Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Grabiak Performance Center
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 06-15-2010, 12:36 AM   #1
RuffEL
Semper Fi! Do or DIE!
 
RuffEL's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 camaro 1SS, '02 silverado 1500
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Schertz actually...
Posts: 301
Service Stabilitrak message

Ok, heres the interesting issue im having.

I recently had my car on floor stands for an overnight and afternoon period while installing new headers and a catback exhaust. Everything went in smoothly and everything was reconnected properly.

The only power thing disconnected was the battery.

Now as soon as i started the car up again (and every time since the install) i get the service stabilitrak message that generally stays on, though it does go off and on a few times. The traction control, stabilitrak, and competitive mode lights all stay on and the button on the center console doesnt work while these lights are on.

Could this be an error in sensors from the cars wheels having no compression on them for such a long period of time? Or maybe a battery issue?

also, the roll window down then up message came on once right after restart when the install was complete.

any suggestions would be appreciated. and i dont want to leave this at the dealership while they chase down a short if i dont have to

thanx
RuffEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 12:42 AM   #2
RuffEL
Semper Fi! Do or DIE!
 
RuffEL's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 camaro 1SS, '02 silverado 1500
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Schertz actually...
Posts: 301
also, i used a floor jack to lift the rear of the vehicle by the diff pumpkin....it shouldnt have any effect on that as thats a strong point on the axle, but does anyone think that could be an issue?

and the date/time was a day and 2 hours behind but once corrected hasnt done it again

Last edited by RuffEL; 06-15-2010 at 01:07 AM.
RuffEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 03:56 AM   #3
DIGthat2SS
I can dig that..
 
Drives: 2010 Red 2SS/RS M6
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: East Coast
Posts: 148
i havnt done anything to my camaro or ever even lifted it up but i had the same error pop up for half a day and then ALL day the next..and then poof it went away
DIGthat2SS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 09:02 AM   #4
RuffEL
Semper Fi! Do or DIE!
 
RuffEL's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 camaro 1SS, '02 silverado 1500
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Schertz actually...
Posts: 301
Well I hope it does.....I hope gravity has an effect on the sensors like that
RuffEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 09:34 AM   #5
thecamaroguy
 
thecamaroguy's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/1967 Camaro SS
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 530
Check your plug wires...
A friend of mine put headers on and then a few weeks later got this message...

He found a loose plug wire.

Worth checking at least.
__________________
Thanks,
thecamaroguy

2010 Camaro 2SS - CGM
1967 Camaro SS350 - At Body Shop

Proud to say I have always owned a Camaro! A Camaro has been my Daily driver since I started driving!
thecamaroguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2010, 03:45 PM   #6
HeavyD

 
HeavyD's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SSRS RY L99
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,329
If the engine detects a miss fire you will get a "Service Stabilitrak" warning. One of the things the car does to help you regain control is cut back engine power. If the ECM detects a miss then the engine can't be relied on for the Stabilitrak system to work and that is why you get the warning. It is common to knick or crack or plug when installing headers if you didn't remove them first. If you did remove the plugs then chances are you just have loose plug wire.
HeavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 01:04 AM   #7
RuffEL
Semper Fi! Do or DIE!
 
RuffEL's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 camaro 1SS, '02 silverado 1500
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Schertz actually...
Posts: 301
Thanx fellas, I'm a dumbass. One of the plug wires was hangin off....I'm surprised I hadn't seen it earlier, I guess it wiggled off when I was sleepin lol.

Problem is fixed. I appreciate it.

On a side note, how bad for the engine do u think 150 miles on it misfiring like that is?? Anything to worry about?
RuffEL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 01:18 PM   #8
HeavyD

 
HeavyD's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SSRS RY L99
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,329
No sweat. I have seen people drive for weeks, get the car fixed, and never had any ill effects. Things can go wrong with the engine running out of balance. The dead cylinder has fuel sprayed in it with no ignition so you can get some cylinder wall wash down. I doubt this would cause any damage in such a short time. The engine obviously detected the miss and may have shut the cylinder down too, who knows? I would worry about it.
HeavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2010, 11:17 PM   #9
spyderbuddy


 
spyderbuddy's Avatar
 
Drives: v6 rs inferno orange/inferno orange
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: albany, ga
Posts: 2,600
Ok, but what if you've done nothing and that message comes up?
I've had come on then off. Today I get in the car to go to work and Service Stabilitrak is on for the 23 miles to work, And i get to work and it shuts off.
__________________
Ceramic Window Tint By Nicks, MBRP Exhaust tips, GEN5 DIY Virginia Legal DRL Harness, Painted Brake Calipers, Vittesse Throttle Controller, Heritage Grill, Diode Dynamics Led Lighting, Manual Shifter Boot, Paddle Shifters, CNC Throttle Body, Vararam Cold Air Intake, RX Catch Can & Breather, Trunk Black out and Side Grills, Chevorlet door Sills.
spyderbuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2010, 08:46 AM   #10
HeavyD

 
HeavyD's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SSRS RY L99
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,329
If it comes on and stays on, call Onstar for a diagnostic. It should log a code too. Looks like a trip to the dealer is in your future.
HeavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2010, 09:06 PM   #11
fuffl
 
Drives: #3124!!!
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 130
I'll add a little caveat to this question. I get this message when at WOT while shifting gears. (M6). My battery checks out and I've got no loose plug wires. This definitely looks like its the misfire code, but I'm curious if this tends to be a tuning issue or something like a bad coil pack.

