Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com
 
Vararam
Go Back   Camaro5 Chevy Camaro Forum / Camaro ZL1, SS and V6 Forums - Camaro5.com > Engine | Drivetrain | Powertrain Technical Discussions > V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6)

V8 and V6 Transmissions / Driveline (6L80 / 6L50 / TR6060 / AY6) Driveshafts | Differentials | Gears | Rearends | Clutch | Shifters

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-11-2010, 11:43 PM   #1
mbspeed
 
mbspeed's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS2/LS3(SOLD)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: mass
Posts: 87
skip shift ???

Hi all i have the LS3 ss and keep reading about skip shift is this on all LS3 Camaro s i put about 900 miles on car and not had to go from 1st to 4 th am i missing something dont see any shift light on dash
mbspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2010, 11:59 PM   #2
Sterling


 
Sterling's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1LT/RS M6
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Fairhaven, MA
Posts: 5,903
You are probably keeping the RPM's high enough before shifting out of 1st that it doesn't get triggered.
Sterling is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 02:29 AM   #3
mbspeed
 
mbspeed's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS2/LS3(SOLD)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: mass
Posts: 87
ok i am going to try to activate it just to see how it works thanks for the info
mbspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2010, 04:58 AM   #4
Apex Motorsports

 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 23,202
It activates when:

● the transmission is in 1st gear
● you are applying 35% throttle or less
● the vehicle is traveling between 15 and 21 mph
● engine coolant temperature is greater than 171 F (77 C)
__________________
Apex Motorsports is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2010, 10:19 PM   #5
mbspeed
 
mbspeed's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 camaro SS2/LS3(SOLD)
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: mass
Posts: 87
humm i cant make this work i guess i am lucky does a light come on in the dash and force the driver to go into 4 th or is it giving you the option to do so
mbspeed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 05:08 AM   #6
Apex Motorsports

 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 23,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbspeed View Post
humm i cant make this work i guess i am lucky does a light come on in the dash and force the driver to go into 4 th or is it giving you the option to do so
There is no option, it locks you out of 2nd and 3rd. Looks like you are lucky, go buy some scratch offs!
__________________
Apex Motorsports is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2010, 09:14 AM   #7
SlingShot


 
SlingShot's Avatar
 
Drives: 2012 ZL1 - #670
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Seminole, Fl.
Posts: 7,009
I generally find it to be a non issue ... I keep the rpm up enough, or when turning and I know traffic is going to be slow I start it in 2nd ...
__________________
SlingShot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 05:03 PM   #8
Alpinestar750
 
Alpinestar750's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 SW 2SS/RS LS3
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Camarillo, CA
Posts: 46
how easy is it to install the Apex SSE? any install pics?
Alpinestar750 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2010, 08:09 PM   #9
Apex Motorsports

 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 23,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpinestar750 View Post
how easy is it to install the Apex SSE? any install pics?
Its a little too tight for good pics but there are a few floating around. Its very simple. All you have to due is unplug a wiring harness and place the Skip Shift Eliminator in line between the harness and the plug it was connected to. It takes longer to lift the car than it does to actually install it and it comes with directions.
__________________
Apex Motorsports is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2010, 01:06 PM   #10
v6sonoma


 
v6sonoma's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 SS RS
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Providence, RI
Posts: 7,810
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alpinestar750 View Post
how easy is it to install the Apex SSE? any install pics?
2 mins. super easy.
__________________

Mods: BBK Intake, BBK LT's and High Flow Cats, Corsa Cat-back exhaust, Hurst short throw shifter, SLP skip-shift eliminator.

7/1/09 Placed order for IOM/IO int/ SS/RS 6M
9/26/09 Took delivery!
v6sonoma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 07:02 AM   #11
RipperFox
Grrr!!!
 
