Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com

Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V8 LS3 / L99 Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Old 05-11-2010, 03:26 PM   #1
ducq

Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS LS3 blck w/ IOM
Unhappy Delete Resonators with X-pipe?

Hello I'm new to camaro5 but have been lurking since I got my 2010 camaro 1SS LS3. I recently put on some borla S-type axle back exhaust on my babygirl and the tone is nice but I was expecting just a bit more of a meat eating sound to it. I now regret not going with the full catback cause the YouTube videos I've seen sound very nice. I was lead to believe there is no difference in sound between the catback vs axle back other than hp gain.

Okay stay with me now

Well I live in California so I can't remove my cats. Borla suggested I buy their x-pipe setup which would give me the piping for my axleback to become what it would have been had I thrown on the catback exhaust but it costs almost 700 bucks! I've read that the resonators act as mid mufflers and tone down sound and raspyness (not as much as the L99 but they do). So I'm thinking, would I be able to put on a magnaflow 2.5" x-pipe and delete resonators with just straight pipe? would that give my exhaust a bit more growl? and would there be problems with magnaflow metal going on borlas 304 stainless steel metal, or would the 2 be far from each other that they wouldn't touch? Sorry I just want my exhaust to sound throatier and not like a BMW!(YouTube 2010 camaro s type axle back)

please don't jack my thread with intake questions I see that happening a lot haha

Last edited by ducq; 05-11-2010 at 03:28 PM. Reason: Mispell
ducq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2010, 07:43 PM   #2
96rss/ls6
Inferno is the only color