Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Classic Industries
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6)

V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) Driveshafts | Differentials | Gears | Rearends | Clutch | Shifters

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-13-2008, 09:35 PM   #1
69er
 
Drives: 69 Z/28 , 83 Z/28 (L69), 10 2SS CGM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico
Posts: 281
SKIP-SHIFT??????

Someone in another thread mentioned that the manual transmission has skip-shift. I thought they did away with this on the Corvette years ago!

Say it ain't true!! How do I disable it??

I ain't gonna have no friggin' computer tell me how and when to shift!!!!!!!! !!!
69er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 09:40 PM   #2
RallyFever
Senior Member
 
RallyFever's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 749
My vette had a light in the dash come on when it was ACCEPTABLE to shift from 1st to fourth, but that's the extent of the system.
RallyFever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 09:40 PM   #3
ZZcamaro


 
Drives: 2SS w/ ZZ427 Package!!
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 2,706
OH please dont let this happen....I hated that darn skip-shift!!!
ZZcamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 09:43 PM   #4
bolteon593

 
Drives: 2011 GT500
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: southern california
Posts: 902
why? doesn't seem like such a bad idea to me.
bolteon593 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 10:10 PM   #5
bret03
 
bret03's Avatar
 
Drives: 30th anniversary Z28, Jeep XJ
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: MN
Posts: 282
On my 4th gen a $30 dummy plug from Jegs that gets plugged into the wiring near the transmission solved that problem, but I have driven newer Corvettes already without the feature.
__________________
bret03 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 10:19 PM   #6
franknbeans
Whipped
 
franknbeans's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 CAMARO
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh-ish - PA
Posts: 4,141
Yes it will have the skip shift from 1st to 4th.
franknbeans is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 10:24 PM   #7
CamaroSpike23
Mr. Nitpicky
 
CamaroSpike23's Avatar
 
Drives: anything I can get my hands on
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: anywhere and everywhere
Posts: 22,930
Send a message via Yahoo to CamaroSpike23
$5.00 resistor from radioshack will take care of it.
__________________
Never race anything you can't afford to light on fire and push off a cliff
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowtieGuy View Post
Nobody makes CamaroSpike happy. You just disgust him a little less than other people.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bulldogwinters View Post
Read that link that Spike posted, it'll tell you everything you need to know.
Quote:
Originally Posted by WheelmanSS View Post
Post count is truly an accurate measure of how cool someone is on the Internet.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Greg Norris View Post
I piss excellence
and fart awesomeness
Quote:
Originally Posted by BowtieGuy View Post
Nobody makes CamaroSpike happy. You just disgust him a little less than other people.
"You can think I'm wrong, but that's no reason to quit thinking.”
Quote:
Originally Posted by Overflow View Post
But not all people were born awesome like you, Spike.
CamaroSpike23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 10:25 PM   #8
headpunter
Not That sad..considering
 
headpunter's Avatar
 
Drives: Man
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: the part of washington the capital forgot about.
Posts: 3,784
Send a message via AIM to headpunter
i dont get it, why is it so bad to have a skip shift thing? Learn2Shift?
__________________
headpunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 10:32 PM   #9
Captain Awesome
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 3,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by CamaroSpike23 View Post
$5.00 resistor from radioshack will take care of it.
I think Radio Shack stopped selling discrete components 5 or 6 years ago. Certainly they are gone from all my local stores.
Captain Awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 10:34 PM   #10
Captain Awesome
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 3,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by headpunter View Post
i dont get it, why is it so bad to have a skip shift thing? Learn2Shift?
Just learn how to throttle the gas to keep the fool thing from triggering. It's not hard at all. I don't even notice mine there anymore.
Captain Awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 10:45 PM   #11
Jamestwilliams
junior member
 
Drives: Grand Am
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Awesome View Post
Just learn how to throttle the gas to keep the fool thing from triggering. It's not hard at all. I don't even notice mine there anymore.
The following is based on what I have heard about skip shift so I could be wrong. I thought that the skip shift function only kicked in under normal light acceleration conditions, and was deactivated when you either used additional throttle or held first gear longer.
Jamestwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 10:53 PM   #12
69er
 
Drives: 69 Z/28 , 83 Z/28 (L69), 10 2SS CGM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico
Posts: 281
Quote:
Originally Posted by headpunter View Post
i dont get it, why is it so bad to have a skip shift thing? Learn2Shift?
After a few times of trying to shift into second and it doesn't go in, that would drive me insane. I could get used to it, but I don't want to!

