more times.

I tried this on another USB FLASH drive from another manufacturer and it did the same thing. The first time I plug a new drive in it works like its suppose to. If I pull it out and plug it back in, it doesn't work. If there aren't too many files on it I can rotate the MENU/SELECT knob and sometimes I can get it to work.

I tried plugging in a third drive loaded with about 800 songs. I plugged it in and it works. I'm afaid to pull it out because I'm certain it won't work when I plug it back in.

To me this looks like a software problem but generally software doesn't break. If this is a software problem, anybody with the same version of software is likely having this same problem.

I'm ready to take it to the dealer but I'm not real confident in their ability to troubleshoot this type of problem. Has anybody else had this broblem?
__________________
Get In. Sit Down. Shut Up and Hold On!
IOM 2SS Manual
ChuckBuSSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 10:22 PM   #2
Baldman
EMERALD COAST CAMAROS
 
Baldman's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Cyber Grey Metallic 2LT/RS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Valparaiso Florida
Posts: 1,919
If I remember right I think it said it wouldn't recognize any thing over 2500 songs or something like that. You didn"t have anything like that did you?
Baldman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2010, 11:37 PM   #3
aspruneda
 
Drives: Inferno orange in side and out 2SS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: overland park, ks
Posts: 3
My whole bluetooth, USB, Aux input (pdim) has totaly quit twice on me in less than a month. When it works I've had no problems. However, it has to work first.
aspruneda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 12:06 AM   #4
pkauf
 
pkauf's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Crystal Red Convertible RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fairview, Texas
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckBuSSter View Post
I did a search and didn't see anybody with this problem.

I just bought a 4GB PNY FLASH drive. I dumped a few hundred MP3s on it plug it into the USB port on the car and everything worked great. The next day I pulled the FLASH drive and dumped a few hundred more songs on the drive. When I plugged it in I got the message ""no supported data was found". I pulled the drive and plugged it in again and got same message.

I plugged the drive into my computer and noticed that a few of the files were M4A files (Itunes). I went through and deleted all of these and tried it again in the car. It still didn't work.

I deleted all but one file and tried it again. This time it came up with the same message for a few seconds and then showed the USB logo and played about 1 second of the song and then switched to the FM radio.

I tried this a few more times with the same results and once while it was playing the song for 1 second I rotated the MENU/SELECT knob and the display changed to the song title and it continued to play. I was able to repeat this behavior a few more times.

I tried this on another USB FLASH drive from another manufacturer and it did the same thing. The first time I plug a new drive in it works like its suppose to. If I pull it out and plug it back in, it doesn't work. If there aren't too many files on it I can rotate the MENU/SELECT knob and sometimes I can get it to work.

I tried plugging in a third drive loaded with about 800 songs. I plugged it in and it works. I'm afaid to pull it out because I'm certain it won't work when I plug it back in.

To me this looks like a software problem but generally software doesn't break. If this is a software problem, anybody with the same version of software is likely having this same problem.

I'm ready to take it to the dealer but I'm not real confident in their ability to troubleshoot this type of problem. Has anybody else had this broblem?
I had a strange problem also when I removed the drive and added some more songs - it would play, but the display showed the wrong song and never would change. I hit the select button to get to the USB Menu. There was a "play all songs" selection (or something like that) - I selected it, and all was well. It was like it got confused when the USB stick that it had indexed before and then reindexed after the new set of songs I added (actually, I wiped it and re added all the songs) - the "play all songs" seemed to tell it to reset itself. Don't know if it will help, but give it a try.
__________________
pkauf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 06:39 AM   #5
ChuckBuSSter
 
ChuckBuSSter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baldman View Post
If I remember right I think it said it wouldn't recognize any thing over 2500 songs or something like that. You didn"t have anything like that did you?
It always does this no matter how many songs. The 4GB FLASH Drive did this with 1 song. If I had a lot of songs I could never get it play on supsequent tries.
__________________
Get In. Sit Down. Shut Up and Hold On!
IOM 2SS Manual
ChuckBuSSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 10:28 AM   #6
armysig
Catch me if you can
 
armysig's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 IOM ZL-1
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,469
Sounds like you need to disconnect the battery. This is just like any other computer out there. I'm sure the USB port just needs a reset and this is the simplest way to try.

