Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-08-2010, 07:27 PM   #1
SSCamaro2010
 
SSCamaro2010's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1ss/rs
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Kenosha/wi
Posts: 264
2011 HUD

do you guys think we will be able to install this into a 2010 camaro?? I truelly hope so. the corvettes look sick with this in theirs. I dont know why we didnt get this to begin with. DAMN it. im asumming the dash should look pretty similar so im hoping that they may swap in and out. Hopefully pictures come out soon.
SSCamaro2010 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 10:41 PM   #2
Mr_Draco


 
Mr_Draco's Avatar
 
Drives: 2SS/RS
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Western North Carolina
Posts: 6,346
Only two things stopping it and it's a pretty major hurdle. Everything else wouldn't be a problem other then the shear cost.

Is the 2010 BCM capable of plugging into and operating the 2011 HUD display? And will GM release a program for the 2010 BCM to do so?

Just remember this won't be easy nor cheap like it is to put in options in a different trim level.
Mr_Draco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2010, 10:49 PM   #3
Toasty
Custom User Title :D
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 2,322
the whole entire dash would need to be swapped... i dont think there is a cutout for it in the current dash?
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 06:51 AM   #4
Sheitskees
 
Drives: 2006 Cobalt SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasty View Post
the whole entire dash would need to be swapped... i dont think there is a cutout for it in the current dash?


Quote:
Originally Posted by thegmconnection.com View Post
Just catching on to this thread right now but my answer to your question is windshield replacement and dash cut out or replacement!
Plus HUD component install!
So just from that list there, it obviously can be done but at what price.
Sheitskees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 07:12 AM   #5
AdnanHfuda

 
AdnanHfuda's Avatar
 
Drives: none :(
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 2,128
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sheitskees View Post




So just from that list there, it obviously can be done but at what price.
sounds like its going to be expensive but lets keep our hopes up
__________________
AdnanHfuda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2010, 09:22 AM   #6
Toasty
Custom User Title :D
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 2,322
... the more impossible part comes in when dealing with the BCM. the BCM will need a reprogram, and that will only be available if the 2010 BCM can support the HUD, AND GM Tech services is willing to put a program together for it.... and the mod wouldnt be under factory warranty... wouldnt necessarily void warranty, just wouldnt be covered by existing warranty
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 05:00 PM   #7
chevydude26

 
chevydude26's Avatar
 
Drives: Future 2011 camaro convertible
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 1,259
how would the navigation work with the hud...would it be better than a navigation system?
__________________
I think i flip flopped on the ss bumper...it looks good man...it really does
chevydude26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2010, 05:14 PM   #8
Sheitskees
 
Drives: 2006 Cobalt SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: DFW, Texas
Posts: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevydude26 View Post
how would the navigation work with the hud...would it be better than a navigation system?
I think it's through OnStar. They probably program the directions into the car and the HUD will display which directions you need to turn and such. Just a guess though...
Sheitskees is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 01:07 AM   #9
AlSuwaidi


 
AlSuwaidi's Avatar
 
Drives: BLACK LS3 GCC-Spec
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: UAE - SHARJAH
Posts: 2,878
ahhh prob way to expensive to be worth it...
AlSuwaidi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 11:11 AM   #10
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasty View Post
the whole entire dash would need to be swapped... i dont think there is a cutout for it in the current dash?
There is no cutout, but that doesn't mean a template can't be made to make the cut in an existing dash and install the part. And then there will likely be a trim piece that goes around it to hide the cut edge like in the vette.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasty View Post
... the more impossible part comes in when dealing with the BCM. the BCM will need a reprogram, and that will only be available if the 2010 BCM can support the HUD, AND GM Tech services is willing to put a program together for it.... and the mod wouldnt be under factory warranty... wouldnt necessarily void warranty, just wouldnt be covered by existing warranty

I wouldn't be so sure about needing a BCM reprogram. Theres a data bus that runs through the car that runs the gauges, MFD, and the radio display, more than likely this will piggyback off that and run just like in the Corvette. Being that this was a feature planned for the car originally and the way it functions (its an output only device, no input), I would almost bet money it will plug right in either inline with the gauge cluster or into a connector thats sitting there unused.

