Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Cold Air Inductions
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-13-2010, 02:25 PM   #1
ToyotaCamaro
 
ToyotaCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: SIM 2LT RS 6M, Toy Tacoma S-Charged
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 117
Installing an Amp and Sub - Help

I'd like to install an amp and a sub in my 2LT. Haven't taken anything apart yet but I hoping somebody might have a "How to" or direct me to a thread that already explains this.

I've been installing stereos, speakers, amps and subs for several years but haven't done it utilizing the stock stereo. Does it already have Pre-Outs, RCA, Audio Outs? Does it have the control, power, remote?

Thanks.
ToyotaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 02:27 PM   #2
sask-man
Sask-man from Sask
 
sask-man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1SSRS M6 Black of course!
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Saskatchewan Canada
Posts: 316
Sorry cant help you on this one, you are way braver than I would be! My brother does most of the electronics where he works at Honda and he's one of two guys in the shop that will even touch that stuff. Everything seems to connect or run through the radio systems these days!
sask-man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 02:31 PM   #3
buffalo_bills
 
Drives: 1967, 2010 Camaro SS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: kansas
Posts: 18
All you have to do is get a line out converter for the RCA's and then hook your remote wire to a fuse that is 12volts when you turn on the car and back to ground with the car off. Power and ground are already in the truck thanks to the battery being back there. Really easy to put together.
buffalo_bills is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 02:33 PM   #4
Rollin Thunder
 
Drives: 07 yukon xl, 07 vette, 10 SRT8
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: va beach va
Posts: 304
you can do a line out converter or take signal from the rear sub (i read on here the rear is a shelf sub) your amp should have the wires you need to tap in to signal from there.
Rollin Thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 02:34 PM   #5
ToyotaCamaro
 
ToyotaCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: SIM 2LT RS 6M, Toy Tacoma S-Charged
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 117
Awesome, Thanks a lot.
ToyotaCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-13-2010, 02:37 PM   #6
Rollin Thunder
 
Drives: 07 yukon xl, 07 vette, 10 SRT8
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: va beach va
Posts: 304
The hardest way is always the best. I would do the extra work, and do a line out converter but thats just me.
Rollin Thunder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2010, 06:49 PM   #7
Iomcamaro
The enjoyment never ends
 
Iomcamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT/RS IOM #25223
Join Date: May 2009
Location: NKY
Posts: 991
i noticed you have the 2lt. that means you have the boston acoustics package and therefore you have a stock amp in the back driver wheel well area. all you would need is this adapter http://subthump.com/product_info.php?products_id=204 for the RCAs. it requires no splicing or any cutting of the wires. it comes out mid to late may if you can wait. if not you can splice into the wires of the wires running into the stock amp for the RCA signals
Iomcamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.