Disconnect the battery for about 5 minutes, hook it up, go through to make sure your windows index correct, then attempt to plug in your usb drive.

I haven't had this problem, but I work with so many different types of computer systems for the Army, that this seems to work 80% of the time.
__________________
armysig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 11:16 AM   #7
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,712
I'm curious, what version of the software do you have loaded? To check, press and hold the menu/select button until the display pops up the version information...
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 11:34 AM   #8
kdbolt70

 
kdbolt70's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Haslett, Mi
Posts: 1,287
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckBuSSter View Post
To me this looks like a software problem but generally software doesn't break.
Software engineer here, and this makes me
__________________
2SS/RS Victory Red M6 w/ Black Rallys #3305
Muffler Delete, Lloyd "SS" Floormats, K&N Aircharger, Skip Shift Eliminator, Blacked Bowties
kdbolt70 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 11:48 AM   #9
ChuckBuSSter
 
ChuckBuSSter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdbolt70 View Post
Software engineer here, and this makes me
I design ECUs for cars and understand the pain of trying to validate complex software. I might think its funny if I wasn't feeling the pain. I've already spent a few hours screwing around trying to understand the problem. This should just work.
__________________
Get In. Sit Down. Shut Up and Hold On!
IOM 2SS Manual
ChuckBuSSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 11:54 AM   #10
ChuckBuSSter
 
ChuckBuSSter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroSkooter View Post
I'm curious, what version of the software do you have loaded? To check, press and hold the menu/select button until the display pops up the version information...
Hardware Version: CC
Software version: CE

What's the latest? My car was built the 1st week of March this year.
__________________
Get In. Sit Down. Shut Up and Hold On!
IOM 2SS Manual
ChuckBuSSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 11:59 AM   #11
ChuckBuSSter
 
ChuckBuSSter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by armysig View Post
Sounds like you need to disconnect the battery. This is just like any other computer out there. I'm sure the USB port just needs a reset and this is the simplest way to try.

Disconnect the battery for about 5 minutes, hook it up, go through to make sure your windows index correct, then attempt to plug in your usb drive.

I haven't had this problem, but I work with so many different types of computer systems for the Army, that this seems to work 80% of the time.
I'll try it this evening. I thought about pulling the fuse for the radio but it looks like its buried in the trunk.
__________________
Get In. Sit Down. Shut Up and Hold On!
IOM 2SS Manual
ChuckBuSSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 02:44 PM   #12
Iwantone2
Voice Of The Voiceless
 
Iwantone2's Avatar
 
Drives: CGM 1SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: OC Cali
Posts: 9,728
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckBuSSter View Post
Hardware Version: CC
Software version: CE

What's the latest? My car was built the 1st week of March this year.
You have the latest hardware and software versions
__________________
Iwantone2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 03:12 PM   #13
CamaroSkooter
Retarded One-Legged Owl
 
CamaroSkooter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Antonio, TX
Posts: 9,712
hmm...maybe I don't want to have my PDIM updated
CamaroSkooter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 10:07 PM   #14
Moorepheus

 
Drives: 2013 Dodge Charge R/T Plus AWD
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 1,307
I have the latest version and still have issues with my iPhone. Again, tonight, plugged my iPhone it, Radio saw it and started playing music, but when I start browsing, the info does not show up OR the wrong info shows up. Totally weird
Moorepheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 07:18 PM   #15
ChuckBuSSter
 
ChuckBuSSter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by armysig View Post
Sounds like you need to disconnect the battery. This is just like any other computer out there. I'm sure the USB port just needs a reset and this is the simplest way to try.

Disconnect the battery for about 5 minutes, hook it up, go through to make sure your windows index correct, then attempt to plug in your usb drive.

I haven't had this problem, but I work with so many different types of computer systems for the Army, that this seems to work 80% of the time.
Good call. I tried it last night and things improved. One of the memory sticks worked flawlessly. I was careful to remove the stick with the ignition off. The second worked intermittently. I was over confident with the third and spent a fair amount of time reloading it with about 500 songs. It worked the first time I plugged it in but not the second. I wasn't real happy. I stuck the first stick back in, it worked so I left it.

I got home from work this evening and plugged in the third drive again and it worked. This happens to be the only name brand Flash Drive I have. I'm not going to screw with this for awhile. I really don't think this has anything to do with the drive. I think it's bad software. I may call my dealer and see it they have any service bulletins on this problem.