The only hold up I can see is where to put the controls for it like on the vette that control the mode, brightness, and position.
__________________
I'm Brick Tamland. People seem to like me because I am polite and I am rarely late. I like to eat ice cream and I really enjoy a nice pair of slacks. Years later, a doctor will tell me that I have an I.Q. of 48 and am what some people call mentally retarded.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1993 Volkswagen Fox - Race Car (yes seriously)

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 02:15 PM   #11
Toasty
Custom User Title :D
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 2,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Leader View Post
There is no cutout, but that doesn't mean a template can't be made to make the cut in an existing dash and install the part. And then there will likely be a trim piece that goes around it to hide the cut edge like in the vette.




I wouldn't be so sure about needing a BCM reprogram. Theres a data bus that runs through the car that runs the gauges, MFD, and the radio display, more than likely this will piggyback off that and run just like in the Corvette. Being that this was a feature planned for the car originally and the way it functions (its an output only device, no input), I would almost bet money it will plug right in either inline with the gauge cluster or into a connector thats sitting there unused.

The only hold up I can see is where to put the controls for it like on the vette that control the mode, brightness, and position.
I suppose there is an outside chace that the BCM won't need a reprogram, since it is just reading data, like you say, which would be the same as the console gauge pack... but i doubt it will be plug and pay with the harness... at least have to splice in the wires, like has to be done on some W-body cars
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 02:19 PM   #12
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,590
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toasty View Post
I suppose there is an outside chace that the BCM won't need a reprogram, since it is just reading data, like you say, which would be the same as the console gauge pack... but i doubt it will be plug and pay with the harness... at least have to splice in the wires, like has to be done on some W-body cars
I still doubt that, the Vette was plug and Play and that was in 1997 however it required a different gauge cluster. The HUD didn't show up for 2 years later though. I am sure based on the fact HUD was planned the first year on this car that the ability to plug it right in is there....
__________________
I'm Brick Tamland. People seem to like me because I am polite and I am rarely late. I like to eat ice cream and I really enjoy a nice pair of slacks. Years later, a doctor will tell me that I have an I.Q. of 48 and am what some people call mentally retarded.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1993 Volkswagen Fox - Race Car (yes seriously)

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:43 PM   #13
Spaceballone
 
Spaceballone's Avatar
 
Drives: 1992 Custom RS, 2006 Civic
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NEw Jersey
Posts: 592
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rogue Leader View Post
I wouldn't be so sure about needing a BCM reprogram. Theres a data bus that runs through the car that runs the gauges, MFD, and the radio display, more than likely this will piggyback off that and run just like in the Corvette. Being that this was a feature planned for the car originally and the way it functions (its an output only device, no input), I would almost bet money it will plug right in either inline with the gauge cluster or into a connector thats sitting there unused.

The only hold up I can see is where to put the controls for it like on the vette that control the mode, brightness, and position.
/Agree. To think that R&D have spent the last year working on the plans to implement this into only the 2011 is unlikely. However there could very well be a dash trim and control functions that could be tricky, but why not implement the controls for the HUD on the DIC or in the Radio where you control everything else. Price would be interesting. Seeing as how they like to rape us on pricing, it aint gonna be cheap, hopefully reasonable / fair for current owners.
Spaceballone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2010, 03:44 PM   #14
Mayhem Matt
IS NOW SUPERBEE MATT!!!!!
 
Mayhem Matt's Avatar
 
Drives: 10' 2SS/RS M6 SUPERCHRGED BUMBLEBEE
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Orange CA
Posts: 607
Damn what a sweet addition... I hope they can retro it into the 2010!!
__________________
Ordered Bumblebee 10/15/2008Part of the Family 6/11/2009 #11423

My Bumblebee to Superbee build story...http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=105163
Superbee's 536hp Dyno Run...http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AE7wePluPAc
Mayhem Matt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 07:15 PM   #15
SSinatra Andretti
2$$
 
SSinatra Andretti's Avatar
 
Drives: 94 ss, 2008 gxp, soon to be2011 2ss
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: OAKLAND, CA
Posts: 266
__________________
burn rubber & write your name in the street
SSinatra Andretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 07:50 PM   #16
franknbeans
Whipped
 
franknbeans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh-ish - PA
Posts: 4,131
I think this would be simple. . . may not be the GM one but all one needs to do is tap into the ODB port to pull the speed signal. This is done already by and Aeroforce gauge. . .

