Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
dave@hennessey
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions All DIY projects & discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2010, 11:55 AM   #26
wylde1
I am the Stig
 
wylde1's Avatar
 
Drives: Black w/ IOM stripe 1SS
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Saskatoon, SK, CAN
Posts: 1,312
Excellent, I am going to add this to my list

here's a dumb question though. Where is the USB port? Is it on the PDIM box you added?

I've got the aux jack and a power plug in my console right now, does the USB replace one of these?
__________________
2010 Camaro - 1SS, Black w/ Orange stripes
wylde1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 11:57 AM   #27
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by wylde1 View Post
Excellent, I am going to add this to my list

here's a dumb question though. Where is the USB port? Is it on the PDIM box you added?

I've got the aux jack and a power plug in my console right now, does the USB replace one of these?
The USB port is between the AUX jack and power plug.

The kit comes with a new plug that you replace the old one with in the console.
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 03:44 PM   #28
Rshep
 
Drives: 2010 SS
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 106
alright probably a dumb question but does this enable the Bluetooth phone/connectivity features?
__________________
Rshep is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 03:45 PM   #29
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rshep View Post
alright probably a dumb question but does this enable the Bluetooth phone/connectivity features?
No, you need to replace the Onstar module with a Bluetooth enabled version: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showpo...&postcount=300

The PDIM only allows for streaming music via Bluetooth, not hands free phone.
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 07:36 PM   #30
schlauge
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS
Join Date: May 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 28
OK This looks like a great upgrade...I have an LS ...with just a aux port...does this mean I would need to also put the steering wheel controls into my steering wheel....if so where can i get those parts
schlauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 07:44 PM   #31
schlauge
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS
Join Date: May 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 28
ok I found this
http://chevypartsplus.com/product_in...-switch-p-8497

is that what I need to control the Iphone from my steering wheel.....I know the phone portion will not work until I get the onstar bluestooth box though
schlauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2010, 11:31 PM   #32
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by schlauge View Post
OK This looks like a great upgrade...I have an LS ...with just a aux port...does this mean I would need to also put the steering wheel controls into my steering wheel....if so where can i get those parts
You can control the PDIM (USB port) from the radio without steering wheel controls. But yes, you can also add the steering wheel controls to control the radio.

Quote:
Originally Posted by schlauge View Post
ok I found this
http://chevypartsplus.com/product_in...-switch-p-8497

is that what I need to control the Iphone from my steering wheel.....I know the phone portion will not work until I get the onstar bluestooth box though
Yes, you need the switch but you also need the harness. The harness you need depends on if you have an automatic or manual transmission car.

Auto: http://chevypartsplus.com/product_in...tomatic-p-8499
Manual: http://chevypartsplus.com/product_in...-manual-p-8498

Addind the steering wheel controls also requires a software update to your car to "activate" them: http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=73511
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2010, 08:47 PM   #33
schlauge
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS
Join Date: May 2010
Location: FL
Posts: 28
Awesome thanks slick
schlauge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2010, 12:47 PM   #34
LoneStar


 
LoneStar's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IOM Camaro
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas
Posts: 4,392
To OP: Where/when did you use the 9/32 socket?
LoneStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 07:51 AM   #35
Chobbs11
Account Suspended
 
Chobbs11's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IBM Camaro LS
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 361
Cool thread! One thing that I wanted with my Ls was the Bluetooth hands free feature and was told it cannot be done! Well now I know it can. Thanks
Chobbs11 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2010, 12:27 PM   #36
ShadoChaser
Gamer & Ghosthunter!
 
ShadoChaser's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 VR 2SS/RS L99
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 307
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chobbs11 View Post
Cool thread! One thing that I wanted with my Ls was the Bluetooth hands free feature and was told it cannot be done! Well now I know it can. Thanks

The PDIM module only adds the bluetooth audio streaming (on all models) & USB, it does not add the Hands Free feature for the phone.

For that you need a Onstar Module with Bluetooth.

