Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Lethal Racing
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions

Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions All DIY projects & discussions

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-01-2010, 02:57 PM   #1
moiy1983
 
moiy1983's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss/rs
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cleveland tx
Posts: 304
Exclamation how to install MSD SHIFT LIGHT PART NO.8963

Installing the shift light was very easy the hardest thing about it was where do i run the wire through the firewall? Thats where i'll start theres a great thread on where to run wire through the firewall and not drill
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=83694 ( hope u dont mined the thread jack buhmblbe). After that locate the no#1 cylinder coil pack and isolate +volt wire in the coil (pink wire) and install gmr tach signal adaptor. to verify the wire simply turn key to run position and hook up a test light to it it should light up. The black wire goes to ground. the red wire goes to a switched 12 volt source (ignition fuse). then just decide where to mount the shift light. I mounted mine with double sided tape on the dash, i just didnt want to drill to the dash or a pillar cover. good luck!
Attached Images
          
moiy1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 08:41 PM   #2
moiy1983
 
moiy1983's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss/rs
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cleveland tx
Posts: 304
moiy1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2010, 11:09 PM   #3
jbriggs
 
jbriggs's Avatar
 
Drives: rjt 2ss rs
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 28
Thank you!! I will be ordering mine immediately, I'm sick of hitting the limiter...
jbriggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 04:26 PM   #4
loopback
SoCal C5 Family Member
 
loopback's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Black 1SS
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: San Marcos CA
Posts: 110
sorry for the noob question but what does this shift light do?
loopback is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 04:40 PM   #5
2KWIK4U
 
2KWIK4U's Avatar
 
Drives: 1969 Camaro and 2013 Camaro
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Central Minnesota
Posts: 155
Light comes on at a set engine rpm to tell you at a glance when to shift for max power.

Danny
__________________
" I won't be wronged, I won't be insulted, and I won't be laid a hand on. I don't do these things to other people and I require the same from them" -John Wayne "The Shootist"
2KWIK4U is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2010, 05:16 PM   #6
moiy1983
 
moiy1983's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss/rs
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cleveland tx
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2KWIK4U View Post
Light comes on at a set engine rpm to tell you at a glance when to shift for max power.

Danny

moiy1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 10:01 AM   #7
WICKEDSS
Dan
 
WICKEDSS's Avatar
 
Drives: THE BEAST
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ODESSA,TX
Posts: 336
COOL!!!!! What are you guys setting your shifts at?
WICKEDSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 04:10 PM   #8
moiy1983
 
moiy1983's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro ss/rs
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Cleveland tx
Posts: 304
Quote:
Originally Posted by WICKEDSS View Post
COOL!!!!! What are you guys setting your shifts at?
every car is diffrent in my case im shifting at 6900 rpm thats when i peak.
moiy1983 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 04:12 PM   #9
2010 SSRS



 
2010 SSRS's Avatar
 
Drives: 3 V8 Camaros
Join Date: May 2009
Location: The Ocean State
Posts: 123,978
maybe a future mod
__________________
Jannetty Racing JRE Street Package
2010 SSRS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2010, 05:09 PM   #10
WICKEDSS
Dan
 
WICKEDSS's Avatar
 
Drives: THE BEAST
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: ODESSA,TX
Posts: 336
Well stock i dont really run my car to hard so have not really payed attention to when it would hit the limtr
WICKEDSS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-28-2010, 09:55 PM   #11
Merc
COTW 12/5/11
 
Merc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SSRS IOM
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Abbotsford BC Canada
Posts: 8,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by moiy1983 View Post
Installing the shift light was very easy the hardest thing about it was where do i run the wire through the firewall? Thats where i'll start theres a great thread on where to run wire through the firewall and not drill
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=83694 ( hope u dont mined the thread jack buhmblbe). After that locate the no#1 cylinder coil pack and isolate +volt wire in the coil (pink wire) and install gmr tach signal adaptor. to verify the wire simply turn key to run position and hook up a test light to it it should light up. The black wire goes to ground. the red wire goes to a switched 12 volt source (ignition fuse). then just decide where to mount the shift light. I mounted mine with double sided tape on the dash, i just didnt want to drill to the dash or a pillar cover. good luck!
THX Bud. Installing mine soon.
Merc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 08:56 AM   #12
Merc
COTW 12/5/11
 
Merc's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 2SSRS IOM
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Abbotsford BC Canada
Posts: 8,390
Quote:
Originally Posted by moiy1983 View Post
Installing the shift light was very easy the hardest thing about it was where do i run the wire through the firewall? Thats where i'll start theres a great thread on where to run wire through the firewall and not drill
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=83694 ( hope u dont mined the thread jack buhmblbe). After that locate the no#1 cylinder coil pack and isolate +volt wire in the coil (pink wire) and install gmr tach signal adaptor. to verify the wire simply turn key to run position and hook up a test light to it it should light up. The black wire goes to ground. the red wire goes to a switched 12 volt source (ignition fuse). then just decide where to mount the shift light. I mounted mine with double sided tape on the dash, i just didnt want to drill to the dash or a pillar cover. good luck!
I found it easier to power shift light in fuse panel next to the driver door. Pico makes a piggy back fuse gadget.
Merc is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-16-2010, 10:35 AM   #13
AG454
I am not "Fast & Furious"
 
AG454's Avatar
 
Drives: '13 Sonic,'10 Camaro LSX454,'91 Z71
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Greeley Colorado
Posts: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by mercuryman96 View Post
I found it easier to power shift light in fuse panel next to the driver door. Pico makes a piggy back fuse gadget.
Pics please.
__________________
LSX 454 (nuff said)
AG454 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Complete SubThump install from a Novice Susantroy1 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 62 09-06-2010 03:17 AM
GTECH Shift light ULTRAZLS1 Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 0 04-22-2010 08:36 PM
Backup Light part number? BlownSS Cosmetics and Lighting Modification Discussions 0 11-08-2009 07:02 PM
Some Texas Lighting Laws Mecha USA - Texas 5 10-20-2009 01:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.