RipperFox's Avatar
 
Drives: BLK/IOM '11 2SS/RS
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: OK
Posts: 380
So you SSE is a fix for you basic daily driver? Someone like me that hotdogs all the time wouldn't incounter the CAG much?
__________________
Rules for ordering a car.
1. Dealers are liars
2. Buy off the lot
3. See rule #1
RipperFox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2010, 01:27 PM   #12
Apex Motorsports

 
Apex Motorsports's Avatar
 
Drives: 2000 Camaro SS
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Louisville, Ky.
Posts: 23,202
Quote:
Originally Posted by RipperFox View Post
So you SSE is a fix for you basic daily driver? Someone like me that hotdogs all the time wouldn't incounter the CAG much?
It's a fix for anyone who doesn't want a computer deciding when you should be able to use what gear. There are people who say it doesn't bother them, but it really irritates a lot of people and for less than $20 it's a cheap fix.
__________________
Apex Motorsports is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2010, 09:02 AM   #13
Blackfly
 
Blackfly's Avatar
 
Drives: 2002 Camaro SS/ 2011 Camaro SS
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Katy/Pearland/Cypress Texas. BITCHES!
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apex Chase View Post
There is no option, it locks you out of 2nd and 3rd. Looks like you are lucky, go buy some scratch offs!
Ummm..I have yet to experience a lock-out of third gear in either of my SS's. I have trained my thought process to go to third gear in-case of lockout of 2nd. simple fix.

It is ALMOST a non-issue. If your "racing" your RPM's are above the requirements anyways. One should experience a forced skip-shift while granny shifting.

Even with my '02 M6 It was a non issue. I did tune it out on my 5th year of owning the '02.

It is, by far, a personal preference.
__________________

================
2002 Black/Black SS- Finally! 350RWHP!
2011 IOM Camaro 2SS
Automotive Blog- Cars, Fast cars and Faster Cars!
Blackfly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 09:51 PM   #14
LoneCynic
 
LoneCynic's Avatar
 
Drives: 2011 IBM LS M6
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: United States of America
Posts: 297
I read about this occurrence in the car's manual. When exactly would a lockout occur? I don't race, It is merely my daily driver. So, if I am doing what I consider normal shifting (When the RPMs get up to about 2250) between gears, would I even ever encounter this? Why would you go directly from 1st to 4th? I don't entirely have a grasp of what this is if you couldn't tell already..
LoneCynic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 11:15 PM   #15
slick rick
SoCal Mayhem
 
slick rick's Avatar
 
Drives: 2010 Camaro 1SS/RS
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Foothill Ranch, CA
Posts: 5,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoneCynic View Post
I read about this occurrence in the car's manual. When exactly would a lockout occur? I don't race, It is merely my daily driver. So, if I am doing what I consider normal shifting (When the RPMs get up to about 2250) between gears, would I even ever encounter this? Why would you go directly from 1st to 4th? I don't entirely have a grasp of what this is if you couldn't tell already..
If you have the V6 manual then you don't have skip shift.
__________________
slick rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2010, 11:56 PM   #16
Waco
Layla
 
Waco's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS, LS3, CGM/IO
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 345
Living on a base now with a 20 mph speed limit that offers me the privilege of experiencing this nuisance daily. Going to install my SSE tomorrow.
Waco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-05-2010, 04:23 PM   #17
Waco
Layla
 
Waco's Avatar
 
Drives: '10 2SS/RS, LS3, CGM/IO
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Newport, RI
Posts: 345
Install c/w. Took a few minutes to find the correct harness plug online, but once I got it on the lift 10 mins later it was done. Never getting blocked going into 2d? Priceless...I love it. To whoever posted the photos of the install, thanks a lot! (had to access it on my phone after realizing the instructions in the package sucked.)
Waco is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Camaro Skip Shift Eliminator.... southerncarparts V8 Bolt-Ons & Tunes 3 09-12-2014 08:14 AM
CAGS (aka: Skip Shift) Apex Motorsports 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 108 06-25-2010 08:26 PM
Hurst Billet/Plus 2 Shifter $319.95, get Skip Shift Eliminator FREE! Apex Motorsports Transmission / Driveline 22 06-15-2010 09:55 AM
M6 Owners and Skip Shift Beware! DkknightX 5th Gen Camaro SS LS LT General Discussions 173 01-26-2010 04:14 PM
SLP Skip Shift Eliminators Available @ MarylandSpeed! MarylandSpeed V8 Bolt-Ons & Tunes 0 09-18-2009 01:50 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.