ShadoChaser
__________________
Traded my LS for a 2SS, Now Mods Start Again
Ceramic Window Tints (35%), gen5diy MyLink Mod
ShadoChaser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 02:58 PM   #37
Edge.128

 
Edge.128's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,067
what are you guys paying to get the software update? and about how long does it take?
__________________
2010 Summit White Camaro LS / M6
MRT V2.0

Edge.128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-20-2010, 04:08 PM   #38
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge.128 View Post
what are you guys paying to get the software update? and about how long does it take?
It should take less than an hour to update. At most your dealer will charge you for an hour (I think going rates are $90+/hour).
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2010, 05:27 PM   #39
Edge.128

 
Edge.128's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,067
Quote:
Originally Posted by slick rick View Post
It should take less than an hour to update. At most your dealer will charge you for an hour (I think going rates are $90+/hour).
ok that seems to be about right with what my dealer has told me. just wanted to make sure i was on the right path. thanks.
__________________
2010 Summit White Camaro LS / M6
MRT V2.0

Edge.128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-22-2010, 07:50 AM   #40
jtzako

 
Drives: 2010 IBM Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: DFW, Tx
Posts: 1,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by Edge.128 View Post
ok that seems to be about right with what my dealer has told me. just wanted to make sure i was on the right path. thanks.
Cost me $40 to get the update and they had not done it before... I would definitely not pay $90 for it.
__________________
2010 Camaro SS Imperial Blue | CAI Inc, CAI | Solo Hi Flow Cats | X-Pipe | Backup Camera | PDIM
jtzako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 03:58 PM   #41
2010IBMSS
 
2010IBMSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: (915) TX
Posts: 647
installed mine...gonna see how it goes now with the dealership.....
2010IBMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2010, 03:59 PM   #42
Edge.128

 
Edge.128's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,067
cool keep us up to date
__________________
2010 Summit White Camaro LS / M6
MRT V2.0

Edge.128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 05:19 PM   #43
2010IBMSS
 
2010IBMSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: (915) TX
Posts: 647
Damn it!!! my dealer does not know how to update the radio. They told me they updated it but the USB and the aux is not working. The service advisor told me that since I installed it, I would need to check the cable, that it might be installed wrong....I told him that I followed the instructions exactly...I will see if I can take it to another dealer and see what happens.

since I installed the gauges, do you all think it might be the harness from the gauges that might be the culprit?
2010IBMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 05:38 PM   #44
Darth Martel
Darth Martel
 
Darth Martel's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 1SS with 20% tinted windows
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bizzaroland
Posts: 943
The harness from the console to the gauges is just a passthrough except for the 3 wires going to the gauge cluster. The way to check if the harness is ok is to see if your USB and 12V port in the glovebox have power. You should be able to plug a device into the USB port and at least have power. Same with the 12V outlet. You should have power. If you don't then yes, you have a problem with the harness somewhere in that line.

If you find you have power then most likely your techs are mentally challenged. Have no fear. Mine were as well. When I picked my car up from getting my BCM reprogrammed for steering wheel controls and radio updated for PDIM, I had steering wheel controls but, no PDIM. I checked before I drove off. I quickly went back in and told them I had no PDIM. They told me they reprogrammed it . I told them to put my car back into the shop and I'd show them the error of their ways. I walked back and showed them that I had power at the USB input as well as the 12V outlet. I had no USB support at the radio and now my AUX wasn't working either. The fact that I used the harness that came with the PDIM as well as had power at the outlet and USB port made me confident that it was a programming issue. Easy solution though. Getting your PDIM to work is a 5 minute programming procedure. All they have to do is connect your car to the tech tool and talk to the GM mothership where your car information is stored. They have to navigate to the info about your options and under your stereo/sound/entertainment section they check that you now have a PDIM installed. They then just need to update your radio with this information so, the radio knows you now have a PDIM and voila... you should be in business. I've found out that unfortunately, what they do in these shops is put their new hires on programming stuff. So, you've got complete noobs out there trying to update your radios and program your BCMs. Without explicit instructions in front of them you are definitely more informed than they are. Print out my post and take it back into them. It's not their fault they don't know this shit. It's the fact that they haven't been trained to do this stuff.

