Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
sjm autoprod
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum

Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum All audio, video, bluetooth, nav, radar, and electronics discussions.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-20-2008, 10:44 PM   #1
Congoman775

 
Congoman775's Avatar
 
Drives: Muscle
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,315
Compatability of boston Acustic speakers...

I know that 99% of speakers that are sold factory, even audio upgrades like the BA system are uncompatable with aftermarket systems like amps/heads/subs. And its almost impossible to find speakers that are compatable with all three, just because of the way the speakers are made for factory cars vs. after market kits. the theory:if the speakers are aftermarket they are obviously for someone looking to explore their audio capabilities so they are more versatile.

anyways, anyone have any idea if the BA speakers are going to be compatable with say a pioneer head unit, JL subs / Amp?


Meaning...

what level resistance are the BA speakers? 2 or 4?

Last edited by Congoman775; 10-21-2008 at 12:03 AM.
Congoman775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 10:04 AM   #2
Tal
 
Drives: Old
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: OK
Posts: 727
That's going to be hard to find out before it's actually for sale, the way the stereo is integrated with the rest of the car it will be a lot of trouble and cost to go aftermarket on the head unit though.
Tal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 11:04 AM   #3
Chewy
My boredom isn't safe
 
Chewy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS Camaro
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,254
Send a message via AIM to Chewy Send a message via MSN to Chewy
the only issue with speakers subs and amps is watts, amps, and ohms. those arent very difficult to switch or modify as long as your electronically savvy.

head units now n days are hooked up to the car computer which is why they are a PITA. sometimes u can replace the head unit and keep the guts of the old one in your glove box - wire the new thro the old - and it all works out. we will see when we get the car
__________________
Chewy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 12:36 PM   #4
TAG UR IT
www.Camaro5store.com
 
TAG UR IT's Avatar
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1 #705
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: SA, Texas
Posts: 26,418
1. Don't think anyone would actually be able to replace this head unit.
2. Don't know why you would want to.
3. I'd bet if you were able to change them, it would be compatible.
TAG UR IT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 01:40 PM   #5
Congoman775

 
Congoman775's Avatar
 
Drives: Muscle
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 1,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by TAG UR IT View Post
1. Don't think anyone would actually be able to replace this head unit.
2. Don't know why you would want to.
3. I'd bet if you were able to change them, it would be compatible.
1. agreed.

2. you'd change it because the stock head units are not capable of changing the level of power supplied to say, the subs, or different variations in sound.

For instance... you dont change the head unit, but put in a system, and you get one sound. but if you put in your own head unit you could play the bass on rap songs different than you would on classical music where sharpness and tones are more appriciated.

3. i doubt it. i dont know the details, im not 'electronically savy' enough, but a buddy of mine owns his own shop and is telling me even the audio systems in a bmw M5 (just an example) need to be taken out and redone if you want to do anything serious to it because the speakers are crap. they use different materials to build them that result in poor quality if they arent replaced w/ aftermarket.
Congoman775 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 08:28 PM   #6
Rogue Leader
Iatefiberglassinsulation
 
Rogue Leader's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SS M6
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Long Island
Posts: 3,590
I was an installer for many years. I gotta say from what I've seen of factory systems, Id bet these speakers will be 2 Ohm. I could be wrong, just playing the odds.

As for just replacing the factory amp and driving new speakers, not so easy, however I'm sure someone will come out with some sort of conversion harness eventually either to bypass the amp or allow replacement.

BTW Noone we know of have heard what this system sounds like, I totally understand the want for an aftermarket stereo, but I'd hold off on the plans until you at least HEAR it and then decide how bad you really think it is. Who knows maybe you will be pleasantly surprised.
__________________
I'm Brick Tamland. People seem to like me because I am polite and I am rarely late. I like to eat ice cream and I really enjoy a nice pair of slacks. Years later, a doctor will tell me that I have an I.Q. of 48 and am what some people call mentally retarded.

2010 Chevrolet Camaro SS - Daily Driver
2008 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD LT 6.0 - Tow Vehicle
1993 Volkswagen Fox - Race Car (yes seriously)

"Like" my race team on Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/farfrumwinnin
Rogue Leader is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-21-2008, 10:42 PM   #7
fastball
White 'n Nerdy
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 1,651
When it comes to these new cars, if you have to ask about modifying the system then I suggest you not try it. As you might fry your ECM

Seriously. This isn't the good old days when GM had the DIN and a half standard Delco radio with 4 easily mounted speakers in the car. Today you have multiplex, impedence matched speakers and amps, and the radio tuner is probably not even part of the head unit - that head unit we see may be nothing more than a circuit board with a CD player attached, and the rest of the guts of the stereo be strewn about the rest of the car. If there is multiplex involved forget it - the same wire may carry 12 volts one second and ground the next.
__________________
fastball is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 09:40 AM   #8
Camaro Pro
 
Drives: Full Size GMC pickup
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Detroit
Posts: 8
It would be ill advised to replace the factory head unit. The faceplate, the part you see, controls more than just the radio function. It's integrated with the heater controls, hazard lights, and door locks. The actual radio is tucked away behind the faceplate, and is connected via a wire to the faceplate. Adding new amps won't be a problem with the stock head unit.
Camaro Pro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2009, 10:09 AM   #9
Gentry78
HOOK'EM
 
Gentry78's Avatar
 
Drives: 97 c1500/92 olds
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,283
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camaro Pro View Post
It would be ill advised to replace the factory head unit. The faceplate, the part you see, controls more than just the radio function. It's integrated with the heater controls, hazard lights, and door locks. The actual radio is tucked away behind the faceplate, and is connected via a wire to the faceplate. Adding new amps won't be a problem with the stock head unit.
you know you brought up an almost year old thread lol
Gentry78 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BOSTON ACOUSTICS!!!!!! TAG UR IT Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 126 03-12-2010 02:04 AM
Press release: 2010 Camaro Audio by Visteon and Boston Acoustics Mike C Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 49 07-07-2009 03:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.