Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Bigwormgraphix
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > General Camaro Forums > Member Car Journals

Member Car Journals Want to keep a long term Camaro project journal to share with the community? Use this forum to create a single thread which you can update over time to document the progress.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2012, 09:57 PM   #3526
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,526
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supercharged SS View Post
You need to convert kpa to psi. I'm at a wedding right now or I'd find the formula.

The misfires....who's tune do you have? I have no misfires unless something is wrong. IE broken plug.
Tune is from Vengeance. Car dies at low rpm when I back up sometimes. Esp when the dumps are open. Maybe header leak?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption View Post
22.77psi
That's obviously wrong. LOL

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption View Post
197 Fahrenheit. That's right
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 09:59 PM   #3527
Redemption
Just Because!
 
Redemption's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2SSRS
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 7,051
I know you've used different computers, but I'd do a new software install, make sure it's all updated, and try again.

Or smash the thing and call it done.
__________________
Redemption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:01 PM   #3528
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,526
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption View Post
91mph......?
Might be accurate. For a brief moment.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption View Post
I know you've used different computers, but I'd do a new software install, make sure it's all updated, and try again.

Or smash the thing and call it done.
I updated drivers and everything. I hate the THOUGHT of data logging now.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:05 PM   #3529
Redemption
Just Because!
 
Redemption's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2SSRS
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 7,051
So it looks like just the boost isn't reading right.

The misfires are in the history. Could have been old shit that never got cleared out.

Hold on. Brain just started working Brb
__________________
Redemption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:09 PM   #3530
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,526
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption View Post
So it looks like just the boost isn't reading right.

The misfires are in the history. Could have been old shit that never got cleared out.

Hold on. Brain just started working Brb
Had to be in the timed log. I suppose.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:10 PM   #3531
Redemption
Just Because!
 
Redemption's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2SSRS
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 7,051
Convert 157mm/mercury to inches



Vacuum/boost are referenced off of inches of
Mercury.




Maybe?
__________________
Redemption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:12 PM   #3532
Supercharged SS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 12,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Tune is from Vengeance. Car dies at low rpm when I back up sometimes. Esp when the dumps are open. Maybe header leak?

That's obviously wrong. LOL

Off the top of my head I think that kpa is 8 psi. There is more than just using the online conversion calculator. My car is at 220 kpa which is 17.2 psi.


I think the stalling is some sort of idle adjustment but don't quote me.
Supercharged SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:12 PM   #3533
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,526
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Hmmmmmmmmmm..................

I wonder if I should start a thread and see if any of our tuners want to help out in decoding this.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:16 PM   #3534
Supercharged SS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 12,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption View Post
Convert 157mm/mercury to inches



Vacuum/boost are referenced off of inches of
Mercury.




Maybe?
SCT measure intake manifold pressure on kpa. I was just trying to decipher mine last wknd.
Supercharged SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:20 PM   #3535
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,526
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supercharged SS View Post
SCT measure intake manifold pressure on kpa. I was just trying to decipher mine last wknd.
Well damn. If I'm at 8 then something is wrong. Maybe because it's not as hot as it was when my car was dynoed which I believe was over 100 degrees and high humidity after 6 pulls already.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:22 PM   #3536
Supercharged SS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 12,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Well damn. If I'm at 8 then something is wrong. Maybe because it's not as hot as it was when my car was dynoed which I believe was over 100 degrees and high humidity after 6 pulls already.
I'm just guessing. Someone smarter than me will know the correct conversion. Did you expect less or more?
Supercharged SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:24 PM   #3537
Redemption
Just Because!
 
Redemption's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2SSRS
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 7,051
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supercharged SS View Post
SCT measure intake manifold pressure on kpa. I was just trying to decipher mine last wknd.
Ok good to know.

Disregard that post then.

If its 157kpa, then that converts to 22 psi. Umm no.
__________________
Redemption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:25 PM   #3538
Redemption
Just Because!
 
Redemption's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2SSRS
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 7,051
__________________
Redemption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:25 PM   #3539
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,526
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supercharged SS View Post
I'm just guessing. Someone smarter than me will know the correct conversion. Did you expect less or more?
Expected around 6 to 7. It's the 3.2 pulley not the 2.8 I have.

I just want to get an acurate reading before I put Teds tensioner and 3.4 on it.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:26 PM   #3540
nyny69

 
nyny69's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supercharged SS View Post
I'm just guessing. Someone smarter than me will know the correct conversion. Did you expect less or more?
you are on the right track. He's around 8 PSI but it could vary depending on his elevation.
nyny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:29 PM   #3541
Redemption
Just Because!
 
Redemption's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SIM 2SSRS
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 7,051
Ok, all the other variables convert easily from metric,
And make sense. The speed and the engine temp are right on the money.

So either we have the wrong reading, or the wrong original type of measurement (kpa or mm/hg)
__________________
Redemption is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:31 PM   #3542
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,526
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyny69 View Post
you are on the right track. He's around 8 PSI but it could vary depending on his elevation.
Sea level.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redemption View Post
Ok, all the other variables convert easily from metric,
And make sense. The speed and the engine temp are right on the money.