Bad software sucks!
__________________
Get In. Sit Down. Shut Up and Hold On!
IOM 2SS Manual
ChuckBuSSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 07:40 PM   #16
Darth_Emma
Psssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhh!
 
Darth_Emma's Avatar
 
Drives: under contruction
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marysville, Ohio
Posts: 13,151
My ipod quit working on mine today. I am stopping by the dealer tomorrow to get them to see if I need a software upgrade for my radio. One of my favorite parts of the car is the ipod interface. I really really want it to work!

I read in another thread that there may be a software update. I will let you know what my dealer says tomorrow.
__________________
Darth_Emma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 08:29 PM   #17
sstphoenix
 
sstphoenix's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2LT RS 5th gen
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: montreal
Posts: 358
My personal PDIM issues

Its been a few months ive been looking to find other people with similar radio problems as me but i never actually posted mine.

So I suppose if other people had the same thinking as me, we wont really have an idea of what similar issues people are having....

so here is my story, as far i as i know.

-----------------------

When I got the car, i had no problems with my iphone (1st gen 16gb 2.0) or my usb key (hp 16gig). Everything worked fine.

A month later i had updated my phone to 3.0. I couldnt say if that had a direct cause, but im mentioning it incase.

It was around that time i noticed i began having a bug with my pdim.

The issue was when i used the radio to search for music:
- i would search for artist, n i would see a list of songs (instead of artist names), but when i scroll past the initial displayed items (like what is it 4 at a time?), it would show the rest of the artists correctly. If i scroll back up, the song names remained.
- if i go deeper into the search ....albums. I would see the top missing artists i didnt see in the artist search. N if I scroll down (past the initial displayed items, I would see the correct albums.
- same thing for songs (if you can see the pattern)


I stored the car for the winter, so i had disconnected the battery.
2 days ago i pluged everything back and had major radio display issues.
this next part i think is important.
- if i went into a CAMARO menus.... i began having the same similar issues i had with the iphone's mp3s, except instead of showing previous info, it just showed blank fields but they were selectable. Now for the menus that had submenus... if i went into the submenu, n then returned to the previous menu, the previous menu was returned to normal (or at least began to show more info i didnt see before).
- the menus that had no submenus (or the submenu level that had no sublevels) were not fixable n were always corrupt.

since i had seen that there was a PDIM update i went to the dealer today.

I showed them the problem n they said that there was going to be a recall for the update n that they would try the update (about 90 mins).

After they returned the keys to me, they explained that when you reconnect the battery there is a config to do on the radio n thats why i was having the camaro menu issues. They did not talk about ipone mp3 at all.

When i got in my car, every camaro menu was working fine again.

I plugged in my iphone, same problem.

I will call them back on tuesday after the holidays to let them know of the result n to see what other options i may have.

I still want to try with a 5th gen ipod (which i havent yet). since usb's cannot be supported by chevrolet (too many differences between models). The iphone may not be supported....

So if i plug in a 5th gen ipod n it does the same. Ill know for sure the radio itself or software of the radio may be the issue.

As for the issues i had with the radio menus... im not entirely sure i agree that the problems were the sole cause that the battery was d/c'ed and the radio needed reconfiguration. ill be more sure (or not) after the results of ipod 5th gen testing.

anyone else with these issues?????

sstphoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 08:35 PM   #18
Darth_Emma
Psssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhh!
 
Darth_Emma's Avatar
 
Drives: under contruction
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marysville, Ohio
Posts: 13,151
My iPod is a 60GB iPod with video (now usually called an "ipod classic"). I think mine is also considered to be a 5G ipod. When I first got my Camaro, the car would not see the ipod at all. So, I updated the firmware in the ipod and all had been fine for a couple of months until this morning. Now, my car's radio will not find the ipod at all. I tried resetting the ipod and I tried starting the car again. Nothing worked. I am taking it in to the dealer in the morning to see if they can figure it out.

One odd thing I noticed this morning when I tried to sync the ipod to the stereo was when I pushed the "Aux/CD" button, the stereo switched between CD and radio. It never listed "aux" or "ipod" like it did before. There is some kind of software glitch in it.