I'm running NGK55 plugs on an otherwise stock ignition system. I can't tell if it throws the code in-between gears when I let off the gas or when it is slammed into the next gear. When I try to replicate slowly I never get the 'Service Stabilitrak" message.
fuffl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 08:14 PM   #12
casadesola
 
casadesola's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS Rally Yellow M6
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 16
OK. My turn. I was down at Ft Dix, NJ today with the car parked and in idle. Doors, hood and trunk open. Doesn't take much to amuse soldiers.

Anyway, today just HAPPENED to be the last day of my XM radio subscription and they shut it down while I was idling. Just then, the car stalled out. I figured maybe it was some random anti-theft thing I didn't know about. Car started right back up but then I got the trifecta of Stabilitrac lights come on the dash. Check Engine light also came on AND my tach died (though it does cycle at start up). I had to limp home about 100 miles. Car ran like crap and when it starts, it cranks forever before kicking over.

Not sure if the XM thing was coincidence, but the radio supposedly is part of the engine management system. Go figure.
casadesola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2010, 08:50 PM   #13
epstein
Account Suspended
 
Drives: SS/RS
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Transplanted from NYC..(ret. NYPD).Now in CT
Posts: 905
Send a message via AIM to epstein
A loose battery ground will have same affects .....
epstein is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2010, 10:18 PM   #14
casadesola
 
casadesola's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS/RS Rally Yellow M6
Join Date: May 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 16
Hmm. I'll give that a try since the dealer will only see me NEXT Friday. Thanks!
casadesola is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 04:11 PM   #15
fuffl
 
Drives: #3124!!!
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 130
I went through at tightened all connections on the motor. The codes it is throwing are "Loss of communication" codes. Sounds like a loose wire, but I haven't been able to locate any. It usually cuts out when i shift fairly hard. Any suggestions on how to investigate an electrical gremlin like this?
fuffl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2010, 08:35 PM   #16
HeavyD

 
HeavyD's Avatar
 
Drives: 1SSRS RY L99
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,329
Ok, I am a tech in the heavy truck industry. Trucks also have data links and lots of electrical gremlins. The car is under warranty, so really it is someone else's problem, but you can poke around too. The first thing you need is a complete wire diagram, without one you are wasting all your time, you need to know where to look and which wire is which in any particular connector body. Not all communication wires run in all harnesses or connectors so it is real easy to run a wild goose chase. 90% of wiring gremlins are at an actually connector body, because this is where the weak link is with the connector itself, or the terminals. I am not sure about cars, but with trucks one common problem is simply too many zip-ties. They secure the harness down with too many zip tie and the harness is pulled and stressed too much to the point where it partially disconnecting a connector or pulling a wire out of the terminal. This can happen two ways. First, the harness is tied too tight an causing stress along the length of the harness, or second, the harness is wrapped too tight too close at the end of the harness at the connector body and the outer wires of the connector body are pulled too tight. Another hard problem to find is a weak terminal. The terminal in the connector body that mate to each other are male/female friction fit. There are numerous different types of terminals, but they all make electrical contact with their mate. Sometimes they aren't formed right, mostly the female ones, where they have no friction and are loose so that when the male pin is inserted into the female pin there is little to no electrical contact. To check this you need a trained eye or a test pin to check the fit. From the sound of your problem, it is likely that you have a stressed harness somewhere. With a stressed harness one the terminals, (pins) can get partially pulled out of the body or the wire itself can get pulled right out of the pin. The only way to locate this is to wait till the code is active all the time and isolate the harnesses, or with intermittent problems, you are stuck going connector by connector. It is very rare for a newer car to have a harness rubbed through, even rarer to have a broken wire mid harness.
HeavyD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2010, 12:06 AM   #17
magzx12r
 
Drives: 2014 ZL1
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Houston area
Posts: 64
I got the Service Stabilitrak message today after I started my car. The car was running a little rough so I new something was wrong. I called OnStar and they said I had a "misfire" code and "computer lost communication" code. With the car running, I checked the temperature of the headers with a temperature gun and one header was ~ 120 deg F cooler than the other headers. I pulled the spark plug wire and looked at the plug with a mirror. It had (2) hairline cracks running the length of the ceramic section of the plug. I will replace the plug in the morning. Hopefully this solves the problem.

BTW, I have a 2SS M6.
__________________
Mark
2014 Camaro ZL1
2014 Jeep GC SRT
2014 ZX-14R
magzx12r is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is the real Service Interval Verio Mechanical Maintenance: Break-in / Oil & Fluids / Servicing 14 12-27-2013 12:44 PM
Onstar....a spy???? please comment dieseldave24v General Automotive + Other Cars Discussion 138 02-23-2012 02:12 PM
Lets Talk About Extended Warranties for our 2010 Camaro's from the Dealership a Sec.. Black LS3 Camaro Issues / Problems | Warranty Discussions | TSB and Recalls 39 03-21-2010 12:38 PM
Laws Protecting Consumers for Aftermarket Parts strauchpete Audio, Video, Bluetooth, Navigation, Radar, Electronics Forum 9 01-17-2010 09:31 AM
Service Stabilitrak? (Launch Control) tommygun6644 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 7 12-22-2009 12:11 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.