Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack

Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack Discuss issues related to wheels and tires

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-01-2010, 09:35 AM   #1
recontango
 
recontango's Avatar
 
Drives: Synergy Green
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: STL, MO
Posts: 164
Tire Pressure Monitoring Trouble

I have read many threads on here related, but none seem to contain the exact answer for what to do when your car at start up says Service Tire Pressure Monitoring System with the big wrench. When this happens, it wont allow you to do a reset to get back into learn mode and just dashes are shown by each tire. I have nitrogen in my tires, so it isnt easy for me to let pressure out and add back at home. Is there another way to reset the system by pulling a fuse or will the dealership have to take care of this? Sorry for starting another thread about this, but couldn't find what I was looking for.
recontango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 09:51 AM   #2
ron10


 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM L99
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: LOUISVILLE,KY..
Posts: 7,403
i think your dealer will have to deal with that problem.
my problem,is the sensors give me bogus pressure.i put 36lb.in tires and sensors read out 33 to 35lbs.i just don't worry about it.
ron10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:06 AM   #3
skuttduck


 
skuttduck's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 RJT 2LT Camaro
Join Date: May 2009
Location: East Lansing, MI
Posts: 2,528
Send a message via ICQ to skuttduck Send a message via AIM to skuttduck Send a message via Yahoo to skuttduck
I changed out from my winter tires to summer tires this weekend. I had to do the reset, and I found it was far easier to let the air out of each tire than to try and pump them up.

Also on my 2LT, when the car goes into learning mode, the turn signal for the tire it wants to learn will be illuminated. For example the drivers front amber turn signal next to the headlight is first lit up, followed by the passenger front.

I set the pressure in my tires according to the sensors as the gauge on my compressor was a bit off.
skuttduck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2010, 10:24 AM   #4
venice17517
 
venice17517's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Lewistown PA
Posts: 82
The dealer has a tool to do the reset and is only takes 5 min.
venice17517 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 01:06 AM   #5
autopat
 
autopat's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM 2SS
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Casa Grande, AZ.
Posts: 112
Discount can do it too
__________________
So many projects... so little time.

2010 2SS, IOM, IOI, CGM stripes, L99
1999 Astro van, LS
1995 Saturn SC2
1994 Saturn SC1
1992 Saturn SL2
1991 Daihatsu HiJet
1981 C10 Beater, with a heater, er..A/C
1973 Nova SS, 385 stroker, TH400, FOR SALE! (soon)
1966 Suburban, LS bound! Still in a million pieces
1965 C-10, Short, Wide, Big window, all roller 355
autopat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 01:18 AM   #6
FANTA-Z
 
FANTA-Z's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SSRS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Louisville, KY
Posts: 390
I had the same problem with mine and I did the reset with letting the air out of the tires and it worked perfectly. I had all the dashes as your stating as well. Just go into the menu and select the reset. The horn will honk twice and then you start with the driver front. Let the air out and after about 10 seconds you will hear the horn honk. Move to the Passenger front and do the same. When you hear the honk go to the passenger rear........hear the honk and go to the driver rear and after that honk you will get two more honks and this lets you know that all are done. Then you can go back and air the tires back up to where they need to be.
__________________
Glenn
2010 Camaro 2SSRS Inferno Orange Metallic
FANTA-Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 10:15 AM   #7
Nine Ball


 
Nine Ball's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 & 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,842
Another thing to note, the passenger brake must be applied in order to do the reset steps. Always start at the front driver's tire and work your way around the car clockwise.
Nine Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 05:45 PM   #8
JProberts

 
Drives: 2SS RJT RS/Sunroof
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 871
Another question?

When switching tires from stock rims to aftermarket rims should the TPMS always be transferable to the new rims?

Is there ever a case where you need to order new TPMS becasue of adding new rims? My thought was you should be able to use the TPMS from the original wheel as long as the person changing the tires from the old rims to the new rims don't screw them up. I am correct here?

Can the experts here educate me please.

Thought I would pay the price and have the dealer swap the rims for me in case anything went wrong with the TPMS I could hold them responsible and not the rim provider.

Sorry if this was asked already and I missed it.