You might try updating the firmware in your ipod to see if that helps fix your issues.
__________________
Darth_Emma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 02:36 PM   #19
Darth_Emma
Psssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhh!
 
Darth_Emma's Avatar
 
Drives: under contruction
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marysville, Ohio
Posts: 13,151
The dealer said my MMIM (multimedia interface module) needs to be replaced on mine. The said they thought they'd have it by the middle of next week.
__________________
Darth_Emma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 04:12 PM   #20
ChuckBuSSter
 
ChuckBuSSter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Emma View Post
The dealer said my MMIM (multimedia interface module) needs to be replaced on mine. The said they thought they'd have it by the middle of next week.
Is that the same as the PDIM Module?
__________________
Get In. Sit Down. Shut Up and Hold On!
IOM 2SS Manual
ChuckBuSSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 04:23 PM   #21
Darth_Emma
Psssssssssshhhhhhhhhhhhh!
 
Darth_Emma's Avatar
 
Drives: under contruction
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Marysville, Ohio
Posts: 13,151
I just asked the dealer what the part was called that was on order (so I could report it here) and he said MMIM (multimedia interface module). I really don't know if it's the same as PDIM or not. I'm sure someone else might know.
__________________
Darth_Emma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 04:36 PM   #22
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckBuSSter View Post
Is that the same as the PDIM Module?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darth_Emma View Post
I just asked the dealer what the part was called that was on order (so I could report it here) and he said MMIM (multimedia interface module). I really don't know if it's the same as PDIM or not. I'm sure someone else might know.
They are the same part.
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 08:58 PM   #23
sstphoenix
 
sstphoenix's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2LT RS 5th gen
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: montreal
Posts: 358
4th visit and i finally got the update this morning. still the same problems with my iphone.
i mentioned about possibly needing to change the pdim. they have to open up the console to find my code so they know which part to order.

either part they need to order (was a possibility of 3 n they didnt know which) , its a 2 month wait.

yay.

only thing worse than dealing with this was they sent me home in a g5 as a replacement.
sstphoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-30-2010, 08:11 PM   #24
ChuckBuSSter
 
ChuckBuSSter's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Michigan
Posts: 43
Exclamation PDIM Fix is on the way

I told a friend of mine that works at GM about the issue I have been having with my PDIM. He asked me to send him an email describing the problem and he would forward it to the proper people. The next day a GM engineer called me to ask about the problems I have been having. I described the problem. He asked me to try a installing the flash drive only when the radio was on to see if the problem improved. No improvement. A few days later he came to where I worked and installed a experimental version of the PDIM software. We plugged in one of the the Flash drives I had been having problems with and it worked the first time. We plugged and unplugged the drive many times and each time it work. I've had the software in my car for over a week and the PDIM has worked flawlessly. He said the problem was due to a timing issue in the USB interface software. The software wasn't waiting long enough for the Flash drive to respond and it basically timed out.

He said they are having a number of issues with this device and are working to resolve them. He said he would let me know when the production code was released and he would install it in my car.

I wouldn't take your car to the dealer to fix this type of problem until new software is available. If your issue is software related, you will get a new PDIM with the same problem. I'll update this thread when I learn any more.
__________________
Get In. Sit Down. Shut Up and Hold On!
IOM 2SS Manual
ChuckBuSSter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2010, 10:53 AM   #25
Green Monster
 
Green Monster's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Synergy Green, 6-sp auto
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Florida
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChuckBuSSter View Post

He said they are having a number of issues with this device and are working to resolve them. He said he would let me know when the production code was released and he would install it in my car.

I wouldn't take your car to the dealer to fix this type of problem until new software is available. If your issue is software related, you will get a new PDIM with the same problem. I'll update this thread when I learn any more.
I hope they figure something out soon...mine no workie!
__________________
Green Monster
Green Monster is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
flash, pdim, usb

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official PDIM accessory from GM slick rick Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 190 07-13-2012 06:35 PM
Details about PDIM & Bluetooth functionality & upgrading your non C&C car with them Matt'sSS Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 54 12-14-2010 11:41 PM
pm problem drivingincamaro Site Related Announcements / Suggestions / Feedback / Questions 4 06-23-2009 11:20 PM
Somewhat Annoying Back Seat Problem! ZNOLMT 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 5 06-21-2009 10:22 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.