So either we have the wrong reading, or the wrong original type of measurement (kpa or mm/hg)
Sweet. My boost gauge reads right at 7 1/2 pounds-ish.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:31 PM   #3543
Supercharged SS
Account Suspended
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Sandy Hook, CT
Posts: 12,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Expected around 6 to 7. It's the 3.2 pulley not the 2.8 I have.

I just want to get an acurate reading before I put Teds tensioner and 3.4 on it.
How do you expect 6/7 psi with a 3.2 pulley. No slipping that's a 12 psi pulley.
Supercharged SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:32 PM   #3544
nyny69

 
nyny69's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
Expected around 6 to 7. It's the 3.2 pulley not the 2.8 I have.

I just want to get an acurate reading before I put Teds tensioner and 3.4 on it.
It look like your logging way too many pids which slows down sct or will freeze it. I have used the sct for over a year and a half of logging and it has never froze. I follow the same sequence everytime. But I also set up my pids beforehand and just load the file.
nyny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:33 PM   #3545
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,526
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyny69 View Post
It look like your logging way too many pids which slows down sct or will freeze it. I have used the sct for over a year and a half of logging and it has never froze. I follow the same sequence everytime. But I also set up my pids beforehand and just load the file.
The last one I did was only 5 PIDs. And wouldn't read.

I made a vid. I'll upload it now. lol
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 10:41 PM   #3546
nyny69

 
nyny69's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
The last one I did was only 5 PIDs. And wouldn't read.

I made a vid. I'll upload it now. lol
This is what I do. I loaded the sct livelink on my desktop.

Go into commands and hit configure data log items. You'll get something that wants to verify your ecu connection ---hit no.
It will then ask you for processor ID # Put in 12635863 this is for our cars. Then you can load pids at your leisure. When finished save livelink configuration and name it whatever you like. You can then transfer to your laptop using a thumbdrive.
Works everytime.

If you also want the steps i use in vehicle i'll also include them
nyny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 11:05 PM   #3547
nyny69

 
nyny69's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 1,224
My car Logging procedure

Start Car
Fire up laptop
Open livelink software(wait for it to fully load)
Plug SCT into Laptop ( give it a couple seconds)
Plug SCT into OBD port
Then from Livelink I hit file –then Open livelink configuration and load the file you saved
Give it a few to load then hit start datalogging button


One thing I have noticed is if I had any problems with this procedure I had to start from scratch and couldn't just reload livelink. And that means pulling all the cables, shutting livelink and car off and re-doing the steps.

I hope this helps. It has worked for me 95% of the time
nyny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 11:06 PM   #3548
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,526
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyny69 View Post
This is what I do. I loaded the sct livelink on my desktop.

Go into commands and hit configure data log items. You'll get something that wants to verify your ecu connection ---hit no.
It will then ask you for processor ID # Put in 12635863 this is for our cars. Then you can load pids at your leisure. When finished save livelink configuration and name it whatever you like. You can then transfer to your laptop using a thumbdrive.
Works everytime.

If you also want the steps i use in vehicle i'll also include them
I didn't know that number thing. But it worked without it at times.

Here is my frustrating video. LOL

I worked for an additional hour after this and never got it to work again.

Unplugging everything and shutting the car down and all.

(not my car starting in the background, mine was on the whole time) lol
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 11:07 PM   #3549
PQ
1st State Chevy supporter
 
PQ's Avatar
 
Drives: Hybrid SS Camaro
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Mobile, AL
Posts: 36,526
Send a message via Yahoo to PQ
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyny69 View Post
My car Logging procedure

Start Car
Fire up laptop
Open livelink software(wait for it to fully load)
Plug SCT into Laptop ( give it a couple seconds)
Plug SCT into OBD port
Then from Livelink I hit file –then Open livelink configuration and load the file you saved
Give it a few to load then hit start datalogging button


One thing I have noticed is if I had any problems with this procedure I had to start from scratch and couldn't just reload livelink. And that means pulling all the cables, shutting livelink and car off and re-doing the steps.

I hope this helps. It has worked for me 95% of the time
Maybe I have a bad handheld. It's the only constant in all my trials is the same handheld.
__________________
PQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2012, 11:10 PM   #3550
nyny69

 
nyny69's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 IOM SS
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: NY
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by PQ View Post
I didn't know that number thing. But it worked without it at times.

Here is my frustrating video. LOL

I worked for an additional hour after this and never got it to work again.

Unplugging everything and shutting the car down and all.

[/url]
I also went thru does pains at first where it would load sometimes. Other times you wouldn't get all the pids. So i found the work-around to just preload everything. I have about 3 different setup's of pids i can switch to.
nyny69 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Tags
camaro of the week, the circle

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GM unveils Jay Leno Camaro, Camaro Synergy, Camaro Chroma, Camaro Dusk at SEMA irocnroll 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 101 02-27-2012 12:25 PM
GM memo to dealers Moose 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 41 02-04-2010 07:33 PM
The DEFINITIVE EXPLANATION OF CAMARO SUSPENSION, ISSUES, AND UPGRADES Info@PeddersUSA.com Suspension / Brakes / Chassis 106 10-19-2009 06:08 PM
Ambient lighting (ABL) - the FINAL update = LIMITED TO DOOR PANELS CamaroScotty 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 338 04-15-2009 05:33 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.