I don't know how much throttle you have to use to stop it, but it seems that this would make me use that amount of throttle all time and increase the amount of emissions and ruin the gas mileage this function is supposed to help with.
69er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 10:56 PM   #13
Captain Awesome
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: New York
Posts: 3,747
Quote:
Originally Posted by 69-er View Post
After a few times of trying to shift into second and it doesn't go in, that would drive me insane. I could get used to it, but I don't want to!

I don't know how much throttle you have to use to stop it, but it seems that this would make me use that amount of throttle all time and increase the amount of emissions and ruin the gas mileage this function is supposed to help with.
I drive 25 miles to work each way, and go through 2 stoplights and 2 stopsigns. I seriously doubt that you could measure the difference that skip-shift makes in my commute. 99% of my drive is in 6th gear.
Captain Awesome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 11:05 PM   #14
69er
 
Drives: 69 Z/28 , 83 Z/28 (L69), 10 2SS CGM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico
Posts: 281
True, but I'm also looking at it from the EPA view. If you tend to keep giving it a certain amount of throttle above the normal light cruising, then the emissions might be increased, along with the theoretical decrease in mileage, however minor. They try to get every drop, you know.

I'm just grasping for straws as to why it has to be!
69er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 11:08 PM   #15
Jamestwilliams
junior member
 
Drives: Grand Am
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 534
Really if you think about what skip shift is doing it's kind of like the old days the really old days when the model t only had a two speed transmission kinda fun. The first manual in a corvette only had three speeds. It's really just reducing the number of gears.
Jamestwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 11:11 PM   #16
69er
 
Drives: 69 Z/28 , 83 Z/28 (L69), 10 2SS CGM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico
Posts: 281
Yeah, but it's a lot bigger RPM drop between 1-4.
69er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 11:13 PM   #17
headpunter
Not That sad..considering
 
headpunter's Avatar
 
Drives: Man
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: the part of washington the capital forgot about.
Posts: 3,784
Send a message via AIM to headpunter
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jamestwilliams View Post
Really if you think about what skip shift is doing it's kind of like the old days the really old days when the model t only had a two speed transmission kinda fun. The first manual in a corvette only had three speeds. It's really just reducing the number of gears.
thats the spirit, use nostalgia to justify it.
__________________
headpunter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 11:16 PM   #18
LSxJunkie
Snark snark snark
 
LSxJunkie's Avatar
 
Drives: RX350
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: 3L Hell
Posts: 556
The skipshift is there solely to help the Camaro (and all of GM's manual LSx cars) beat the gas guzzler tax. That's also why all of these cars have ridiculously long gearing.

.50 6th gear combined with a 3.46 rear (ratios from my Goat) = 2000 rpm cruising at 80 on the highway, barely sipping gas.
__________________
What is this, CorvetteForum Lite?
LSxJunkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 11:33 PM   #19
Jamestwilliams
junior member
 
Drives: Grand Am
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by headpunter View Post
thats the spirit, use nostalgia to justify it.
Just don't tell anyone what the Model T 0-60 times were, that is if it could even reach sixty. My dad drove in one when he was a kid, the throttle was on the stearing column and the foot pedal was the gear shift. The pedal when fully depressed was low, when you released the pedal that was high gear.
Jamestwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 11:37 PM   #20
69er
 
Drives: 69 Z/28 , 83 Z/28 (L69), 10 2SS CGM
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Alamogordo, New Mexico
Posts: 281
I did a little research and read an extremely long thread on a Corvette forum about disabling the Skip-Shift, AKA CAGS, (Computer Aided Gear Selection). Use a CAGS eliminator or use a 2.2Kohm resistor in place of the solenoid, like CamaroSpike23 said.