Good luck and hope this helps. If you find you don't have power to your USB or 12V outlet then post back or hit me with a PM and I can try and talk you through troubleshooting it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010IBMSS View Post
Damn it!!! my dealer does not know how to update the radio. They told me they updated it but the USB and the aux is not working. The service advisor told me that since I installed it, I would need to check the cable, that it might be installed wrong....I told him that I followed the instructions exactly...I will see if I can take it to another dealer and see what happens.

since I installed the gauges, do you all think it might be the harness from the gauges that might be the culprit?
Darth Martel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 05:41 PM   #45
2010IBMSS
 
2010IBMSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: (915) TX
Posts: 647
pm inbound!
2010IBMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 05:48 PM   #46
2010IBMSS
 
2010IBMSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: (915) TX
Posts: 647
just to let you guys know, when I plug in my ipod, on the ipod screen it states " ok to disconnect" with a check mark on it....so I definitely have power to it......
2010IBMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 05:59 PM   #47
Darth Martel
Darth Martel
 
Darth Martel's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 1SS with 20% tinted windows
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bizzaroland
Posts: 943
Like I said, in my post and in my PM response to you... They didn't know what they were doing.

They simply need to update the GM mainframe (mothership) on your vehicle information page and add in that you now have a PDIM. They then need to have the mainframe update your radio with the latest information so the radio knows you have a PDIM. It's as easy as that. Walk back to the service area with them if they let you so you can watch them. You'll be amazed at how easy it really is.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010IBMSS View Post
just to let you guys know, when I plug in my ipod, on the ipod screen it states " ok to disconnect" with a check mark on it....so I definitely have power to it......
Darth Martel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 01:37 PM   #48
2010IBMSS
 
2010IBMSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: (915) TX
Posts: 647
ok, so I went back and told the advisor " the PDIM is a total separate programming issue from the BCM, can you have your tech follow these simple procedures?" as I handed him the "programming vehicle" page of the PDIM installation instructions......20 minutes later, the advisor came back and said,"can you try your USB drive" BAM!!! it works.....all of that hassle for nothin.....He apologized and said thanks for coming back.

long story short, got my PDIM and steering wheel controls to work.

Again, thanks to DARTH MARTEL....
2010IBMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 02:23 PM   #49
Darth Martel
Darth Martel
 
Darth Martel's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 1SS with 20% tinted windows
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bizzaroland
Posts: 943
You're welcome my friend. Glad I could help you out. Hopefully, everybody else reads this and just takes all the info they can with them the first time. Also, hope any new people to this know to get a price quote on getting this stuff done BEFORE you actually drop your car off. Otherwise, you're giving them license to charge you for them to learn how to do this stuff.

Rock on brother, and enjoy your new toys.
Darth Martel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 02:24 PM   #50
Edge.128

 
Edge.128's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,067
ya for sure this is great info. i plan to re-read everything and print it all out and bring it with me before i bring it to the dealer. i already got a price for the install so that is key to get that before they do the work. i likely won't get to it for a while... but this is all great info thanks
__________________
2010 Summit White Camaro LS / M6
MRT V2.0

Edge.128 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pfadt Race Engineering DIY Drop Spring installation procedure PfadtRacing Suspension / Chassis / Brakes 20 09-23-2011 09:31 PM
PDIM / USB port firmware update done in Houston? rolnslo USA - Texas 28 02-09-2010 03:46 PM
USB port stopped working philthy Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 85 11-11-2009 06:14 PM
USB port intermittent... shall we compile a list of PDIM failures? JDBeck23 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 49 09-01-2009 01:57 AM
USB Port location/relocation 2ssJB Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 15 05-01-2009 04:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.