Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Rick@Livernois
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2010, 06:19 PM   #43
2010IBMSS
 
2010IBMSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: (915) TX
Posts: 646
Damn it!!! my dealer does not know how to update the radio. They told me they updated it but the USB and the aux is not working. The service advisor told me that since I installed it, I would need to check the cable, that it might be installed wrong....I told him that I followed the instructions exactly...I will see if I can take it to another dealer and see what happens.

since I installed the gauges, do you all think it might be the harness from the gauges that might be the culprit?
2010IBMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 06:38 PM   #44
Darth Martel
Darth Martel
 
Darth Martel's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 1SS with 20% tinted windows
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bizzaroland
Posts: 1,196
The harness from the console to the gauges is just a passthrough except for the 3 wires going to the gauge cluster. The way to check if the harness is ok is to see if your USB and 12V port in the glovebox have power. You should be able to plug a device into the USB port and at least have power. Same with the 12V outlet. You should have power. If you don't then yes, you have a problem with the harness somewhere in that line.

If you find you have power then most likely your techs are mentally challenged. Have no fear. Mine were as well. When I picked my car up from getting my BCM reprogrammed for steering wheel controls and radio updated for PDIM, I had steering wheel controls but, no PDIM. I checked before I drove off. I quickly went back in and told them I had no PDIM. They told me they reprogrammed it . I told them to put my car back into the shop and I'd show them the error of their ways. I walked back and showed them that I had power at the USB input as well as the 12V outlet. I had no USB support at the radio and now my AUX wasn't working either. The fact that I used the harness that came with the PDIM as well as had power at the outlet and USB port made me confident that it was a programming issue. Easy solution though. Getting your PDIM to work is a 5 minute programming procedure. All they have to do is connect your car to the tech tool and talk to the GM mothership where your car information is stored. They have to navigate to the info about your options and under your stereo/sound/entertainment section they check that you now have a PDIM installed. They then just need to update your radio with this information so, the radio knows you now have a PDIM and voila... you should be in business. I've found out that unfortunately, what they do in these shops is put their new hires on programming stuff. So, you've got complete noobs out there trying to update your radios and program your BCMs. Without explicit instructions in front of them you are definitely more informed than they are. Print out my post and take it back into them. It's not their fault they don't know this shit. It's the fact that they haven't been trained to do this stuff.

Good luck and hope this helps. If you find you don't have power to your USB or 12V outlet then post back or hit me with a PM and I can try and talk you through troubleshooting it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010IBMSS View Post
Damn it!!! my dealer does not know how to update the radio. They told me they updated it but the USB and the aux is not working. The service advisor told me that since I installed it, I would need to check the cable, that it might be installed wrong....I told him that I followed the instructions exactly...I will see if I can take it to another dealer and see what happens.

since I installed the gauges, do you all think it might be the harness from the gauges that might be the culprit?
Darth Martel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 06:41 PM   #45
2010IBMSS
 
2010IBMSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: (915) TX
Posts: 646
pm inbound!
2010IBMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 06:48 PM   #46
2010IBMSS
 
2010IBMSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: (915) TX
Posts: 646
just to let you guys know, when I plug in my ipod, on the ipod screen it states " ok to disconnect" with a check mark on it....so I definitely have power to it......
2010IBMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 06:59 PM   #47
Darth Martel
Darth Martel
 
Darth Martel's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 1SS with 20% tinted windows
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bizzaroland
Posts: 1,196
Like I said, in my post and in my PM response to you... They didn't know what they were doing.

They simply need to update the GM mainframe (mothership) on your vehicle information page and add in that you now have a PDIM. They then need to have the mainframe update your radio with the latest information so the radio knows you have a PDIM. It's as easy as that. Walk back to the service area with them if they let you so you can watch them. You'll be amazed at how easy it really is.


Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010IBMSS View Post
just to let you guys know, when I plug in my ipod, on the ipod screen it states " ok to disconnect" with a check mark on it....so I definitely have power to it......
Darth Martel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 02:37 PM   #48
2010IBMSS
 
2010IBMSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: (915) TX
Posts: 646
ok, so I went back and told the advisor " the PDIM is a total separate programming issue from the BCM, can you have your tech follow these simple procedures?" as I handed him the "programming vehicle" page of the PDIM installation instructions......20 minutes later, the advisor came back and said,"can you try your USB drive" BAM!!! it works.....all of that hassle for nothin.....He apologized and said thanks for coming back.

long story short, got my PDIM and steering wheel controls to work.

Again, thanks to DARTH MARTEL....
2010IBMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 03:23 PM   #49
Darth Martel
Darth Martel
 
Darth Martel's Avatar
 
Drives: Black 1SS with 20% tinted windows
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Bizzaroland
Posts: 1,196
You're welcome my friend. Glad I could help you out. Hopefully, everybody else reads this and just takes all the info they can with them the first time. Also, hope any new people to this know to get a price quote on getting this stuff done BEFORE you actually drop your car off. Otherwise, you're giving them license to charge you for them to learn how to do this stuff.

Rock on brother, and enjoy your new toys.
Darth Martel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 03:24 PM   #50
Edge.128

 
Edge.128's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro LS
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,912
ya for sure this is great info. i plan to re-read everything and print it all out and bring it with me before i bring it to the dealer. i already got a price for the install so that is key to get that before they do the work. i likely won't get to it for a while... but this is all great info thanks
__________________
2010 Summit White Camaro LS / M6
MRT V2.0

Edge.128 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 04:07 PM   #51
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,488
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2010IBMSS View Post
long story short, got my PDIM and steering wheel controls to work.
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 04:53 PM   #52
2010IBMSS
 
2010IBMSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: (915) TX
Posts: 646
thanks to Slick Rick too!!!
2010IBMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2010, 05:04 PM   #53
2010IBMSS
 
2010IBMSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: (915) TX
Posts: 646
I had to pay the 1hr rate of $80, plus the $50 for the program from GM, so out the door it was 141 with tax. Not too shabby....but the two trips to the dealer I could have done without.
2010IBMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 05:10 PM   #54
2010IBMSS
 
2010IBMSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: (915) TX
Posts: 646
Damn it!! went out to my car and......freaking PIDM does not work. WTF?
2010IBMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 05:21 PM   #55
jtzako

 
Drives: 2010 IBM Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: DFW, Tx
Posts: 1,157
I've seen others post theirs stopped working, most likely if you reboot whatever device you have that stopped working it should start working in the car again. Of course, it is also possible the pdim is faulty.. some folks have had that too.
__________________
2010 Camaro SS Imperial Blue | CAI Inc, CAI | Solo Hi Flow Cats | X-Pipe | Backup Camera | PDIM
jtzako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2010, 05:32 PM   #56
2010IBMSS
 
2010IBMSS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS RS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: (915) TX
Posts: 646
had to disconnect the battery and got it to work....sucks.
2010IBMSS is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pfadt Race Engineering DIY Drop Spring installation procedure PfadtRacing Suspension / Chassis / Brakes 20 09-23-2011 10:31 PM
PDIM / USB port firmware update done in Houston? rolnslo USA - Texas 28 02-09-2010 04:46 PM
USB port stopped working philthy Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 85 11-11-2009 07:14 PM
USB port intermittent... shall we compile a list of PDIM failures? JDBeck23 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 49 09-01-2009 02:57 AM
USB Port location/relocation 2ssJB Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 15 05-01-2009 05:28 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.