Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
B&M
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 03-31-2010, 08:34 PM   #1
BlownSS

 
BlownSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lincoln Nebraska
Posts: 1,761
Anybody else with Homelink issues?

I tried to program my camaro the other day without success! I went with the instructions......

hit the outside buttons to reset any poss codes......

took an already programmed remote and pushed its button and the homelink to learn the code.........

pushed the smart button on the garage door opener and ....Nothing. It looks like the code is accepted but the opener does not respond.......


any ideas?
__________________
2010 IOM SS/RS LS3, Hennessey HPE550 Polished Magnuson TVS2300 Supercharger. 3.4 Pulley. Kooks long tube headers / high flow cats. GHL Full exhaust. ZL1 Fuel Pump/ADM FPCM. MSW Bap. JRE ZL1 Race cam with new springs/pushrods/Trunion Upgrade. FIC 850cc injectors. ZR1 Map sensor. CAI Induction. JRE Tune.
BlownSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 08:52 PM   #2
buzzy56
buzzy56
 
buzzy56's Avatar
 
Drives: 2ss summit white L99
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: paradise
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlownSS View Post
I tried to program my camaro the other day without success! I went with the instructions......

hit the outside buttons to reset any poss codes......

took an already programmed remote and pushed its button and the homelink to learn the code.........

pushed the smart button on the garage door opener and ....Nothing. It looks like the code is accepted but the opener does not respond.......


any ideas?
Funny same thing happened to me.First attempt would not take.Cleared old codes still not working.Waited two or three days.Went In cleared old codes followed instructions and it worked perfectly.Faster than on my wifes Yukon which I also had trouble setting for quite a few weeks.I think you just need to keep trying to it takes.
__________________
OLD SCHOOL / NEW SCHOOL COOL
buzzy56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 09:05 PM   #3
Moorepheus

 
Drives: 2013 Dodge Charge R/T Plus AWD
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Niagara Falls, NY
Posts: 1,306
wow, mine worked FIRST try.
Moorepheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 09:28 PM   #4
Camaro21


 
Camaro21's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: DFW, TX
Posts: 5,026
I have tried to program mine several times with no avail. It works fine with the gate, but not the overhead door.. I have reset them several times, tried the hold the old door opener close to the homelink button and pushing the switch on the overhead door opener itself. Still no luck
__________________
Camaro21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 09:38 PM   #5
Dangeruss
Bayoucitymusclecars.com
 
Dangeruss's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro LSX
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Spring, TX
Posts: 4,514
Mine's never worked either.

How do I clear the codes? Maybe I'll try that.
__________________
Dangeruss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2010, 09:38 PM   #6
jrpimp00
 
jrpimp00's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 Black/IOM Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fayetteville NC
Posts: 413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camaro21 View Post
I have tried to program mine several times with no avail. It works fine with the gate, but not the overhead door.. I have reset them several times, tried the hold the old door opener close to the homelink button and pushing the switch on the overhead door opener itself. Still no luck
Are you holding it there until the light comes on. My buddy was doing the same thing and his took almost 15 seconds, but mine only took about 5.
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS/RS Black/IOM //// 1998 Pontiac Trans AM 679 RWHP @ 12 PSI
jrpimp00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 08:20 PM   #7
buzzy56
buzzy56
 
buzzy56's Avatar
 
Drives: 2ss summit white L99
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: paradise
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dangeruss View Post
Mine's never worked either.

How do I clear the codes? Maybe I'll try that.
The book has easy to follow instructions that are right after the initial instructions that tell you how to program.I just had to read them over twice to get clarity on how to clear old codes.
__________________
OLD SCHOOL / NEW SCHOOL COOL
buzzy56 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 08:55 PM   #8
ron10


 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM L99
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: LOUISVILLE,KY..
Posts: 7,318
same here,mine wouldn't program,after several tries,still wouldn't work.left it alone a couple of days.read my instructions again,tried it and it worked.problem was,i read the instructions,but i didn't reeeeeealy read them.
ron10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 03:19 PM   #9
Coop 2010
Delivered 05/20/2009
 
Coop 2010's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Allen, TX
Posts: 330
You don't need to do anything with the old remote unless the opener is old and only has one code. For the roaming code openers you just hit the learn button, go to the car and hit the homelink button.
Coop 2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 05:53 PM   #10
pkauf
 
pkauf's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 Crystal Red Convertible RS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Fairview, Texas
Posts: 276
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlownSS View Post
I tried to program my camaro the other day without success! I went with the instructions......

hit the outside buttons to reset any poss codes......

took an already programmed remote and pushed its button and the homelink to learn the code.........

pushed the smart button on the garage door opener and ....Nothing. It looks like the code is accepted but the opener does not respond.......


any ideas?
I had tons of problems when I first started to program mine, but realized i was using one of the "mini" extra remotes that came with my opener. When i switched to the large, original one, programmed first time. I think the mini ones weren't transmitting strong enough or something. Make sure the remote you are using has a new battery also . . .
__________________
pkauf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 01:10 PM   #11
lock

 
lock's Avatar
 
Drives: 11 2SS/RS E-Force Supercharged
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 814
I have a Wayne Dalton and most of those are not compatable with homelink without an added receiver. This has been driving me nuts! Its a different frequency than most openers.
__________________
11 IOM 2SS/RS E-Force Supercharged. 616 RWHP/578 RWTQ. Click link for my journal!!!


lock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 01:57 PM   #12
hot_rod

 
hot_rod's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS RS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,206
Quote:
Originally Posted by jrpimp00 View Post
Are you holding it there until the light comes on. My buddy was doing the same thing and his took almost 15 seconds, but mine only took about 5.