It also sounds like you have to drive extremely conservatively to set off the CAGS.
69er is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 12:45 AM   #21
MerlinZero
Big Orange
 
MerlinZero's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Chevrolet Camaro 2SS/RS
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Kent, WA
Posts: 1,170
I dont think it was the Skip-Shift that was being talked about.

I believe the No Lift Shift was what was being talked about. Which i personally believe is AWESOME
MerlinZero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 12:52 AM   #22
Jamestwilliams
junior member
 
Drives: Grand Am
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 534
I know I mentioned the no lift shift as a possibilty in another thread (wishful thinking on my part) it's really most effective on forced induction vehicles like the Cobalt SS and Corvette ZR-1. I certainly at the time had no idea about the reality of the situation regarding no lift shift, and as of right now I am certain it is not available.
Jamestwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 01:05 AM   #23
MajorTom
 
MajorTom's Avatar
 
Drives: 2005 Pontiac GTO
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Saint Louis, MO
Posts: 307
If this was in the thread with the LS3 or L99 poll it was me who mentioned it. And no I wasn't talking about no-lift-shift. Definitely skip shift.

My GTO had the Skip-Shift feature. It's only an annoyance around town. And yeah, a 30 dollar plug-in from aftermarket places and such will disable it.


Like someone else said, it only kicks in under light acceleration. I think it's supposed to be around 20 percent throttle. And after the engine has warmed up and all that. If you keep in mind that it's there, you'll remember to look out for it.

And believe it or not, it physically locks you out of 2nd and 3rd gears. You can only shift to fourth. I've never tried going higher since it only happens under light load.


To be honest, in a stick shift car with this much torque, you can get better fuel econ by being judicious about which gear you shift to. You don't have to go to second as evidenced by the presence of this feature. I typically go to 3rd so I have the torque to accelerate faster than in 4th.

Being made to shift to fourth sucks. But it's how the M6 cars are able to get good gas mileage ratings from the EPA. It's not a bad feature, it's just that it makes you do it that's annoying. If you're smart and concerned about fuel economy at all, as most guys who drive their camaros every day will be, you'll do something like this anyway.
MajorTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 01:14 AM   #24
Jamestwilliams
junior member
 
Drives: Grand Am
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: canada
Posts: 534
Quote:
Originally Posted by MajorTom View Post
If this was in the thread with the LS3 or L99 poll it was me who mentioned it. And no I wasn't talking about no-lift-shift. Definitely skip shift.

My GTO had the Skip-Shift feature. It's only an annoyance around town. And yeah, a 30 dollar plug-in from aftermarket places and such will disable it.


Like someone else said, it only kicks in under light acceleration. I think it's supposed to be around 20 percent throttle. And after the engine has warmed up and all that. If you keep in mind that it's there, you'll remember to look out for it.

And believe it or not, it physically locks you out of 2nd and 3rd gears. You can only shift to fourth. I've never tried going higher since it only happens under light load.


To be honest, in a stick shift car with this much torque, you can get better fuel econ by being judicious about which gear you shift to. You don't have to go to second as evidenced by the presence of this feature. I typically go to 3rd so I have the torque to accelerate faster than in 4th.

Being made to shift to fourth sucks. But it's how the M6 cars are able to get good gas mileage ratings from the EPA. It's not a bad feature, it's just that it makes you do it that's annoying. If you're smart and concerned about fuel economy at all, as most guys who drive their camaros every day will be, you'll do something like this anyway.
Jamestwilliams is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2008, 04:16 AM   #25
camaro5


 
camaro5's Avatar
 
Drives: Off Into The Sunset
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Cape Coral, Florida
Posts: 4,430
Skip-shift eliminator kit from JEG's or Summit for $25. Provides connector plugs to seal unused connectors.
camaro5 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Fall Bondurant/ Skip Barber track av8r 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 0 09-30-2008 06:35 PM
No-Lift Shift AirGoya 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 29 03-09-2008 12:08 PM
Camaro Manual Transmission LSxcellent 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 17 08-01-2007 06:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:16 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.