Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
BORLA
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Technical Camaro Topics > Camaro DIY & HOW-TO instructions & discussions


Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-22-2016, 09:42 PM   #1
LCPLPunk
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/2SS
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 203
Issue programming new remote

Hey guys,

So I've had my car for about a week and unfortunately the dealer that sold it to me only had one working key/fob. I bought one online and am attempting to program it, but I can't get it to work. My issue comes with step 9 because when I release the unlock button nothing happens. Supposedly the car is supposed to unlock/lock at this point, but nada.

I followed these instructions:

1. Close all vehicle doors.
2. Insert the key into the ignition.
3. Hold down the power UNLOCK button on the driver’s door panel(CENTER FOR US CAMARO OWNERS)-continue to hold
down until instructed to release in step 9.
4. Perform steps 5 through 8 in fairly rapid succession.
5. Turn the ignition switch to the ON position (as far as you can go without starting the
engine).
6. Turn the ignition switch to the OFF position.
7. Turn the ignition switch to the ON position.
8. Turn the ignition switch to the OFF position.
9. Release the power unlock button on the door panel. The vehicle will lock and unlock
the doors automatically.
10. Hold down the LOCK and UNLOCK buttons on the transmitter simultaneously until
the door locks and unlocks.
This step may take up to 30 seconds.
11. Repeat step 10 NOW for each additional transmitter (including any existing
transmitters).
12. Turn the ignition switch to the ON position in order to exit the transmitter programming
mode.

Any ideas? My car is a 2010 Camaro SS/2SS.

Thanks!
LCPLPunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2016, 10:39 PM   #2
jrpimp00
 
jrpimp00's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 Black/IOM Camaro SS/RS
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Fayetteville NC
Posts: 501
read the second post here.
http://www.camaro5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=93145
__________________
2010 Camaro 2SS/RS Black/IOM //// 1998 Pontiac Trans AM 819 RWHP @ 12 PSI (Turbo)
jrpimp00 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 12:37 AM   #3
LCPLPunk
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/2SS
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 203
Sorry, should have mentioned this, my second keyfob isn't cut yet, it's just a blank.
LCPLPunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:25 AM   #4
Dizzy82


 
Dizzy82's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 1LT/RS A6 RJT SuperCharged
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: 87114
Posts: 3,069
Quote:
Originally Posted by LCPLPunk View Post
Sorry, should have mentioned this, my second keyfob isn't cut yet, it's just a blank.
Get it cut at the dealership. You're trying to program an un-cut key?
__________________
Power is worthless without control. The 2nd protects the 1st.
BMR sub frame brace, BMR tunnel brace, LSR sways, LSR CM ca & tl, Sphon ExD el, GM tower brace, Megan coil overs, Goodridge Stainless Steel Braided brake lines, PowerStop D/S rotors & pads, Doug Thorty Ceramic Shorties, Magnaflow x-pipe, MRT V2.0, KICKER PowerStage sub & amp, Infinity speakers & tweeters, Dynamat, Viteese Throttle Controller, Viteese Paddle Shifters, ACS T2 Splitter, ACS T2 Ports/Quad LED lights, VDI kit, Havoc diffuser, IPF ECU/TRANS tuned, IPF/KPE Supercharged. 364RWHP/297RWTQ
Dizzy82 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 11:42 AM   #5
LCPLPunk
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/2SS
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 203
No, I'm trying to program an unprogrammed remote. :P
LCPLPunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2016, 02:35 PM   #6
LCPLPunk
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/2SS
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 203
Oooh boy, so just called the dealership and apparently they charge $100 to program the remote. :P
LCPLPunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2016, 02:51 PM   #7
TangoMike
 
Drives: 2012 2ls RS V6 Auto
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: Southern Alberta
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by LCPLPunk View Post
Oooh boy, so just called the dealership and apparently they charge $100 to program the remote. :P
Mine told me how to do it, and if I needed help to just ask. If they tried to tell me I'd have to pay more than twice the cost of the key for them to do 20 seconds of work, I'd put the key in their "ignition"


Anyway, If you still don't have it, I'm pretty sure it needs to be a cut key. It seems like a security risk to allow an uncut key to be programmed. I could find a running car, program a remote, and be gone before the owner pays for his beer, then use it to unlock the car some other time. Take what's in it, even take the car. And nobody would take a second look because I did unlock it, they think I'm just working on it.
TangoMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2016, 02:02 AM   #8
FNG
Tampa Bay Camaros
 
FNG's Avatar
 
Drives: Rally Yellow 2011
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 604
Here's a guide that should help.. I just replaced my key FOB and explained how I programmed the new FOB:
http://www.tampabaycamaros.com/repla...amaro-key-fob/

There are 2 methods that work, I'll have method 2 posted in the above link tomorrow evening.
FNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2016, 02:21 AM   #9
LCPLPunk
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/2SS
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 203
Thanks! For some reason the link isn't working now, but I'll try it again tomorrow.
LCPLPunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2016, 08:25 AM   #10
FNG
Tampa Bay Camaros
 
FNG's Avatar
 
Drives: Rally Yellow 2011
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: FL
Posts: 604
Quote:
Originally Posted by LCPLPunk View Post
Thanks! For some reason the link isn't working now, but I'll try it again tomorrow.

should be working now... had some updates to perform last night, so it was down for a bit.
FNG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2016, 12:53 PM   #11
LCPLPunk
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro SS/2SS
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Oahu, Hawaii
Posts: 203
Ok, it works, but I don't have a second key cut yet so I'm not sure method one will work. I plan on getting one cut at some point, but for now I'd just like to at least have a second working FOB in case I lock the keys in the car.
LCPLPunk is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.