Mine worked first time but as I recalll it did take about 15 seconds.
hot_rod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2010, 05:09 PM   #13
Toasty
Custom User Title :D
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 2,304
I initially had issues with the 'learn' button on the opener and the car... the directions in the manual say to push the button on the opener, then within 30 seconds push the button in the car for 2 seconds. the 2 seconds part is the problem. you have to hold down the button in the car until the opener responds (close/open/lights blink)
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 08:15 AM   #14
Mark Myles
 
Mark Myles's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS IBM / Silver Stripes
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Northeast Michigan
Posts: 604
I had to do both parts the manual called for. 1) Hold the garage door opener near my homelink until the light flashed, then 2) go to the garage door opener itself and push the button on the back, then run to the car and hold down the homelink button til the light flashed as it said in the manual.....then it worked.

Seemed like a lot of redundant work to me...

M
Mark Myles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 09:22 AM   #15
n116ebo
n116
 
n116ebo's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS YELLOW TRANSFORMER AUTO
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: SAN ANGELO TX
Posts: 618
Wish I could try and see if mine works. Wifes Avalanche gets the garage, my Camaro gets the carport. You lucky guys.
n116ebo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2010, 06:22 PM   #16
Toasty
Custom User Title :D
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 2,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by n116ebo View Post
Wish I could try and see if mine works. Wifes Avalanche gets the garage, my Camaro gets the carport. You lucky guys.
Mine is OUTSIDE. But I still go into the house through the garage (attached)
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2012, 10:28 PM   #17
yellowrs
Saftladen
 
Drives: 2010 SS 426 V8 M/T
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Scottsdale AZ
Posts: 1,378
Wayne Dalton

Quote:
Originally Posted by lock View Post
I have a Wayne Dalton and most of those are not compatable with homelink without an added receiver. This has been driving me nuts! Its a different frequency than most openers.
Have you tried hitting the homelink button 9 times and then the smart button?
I also having problems!
It works fine with my Genie garage door.
yellowrs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 09:41 PM   #18
14pilot
Original Bumblebee Owner
 
14pilot's Avatar
 
Drives: 265hp ZX-14, 500hp Silverado, V-ROD
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Arizona
Posts: 1,387
Definately must follow the instructions on this one.

Before programming, reset the button by holding it for about 20 seconds.

Then read the last step #6. I had to use that method of pushing the remote to be learned for 2 seconds, release and push for another 2 seconds, so on... and it worked.
__________________
Quote:
Quote:
#5 - 2010 2SS/RS MN6 ABM #142-Silver Rallys-GFX / Med Titanium
My previous Camaros:
#4 - 1994 Z/28 6M Black over Arctic White / Graphite-Red Inserts - traded
#3 - 1981 Z/28 Bright Blue Metallic / Black - sold
#2 - 1970.5 RS Mulsanne Blue / Blue - endo crashed it and parted it out
#1 - 1967 RS Butternut Yellow w/ Black Bumblebee Stripe-RPO D91 / Parchment-Black - sold
14pilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 01:20 AM   #19
wabibito
 
wabibito's Avatar
 
Drives: 2013 2SS RS
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Orange County, CA
Posts: 195
at first mine doesn't seem to work. the remote open the gate and garage fine. I tried a new fresh battery for the remote and it worked first try.
wabibito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 07:40 AM   #20
rydahog

 
rydahog's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 SS 45th..Auto
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: riverview fl.
Posts: 1,935
if you dont hold the homelink button in untill it flashes FAST...it won't work....but before you do anything...clear all codes from garage door opener itself..
rydahog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-23-2012, 10:41 AM   #21
Sir Nuke
Master of All Things
 
Sir Nuke's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2LT/RS,'14 Caddy CTS Coupe
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Southeast of Houston, Texas
Posts: 15,993
When I first tried to set mine up.....I couldn't get it done. I believe in the instructions somewhere it says there is a time limit to get some of it done, and it would be easier to do with two people. So when I did mine, and it was time to push the buttons in the dorr opener unit, I had my wife to that part when instructed,l and I did everything inside the car.....it worked FIRST TIME doing it that way.....did the same thing for my other cars as well.
__________________
Sir Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rally Stripe Issues and Warranty Issues MRKNJ Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls 10 06-28-2010 11:59 AM
ISSUES with YOUR CAMARO! JewelZ Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls 65 10-03-2009 01:45 PM
Camaro issues L99, 6 speed, quality, etc. larietrope 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 7 07-14-2009 10:03 PM
Issues With My Camaro - We Need a Forum Here Embalmer Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls 14 06-15-2009 01:04 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.