Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
HeadlightArmor
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons

Camaro V6 LLT Engine, Exhaust, and Bolt-Ons Bolt-Ons | Intakes | Exhaust

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-09-2010, 09:47 AM   #1
Abygale


 
Abygale's Avatar
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: .
Posts: 2,763
Dashhawk Data Logging Question

This question is directed at Scrming and anyone else that uses the Dashhawk for data and performance logging. I'll be taking my car to Heartland Raceway next week for some fun. I want to log some data from when I'm really testing the limits of my car.

What variables do you guys normally log? I normally have my Dashhawk set up for six variable display but I know you can display more. Does it log the variables you chose to display or are the variables logged specified somewhere else?

I plan to log my 0-60 times, and will also attempt to log some 1/4 mile information as well.

Any tips or advice with using Dashhawk for data logging is appreciated.
Abygale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 09:52 AM   #2
rtcat600man
having FUN now 13.66@101
 
rtcat600man's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 2LT IOM
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clarkston, Michigan
Posts: 8,116
Good Questions Abygale.......I have been thinking about getting one of these and would probably have the same questions........Thanks.

__________________
rtcat600man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 09:57 AM   #3
Abygale


 
Abygale's Avatar
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: .
Posts: 2,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by rtcat600man View Post
Good Questions Abygale.......I have been thinking about getting one of these and would probably have the same questions........Thanks.

I figured other people would be interested in these answers as well which is why I didn't just send a PM.
Abygale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 10:00 AM   #4
mrray13


 
mrray13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT RS Rally Yellow
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern Illinois
Posts: 3,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abygale View Post
This question is directed at Scrming and anyone else that uses the Dashhawk for data and performance logging. I'll be taking my car to Heartland Raceway next week for some fun. I want to log some data from when I'm really testing the limits of my car.

What variables do you guys normally log? I normally have my Dashhawk set up for six variable display but I know you can display more. Does it log the variables you chose to display or are the variables logged specified somewhere else?

I plan to log my 0-60 times, and will also attempt to log some 1/4 mile information as well.

Any tips or advice with using Dashhawk for data logging is appreciated.


If you set it up for the 0-60 or 1/4 mile, it will only log two PIDs. Default are the o2 sensors.

If you want to data log will running at the track, let the track take care of the time/speed. I will typically data log IAT temp, knock retard, timing advance, trans temp, and maybe what the o2 sensors are up to. That gives me an idea if I'm getting heat soaked, how much power I might be losing on the big end, if the tranny is ok after hotlapping.

I guess the thing is to monitor what you think might be affecting the car's performance the most so that you can fix it later, if possible. If that makes any sense at all, lol.
__________________
PacMan
mrray13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 10:12 AM   #5
Abygale


 
Abygale's Avatar
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: .
Posts: 2,763
That makes lot of sense Mrray....see you are not only good looking, but you are smart and helpful as well!

I'm going to read the user manual a little more this weekend. I had a hell of a time getting the program to run though, it won't run on my Dell laptop at all (Vista) even when I followed all the advice I could find online, but it runs on my daughter's Toshiba laptop which is not locked up nearly as secure is my laptop is.

Heat soak is something I AM interested in since I didn't do that sensor relocation mod like many of you have. I want to monitor the A/F ratios as well, but I really appreciate your suggestions and advice!
Abygale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 10:18 AM   #6
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,364
Hey Abby, where you got your Dashhawk mounted?
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 10:27 AM   #7
mrray13


 
mrray13's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 1LT RS Rally Yellow
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: southern Illinois
Posts: 3,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abygale View Post
That makes lot of sense Mrray....see you are not only good looking, but you are smart and helpful as well!

I'm going to read the user manual a little more this weekend. I had a hell of a time getting the program to run though, it won't run on my Dell laptop at all (Vista) even when I followed all the advice I could find online, but it runs on my daughter's Toshiba laptop which is not locked up nearly as secure is my laptop is.

Heat soak is something I AM interested in since I didn't do that sensor relocation mod like many of you have. I want to monitor the A/F ratios as well, but I really appreciate your suggestions and advice!
The A/F pid isn't an instant thing though. You'll be better off watching the o2 sensors. At least, I can read the A/F instantly. It goes straight to the commanded 14/1 and pretty much stays there.

I think the program is running on my Vista fine, although I can't remember what I did to get it to run, lol.

I've relocated my IAT back to factory. It's staying 3-5* above ambient, according to the car. With it relocated, it was well below ambient. I'm not 100% for sure if I'm going to change it back or not.


Good looking? lol, thanks, but I'm no zebra, kyle or pq..lol. Smart? You haven't talked to anyone who knows me real well, lol.

Anyway, thanks for the compliments, and I'm sure when scrming sees this, he'll shed some light on what PIDs to data log!
__________________
PacMan
mrray13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 10:28 AM   #8
Abygale


 
Abygale's Avatar
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: .
Posts: 2,763
Quote:
Originally Posted by BackinBlackSS/RS View Post
Hey Abby, where you got your Dashhawk mounted?
I haven't mounted mine yet.... I'll probably consider doing that this weekend though. I'm thinking about mounting it in the driver side air vent that is just above the radio display. There really are no other good flat surfaces to mount it that are easily seen while driving.