Thanks
JProberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 06:13 PM   #9
Nine Ball


 
Nine Ball's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 & 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,842
You cannot reuse the rubber stems on the factory TPMS sensors. Those get chewed up if you try to remove them, likely to cause a slow leak on the next set. Most tire shops sell replacement rubber stems. They attach to the sensor with a screw, very simple. Your sensors themselves usually have a life of 8-10 years.
Nine Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 06:31 PM   #10
RickRay
INJACC
 
RickRay's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM 2LT/RS AUTO
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montreal (South Shore)Quebec, Canada
Posts: 5,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nine Ball View Post
Another thing to note, the passenger brake must be applied in order to do the reset steps. Always start at the front driver's tire and work your way around the car clockwise.
the passenger brake must be applied in order to do the reset steps.
__________________
RickRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 06:53 PM   #11
Nine Ball


 
Nine Ball's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 & 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 3,842
Oops, I meant parking brake. It is on the passenger side, LOL

My car won't show the reset option unless the parking brake is pulled up.
Nine Ball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 06:55 PM   #12
JProberts

 
Drives: 2SS RJT RS/Sunroof
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Washington, DC
Posts: 871
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nine Ball View Post
You cannot reuse the rubber stems on the factory TPMS sensors. Those get chewed up if you try to remove them, likely to cause a slow leak on the next set. Most tire shops sell replacement rubber stems. They attach to the sensor with a screw, very simple. Your sensors themselves usually have a life of 8-10 years.
So the sensors themselves aren't an issue, just the rubber valve stems which don't cost much anyway.

Thanks
JProberts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2010, 07:02 PM   #13
RickRay
INJACC
 
RickRay's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM 2LT/RS AUTO
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Montreal (South Shore)Quebec, Canada
Posts: 5,932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nine Ball View Post
Oops, I meant parking brake. It is on the passenger side, LOL

My car won't show the reset option unless the parking brake is pulled up.
Thanks..I'll have to try the Hand Brake next time...
I just press the reset button and it beeps twice ...then I wait a few minutes and it resets to 32 lbs ( My tires are actually at 32 and will bring them up to 36 next week) Question they way I do it is it at 32 cause I didn't do it tire by tire and it goes to the default reading? Also what is the tire pressure for the 18" & 19" tires..20" is 36>>.
__________________
RickRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 04:44 PM   #14
jrpimp00
 
jrpimp00's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 Black/IOM Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fayetteville NC
Posts: 423
Quote:
Originally Posted by JProberts View Post
So the sensors themselves aren't an issue, just the rubber valve stems which don't cost much anyway.

Thanks
Right, I pulled mine off last week, after I took out the screw they popped right off. Like stated its the valve stem that you have to replace because you have to cut the bulb to remove them (atleast if youre doing it the correct way). They were $8 for me at the dealer ship. Putting them back in on Tuesday when I pick up my rims from the powder coater.
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS/RS Black/IOM //// 1998 Pontiac Trans AM 819 RWHP @ 12 PSI
jrpimp00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2010, 08:18 PM   #15
d69chris
Florida C5
 
d69chris's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS Vortech L99 IOM
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tequesta, FL
Posts: 2,615
Send a message via Yahoo to d69chris
If you are getting custom wheels, get low profile valve stems for the TPMS sensors. They drill the hole in the otter lip area and it hits the E-brake cable and my BMR trailing arms. I wish I would not have drilled the rears and used some sort of adaptor. Zip ties to the trailing arm solved the e-brake cable, not sure what I will do on the trailing arms....:(

Oh yea, I'm running 11x20's with 315 in the rear.

I have reset my system twice without using the e-brake.
__________________
Ordered 11/08/08....Del. 08/05/2009 Loving every minute of it! Don't hate me because i'm Pretty....
d69chris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2010, 02:46 PM   #16
BADBROOSTER
 
BADBROOSTER's Avatar
 
Drives: 1978 Z28 & 2010 1SS Camaros
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: KANSAS
Posts: 37
Installed Foose chrome legends and used a hose clamp to hold back E-break. Did not have to apply E-break to relearn tpms.
__________________
BADBROOSTER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2011, 09:15 AM   #17
SB
 
Drives: Chevy Camaro SS 2010
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Miami, Fl
Posts: 1
This makes 4! Yup, it's true. Ive had a sensor replaced on the right rear because the TMS goes bonkers. Heading to dealership Monday. Any advice?
SB is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Colorado members check in here 2010 SS RS USA - Rockies / Midwest 8605 Yesterday 02:20 PM
correct tire pressure? captains1 Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack 9 03-10-2014 05:03 PM
Correct tire pressure Heelhook22 Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack 34 12-21-2009 05:07 PM
Why RAM Air is a myth!!! Long Read (Wall of text) live2well Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons 80 11-02-2009 04:34 PM
Tire Pressure Monitoring Dentyneice Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack 8 08-14-2009 07:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.