Now I am unsure how the stock HUD works, but I think this could be done.
__________________
The "ManCard"

franknbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 07:59 PM   #17
ron10


 
Drives: 2010 2SS IOM L99
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: LOUISVILLE,KY..
Posts: 7,375
don't see what the big deal is.
ron10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2010, 08:15 PM   #18
SSinatra Andretti
2$$
 
SSinatra Andretti's Avatar
 
Drives: 94 ss, 2008 gxp, soon to be2011 2ss
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: OAKLAND, CA
Posts: 266
THIS LOOKS SO AWESOME.. DONT U AGREE
__________________
burn rubber & write your name in the street
SSinatra Andretti is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 01:35 PM   #19
SS Drifter
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 561
While watching the video I kept waiting for the car to crash into something. This looks like a major distraction.
SS Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2010, 02:02 PM   #20
GMan33
1BADSS
 
GMan33's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Near Chicago
Posts: 57
To me -- it is a MAJOR distraction - had one in a 1995 Pontiac Grand Prix and it was too gimmicky ( is that a word?) It was tough to see at all during the day and a distraction during night driving -- where you are automatically on alert to what is just beyond you headlights-- I would rather have an upgraded CAI or exhaust than the HUD
GMan33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 10:24 AM   #21
SS Drifter
 
Drives: 2010 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: California
Posts: 561
Now if it was an IR imaging system it might be useful. Flip that baby on while driving country roads to avoid large critters.
SS Drifter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 10:31 AM   #22
CamaroScotty
Account Suspended
 
Drives: Your new SLP Camaro!
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cedarburg, WI
Posts: 6,805
Send a message via Yahoo to CamaroScotty
Quote:
Originally Posted by GMan33 View Post
To me -- it is a MAJOR distraction - had one in a 1995 Pontiac Grand Prix and it was too gimmicky ( is that a word?) It was tough to see at all during the day and a distraction during night driving -- where you are automatically on alert to what is just beyond you headlights-- I would rather have an upgraded CAI or exhaust than the HUD
And thats why it should be an OPTION on the 2LT and 2SS - not a standard feature. If you want it, pay for it...people that don't shouldn't have to pay more...
CamaroScotty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 12:25 PM   #23
Toasty
Custom User Title :D
 
Toasty's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 Summit White 2LT/RS
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 2,322
I have one on my Grand Prix now, and I love it. It might be a slight/tiny distraction initially for those that arent used to it, but that should go away after a very very short time, after which it will blend in. you can see through it pretty well. the brightness and position should be adjustable to suit also. I suspect that it would actually end up costing more if it were an orderable option...
Toasty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2010, 08:15 PM   #24
SummoneR
Paul
 
SummoneR's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS M6 "Marauder"
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NOR*CAL
Posts: 6,495
Send a message via Yahoo to SummoneR
Someone in here said the kit for the Vette's run $375, to upgrade a vette that did not come with one. Seeing the GM wanted it in the 2010 model but did not get that far fully it may have what it needs for a easy mod. only time will tell.
__________________
SummoneR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2010, 01:00 PM   #25
Balorr
 
Balorr's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT/RS Camaro
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Rhode Ialand
Posts: 4
If you really want to be cheap and still get your HUD... use your Droid.. there is a HUD app, and ya mount the phone on the dash.. voila.. insta HUD.. But yea, i have one on my 2004 Grand prix and I totaly miss it in my camaro
Balorr is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2011 Camaro pricing & information announced! HUD, Synergy Green, V6 rated at 312hp! Tran 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 962 12-27-2011 05:34 AM
Think about this and the Z28 5th gen 13F20 Camaro ZL1 Forum - ZL1 Specific Topics 41 09-04-2010 01:59 AM
GM Reveals 2011 Chevrolet Silverado HD FenwickHockey65 General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 55 03-04-2010 02:56 PM
HUD on 2011 on Chevy site!!!!! butterfingers 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 2 11-20-2009 08:31 PM
HUD, Aftermarket, Features, Ideas Drsandman2 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 7 10-05-2008 10:12 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.