Not sure if the mounting bracket and velcro that came with the Dashhawk are enough but I'll find out soon. I know Scrming had a post somewhere that showed how he used a radar detector mounting bracket to mount his. I'll have to find that.
Abygale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 11:44 AM   #9
PoorMansCamaro



 
PoorMansCamaro's Avatar
 
Drives: Really Slow
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 54,560
anyone have the iphone and check out that dynolicious app? seems to get a lot of great reviews and says it's pretty accurate. and it's only $13.

don't mean to hijack the thread, figured this was a good place to ask, since i'm pretty sure it can do the same things as the dashhawk.
__________________
PoorMansCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 11:57 AM   #10
BackinBlackSS/RS
Go Blue!!!!!
 
BackinBlackSS/RS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 Cruze LT
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Indiana
Posts: 23,364
Quote:
Originally Posted by PoorMansCamaro View Post
anyone have the iphone and check out that dynolicious app? seems to get a lot of great reviews and says it's pretty accurate. and it's only $13.

don't mean to hijack the thread, figured this was a good place to ask, since i'm pretty sure it can do the same things as the dashhawk.
Dynolicious is for performance data. Is there a program for IAT, timing, etc. monitoring on the Iphone/Ipod touch?
BackinBlackSS/RS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 03:07 PM   #11
2010LS
 
2010LS's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 LS
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Dublin, Ohio
Posts: 44
mounting

I mounted mine right on top of the steering column, centered below the DIC. I doesnt block the stock gauges at all, is right where I can see it, and best of all you can totally hide the wire. I can take some pics later.
2010LS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 03:50 PM   #12
devildoc

 
devildoc's Avatar
 
Drives: '12 Toyota Tacoma Dbl
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Beaufort, SC
Posts: 1,278
Ok Aby since I have been using the Dashhawk now for about 4 months I'm pretty much down with alot of the stuff though, Scrming will def shed light on the more in depth stuff. My current datalogging that I do is RPM, Spark Retard, Absolute load value, Intake Air Temp, and Engine Cooling Temp. Then my basic screen view is RPM, Spark Retard, Absolute load value, engine cooling temp, and the O2 B1 S1 / O2 B1 S2. Just make sure you set up your basic screen and your datalogging sets. Since you get three different sets to datalog you can do alot of different scenarios.
__________________
STANDING 1/4MI: 13.948@99.87
6600RPM HP/TQ Gains - 30.54HP/24.3TQ (NOT PEAK)
devildoc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 04:41 PM   #13
Abygale


 
Abygale's Avatar
 
Drives: .
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: .
Posts: 2,763
Thanks for the tips DD.....Much appreciated.
Abygale is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 06:58 PM   #14
scrming
Red Brick of Vengeance!
 
scrming's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 Second Brick
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: at my pulpit
Posts: 7,745
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrray13 View Post
The A/F pid isn't an instant thing though. You'll be better off watching the o2 sensors. At least, I can read the A/F instantly. It goes straight to the commanded 14/1 and pretty much stays there.

I think the program is running on my Vista fine, although I can't remember what I did to get it to run, lol.

I've relocated my IAT back to factory. It's staying 3-5* above ambient, according to the car. With it relocated, it was well below ambient. I'm not 100% for sure if I'm going to change it back or not.


Good looking? lol, thanks, but I'm no zebra, kyle or pq..lol. Smart? You haven't talked to anyone who knows me real well, lol.

Anyway, thanks for the compliments, and I'm sure when scrming sees this, he'll shed some light on what PIDs to data log!
The A/F PID is the "commanded" A/F... that's what the computer is saying it is trying to get to... it doesn't mean that is your ACTUAL A/F...
scrming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2010, 07:01 PM   #15
scrming
Red Brick of Vengeance!
 
scrming's Avatar
 
Drives: 12 Second Brick
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: at my pulpit
Posts: 7,745
At that track I will typically watch the IAT, Spark Advance and Knock/Spark Retard. You may also want to check your front O2s and see where they are locking in.. Should be the O2 B1/B2 S1...
scrming is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 08:55 PM   #16
speedy_g
 
speedy_g's Avatar
 
Drives: CAMARO RS V6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Hoffman Estates, IL
Posts: 227
BUMP
speedy_g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 09:31 PM   #17
MAGfuz

 
MAGfuz's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SS LS3 IOM
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,151
tagged for later when I plug my Dashhawk in my camaro.
MAGfuz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 09:39 PM   #18
jagan323
I have no life
 
jagan323's Avatar
 
Drives: 06' Subaru STI, ex-Camaro V6 LLT
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Top Gear Test Track
Posts: 3,190
Hehe, i just bought the dashhawk last week. Picking it up tomorrow. I'll be sure to have some fun with it if it's easy to set up =D
__________________
jagan323 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Custom wheel offset question ... Bowtie Junkman Wheels and Tires Talk Sponsored by The Tire Rack 4 04-23-2010 06:16 PM
Predator U7194 logging duration question cdn2usa Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 1 04-13-2010 08:51 AM
SCT Tuner question JustaCamaro Tuning / Diagnostics -- engine and transmission 3 02-28-2010 07:32 PM
Question Involving 4.10 gears & Bushings Deric884 V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) 1 02-13-2010 07:53 AM
Can I have the Dealer inspect pre-owned blackbox data for me? LS3Me 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 4 11-26-2009 02:23 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.