Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
ModBargains
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-17-2010, 05:02 PM   #1
bundy26
 
Drives: 2010 1SS, BLK on BLK
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dover, NJ
Posts: 18
Installed 2DIN pioneer and metra kit.

It took me about 3 hrs. but I finally did it, the first obstacle was cutting the inside of the dash and then it was all the wires to connect, it came out looking pretty good.


bundy26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 05:35 PM   #2
Silver Ice Man
 
Silver Ice Man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 2SS/RS Spring limited edition
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Sylvan Lake, Ab
Posts: 472
Quote:
Originally Posted by bundy26 View Post
It took me about 3 hrs. but I finally did it, the first obstacle was cutting the inside of the dash and then it was all the wires to connect, it came out looking pretty good.
Wow awesome job, would you be able to describe how to get the dash apart to get the stock unit out, please.
I am right on the edge of pulling the trigger to buy a metra kit like this, but am a little gun shy on the removal of the stock one. Thanx for any help.
Also how was the wiring, all plug and play or was there alot of cutting and splicing of speaker wires, power wires, etc.
Thanx again.
__________________
2014 2SS/RS, Spring Limited Edition...
Ask yourself.....when you turn on your car..... Does it return the favor.....lol
MODS: CIA cold air intake, Oil catch can, Dynatech Cat back exhaust, more to follow....
Silver Ice Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 05:44 PM   #3
bundy26
 
Drives: 2010 1SS, BLK on BLK
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dover, NJ
Posts: 18
The wiring is pretty much straight up, just follow the installation manual and it will be fine ( at first I just looked at the 3 different harnesses for a while but then figured out how to do it ).There is no splicing wires to the factory harness, just to the aftermarket radio harness.
To remove the radio you have to remove the shifter surround and the whole center console , sorry that I couldn't take pics but there has to be a thread about this somewhere, the removal of the center console is pretty much straight up too.
It's easier than it looks.
bundy26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 06:38 PM   #4
oachalon

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 888
No room to fit the aftermarket unit without cutting? Most cars i have worked on its quite tight behind the radio, but i have always been able to install them without cutting.
oachalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 06:54 PM   #5
bundy26
 
Drives: 2010 1SS, BLK on BLK
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dover, NJ
Posts: 18
If it was just one wire harness it wouldn't be necessary to cut, but you have to install the interface for the onstar and there is no room for everything, plus the installation instructions tell you to cut.
bundy26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 07:25 PM   #6
oachalon

 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Mentor, Ohio
Posts: 888
I understand what you mean on fitting the harnesses. I installed a nav in my saturn aura xr and i have the metra module for the onstar and the steering wheel control module jammed in behind the radio. It took me like 30 min to get everything to fit, but i did without cutting.

I would have to take my car apart and look to see if it would be difficult. Im not going put a nav unit in my camaro until i can keep factory hvac control.

Again nice work though.
oachalon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2010, 07:33 PM   #7
bundy26
 
Drives: 2010 1SS, BLK on BLK
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Dover, NJ
Posts: 18
It takes a while getting used to the button HVAC controls but you get used to it , plus the LCD screen looks unique.
I installed the same radio in my brother's Altima coupe with a Pioneer DEH9200 DSP, and there is tons of room behind the radio, not all cars are created equal, the camaro is probably the one one with the smallest space behind the radio.
bundy26 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 04:27 PM   #8
Topdown
The wait is over!
 
Topdown's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, IOM, L99, Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,081
Quote:
Originally Posted by thespymaster View Post
To get the METRA KIT to display the HOOTERS GIRL, you simply just hold down the "SNOWFLAKE" icon for 3-5 seconds!!
In case you were interested...
Topdown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 10:51 PM   #9
RBC2010SSRS
 
RBC2010SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS RS 6spd. 402 rwhp
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ft Worth TX
Posts: 70
What is the blue screen above the double din?
__________________
LS3 dreamin
RBC2010SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2010, 11:03 PM   #10
camaro104
 
camaro104's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CGM Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Woodland Park, N.J.
Posts: 289
Send a message via AIM to camaro104
Let me get this straight installing the new radio didn't disable the on star system? can you still use the on star? Oh does the steering wheel controls still work also?

Last edited by camaro104; 04-19-2010 at 11:05 PM. Reason: adding
camaro104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 02:12 AM   #11
off1c3r
 
Drives: 2008 impala ss
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: queens, NY
Posts: 56
I am guessing the blue lcd screen on the top of the nav displays changes to the hvac?
off1c3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 06:12 PM   #12
King T

 
King T's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2SS, 2011 Buick Regal Turbo
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Nashville, Tennessee
Posts: 1,153
Quote:
Originally Posted by camaro104 View Post
Let me get this straight installing the new radio didn't disable the on star system? can you still use the on star? Oh does the steering wheel controls still work also?
1). No
2). Yes
3). Yes
__________________
King T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 09:48 PM   #13
RBC2010SSRS
 
RBC2010SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS RS 6spd. 402 rwhp
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Ft Worth TX
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBC2010SSRS View Post
What is the blue screen above the double din?

Its the AC display. I feel dumb for asking
__________________
LS3 dreamin
RBC2010SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-20-2010, 09:58 PM   #14
pnsh3r
 
Drives: 2010 SS 6MT
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: ILLINOIS
Posts: 18
that fit on the top left corner is horrible. You can even see the light shining out of it - that would annoy the hell out of me.
I guess it is a love it or hate it kinda setup here - but, factory unit looks much better to me.
As long as you enjoy it, though - I guess that all that matters in the end
pnsh3r is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 11:57 AM   #15
dr1ven
 
Drives: '10 CGM
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by King T View Post
1). No
2). Yes
3). Yes
Did u need to buy a seperate accessory for the Nav to work with your steering wheel controls? I have the Pioneero Avic z110bt and bought this accessory because I thought it was required. (along with the ipod cable, xm, rearview cam)
__________________
2SS/RS CGM. Black Int. Black Stripes. Grnd Effects.

1100: 09/1/09
3800: 12/18/09
Picked Up at the Dealership: 1/4/10

dr1ven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 12:33 PM   #16
guyjusthere
 
guyjusthere's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Miami, FL
Posts: 229
does the lcd match the interior lighting color?
guyjusthere is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2010, 12:49 PM   #17
MacTruck
 
MacTruck's Avatar
 
Drives: Camaro RS
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 318
Quote:
Originally Posted by guyjusthere View Post
does the lcd match the interior lighting color?

It can be adjusted:


CHANGING THE DISPLAY BACK LIGHT COLOR

1. Press the Front Defrost button for 5 seconds, the unit will go into "Configure Backlight Color" mode. The display backlight will blink while in this mode.

2. Press and hold the Face button to increase Red.

3. Press and hold the Foot button to decrease Red.

4. Press and hold the Foot/Face button to increase Green.

5. Press and hold the Foot/Def button to decrease Green.

6. Press and hold the Fan Up button to increase Blue.

7. Press and hold the Fan Down button to decrease Blue.

8. After you choose your color stop pressing the buttons and the blinking will stop and hte color chosen will stay.
__________________
Soon - Camaro Black 1SS/RS Convertible
Piece of Crap Toyota Tundra 4x4 CREWMAX SR5 5.7L
Yeah, I'm 7yrs old
MacTruck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2010, 05:17 PM   #18
Topdown
The wait is over!
 
Topdown's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro, IOM, L99, Auto
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington
Posts: 1,081
nevermind...

Last edited by Topdown; 04-23-2010 at 06:02 PM.
Topdown is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.